Hobbies LYN Chess Thread, any chess player here??

TSelaineliew88
post May 22 2006, 04:52 AM, updated 19y ago

MCKY girl
1,230 posts

any chess player here??come in gv some advice....i m a new beginner blush.gif ....juz wanted to try out chess....can anyone guide me or gv me some advice in chess game.... icon_idea.gif
exkay
post May 22 2006, 06:34 AM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

a good game that will make u think.
Guenhwyvar
post May 22 2006, 12:55 PM

Might be on tilt. Might be, I don't care.
1,672 posts

QUOTE(elaineliew88 @ May 22 2006, 04:52 AM)
any chess player here??come in gv some advice....i m a new beginner  blush.gif ....juz wanted to try out chess....can anyone guide me or gv me some advice in chess game.... icon_idea.gif
Just try to play with a lot of different people. You'll learn a lot of different tactics and strategys. Plus, think before you make a move, example 'calculate' the surroundings like > what's gonna happen next if I move this piece. Btw, I am talking about chess not the chinese chess. cool.gif
yitjuan
post May 23 2006, 11:22 AM

arc reactor
688 posts

try chessmaster ... i forgot what was the latest expansion. It should be available in Lowyat Plaza

get some good opening books , those that explain why the moves were made.

And play a lot!
TSelaineliew88
post May 26 2006, 10:44 PM

MCKY girl
1,230 posts

QUOTE(yitjuan @ May 23 2006, 11:22 AM)
try chessmaster ... i forgot what was the latest expansion. It should be available in Lowyat Plaza

get some good opening books , those that explain why the moves were made.

And play a lot!
yes...i got chessmaster......
kangaskhan_1984
post May 29 2006, 03:21 PM

45 posts

Chess is an easy game to pick up but very hard to master. When I was beginning to play chess, I joined the school chess club and played chess very time they had a meeting. When I became a little better, I read books on chess especially opening moves like Sicilian Defense, Ruy Lopez (aka Spanish Opening) and Queen's Gambit. Chess programs like ChessMaster also helps in building your chess skills.
shinchan^^
post May 29 2006, 03:25 PM

K66
21,256 posts

i prefer chinese chess
it is more sudden
kangaskhan_1984
post May 30 2006, 10:48 PM

45 posts

Flying Generals smile.gif
fujkenasai
post May 31 2006, 01:33 AM

1,137 posts

What Chess are you talking about Chinese korean japanese europeans or indian?
akira de aimbuster
post May 31 2006, 02:09 AM

しごと~
3,500 posts

The day I learned how to play chess, all basic things is the night before i represent my school to attend a competition in technology park malaysia doh.gif

lol sounds idiot, I managed to win more than 50% of my games.(point will be given if you win)

This post has been edited by akira de aimbuster: May 31 2006, 02:09 AM
yitjuan
post Jun 1 2006, 03:21 PM

arc reactor
688 posts

QUOTE(kangaskhan_1984 @ May 30 2006, 10:48 PM)
Flying Generals smile.gif
lol

generals cant fly

they cant see eye to eye either though wink.gif
handsomeprof
post Aug 8 2006, 12:38 PM

I play chess also.... but not like my fren....
he get the top 25 below 18 competition in west m`sia....
but i won him be4 .... jus once time...
quite fun... i like horse... it`s very powerful for me....
others i jus know how to move oly >.<"
rclxub.gif
Godevil
post Aug 9 2006, 12:27 AM

Engineer
1,226 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ May 29 2006, 04:25 PM)
i prefer chinese chess
it is more sudden
Same here, Chinese Chess has faster game-play.

International Chess is tough and long period ccos the pieces all next to each, very confusing rclxub.gif . Always lose because didn't saw some piece.....

