Proton Suprima S
sanadi
Aug 16 2013, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(leftist @ Aug 16 2013, 10:44 AM) Looking at the 0-100 kph values, it seems gearbox the most dominant factor. May be Proton will come out with Suprima GTi with 6-speed manual and uprated turbo in the future. After using CVT, for a family man like me, I love it. No shift shock, just smooth driving.
sanadi
Aug 16 2013, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(lkyoong @ Aug 16 2013, 11:32 PM) See newspaper got many accident and the car all hancur and worst is the car is branded model like H & T. My friend saw first hand on the H brand a few years ago. The car broke in half. He swore he will never buy that brand. Even Lamborghini breaks in half. It is not just our cars. It is our driving also.
sanadi
Aug 17 2013, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(shinjite @ Aug 17 2013, 12:44 PM) I wish the 1.6 Turbo has more torque How bout 242 NM of torque, 165 HP? Just install RaceChip. http://www.racechip.com.my/Image/UserImage...yno%20chart.jpgProblem is, the CVT can only handle 215 NM of torque. The engine is OK, but the gearbox is not. http://www.punchpowertrain.com/en/products/cvt/vt3That's why I think there will be a 6-Speed manual GTi version in the future.
sanadi
Aug 17 2013, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(dares @ Aug 17 2013, 12:58 PM) An R3 version perhaps. Unfortunately, so far in Proton's lineup, only the Neo receives any love from R3. Neo is hatchback as is Suprima. I think Suprima has better chance of getting R3 treatment compared to Preve. Besides, Suprima is a 5-star ANCAP rated, which I don't think Neo is.
sanadi
Aug 17 2013, 07:55 PM
Just to make current Preve owners envy. Rear view camera, with distance reading on all 4 corners of the car (front and back)
sanadi
Aug 17 2013, 09:47 PM
That is why Toyota can sell high priced car in Malaysia, and give their staff 12 months bonus. When asked why their car is expensive, they just point to Proton. And people believe it. Kena kencing semua.
This post has been edited by sanadi: Aug 17 2013, 09:47 PM
sanadi
Aug 17 2013, 09:56 PM
Bottom line, car price currently is controlled more by the car companies, not the taxes.
If Toyota or Honda on Nissan or anyone can set the car price high, and still sell, they will. That is the value of a brand. Why sell at 60K when people will still buy the same product at 120K?
sanadi
Aug 17 2013, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(lepet @ Aug 17 2013, 10:29 PM) agree with you... if all malaysian support p1 n p2.. fore sure T n H will reduce the price... 12 month of bonus.... they must have very high profit margin.... dammm... It is best if we buy as a consumer. Not for patriotic reasons. Proton is improving because they had to, or they'll die. That forced them to be better. Buy what you think you need and what is affordable to you. Just do not blame Proton that you can't drive a Toyota or a Honda or a BMW. Know that you are paying for the brand. Nothing wrong with it, just do not blame Proton. That's barking at the wrong tree.
sanadi
Aug 21 2013, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(serenum @ Aug 21 2013, 11:16 PM) test drove suprima and I am impress with the handling and power. the leather seat which amaze me the most. Unfortunately there is no xenon option which compliments the car more premium feel. now is it wise choice to trade in my 2009 city for suprima s? Big -ve of Suprima vs City is FC. Specifically urban FC. With power & torque levels similar to 2.0 engines, also come 2.0 FC. The Suprima engine is only 1.6L FC in no boost conditions, i.e. minimal load, closed loop operation such as maintaining speed. That's why many Preve (which uses the same engine) can get very good FC in hiway cruising at 110 kph or below. This is something you also need to consider. Your Honda City (aptly named) will definitely beat Suprima in city FC.
sanadi
Sep 6 2013, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Sep 6 2013, 04:36 PM) The car comes with it and u dont utilise it, for what? its not like using auto lights will use more fuel or drastically use the battery.. During dusk, dawn theres no use for position lights anymore as the DRL's are sufficient.. DRL is front only. The rear lights you still need to turn on (or use Auto mode). Position lights is very important. Dusk & Dawn are the most problematic situation, visibility wise. You have bright sky with darker ground view. The rear position lights would make sure you are visible to others and reduce risk of being read ended.
sanadi
Sep 8 2013, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(mi3ra @ Sep 8 2013, 10:53 AM) in my opinion, Proton should focus on weight shedding than new engine since engine development cost more. why can't they target the suprima weight max at 1200kg? For next cycle of SAGA, they should make it as big/light as almera, fuel consumption max at 5.5l/100km. Just my wishful thinking  Because cast iron engine is very heavy. Aluminium engine would reduce weight significantly, and you can put more sound proofing (as you already save a lot of weight using aluminium engine).
sanadi
Sep 10 2013, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(Noyoudontcare @ Sep 10 2013, 12:22 PM) guys , i wonder why after i turn off the engine, theres something else making a sound in the bonnet as if something else is running? maybe aroubd 20 seconds like that? Normal. When you turn off your car, the fan will run for some time. In addition to that, an *electric water pump* will also run. This makes sure coolant is running through your turbo and prolongs its life.
sanadi
Sep 10 2013, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(mystvearn @ Sep 10 2013, 05:16 PM) Will that drain the battery? SA told me that if battery is dead or you unhook battery, cannot open rear boot. So you have to access stuff by folding down the seats. Nope, my Preve is 1 year 3 months. Still on original battery.
sanadi
Sep 10 2013, 08:34 PM
QUOTE(mystvearn @ Sep 10 2013, 08:31 PM) preve use cable for rear boot and not electronic like suprima right? Cable. But what I meant was, the battery is still original and running strong. But anyway, you can still fold down the rear seat to get to the boot can't you?
sanadi
Sep 14 2013, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(AmenoJaku @ Sep 14 2013, 10:53 PM) Wow... for a C-seg, 10L/100km pure highway is really bad. Hopefully it'll get better after run-in period. I think that has to do with the 200 kph runs he made If maintain 110 kph he should get around 7.5 L/100 km. If you are really careful, i.e. never, not once, go more than 10 kph above the speed limit, you can get 6.5 L/100 km
sanadi
Sep 17 2013, 09:45 AM
QUOTE(mrhaz @ Sep 17 2013, 09:24 AM) so, has anyone got the manual for the android player? a bit frustrating that the videos will stop when the car is moving. they could atleast let the audio keep playing without the video. That is due legal requirement I think. Even Kenwood and Pioneer require parking brake to be activated before playing video file. Don't worry however. A searh of google for "Parking Brake Bypass" gave TONS of hit. You can DIY or you can just send to reputable accessory shop to do it. http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/audio-vid...-head-unit.htmlhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FPz7FBW-b4Ihttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fTseVbxCSnY
sanadi
Jul 24 2014, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(dares @ Jul 24 2014, 11:45 AM) Suprima poliskar, highway chase maybe will give those 1.8l NA or smaller engine cars a run for their money la. Against larger engine cars and/or in urban environments, it's a different game liao....unless their Suprima is MT and their engine is tuned up to take advantage of the MT gearbox. Otherwise, it is just a replacement for their aging Wira/Waja/Saga fleet. But a word of advice for those ahbeng Vios/Saga/Myvi/Fiesta/Swift/City/Jazz/Wira etc. etc. don't be so confident about outrunning poliskars in urban roads because you think your car got better pickup and more nimble than the gorilla Suprima, because a) They are trained drivers. Ahbengs....probably are not. b) Your car kenot outrun bullets. Also you can't outrun radio transmissions that move at the speed of light ;-)