Any noise pollution law exist in Malaysia?

TSramius
post Aug 6 2013, 12:51 AM, updated 13y ago

Is there any noise pollution law exist in Malaysia? or any place which can make a complaint?

I have a neighbor which her house always make noise from 7am-2am (365days/year)... so I really no chance to sleep for >5hrs...
I live in an apartment and my neighbor doing child care in her house (she also hv children btw).. So every morning I heard alot of children noises until midnight.. (at start few yrs still ok.. but recently got more n more children... >8 children in a 600sqft unit = =) and after some of the kids are sent back.. It's time for her to chat.. from 12am to 2am!! Sometimes she also talk around 4am.. (wondering whether she really don't need to sleep) and she got habit which must talking on phone facing window.. and talk very very loud.. when I ask her to lower her sound in midnight, she talk even louder and ask those children to make noises facing the window and stare to me when I walk pass the corridor.... rclxub.gif (whole corridor is those children playground! and ya.. she doesn't teach those children even her own children properly... even 3yrs-old kid from that unit speak fluent foul language...)

So I am finding a way to settle this besides from moving out... is there any way? cry.gif

btfan
post Aug 6 2013, 01:26 AM

Lowyat.NET #1 Fan
1,292 posts

Here are some steps you can consider:-

1. Inform your neighbour politely about the matter but in most cases, especially in Malaysia, this will most often do nothing but instead causes your noisy neighbours to be even more annoying. Petty people are petty, you can't change this.
2. If you're a tenant, bring it up to the landlord.
3. Bring it up to your condo management. There should be some common house rules/regulations stating that any resident is entitled to a quiet enjoyment inside his house. I believe there should be local laws guaranteeing this as well.
4. Report to police. Yes, police will entertain this.
5. Report to local authority/income tax department. If she's running a nursery in her apartment. I'll bet she doesn't have the license to carry her business and she doesn't report her income.
6. Take legal actions and sue her for monetary compensation for the distress she's causing you. Make sure you compile evidence like daily video recordings and even other neighbours' statement to support your case. If your neighbour is as noisy as you say she is, you're not the only one being troubled by her.

In short, yes, there are ways that you are protected from noise pollution. Step 4-6 will show her you mean business. Don't let this bully get away.
dkk
post Aug 6 2013, 09:18 PM

11,400 posts

http://www.agc.gov.my/Akta/Vol.%207/Act%20308.pdf

2. ...

“child care centre” means any premises at which four or more
children under the age of four years from more than one household
are received to be looked after for reward;

Prohibition of unregistered child care centres

6. (1) No person shall operate or take part in the management of
a child care centre which is not registered under the provisions of
this Act.

(2) Any person who contravenes subsection (1) shall be guilty
of an offence and shall on conviction be liable to a fine not
exceeding one thousand ringgit and in the case of a second or
subsequent offence, to a fine not exceeding two thousand ringgit.

Force her to close shop. Report her.

BTW: Anybody knows if it's possible to register a child care center in an APARTMENT? I thought you could only use corner lots in landed properties. Or does that apply only to nurseries?
dkk
post Aug 6 2013, 09:22 PM

11,400 posts

Or get a bunch of your friends to dress like punks or gangsters, loiter outside your door, making inappropriate comments about the mothers, or even better the girls and boys, so that the parents thinks their kids might be exposed to neighbours who are potential child mollesters. smile.gif
Tookia
post Aug 7 2013, 05:15 AM

290 posts

If you stay in an apartment there are house rules to follow. Usually no noise after 10.30 pm in my apartment and you'll get a warning if you don't comply. If landed property, you have to make formal complaint to police I guess. But whether they act is another thing
zenyusof
post Aug 8 2013, 01:52 AM

20 posts

The easiest most reliable option is just to report to police. They will come and give the guy a knock on the door.
kwwk87
post Aug 8 2013, 09:26 PM

245 posts

report je.. No need give face..
Diiimn
post Aug 9 2013, 12:24 PM

303 posts

Last time I asked in lowyat this is what they said, https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1036261/all , but don't know is jibberish or not, directive 666 or trespass law, this problem continue till now doh.gif

Btw, can try call your dewan bandaraya to come also, stupid lorry driver in addition to the kindergarten warm up his phillipine engine in the morning few times a week so I called them and they came, but problem still not solved yet, will keep calling if they don't stop. You can try it apart from police may solve your problem. Or if calling cops and your Dewan Bandaraya don't help even if you insisted persistently and no other way you know already after asking, you can do the same, play music start 12am to 12pm loud loud, so no one sleeps.