And How Bout Japanese Chess? anyone know how to play? wish to learn nbut no one around know how to play....
local_machine
post Aug 9 2006, 02:23 AM

431 posts

For chess players! you are invited to enter UTP Convofair Chess Tournament. please refer here:
UTP Chess Tournament

btw, i love to play chinese chess. interesting i'd say. japanese chess also is a great game. tricky strategy needed... rclxms.gif
microbe
post Aug 9 2006, 12:22 PM

255 posts

hei... any1 here play gobang ?
i'm great in tat....
chinese is 五子棋... who know how to play?
mayb got some online gobang can play?
who know? can tell me? hehe.... thumbup.gif
TSelaineliew88
post Sep 18 2006, 12:22 AM

MCKY girl
1,230 posts

err....dsi thread almost dead ady ar??no one come in want...
ToGo
post Sep 19 2006, 04:20 PM

506 posts

Hi every1 smile.gif

What kind of chess ? chinese chess or international chess. My international chess kindagarden standard. Chinese chess primary standard. Like chinese chess but no kaki to play with me. Nowaday ppl prefer play DOTA, counter strike rather then chess.

Got huge interest to learn how to play wei qi after read the hiroku no go comic(qi ling wang).
ToGo
post Sep 19 2006, 05:04 PM

506 posts

Thread owner, ur topic die soon. Nowaday ppl prefer DOTA then chess
Mocha_86
post Sep 19 2006, 05:05 PM

41 posts

If you're learning international chess you can pm me.. i can teach you in yahoo chess
DreamChaser
post Sep 19 2006, 05:31 PM

Dreamer
2,171 posts

Chess and Chinese chess are also my game. Just that nowadays not many ppl play it. Hmm... Any chess partners here?

This post has been edited by DreamChaser: Sep 19 2006, 05:32 PM
feralee
post Sep 19 2006, 05:35 PM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

u can buy those chess book & read biggrin.gif
ToGo
post Sep 20 2006, 09:18 AM

506 posts

QUOTE(DreamChaser @ Sep 19 2006, 05:31 PM)
Chess and Chinese chess are also my game. Just that nowadays not many ppl play it. Hmm... Any chess partners here?
can find me play chinese chess. I know a website can let you guys play chinese chess. Will PM you once i at home.

Any body else wannna play chinese chess online ?? PM me.
ToGo
post Sep 20 2006, 09:19 AM

506 posts

QUOTE(feralee @ Sep 19 2006, 05:35 PM)
u can buy those chess book & read  biggrin.gif
Book is just the way to teach u the basic. You can't really learn things.
Even you already know how to play, if no legs, what for
ToGo
post Sep 20 2006, 10:06 AM

506 posts

by the way , you guys play flying before?
flying is 2 vs 2 on international chess.
A team battle chess.
Got special rules on it which you can use back the chess which your partner eat his opponent 1.

DreamChaser
post Sep 20 2006, 05:52 PM

Dreamer
2,171 posts

Waiting for game!!!
dinzmalayneum
post Oct 31 2006, 02:35 PM

232 posts

PM me if wanna learn about chess
My standard :master maybe laugh.gif
Learn from my father since standard 3,since then I had being representative for some level,from club,school,district,state,university untill open tournament
hkl
post Nov 17 2006, 02:00 PM

68 posts

for Chinese chess enthusiasts, can visit this:
http://chinese.cari.com.my/myforum/forumdisplay.php?fid=207

This post has been edited by hkl: Nov 17 2006, 02:01 PM
tan_pang
post Feb 1 2007, 08:58 PM

3,110 posts

at last
i found this kind of thread...

i also play chess
and i dunno why my shity skill can make me represent the school
and then get No.9 in Dearah Hulu Langat 'Lelaki Bawah 18 tahun' along 60 people tongue.gif
that is the first time i represent the school

at that time i didnt pay attention to many things
coz i always play defense (i always play black with fren tongue.gif )

after a year from that
only that i know that the 'center' of the chess board is very important
started to play Queen Gambit with many people, and like King Indian Defense most!!
if i play white, will try Queen Gambit, when play Black, will play King Indian Defense...

who is good in Hypermodem chess play in here??

