QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 2 2013, 10:28 AM)
Carbon is not fragile... it won't break just by riding it..
however, there is higher chances of damage to carbon if you crash it heavily (and i do mean heavily, rider in hospital type heavy)... alloy bikes might have dents, dings, and etc but depending on situation... it might still be rideable back to your starting point if you are not badly hurt..
polygon is not as well known as major brands like specialized... but they are also not as poor as some other brands like XDS or some of the cheaper chinese brands out there... Polygon bikes are rather reliable and they usually spec the complete bike in general very well and has high value for money... brands like XDS might try to shove in a few nice things at noticeable points of the bike to make it appeal to customers and cut massively at things that they don't notice to cover for the price difference....
to put it simply in my own words
High End Specialize = BMW (upper class)
Low to Mid Range Specialize= Honda / Toyota levels
Polygon /Merida types = Perodua / Proton (cheap yet affordable and comes with respectable equipment), At least you still trust them.
XDS / TRS and god knows what = imagine China cars like QQ which sells for unbelievably cheap price (gives you bodykit, 18inch rims and nice stereo) but generally poor quality and design all around the car. Trust or not is up to you.
Go survey around some models and prices first. Most importantly, dun rush your purchase.
Generally, people like folding bikes does ride into city areas... but they do it on days where there is considerably less traffic like weekend early mornings... it is a bit more dangerous to ride in city due to the traffic.
If you are in seputeh, you can actually ride Kesas from sri petaling to subang and then back. It is not too far from your place.
QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 2 2013, 10:33 AM)
please do not confuse stiffness and strength... those are 2 very different attributes on a bike and you are talking about stiffness while micdy is talking about strength of the bike in the situation of a crash or general riding
stiffness is where the tubes of the bike does not yield when force / torque is applied on it... this will equate to how well the frame transfers the force applied from your pedals to the road
strength is where how much the tube can bent out of place before it could not return to it's original state or break totally... this determines how much impact a alloy or carbon tube can take before it starts getting damaged permanently
in simple, an uncooked strand of spaghetti is hard and stiff and breaks easily if you try to fold it in half... a cooked strand of spaghetti will be soft and will flex when you try to bend it instead of breaking....get it?
read this for more understanding on carbon modulus.. very nice piece written by cervelo engineers
http://www.cervelo.com/en/engineering/ask-...of-modulus.htmlQUOTE(butthead @ Oct 2 2013, 10:36 AM)
and to re-iterate my statement... i am not saying that you have to buy carbon.. but nowadays... the gap between carbon and alloy both in price and manufacturing levels have close so much that carbon can be a consideration...
unless you think of yourself as a flip floppy fumbling fool who is going to crash more often than staying upright... then alloy is the way to go....
Thank you so much for the info. Also thanks for the simplified (dummy-proofed) explanation of the levels of difference brands. I will have a look at some bike shop later this week.
PS: I think I used the wrong term for CF. What I mean is that they are very brittle.