This post has been edited by Diiimn: Aug 9 2013, 12:26 PM
Langiler
post Aug 9 2013, 05:47 PM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

QUOTE(Diiimn @ Aug 9 2013, 12:24 PM)
Last time I asked in lowyat this is what they said, https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1036261/all , but don't know is jibberish or not, directive 666 or trespass law, this problem continue till now  doh.gif
Btw, can try call your dewan bandaraya to come also, stupid lorry driver in addition to the kindergarten warm up his phillipine engine in the morning few times a week so I called them and they came, but problem still not solved yet, will keep calling if they don't stop. You can try it apart from police may solve your problem. Or if calling cops and your Dewan Bandaraya don't help even if you insisted persistently and no other way you know already after asking, you can do the same, play music start 12am to 12pm loud loud, so no one sleeps.
haha, i read your thread...

for ts, try to report to the condo management,
if not, buy a ear plug or something, sleep at the living room, face your speaker toward your 'beloved' neighbour, make a playlist, 5 min loud 5 min silent sound, repeat the playlist.

willer
post Sep 1 2016, 04:06 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(zenyusof @ Aug 8 2013, 01:52 AM)
The easiest most reliable option is just to report to police. They will come and give the guy a knock on the door.
Condo can report police? Same problem upstairs is walking like dinosaur at midnight...
missysleepy
post Sep 2 2016, 05:55 AM

718 posts

QUOTE(ramius @ Aug 6 2013, 12:51 AM)
Is there any noise pollution law exist in Malaysia? or any place which can make a complaint?

I have a neighbor which her house always make noise from 7am-2am (365days/year)... so I really no chance to sleep for >5hrs...
I live in an apartment and my neighbor doing child care in her house (she also hv children btw).. So every morning I heard alot of children noises until midnight.. (at start few yrs still ok.. but recently got more n more children... >8 children in a 600sqft unit =  =) and after some of the kids are sent back.. It's time for her to chat.. from 12am to 2am!! Sometimes she also talk around 4am.. (wondering whether she really don't need to sleep) and she got habit which must talking on phone facing window.. and talk very very loud.. when I ask her to lower her sound in midnight, she talk even louder and ask those children to make noises facing the window and stare to me when I walk pass the corridor....  rclxub.gif (whole corridor is those children playground! and ya.. she doesn't teach those children even her own children properly... even 3yrs-old kid from that unit speak fluent foul language...)

So I am finding a way to settle this besides from moving out... is there any way?  cry.gif
i got some very effective earplug that can solve this problem.
i could understand this as it affect us mentally and productivity.

everyday , we were facing this problems from people who doesn't care about our well being. my no 1 problems were snoring and barking dogs as most of my customers have been tolerating this issues almost daily. This is the least we can do while making a proper report.
LegendLee
post Sep 2 2016, 12:31 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

When you are out, can mount some really large subwoofers on your wall toward them.
Probably play some songs that they don't like.
Either justin bieber on repeat if they are teenagers or some hardcore metal songs if they are older.
pwkhang
post Sep 15 2016, 10:23 AM

I am wondering what can the police do after a few warning and the person still continue making noise pollution?

Recently a restaurant was open near my place and they started karaoke session everyday, 8pm to 2am. It's driving everyone crazy. What if they got license to operate the karaoke, can we still call the police to stop them?
willer
post Jun 24 2018, 09:57 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Sep 2 2016, 12:31 PM)
When you are out, can mount some really large subwoofers on your wall toward them.
Probably play some songs that they don't like.
Either justin bieber on repeat if they are teenagers or some hardcore metal songs if they are older.
great idea, wireless sound bar and play game!
Sometimes nothing you can do especially they say that is their rights to walk like that or accidentally drop thing at 2-3am.
Blofeld
post Jun 26 2018, 07:55 AM

4,707 posts

i dont remember an apartment is allowed to be used as a child care centre.

Report that.

If you really want. Viral it on FB.
Amazingzane
post Jun 26 2018, 03:16 PM

I have suffering on the nuisance of water pump engine since I moved in February 2018, the water pump unit is just on my unit above. This is a severe issue as the water pump machine is an auto-run and the nuisance happened in the middle of night whilst I asleep.