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Feb 1 2007, 09:04 PM
TSelaineliew88
post Feb 1 2007, 10:11 PM

MCKY girl
1,230 posts

QUOTE(tan_pang @ Feb 1 2007, 08:58 PM)
at last
i found this kind of thread...

i also play chess
and i dunno why my shity skill can make me represent the school
and then get No.9 in Dearah Hulu Langat 'Lelaki Bawah 18 tahun' along 60 people tongue.gif
that is the first time i represent the school

at that time i didnt pay attention to many things
coz i always play defense (i always play black with fren tongue.gif )

after a year from that
only that i know that the 'center' of the chess board is very important
started to play Queen Gambit with many people, and like King Indian Defense most!!
if i play white, will try Queen Gambit, when play Black, will play King Indian Defense...

who is good in Hypermodem chess play in here??
err is good 4 u le...can get number 9...so jealous...my chess skill not so good...hmm....can teach me...haha...
kobe8byrant
post Feb 1 2007, 10:16 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

i love checkers but no one likes it..anyone wanna play with me? tongue.gif add on MSN lor tongue.gif
TSelaineliew88
post Feb 1 2007, 10:18 PM

MCKY girl
1,230 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Feb 1 2007, 10:16 PM)
i love checkers but no one likes it..anyone wanna play with me? tongue.gif add on MSN lor tongue.gif
i would like 2 learn new thing...can teach me...haha smile.gif
Guenhwyvar
post Feb 1 2007, 10:37 PM

Might be on tilt. Might be, I don't care.
1,672 posts

LOL suddenly everyone wants to be a teacher. Anyway... if you are looking for kakis to play you can msg me. laugh.gif
supercolossal
post Feb 2 2007, 03:48 PM

620 posts

Hypermodern openings are quite unorthodox and one usually requires lots of experience to actually benefit from it. Chess books do not usually recommend it, it's risky in some sense smile.gif

A hypermodenist thinks differently from a classical player, their aim is to let the opponent set up their center so that they can attack it.

You can try to play chess in yahoo online games, its free.
goldfries
post Feb 2 2007, 05:13 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i like chinese chess cannons biggrin.gif and some more can block the horse. and that the king is limited to that small box.

but i play int'l chess more. i remember once, i played against my school's best chess player.

classmates, so we that single game was held when we had nothing to do.

i finished him off with less than 10 moves on my side. LOL. man i could remember how shock he was, champion got beaten by someone who doesn't play much. i guess he under-estimated me.
tan_pang
post Feb 2 2007, 05:27 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(supercolossal @ Feb 2 2007, 03:48 PM)
Hypermodern openings are quite unorthodox and one usually requires lots of experience to actually benefit from it. Chess books do not usually recommend it, it's risky in some sense smile.gif

A hypermodenist thinks differently from a classical player, their aim is to let the opponent set up their center so that they can attack it.

You can try to play chess in yahoo online games, its free.
i now trying it on yahoo
and it really need experience
coz sometimes i will be late to capture enemy pawn
make them have strong defend on middle
and those pawn maybe can threatening my 'knight' or 'bishop' which is aim at middle sad.gif
sometimes i feel that Frence Defense can counter hypermodem opening...
QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 2 2007, 05:13 PM)
i like chinese chess cannons biggrin.gif and some more can block the horse. and that the king is limited to that small box.

but i play int'l chess more. i remember once, i played against my school's best chess player.

classmates, so we that single game was held when we had nothing to do.

i finished him off with less than 10 moves on my side. LOL. man i could remember how shock he was, champion got beaten by someone who doesn't play much. i guess he under-estimated me.
Chinese Chess Cannon??
the most famous and strongest opening is "dang tou pao"
but better dun play "dang tou pao" with me
coz i know how to play "po dang tou pao" tongue.gif

i always learn Defense coz i usually play Black/'Jiang' which is go later... icon_idea.gif
let oppenent go first is a good pratice

