140 posts

Hello guys
i am eyeing this 2 bike

Boardmen Road Comp
1) http://www.heehongcycle.com.my/roadcomp.jpg

Boardmen Team Carbon
2)http://www.heehongcycle.com.my/teamc.jpg

which one is better in terms of value? consider the components bundle with the bike

CoMMie
post Aug 16 2013, 10:49 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 16 2013, 10:38 AM)
i think both this bikes are priced differently right? and it's a very different bike... not just the components... one is an alloy frame and the other a carbon frame..

definitely the team carbon if you can afford it...either ways, components wise on both bikes.. there is high chances that you will be upgrading it anyway.. so, why bother???
yeah price is different
my worry is if i take that 1st option and i upgrade the components later the total cost will be equivalent to getting the 2nd option minus the carbon frame.
CoMMie
post Aug 16 2013, 11:31 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 16 2013, 11:00 AM)
let's look at it this way.. on the 105 team carbon... there might be a chance you upgrade the wheel and leave the majority of the components as it is... +- 10k the whole bike..

on the apex road comp... there is also the same chance (albeit a higher chance) to upgrade the wheels making it the around 7-8k...

the major question is, do you prefer SRAM in the first place as the road comp is sram equipped although the entry level group... and yes, there is possibility that you might swap some parts out even if you prefer SRAM on the road comp but it should not result in as much as RM3k unless you upgrade the entire group to a higher end one... in that case, the same applies to the team carbon as it is also only equipped with the work horse group from shimano..

so, the question is not which is better.. the question is, if you will be itchy handed come to a couple months after owning the bike as both bikes have stuff that can potentially be bettered...

and after all that.. still comes to the question of the frame after all your upgrades where it might become a bottle neck...

if you say you are worried about trashing your first bike like crashing and damaging it.. the alloy one would be of a safer choice compared to a carbon one... but other than that... there is not much reason to get the alloy one is money is not of a constraint...and even to damage a carbon one.. you need a cataclysmic crash with most probably put you in the hospital as well to make that happen..
thanks for the advice i know what to do now
CoMMie
post Aug 16 2013, 12:03 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(jon501 @ Aug 16 2013, 11:53 AM)
I know there is a distributor near Bandar Puteri Klang selling their bike quite cheap. This is a new brand name "Cronus" from french.

They selling this model at RM8.5k only
ESPRESSO
Frame: 12K CARBON 48/51/54/57CM
Fork: 12K CARBON
SHIMANO ULTEGRA Groupset(20SP)
Rim: SHIMANO WH-RS20-L
FRAME 51CM + FORK 1470G/7.80KG

but they bike need to preorder
8.5k only?
thats not cheap at all
CoMMie
post Aug 17 2013, 11:02 AM

140 posts

some question from bike noob here
hope sifu can answer

Is there a big difference between a carbon bike and alu bike?. For example lets say you riding a alu bike and you borrow your friend carbon bike immediately you will feel the difference. This is assuming both the carbon and alu bike has the same group set and wheels

CoMMie
post Aug 18 2013, 06:12 PM

140 posts

Guys what do you thin about this bike
Litespeed c3 105
http://www.litespeed.com/bike.asp?content=C3-2013

Was quoted 8k+
I look at the specs (almost complete 105) seems good and value for money but is litespeed reliable brand? I just know they good at titanium bike and new in carbon
CoMMie
post Aug 20 2013, 09:30 AM

140 posts

hello guys anyone heard of brand name Avanti?

Are they in the same range as polygon? Since i cant find much reviews or user input of their bikes in the net
CoMMie
post Aug 21 2013, 09:26 PM

140 posts

Hi I read someone on this thread own an Scott foil 40. Any input on this bike?

CoMMie
post Aug 24 2013, 01:45 PM

140 posts

Hello guys
Went to shopping just now and narrow down to this few bike

Avanti dr1 8k+
105 group
Harsh ride even harsher then foil in some review
Love the look of it

Scott foil 40 7k+
harsh ride
good aero design
Good price
Look not as cool as avanti

specializes tarmac sl3 8k+
Old model but within my budget
Ultegra
claims to be good carbon not entry lvl
less harsh ride with more relax position

at this point cant decide which one to go to. What do you guys think? Should i go more shops before making decision?

CoMMie
post Aug 24 2013, 02:38 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Aug 24 2013, 02:28 PM)
did u go to godzilla to look at wilier?
which spez tarmac did u look at? the sworks?
Not sure which specs he just told me sl3 model with ultegra/carbon same as sl4, so i guess not sworks does it makes a big diffrent?

Wilier where can i see the bike?
CoMMie
post Aug 24 2013, 05:22 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(butt-head @ Aug 24 2013, 03:57 PM)
are you basing all this on reviews  doh.gif

carbon bikes are going to be inevitably harsh if you compare it to the best steel and Ti frames out there... it is a trade off but in the trade off...you gain efficient power transfer via a stiffer frame... and possibly lesser weight...

as for the 3 models... avanti, from a brand point of view is the one where there is most ??? over it in terms of brand sustainability... we know for sure scott and specialize won't go away but avanti has the chance of disappearing from the market if the shop selling it goes bust (which i know they won't lar, bikeplus have deep pockets)

the sl3 if s-works would be a great choice if priced at RM8k... the frame was last sold at something quite close to 5k? so, 3k left for an ultegra group + cockpit + wheel is kinda impossible to achieve...

at the end of the day... you have to consider other factors like... does it have the right size for you? do you like the bike itself (Aesthetically)? do you like dealing with the shop that sells it?  my final choices would personally be between the scott and specialized (s-works or not).. for close to RM8k... no interest in an advanti...
willier??? have to be campy fan wer....
s-works and normal spez has quite a bit of difference... in terms of weight, carbon layup affecting the stiffness and ride quality of the bike itself...

godzilla is just right behind gh speedbikes in kota damansara
http://www.godzillacycles.com/contact.html
hmm scott is newer model but 1k + cheaper then sl3, so does it means the extra money goes into the brand name and better group set?
CoMMie
post Aug 24 2013, 09:44 PM

140 posts

Btw butthead
That spec sales guy say since I new he don't recommend me go try aero or aggressive bike. He say my body might not be able to take it , how true is this?

And the spez sl3 seems no lubang for internal cabeling. Will this be an obstacle for future upgrade as I see most new bike now come with one
CoMMie
post Aug 25 2013, 12:13 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Aug 24 2013, 09:54 PM)
depends on how you see it...  the way i see it, you will work your way to it.. definitely there will be some discomforts in the beginning if you get bikes that are more low down on the front end... but there are such things as massive amount of spacers to help alleviate back flexibility problems.. and as you improve your fitness and flexibility levels, you take off your stack of spacers one by one...

it's like saying you are still a P driver... should not drive manual, why not buy an auto car first and once you are more experienced only you come back buy a manual... sounds more like he is hoping you buy 2 bikes from him...

if you are that worried about frames which is more veered to race geometries.. you can or the rep could have recommended you other spez like the roubaix for instance which has a slightly different geometry and still almost quite as good as the tarmac....
internal cabling is more to protect the cables as it is not exposed to the elements.. but it's a nightmare to run the cables which is not your worry if you give it to your mechanic to handle it...

not a deal breaker... in fact.. more reasons to buy fully shielded cables like nokon, i-links...
Hmm seems spez sl3 tarmac not compatible with di2
See this

http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/vi...hp?f=10&t=84171

Apparently you need to drill holes to the frame itself
CoMMie
post Aug 25 2013, 05:55 PM

140 posts

Damn cycling damn poison
Have to really spend a lot of $$ just to get entry level carbon with a good groupset.

And this still comes with a heavy wheels
CoMMie
post Aug 27 2013, 09:40 AM

140 posts

hello guys
how common is bike theft in malaysia ? . Do i need to secure the bike using chain lock, or i can just leave it alone without worrying being stolen?

0.0531sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:40 PM