Can anyone tell me what dan I do in the issue??
gugukrez
post Jun 26 2018, 03:18 PM

943 posts

QUOTE(Amazingzane @ Jun 26 2018, 03:16 PM)
I have suffering on the nuisance of water pump engine since I moved in February 2018, the water pump unit is just on my unit above. This is a severe issue as the water pump machine is an auto-run and the nuisance happened in the middle of night whilst I asleep.

engine sound or vibrating sound..
Aftermaths
post Jun 26 2018, 03:40 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(ramius @ Aug 6 2013, 12:51 AM)

I live in an apartment and my neighbor doing child care in her house (she also hv children btw).. So every morning I heard alot of children noises until midnight.. (at start few yrs still ok.. but recently got more n more children... >8 children in a 600sqft unit =  =) and after some of the kids are sent back.. It's time for her to chat.. from 12am to 2am!! Sometimes she also talk around 4am.. (wondering whether she really don't need to sleep) and she got habit which must talking on phone facing window.. and talk very very loud.. when I ask her to lower her sound in midnight, she talk even louder and ask those children to make noises facing the window and stare to me when I walk pass the corridor....  rclxub.gif (whole corridor is those children playground! and ya.. she doesn't teach those children even her own children properly... even 3yrs-old kid from that unit speak fluent foul language...)

So I am finding a way to settle this besides from moving out... is there any way?  cry.gif
Actually everybody will do nothing until police & lawyer come into place.

Step 1:
Go complain & lodge police report.
Photocopy 1 for condo, 1 for your neighbour & pass 1 copy to the guard house.

Step 2:
After 12 midnight, record their sound as preliminary evidence.
- No need long, everyday 1 minutes enough.
Sounds for day time also remember to record.
- Food steps & all annoying sounds.
- Rubbish & etc.

Step 3:
If police say cannot do anything, then you just keep ask them "how to sleep la you tell me?"
Probably police will provide you their police station number.
So after 12 midnight you call & complain.
Maybe they will send patrol over & knock their door.

Step 4:
Lodge police report once a month or once a week? (Maybe)
After 3 reports were made, just bring all your evidence & consult lawyer.

This post has been edited by Aftermaths: Jun 26 2018, 03:41 PM
SUSalexcky
post Jun 27 2018, 09:12 PM

business Sifu
842 posts

Call department of environment, they will assist you
Amazingzane
post Jun 28 2018, 01:56 PM

QUOTE(gugukrez @ Jun 26 2018, 03:18 PM)
engine sound or vibrating sound..
Both. Engine sound and come with vibrating on the small room, because the pump engine is exactly on top above of my small room. 😰
TravelToInfinity
post Sep 8 2018, 11:31 PM

QUOTE(jasonhanjk @ Jun 26 2018, 10:40 AM)
Got but useless. Especially against mosque with their loudspeakers in the morning. I have 3 in my area and they sometimes have a competition to see who can shout the loudest so Allah can hear them.
As useless as you ah? Making racist comments embarassing other Malaysians!
conxtion
post Sep 9 2018, 07:07 AM

245 posts

Indian law:

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/mu...ow/39515042.cms

No similar law in Malaysia.
Palvin11 Kaur
post Sep 12 2018, 09:44 AM

I live in a low density apartment where there are only 22 units and 700sqft per house. My neighbor above my unit hv 3 kids running and jumping the whole day. this started in May 2016 till now. But the jumping and running/ scattering falling objects/ furniture screeching sound is only heard by us and not any other neighbor. How do I prove this to the Court? I'm getting mental stress because of this also my kids are sitting for their SPM and PT3 this year.
Lion Cut
post Sep 12 2018, 09:54 AM

192 posts

bad news....u cant reason with or educate this kind of neighbor
police , legal etc wont help if neighbor attitude still the same
the only permanent solution is for u to move house

This post has been edited by Lion Cut: Sep 12 2018, 09:56 AM
Bliz
post Sep 21 2018, 02:55 PM

2,734 posts

I have a noisy neighbour as well, they have like 3 dogs and one of the dog can bark nonstop during midnight, frustrated as we all cannot get a proper sleep.
Twisters Tay
post Sep 25 2018, 04:45 PM

Nuisance in condo is very suffering especially to the resident who stay lower unit from the "source of noise".
I had referred to many articles and follow the steps like 1st video recording, complaint to management office and recently have a face to face meet up. The upper unit keep saying her daughter is having cancer and causing one of her ears deaf that's why keep stomping on the floor(my unit ceiling).I'm very sympathy to hear that but this is not the reason of heavy foot step on floor every midnight. The most intolerable noise is throwing things on floor and bounce back, sound like marble or pebble stone.i visited the upper unit with her" invite " and together with security guard,of course, i was speechless when i see her house is so messy and it can be anything can fall down and hit the floor. Please help me as i love my new unit just bought for 1 year and was so lovely before this.

(Please do not advise to move out as this is the coward way of facing. And be considerate if you also just bought a house)
Chrono-Trigger
post Sep 25 2018, 04:51 PM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,310 posts

Invest in ear plug, or get a fan that is a bit louder to mask the effect of the noise if you live in a condo. Try play some songs etc.

If live in a landed property, invest in a double-glazing windows. Really makes a difference , won't hear all the noise from outside the room.

we live in a society where other humans beside us exist. It's not possible to live in a quiet environment. Even forest you hear cries of nocturnal birds and insects.

I am talking from personal experience.

If all fail, then consider move to another place.

This post has been edited by Chrono-Trigger: Sep 25 2018, 04:52 PM
Twisters Tay
post Sep 25 2018, 09:27 PM

That's always too easy to say move your house,if you not buying a house for yourself.
A noise created with intention is always irritating. We are reasonable person and know how to differentiate white noise. Stomping sound and throw things on the floor is so rude and no manners actions is intolerable.
Would like to know if there's no house rules state that the noise should stop at certain time but prohibit the resident to create noise to disturb others. Should the residents observe that even normal hours, since we may take a day off or even a nap.
Thanks for enlightenment.
waters
post Sep 27 2018, 09:46 AM

310 posts

I had the exact problem. In my condo, the water pump is on the 2nd floor, my unit is on the 7th. Since the beginning of the year, it started making the same sounds you describe.

Took me 100s of emails and calls. I WhatsApp'd and SMS'd the maintenance guy and emailed the management EVERYTIME it came on, even if it was at 2am. Hey, if I have to listen to it, they need to know!! So they got 20-30 msgs/emails from me everyday.

I even had to email and call the developer.

After 8 months, they solved it.

Finally some piece and quiet.

MeToo
post Nov 13 2018, 11:16 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(Palvin11 Kaur @ Sep 12 2018, 09:44 AM)
I live in a low density apartment where there are only 22 units and 700sqft per house. My neighbor above my unit hv 3 kids running and jumping the whole day. this started in May 2016 till now. But the jumping and running/ scattering falling objects/ furniture screeching  sound is only heard by us and not any other neighbor. How do I prove this to the Court? I'm getting mental stress because of this also my kids are sitting for their SPM and PT3 this year.
Well, kids will be kids.

I doubt the court will take you seriously.

Its just one of the downside of living in a condo.
fishangler88
post Aug 7 2019, 09:49 AM

37 posts

Hi , May i know you pump noise issue have been solve ? I also facing same problem as well
lucasxuan95 P
post Jan 10 2020, 06:38 PM

Probation

QUOTE(btfan @ Aug 6 2013, 01:26 AM)

1. Inform your neighbour politely about the matter but in most cases, especially in Malaysia, this will most often do nothing but instead causes your noisy neighbours to be even more annoying. Petty people are petty, you can't change this.
3. Bring it up to your condo management. There should be some common house rules/regulations stating that any resident is entitled to a quiet enjoyment inside his house. I believe there should be local laws guaranteeing this as well.
5. Report to local authority/income tax department. If she's running a nursery in her apartment. I'll bet she doesn't have the license to carry her business and she doesn't report her income.
6. Take legal actions and sue her for monetary compensation for the distress she's causing you. Make sure you compile evidence like daily video recordings and even other neighbours' statement to support your case. If your neighbour is as noisy as you say she is, you're not the only one being troubled by her.

In short, yes, there are ways that you are protected from noise pollution. Step 4-6 will show her you mean business. Don't let this bully get away.
lucasxuan95 P
post Jan 10 2020, 06:39 PM

Probation

QUOTE(btfan @ Aug 6 2013, 01:26 AM)

I recently have the same issue, but is with my nearby surau. Not blaming the chanting, but their audio system creates high pitch echoes which wake me up during in the middle of my sleep... Can I apply the same approaches?

blmse92
post Jan 11 2020, 12:46 AM

603 posts

Noise pollution = Motorbike exhaust, when they changed to straight pipe. Noisy as hell

0.0281sec    0.85    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:43 PM