Cycling V8, General talks on Racing/road bikes

minizian
post Aug 6 2013, 11:32 AM

1,074 posts

Fizik kurve snake is good. Tried it on my solo local ride. Glad i got used from someone in aussie thumbup.gif

Some shoes and clothing are cheaper here then in Au. Gotta shop around between this two country smile.gif

Where i can get this in KL so hard to find this item Lenzyne micro floor pump

This post has been edited by minizian: Aug 6 2013, 11:36 AM
minizian
post Aug 6 2013, 11:39 AM

1,074 posts

Anyone joined sentul race series? How was it?
minizian
post Aug 6 2013, 11:48 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 6 2013, 11:46 AM)
fizik kurve bloody expensive here.

that pump, not sure la. never seen it in any lbs.

or u can ask them

MALAYSIA
GC Cycle
18, Hala Perusahaan Menglembu 5, Menglembu Industrail Estate, 31450 Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
gccycle.gmail.com
+605-2531578
www.gccycle.com
How much selling here? I got mine for RM300 laugh.gif used lah of cos. Original scott prologo nack saddle really not suitable for my butt

This post has been edited by minizian: Aug 6 2013, 11:48 AM
minizian
post Aug 6 2013, 11:53 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 6 2013, 11:52 AM)
about 800
Dang that was expensive, it cos around RM600+ if u bought it from wiggle and ship to aus. Something local shop had similar deal too shocking.gif
minizian
post Aug 7 2013, 11:47 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 6 2013, 01:09 PM)
For Lezyne, try USJ Cycles
Dang, they are closed for raya now.

QUOTE(owen07 @ Aug 6 2013, 04:28 PM)
Nah...Usj cycle damn LAN Si la... Service suck la..
Oh well, that expected in Malaysia since cycling is not common and those ppl who rode usually buy super high end bike outright. If you don look like water fish then the shop will treat you like shit. I went this shop in F&N pudu looking for lenzyne pump, the shopkeeper not keen to entertain me and wanted to get rid of me asap whistling.gif In australia, at lest they treat u with respect but still there are some shop they look at you first before dictating the level of service to be provide eg u look like student or asian whistling.gif

==============================================================

Btw anyone riding in kl this coming raya? I am really keen to try kesas highway from bukit jail to Botanic smile.gif Not sure where to park in bukit jail if i going to cycle?

This post has been edited by minizian: Aug 7 2013, 11:48 AM
minizian
post Aug 9 2013, 10:10 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 9 2013, 11:47 AM)
was mucking about in the retul site and saw that there is a certified retul fitter in KL...(Retul is the biggest rival against spez's BG Fit system)

https://www.retul.com/find-a-fitter/shop/1126/

after digging about a bit.. i think i know this fella Johan... a dude full of white hair..

http://velofit.org/
http://alchemyrider.me/tag/velo-fit/
https://www.facebook.com/velofitmy/page_map

some information from their page
still cheaper than BG Fit...

and some nice write up on why and when you need a fit...(of course by them lar, who else....me??? dafug!!!)

http://velofit.org/what-is-a-bike-fit/
Australia retul fit also around same price but in AUD. I hope the fitter know thier shit and not only follow wat retul have laid out.
minizian
post Aug 9 2013, 10:12 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 9 2013, 09:34 PM)
wow!

Lucky my bike fitting is good with experience from the Bike Tech Subang owner....
tell me about bike tech subang? As in how good are they?
minizian
post Aug 11 2013, 09:01 PM

1,074 posts

Anyone doing regular weekdays ride, i am keen to join smile.gif

This post has been edited by minizian: Aug 11 2013, 09:11 PM
minizian
post Aug 13 2013, 12:11 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 12 2013, 09:40 PM)
i think malaysia junior team starts @ 7am every morning from MSN
Can you actually tag with them? Will they get rage if you follow em?
minizian
post Aug 14 2013, 02:02 AM

1,074 posts

Hmm i need urgent adjustment on my saddle as i mess up the set up and its making my balls numb. Anyone can recommend good fitter that can help me adjust the saddle, i just need to sort the saddle. Other stuff like seatpost height are okay for me. I was thinking KH Cycles or bike pro since they carry Scott but are they good enough for the job?

Would love to hear suggestion from you guys. Does Godzilla cycle guy do good job on bike fitting?
minizian
post Aug 16 2013, 06:38 PM

1,074 posts

BH can pm me the link for that retul bike shop in PJ?
minizian
post Aug 16 2013, 06:57 PM

1,074 posts

thanks bro smile.gif
minizian
post Aug 18 2013, 11:03 PM

1,074 posts

I am going for saddle shoppin this coming week, keen to get fizik aliante, any place that have wide range of fizik saddles? How much am i expected to pay for top end aliante?
minizian
post Aug 19 2013, 12:24 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Aug 18 2013, 11:03 PM)
I am going for saddle shoppin this coming week, keen to get fizik aliante, any place that have wide range of fizik saddles? How much am i expected to pay for top end aliante?
Any shop here offer demo saddle for me to try before i buy it?
minizian
post Aug 19 2013, 10:45 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 19 2013, 08:21 AM)
zilch
Where was this shop man?
minizian
post Aug 19 2013, 10:46 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 19 2013, 10:46 AM)
zilch means no or nothing
oh okay sweat.gif
minizian
post Aug 19 2013, 09:43 PM

1,074 posts

Woohoo manage to get hold of aliante at good price instead of kurve bull. Hope my balls wont get number this time. Not to mention surprised that my stem is cheaper than Wiggle (which the cheapest place to get when i still in aussie) icon_idea.gif

Seen the Cosmic Carbon 40 Clincher face to face, same price as comic carbone CXR 80, any takers? shocking.gif

This post has been edited by minizian: Aug 19 2013, 09:45 PM
minizian
post Aug 21 2013, 11:56 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(CoMMie @ Aug 21 2013, 09:26 PM)
Hi I read someone on this thread own an Scott foil 40. Any input on this bike?

I own team issue which is same bike but with better grade carbon (mean lighther frame) and finishing (Ritchey WCS carbon items). Ride wise i cant compare much but i can said its not as harsh as my first aluminium bike but harsher than my titanium bike. Power transfer wise scott is better but subject to the kind of wheel you are using too, think my current wheel absorb some of energy before its transmitted to the road. Same thing won happen on fulcrum racing 1. Geometry on foil series is more aggressive if u follow stricly Scott geomentry website (110mm Stem for Small size frame). U can change to shorter stem but i not sure how it will affect the handling

I think scott in KL are overpriced sad.gif To be honest there are not much performance difference apart of heavier frame/parts and lower but very functional groupset like 105/force/tiagra depending which foil you choose (15/20/30/40) By all mean grab whichever your wallet feel comfortable smile.gif

Do shop around for other brand too so that you have more choices on other brand too smile.gif

This post has been edited by minizian: Aug 21 2013, 11:59 PM
minizian
post Aug 25 2013, 09:44 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(CoMMie @ Aug 24 2013, 01:45 PM)
Hello guys
Went to shopping just now and narrow down to this few bike

Avanti dr1 8k+
105 group
Harsh ride even harsher then foil in some review
Love the look of it

Scott foil 40 7k+
harsh ride
good aero design
Good price
Look not as cool as avanti

specializes tarmac sl3 8k+
Old model but within my budget
Ultegra
claims to be good carbon not entry lvl
less harsh ride with more relax position

at this point cant decide which one to go to. What do you guys think? Should i go more shops before making decision?
Hello, cant go wrong with either one to be honest apart from slight weight and diff carbon grade and geometry used. Buy from the dealer you think will take care of you after you bought the bike. Not to mention better to stick to one shop when buying other stuff like cloths or wheel upgrade etc. THe thing that count when riding the bike is your leg in order to take advantage whatever the bike has to offer.

** Do you actually read my thoughts about Foil few page before that???? doh.gif

This post has been edited by minizian: Aug 25 2013, 09:48 PM
minizian
post Aug 27 2013, 10:51 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(m4djack @ Aug 27 2013, 07:55 PM)
Hi guys,

I found this lovely used Bianchi Reparto Corse in Helsinki and thought of transporting it back together when im returning next month. Would need your guys experience in dealing with flight and immigration issues if they may arised. Any advices would be appreciated! biggrin.gif
- Check your airline if they special allocation for bikes on board? Air asia have sports equipment allowance which is separated from the usual baggage allowance, eg for me when i comeback i have 40kg of sports equipment allowance (carried 2 bike bag) and 40kg allowance for my baggageand stuffs. Airlines like MH usually calculated your bike weight under normal allowance, eg 30kg economy class including your bike and your baggage together.

-You gotta choose how pack up you bike, soft shell like Sci-con aerocomfort or hard case like bikeboxalan. Both got good and bad, I choose aerocomfort cos i no need to disassemble as much as hard case (just remove the wheel). My trip with scicon so far so good, i talked to some of the owner and they are satisfied with it. My bag together with bike only weigh around 16 kg &17 kg. It will be much more heavier if you use hardcase. Just make sure you pad the bike well when you packing up your bike in either soft or hard shell box. Another cheaper option is the brown box where u can get from bike shop, its cheap and its effective as well but you got to know what are you doing when you packing it, best pay the bike shop to pack for you. Not to mention the bike will be taken apart so you gotta have the right tools (torque wrench) to fix it back.

-Malaysia customs, they will ask for sure as the bag is unsually big ass size. Just tell them its a bicycle and they will let you go. That what happen to me when i lugging two bike bags and my baggage in lcct.

This post has been edited by minizian: Aug 27 2013, 10:56 PM

0.0227sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:43 AM