Proton Suprima S

giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 08:32 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(keanutan @ Aug 17 2013, 05:37 PM)
Bcos Vios to them is JDM car only certain people can buy it ? To them no matter how good P1 & P2 come out with better spec and good car still cannot compare to mighty Vios . They are proud to say my Vios got 2 airbag + abs 90K le
Don't you forget VIOS is priced that way becos of the MIGHTY TAX. Take away the tax u think at the price we cannot get all those accessories? Proton is homegrown mate. And just one more thing, how come Proton is selling its cars cheapers overseas????
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 08:35 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Aug 17 2013, 07:00 PM)
Oh common mr proton salesman..
80k proton shd have the following
1. Hand stitch leather dashboard
2. 7 airbags
3. Premium audio system
4. 2.0 twincharge
5. Dsg gearbox
6. keyless opetaration
7. Power seats
8. Hybrid system.
SPOT ON!! thumbup.gif
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 08:53 PM

1,898 posts

http://www.livelifedrive.com/malaysia/news...laysia---part-1

Imported cars are generally priced higher because of our national cars. Read it.

This post has been edited by giovanni: Aug 17 2013, 08:56 PM
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 08:57 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(lepet @ Aug 17 2013, 08:56 PM)
with 79k (fully loaded safety feature) can tapaw 2.0 camry priceless...

200kmh all along guthrie highway (from bukit jelutung till the next toll) no problem at all.....
Are you serious mate?
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 09:21 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Aug 17 2013, 09:08 PM)
Ford Fiesta Sedan. CBU from Thai, taxed even more than the Vios. The Fiesta is safer, has more modern drivetrain technology, more gadgets, better handling. The only downside is a smaller rear seat space. RM84k.

So don't come and tell me VIOS is expensive because of the tax. It is an overpriced piece of sh!t, period.

If I wanna buy a CKD jap car, I'd take a Honda City or a CKD Honda Jazz anyday over that dugong crap.
No vested interest in Vios in whatever way. I would have bought CKD Honda Jazz myself given the price. I am not buying any new car anytime soon. Am driving a family 16 years old Toyota second handed junk at the moment. Just saying the cars here are priced higher becos of our national cars that's all. I am not willing to buy new car to feed the cronies. Just my two cents
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 09:31 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Aug 17 2013, 09:24 PM)
no connection with national car
national car also have to pay tax same as foreign car
other foreign car also subject to the same tax but why they can offer us so much more than what toyota offered us right now
If you care to read it properly, you will know that there is such a thing called subsidies/rebates which is enjoyed by our national carmakers for their so called R&D work. Essentially they pay less excise duty. Furthermore, non-national carmakers priced their cars higher in Malaysia market to garner the premium feel which adds to the relatively higher prices.

This post has been edited by giovanni: Aug 17 2013, 09:32 PM
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 09:36 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(lepet @ Aug 17 2013, 09:34 PM)
dude... go and support japan brand who are rape your grandmother during WW2... nice..
Dude can you be anymore crude than this?
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 09:54 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Aug 17 2013, 09:43 PM)
No such thing as rebates through RnD.  There is such thing as RnD grant been given to proton. ~The grant is 200million per year.

The rebates the article referring to is before 2005, where proton/perodua did get tax rebate 50% in excise duty. Because of this, our goverment have been punish due to infringement of AFTA. Need to pay fine to thai/indo.

After 2005, proton no longer receive any tax rebate.  In terms of excise rate, proton get the lowest rating due to engine is locally produce. The lowest rate is 65% if im not mistaken. Other car markers is 75% for 1.6liter engine. If CKD the rating is as close as Proton. Nissan Almera is high on local content, that is why it is cheap.

If you saying RnD grant is protectionsm, it is a normal practice around the world.  RnD grant is given to any local company that do extensive RnD. Not only Proton. And 200 million is not a lot.  Ford, holden get more RnD grant from AU government.
In terms of tax, Proton does not have any advantage, in fact disadvantage. In langkawi, they do not enjoy the excise tax exemption because of custom act does not justify product originate from malaysia to have tax exemption. That is why Proton in langkawi is not that cheap.
Actually you just echoed what I said previously. If it's not clear enough, then should I say the grant is given as an R&D incentive which is essentially used to offset the tax. That is how proton can price its car at its current market prices (which is already not cheap).

This post has been edited by giovanni: Aug 17 2013, 10:00 PM
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 09:58 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(lepet @ Aug 17 2013, 09:44 PM)
what i mean is some of malaysia women during ww2..
I know what you meant mate. Don't factor such thing (raping by a certain race during WW2) into our healthy forum. It's just a discussion. I stand corrected for my view here.
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 10:05 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(sanadi @ Aug 17 2013, 09:56 PM)
Bottom line, car price currently is controlled more by the car companies, not the taxes.

If Toyota or Honda on Nissan or anyone can set the car price high, and still sell, they will. That is the value of a brand. Why sell at 60K when people will still buy the same product at 120K?
Actually it's the chicken and egg story again. You can't say it's not becos of the tax. You see, our gov imposed those taxes on all carmakers but smartly give the R&D incentive to our local carmakers to offset the said tax. It may look fair from one angle and unfair from another.

Morever, why the high excise tax in the first place? So now the foreign carmakers have excuses to jack up their prices and with the tax imposed on them you don't need me to elaborate further
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 10:17 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Aug 17 2013, 10:03 PM)
200 million is not enough to develop a car from scratch.  Perodua myvi cost 220million. That is rebagde. Not much RnD going on.  But 220 million.

Proton is much cost effective in developing car from scratch. Preve is 300 million. Suprima is 200 million.

As i said, RnD grant is normal practice. In fact, if the goverment really sincer in protecting proton, they should give more to Proton.

You should imagine how can proton sell at lower price if they do not have economies of scale. All parts for proton is costlier than Toyota. 

This is why Proton is not cheap, but they trying to make it cheap just for the sake of people asking 'national car price'.  So, that is why get a cheap car at the expense of quality.
I understand where you are coming from. But they have been protected for far too long to not have achieved something they should have by today. If they have done well, they could have achieved the economic scale of production which would lower the manufacturing cost.

I still could not get over the quality control issues plaguing their previous cars and the very public statement made by its director

Quality too low, Savvy production stopped.

(Kuala Lumpur 26 Jun) Proton announced that the company will stop producing Savvy, which has been in the market for almost 7 years, claiming that the compact car is tarnishing the company's image due to the extremely poor quality.

Proton's Managing Director Dato' Seri Syed Zainal described Proton Waja 1.8L and Savvy 1.2L produced from the collaboration with Renault as a painful lesson.

Launched in Jun 2005, Savvy is to take over the Tiara as Proton's new compact car model.

Savvy's quality tarnishing company's image.

Syed Zainal admits that Proton's car have quality problems, the decision to retire Savvy is because SAvvy's quality is tarnishing Proton's image.

Syed Zainal told reporters when attending 2011 GLC Open Day that retiring Savvy does not mean the model is defective, Proton also will not recall all the Savvy that are sold.

Savvy is using the Renault made D4F engine while Waja 1.8L is using F4P engine but owners of the vehicle has been complaining about the problems that had, today a participants inquire Syed Zainal about the complains, hoping that Proton pay attention to the issue.

Customer complains are decreasing

Syed Zainal pointed out that Proton is not a flawless company but the complains they received for the past 5 years has been decreasing.

He stated that when some Malaysians criticize the quality of Proton cars, it is all based on their own personal impression and rumors, some of them never even drive a Proton before.

He mentioned that Proton cannot be blamed for the problems with Proton cars because all the parts are supplied by suppliers.

"Please do not put the blame on Proton, Proton makes 700 cars per day, that's 1 car every 98 seconds, we do not have the time to check on Proton parts."

Earlier, Syed Zainal Abidin in his speech mentioned that Proton will emphasise on "Cheap selling price with cheap maintenance parts" principle to prevent having problems with expensive parts for cheap cars.

He stated that proton has been planning to move the company's market to foreign country. The target is to increase Proton's foreign market share to 72% by 2016. Currently foreign and local market are equal.

"UAE, India, China and Middle Eastern country is our targeted foreign market."

Syed Zainal stated that Proton is facing a shortage of qualified personnels instead of planning and funding when moving to foreign market.

Oriental Sauce
Cannot find English/Malay version of this.
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 10:29 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Aug 17 2013, 10:24 PM)
The same press re upload new article to rephrase what DSZ said.  NO ONE QUOTE on that.  This article has been misquoted DSZ saying, and poorly written.

Yes, proton did alot of mistake in the past. They screw up.  And their partners also tak boleh harap. Mitsubishi do not want proton to have RnD deparment, just want them to CKD mitsubishi models. Sub par vendors also kenot be removed.. until now also still got.

That is why i look at P3-21A is Proton reboot.  They start back from scratch in it is a good start.
It's a good start I must agree. I hope my view towards Proton will change with time. I think the core issue to address is cronyism.
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 10:33 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(lepet @ Aug 17 2013, 10:08 PM)
and yet after the govt tax, still can give 12 month bonus???

really does not make any sense... must be the profit margin very very high..
Sorry mate, the tax is passed down to end users like you and I.
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 10:38 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Aug 17 2013, 10:32 PM)
Support jangan support buta. Jangan support sebab kereta malaysia. Support product yang bagus. 

Exora bold, Preve, Suprima S ini produk yang bagus.
Agreed. The old products are really bring shame to our country. Look at what Top Gear UK said about our previous models. I must say I was quite disturbed by their comments when I saw it previously.
http://www.topgear.com/uk/proton
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 10:40 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(MSS @ Aug 17 2013, 10:35 PM)
People not buy proton because want proton improve, at the same time, other car maker very happy because their car can sell at high price even quality not so high especially for vios j version, very lousy, it's subjective, maybe other person no have any problem with it..
Vios J is sucky no doubt. I think Kia Rio is nice at its price.
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 10:44 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(SoZa @ Aug 17 2013, 10:41 PM)
I don't understand this whole crony talk

Isn't proton deserve to have its preferred manufacturer?

Like fishmonger sell his fish first to his preferred customer before selling it to other customers
What if your company is directed to get parts from another crony company at an inflated price and the CEO or director being a Yes man obliged? I am not saying this happens to Proton. I am just saying it happens in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by giovanni: Aug 17 2013, 10:45 PM
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 10:47 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(lepet @ Aug 17 2013, 10:41 PM)
with 12 month bonus after the govt tax??? da fuq..
for sure they still transfer a lot of money to japan from the high profit margin they make..
I have to reiterate on the fact that whatever excise duty imposed on the car will see the car price being inflated to factor this tax in where we, the end users will pay for it. The company might not absorb all of it.
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 10:53 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Aug 17 2013, 10:46 PM)
NAZA boy spotted...lol...
I am nobody's boy just fyi. I also like Honda Jazz and Peugot 308. I look at cars but I don't buy them cos they are expensive. Trust me if it's cheap I would buy straightaway. The old car that I am using have cellophane tape on its front bumper just to prevent it from falling off.

I was looking at cars when I got back from UK but decided against buying one becos I think they are expensive. That's when I loan an old car from my bro (my current cellophane taped car).
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 11:06 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(lepet @ Aug 17 2013, 11:00 PM)
if you live in uk... for sure you get cheaper car but high personal income tax!!!  friend told me they need to pay tax of 50% of annually income (half of your annual income goes to govt)...
Sorry mate you got it half correct only. They have tax brackets like here in Malaysia. If you earn below 32K pounds perannum you are only tax 20% for that amount. If you earn beyond that, your first 32K are taxed 20% and the remainder 40%. 45% for the next band and so on and so forth. So it's not like u get taxed 50% straightaway. Need I say the government services and general benefits are so much better there? (I will leave that for another topic).
giovanni
post Aug 17 2013, 11:08 PM

1,898 posts

QUOTE(lepet @ Aug 17 2013, 10:55 PM)
still the can give 12 month bonus?? their car is overprice here!!!

if the tax is reduce for toyota, they selling cheaper but still they make very high profit margin doh!!
Now I don't know about the 12 months bonus thingy. If tax is reduced their profit margin may remain relatively the same cause they don't earn the tax. The gov does.

0.0474sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:25 AM