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Feb 2 2007, 05:27 PM
goldfries
post Feb 2 2007, 05:28 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(tan_pang @ Feb 2 2007, 05:27 PM)
Chinese Chess Cannon??
炮 la. the one that have to skip 1 piece to whack another. biggrin.gif

tan_pang
post Feb 2 2007, 05:52 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 2 2007, 05:28 PM)
炮 la. the one that have to skip 1 piece to whack another. biggrin.gif
dry.gif
you really think that im noob in chinese chess...... doh.gif

if you go first
will you go "dang tou pao" brows.gif

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Feb 2 2007, 05:53 PM
FlamingFox
post Feb 7 2007, 10:31 AM

o(@_@)o
1,344 posts

In International Chess, there's a 3 move checkmate (opponent sengaja do that for fun, or really dunno how to play chess at all) and a 4 move checkmate (most beginners kena this trick). For strategies and stuff like that ... it's best if you slowly learn it yourself. Try Yahoo Chess, I think it helps a bit hehe
faez
post Feb 9 2007, 11:13 AM

26 posts

anyone wanna play chess...? long time didn't play already...huhu..used to play when at secondary school but now can't manage to find time and no opponent i guess..
andyxp
post Feb 9 2007, 03:00 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(ToGo @ Sep 19 2006, 05:04 PM)
Thread owner, ur topic die soon. Nowaday ppl prefer DOTA then chess
u sound so intellectual... whistling.gif
tan_pang
post Feb 25 2007, 09:55 AM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(FlamingFox @ Feb 7 2007, 10:31 AM)
In International Chess, there's a 3 move checkmate (opponent sengaja do that for fun, or really dunno how to play chess at all) and a 4 move checkmate (most beginners kena this trick). For strategies and stuff like that ... it's best if you slowly learn it yourself. Try Yahoo Chess, I think it helps a bit hehe
Scholoar's Mate - the famous 4 move checkmate (i saw many people use it in yahoo chess...)
Fool's Mate - the fastest mate in chess (2 move mate)
bose00
post Mar 2 2007, 08:47 AM

214 posts

I've been searching around to buy chess clock, but thru online only.

Is there any that we able to purchase it locally ?

This post has been edited by bose00: Mar 2 2007, 08:48 AM
Haihzz
post Mar 2 2007, 09:16 AM

511 posts

ya me too.never able to find it even after so long..
tan_pang
post Mar 2 2007, 09:50 PM

3,110 posts

my school will have Chess competition soon
and i also want to ask the same question... laugh.gif

not enough clock... the teacher the buy clock aledi retired

Added on March 2, 2007, 10:22 pmhow about rent??
i think we can rent the clock at our own 'dearah' chess society

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Mar 2 2007, 10:22 PM
baok
post Mar 4 2007, 01:51 AM

737 posts

whaa... anyone play chess here??.. i wanna play to.. i'm a beginner.. so test me tongue.gif yes... i'm really a beginner... just like to play chess becoz its interesting.. and a good way to make new frens too...
bose00
post Mar 5 2007, 09:58 PM

214 posts

from what i know, there is an annual Chess Tournament whereby yearly they have it in Midvalley ,Megamall.

There are booths selling Chess Accessories just that it is completely overpriced.
yitjuan
post Mar 6 2007, 10:26 AM

arc reactor
688 posts

argh ... i used to be in the local chess scene. about 10 years ago , there were a few shops that had chess clocks for sale. I remember even the digital ones ... so darn nice.
night
post Mar 6 2007, 08:37 PM

What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger.
1,469 posts

Any picture to show?
mafeya
post Mar 6 2007, 08:55 PM

489 posts

Get it online if the sellers here charge cut throat prices.
tan_pang
post Mar 20 2007, 08:57 PM

3,110 posts

The Immortal Game

one of the famous game

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Mar 20 2007, 09:01 PM
Slowpoke
post Sep 12 2007, 12:48 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(faez @ Feb 9 2007, 11:13 AM)
anyone wanna play chess...? long time didn't play already...huhu..used to play when at secondary school but now can't manage to find time and no opponent i guess..
Sian la, want to play. Used to play when I was in standard 4.
SUSdgrebel
post Oct 6 2007, 11:48 AM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

can all chess freaks add me at ym? my account is ytpotc

i'm dying to play chess after my free account has reach its limit at instantchess.com
qcmboy
post Oct 22 2007, 11:47 PM

hi bro, for Chess lover pls visit

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=540608

cheers
qcmboy
post Oct 22 2007, 11:52 PM

hi for chess lover pls visit
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=540608
cheers

bulan_biru98
post Sep 16 2009, 08:02 AM

51 posts

chesstempo.com is great site to practice chess game
kenji_britney
post Sep 17 2009, 12:22 AM

1,734 posts

wahlau 2 year old thread brought up again biggrin.gif
naim_mahmood
post Dec 4 2009, 03:28 PM

105 posts

where to find chess clock ?
spursfan
post Dec 23 2009, 09:11 AM

110 posts

anybody active in this thread anymoar?
Sifha238
post Jan 3 2010, 08:33 PM

454 posts

I represent my school in MSSKL Chees 2 years in row ( form 4 and 5 ) tongue.gif

What is 2nd most important piece in chees after Queen in your opinion ?
strinq
post Jan 3 2010, 11:44 PM

PhD in Philosophy of Head Damages
602 posts

QUOTE(Sifha238 @ Jan 3 2010, 08:33 PM)
I represent my school in MSSKL Chees 2 years in row ( form 4 and 5 )  tongue.gif

What is 2nd most important piece in chees after Queen in your opinion ?
The King is the most important piece actually. tongue.gif
In most cases it would be the rook followed by the Bishop and the Knight.
Of course there are certain positions where it can be otherwise. But generally that's the rule.
spursfan
post Jan 29 2010, 05:21 PM

110 posts

tried the chesstempo site ... damn ... tried so hard, can reach 1700 nia
Jurlique
post Jan 5 2011, 03:13 PM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

Any Chinese Chess competition in KL or SG in 2011?

This post has been edited by Jurlique: Jan 5 2011, 03:14 PM
UrSolin
post Feb 11 2011, 12:57 AM

63 posts

if u can come setapak KL, i will teach u. im good in chess =D
infernoaswen
post Feb 11 2011, 03:19 PM

(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)
3,782 posts

wah this thread is dead.....but nvm i m here to make it alive. hahaha

check out this website. www.chesscube.com its a really good web, & i mean like really good...

anyone got updates on tournaments in malaysia? i played chess last 2 years & been inactive for 1 year, hahaha now i m picking it up....lol 4got alot of skills & tricks already sad.gif
spacelion
post Apr 26 2011, 02:39 PM

Ada Liu
1,689 posts

havent touched it for awhile now. forgotten all postmodern openings already
xenon246
post Aug 22 2012, 06:19 PM

144 posts

Try Chess.com. It's a great chess site.
vavavoom
post Sep 23 2012, 08:38 PM

Hi guys,
I'm looking to buy Analog Chess Clock. The cheaper the better. Nowadays everybody is using Electronic Chess Clock but I prefer the old school ways biggrin.gif

Please PM me if you have one (or two or three) for sale.

thenightcrusader
post Mar 31 2013, 05:16 PM

233 posts

this thread is dead leh. anyone here interested for small get together for casual gaming or serious training for tournament players?
mdhanafi
post Jul 7 2013, 11:34 PM

Hey, are there any chess set collectors here? cool2.gif
WhereTheLightIs
post Aug 6 2014, 12:12 PM

22 posts

Hello everyone. Recently picked up chess. Is this thread dead?

I'm looking to buy some books on chess openings etc, anyone knows where can i buy one and also where can i buy travel magnetic chess set?
jack208
post Apr 4 2023, 03:06 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(mdhanafi @ Jul 7 2013, 11:34 PM)
Hey, are there any chess set collectors here?  cool2.gif
Am a chess collector. Wonder if there's any life to this thread here? Perhaps let me post some of my collection pictures?
yamfookwai
post Apr 4 2023, 10:36 PM

IVORY CHESS SET?
haojunzzz P
post Jul 3 2023, 11:27 AM

Probation

just watch GothamChess/Hikaru to get amazed, and maybe agadmator

0.0294sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled