Cycling V8, General talks on Racing/road bikes

butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 02:37 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(Mac Wai @ Oct 8 2013, 12:11 AM)
Pour in some oil money la...and the oomph will be back.... I still dun pump Petrol..nanas or shall after close to a billion sponsorship money on F1. OTH I might just do that if they sponsored a pro cycling team.
why does oil and gas company want to sponsor cycling?

aparlu pump then?
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 09:25 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(Nazrull @ Oct 7 2013, 10:54 PM)
I'm new to road cycling(started 3 months ago). Kinda wondering if my TRS Lighting bike(yes, it's a low end road bike, cheap one) wheel set can be converted to tubeless one? It use Quando hub. I've asked around here in Kuantan most of bike shop says it depend on the wheels. Somebody care to enlighten me about this standard clincher wheel to tubeless setup thing?

p/s: pardon for that poor english.
there are 3 types of wheels currently, tubular, clincher and road tubeless...

tubular is a tire where the inner tube is sewn in the tire and the tire is glued to the rim bed...

clincher and road tubeless is basically the same system where it relies on the tire beads to hook onto the rim's hooks.. the only difference is where clincher has an inner tube and road tubeless does not... this also results in a different rim where clincher rims has holes at the rim bed while road tubeless usually is sealed up...there are other technical aspects to it where you can google up as it is hard to explain without the proper imagery...

to convert a conventional clincher rim to road tubeless is not an easy thing...

theoretically, stan's created a road tubeless conversion kit which is actually a rim tape that seals the holes on the rim bed... but i've read from some users of this method suffering problems retaining pressure in the tires...

http://www.notubes.com/Road-Tubeless-C78.aspx

and unlike mountain bike conversion kits, the tubeless system still requires road tubeless specific tires to make it work... and that is not cheap considering you have a TRS bike... both tires and conversion kit can costs as little as 25% of your entire bike's initial worth most probably...

so, my question will be... wat is the reason you want tubeless instead of the normal clincher with inner tube?
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 09:49 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 8 2013, 09:46 AM)
my fr0 2way fit can straight put on tire and ride ?!
2 way fit is meant for clincher and road tubelss use... you just need road tubeless specific tire mounted and squirt in some sealant and off you go... reason is that the road tubeless specific tires have a much tighter bead and usually is a b!atch to mount....
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 09:52 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(cheewooi @ Oct 8 2013, 09:47 AM)
Guys,
If I got RM7K to spend on new roadbike. Any recommendation? So far I've seen that worth considering is Merida Lampre Team Bike for RM7.7K with Ultegra, FSA, Controltech, Fulcrum and Prologo component.

This is my first roadbike. I don't want to involve in upgrading game like my current MTB where I spend more than 10K itself in upgrading my hard tail. I just want to buy a reasonably good one and enjoy the ride.

Appreciate if you can share your input.

let me put it to you this way... what is your definition of a reasonably good one??? and frankly... RM7k is really a neither here nor there case...

@ RM7k... you might end up with a fantastic aluminum bike.... or you end up with a better carbon rig with lousier components... either way, which means more money later on....

if you have high expectations which i expect you might have... since you own an RM10k hardtail (not sure if alloy or carbon)... i doubt RM7k will stop you from upgrading in the future...

just telling you frankly...

Working backwards, just some simple calculations will reveal how much money you might be lacking.
Groupset - that you won't regret or sales guy so call future proofing it.
Ultegra 11s (RM2.6k)
Force 22 (RM3.3k)
Wheels - light yet not killing your wallet
as little as RM1.8k to as much as RM3.5k

Both this things leaves behind only RM2.6k for the remaining items which is frame, finishing kit (bars, stems, SP, saddles, miscellaneous items)...Reverse it and you find lacking of funds for a reasonable group set...

You see where this is leading to?

As i say, expectations for your RM7k... or save up more and then buy it later...

This post has been edited by butthead: Oct 8 2013, 10:23 AM
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 09:54 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(malleus @ Oct 8 2013, 09:47 AM)
yup. but make sure its tubeless ready tires. so far the only ones I've found locally are the Hutchinson ones, but Rodalink mentioned that they'll begin stocking the Schwalbe tubeless by end of this month

*edit* sealant will be very useful too smile.gif
the Hutchinson ones are atom tubeless... if there was the fusion 3.... it would be so much more sweeter...

roadlink did brought in their schwalbe tubeless already since the mid of last month... i saw them mounting it on the ultegra wheels....
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 10:19 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 8 2013, 10:02 AM)
buy a 30k bike if you don't want any component upgrades in future.........
boss weirdo... 30k still leaves room for upgrade lar... unless you tokin bout USD...

if you want confirmation of die die nothing else to think about.. at least some limited edition colnago or RCA (RM30k, frame alone) and then you bang on some 80th anniversary campag super record, Reynolds RZR wheels, full ceramic speed bearing, jockey wheel, bottom bracket upgrades and carbonize every darn thing you can find or shmolke makes...even the bar tape...

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 8 2013, 10:02 AM)
it's like you buy an Aventador and say you are never gonna upgrade at all
BS... aventador can still be turbocharged lar... cos it got whacked by 1000ps R35s...

QUOTE(malleus @ Oct 8 2013, 10:03 AM)
ah cools, didn't know they've got it in stock already.

I've found the fusion 3 tubeless here too actually. started on those initially, but moved to the atoms after that
yeah... atoms is cheaper in the long term...

but then, since going for tubeless means going for performance... not much reason to settle for any less right blush.gif
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 10:35 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Oct 8 2013, 10:25 AM)
now you talk like experience bro!  icon_rolleyes.gif
now, he talk like salesman lar... i start to think he get commission for promoting their bikes...
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 10:41 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 8 2013, 10:37 AM)
it jus happened that I went there and they promoting. So i share with you all la tongue.gif
i know u get commission for it behind our backs... admit it lar tongue.gif
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 11:07 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(Nazrull @ Oct 8 2013, 10:51 AM)
I suffered flat tire once a month since I started, that's why I'm thinking of converting my rims to tubeless. At first I think maybe my current weight (currently 86kg as of yesterday) contributes to this. But a bike mechanics told me it's probably something to do with my rims because he said standard clincher wheel do flat once in a while not once in a month! So I'm bringing my wheel set for him to take a look.

After looking around youtube for this tubeless thing I thin I can do it my self but just in case I'm bringing in my bike for some inspection.

One minor problem with this tubeless conversion is the conversion kit(usually from Stan NoTube) is hard to find here in Kuantan. The mechanics told me he usually had to order the kit from Singapore. Tubeless-ready tire brand like Schwalbe Ultremo ZX and Hutchinson Fusion 3 is easy to find, but other stuff like Stan tape that is used to seal the inner rims is not.
i think changing to tubeless won't solve much of your flat tire problem... basically flat tire is due to a couple of reasons apart from a crappy tire and inner tube..

1) rim tape not doing it's job
2) hitting a pothole resulting in a pinch flat

yes, the tubeless conversion is a DIY thing from stans notube... but i think you might as well be investing into a good pump, saddle bag and start carrying with you spare tubes....

why i am saying this is that...

1) if you flat a tubeless, you still stick in a tube and pump it up to get home
2) if you puncture a tubeless, there is a chance that you have to change the tire which is not cheap to begin with... same goes with standard clincher, but choices are abundant and prices are cheaper... yes, tubeless might leak air slower if it's there is a small puncture... but it still leaks...

so, unless you are going for tubeless due to lower rolling resistance and things like that... swapping it just because you think it solves your flatting mysteries is kinda bogus to me....
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 11:09 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 8 2013, 10:45 AM)
i dunno wat u mean....
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 11:39 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(cheewooi @ Oct 8 2013, 11:12 AM)
I see where this is leading to. The excitement of keep on upgrading like my Aluminium MTB is a never ending story. The things that I learn't all these year upgrading my MTB is wear and tear. I realized when I finish upgrade almost everything on my MTB, it's time to change the frame or some older component due to wear and tear.

The reason why I am considering roadie are due to my work commitment where it's impossible for me to ride off road during the weekday.

Good ride experience and feel of a roadbike comes first on top of the rest. I did some survey but unfortunately there's aren't a lot in RM7K range. If say increase the budget for RM10K and below. Any recommendation?
at least on MTB, wear and tear on drivetrain parts and fork leads to reasons for upgrading... frame wise, not so much advancements on MTB unless you are on full sus...

on road bikes... reasons can come from everywhere and on everything which is a bad thing, and especially if you have "good friends" like the few bastards around here...

good ride experience is a very personal thing.. wat you think is good experience, others might think it's crap... so, it's hard for us to determine what is good experience for you....

of course, being a rider already... jumping straight to carbon is the wisest choice where aluminum frames might be a bigger chance for disappointment... but, then again... sticking to budget is of critical for your case...

as of late, my friend was planning to build a bike... brand, not quite that big or famous... just as an example of what might be considered entry level into mid priced bikes for quite a lot of rich fellas out there...

Swiftcarbon RS-1 (RM5k)
Complete SRAM Force 22 (RM3.5k)
Fulcrum Racing Zero wearing Continental GP4000s (RM3.5k)
Full Zipp aluminum cockpit (RM950)
Some prologo Saddle and Bartape (RM600++)

The complete bike i believe will come to a total of sub 14k... which is no small amounts of money to me and if he brought this bike to some of those who rides branded bikes... i doubt they even want to give it a 2nd look...

i am not saying there is no choices at RM10k..but you most probably will stick to manufacturer complete builds... and with a price of RM10k... you might be able to get some past year mid-range carbon bikes built with Ultegra groupset and some not too bad wheels...

for example, i remember the Look 586 with mixed 105 in KH for RM6.5k or something like that... the BMC Road Racer SL01 with Ultegra and DT Swiss 1600 or 1700 wheels for a tad under 10k....

just as a gauge... year end might have quite a bit of old bikes that might fit your price if you don't mind not owning the latest and greatest...
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 11:50 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 8 2013, 11:23 AM)
same shit, 1 or 2 years later, when Campag comes out with 12 or 24 speed or some special edition thingy with Super EPS or some shit like that.

Maybe he gets tired of carbon and decides to go Ti?
no one says, it's impossible... even one can get tired of driving a lambo and wants to drive a honda once in a while just to experience the difference....

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 8 2013, 11:29 AM)
10k? buy this

why not??? just know what you want and want what you know....

QUOTE(Nazrull @ Oct 8 2013, 11:31 AM)
Do you know any bike shop that sell Stan NoTube conversion kit? Or at least the Stan tape? If got online website or facebook page then it's better. I like to probe around before making any decisions.
not sure if any online shops sell it... tried bicyclebuysell? or s2hcycle or wanscycle... they might not list it... but, they might ship it to you if they have it...
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 11:53 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 8 2013, 11:50 AM)
U is forget

already bought

and frame comes with

anyways, even with look keo2max... it's only another rm350... not big damage considering the total of the bike...
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 12:04 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 8 2013, 11:56 AM)
The pedal.....I shitbricked
WHY?
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 12:06 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 8 2013, 12:04 PM)
cheaper than SRM crank... just make sure you dun crash it...

butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 02:46 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 8 2013, 12:30 PM)
thinking to get clipshoes . what paddle ? tongue.gif
and damage of the suggested paddle ?! tongue.gif
see if you want to die or not lar....

basically... the choices can't get away from the 2 main brands here lar... shimano and look... why? because cleat replacement for the others is a B!ATCH!!!...

shimano is basically the cheapest.... like the weird one says... and it's metal body will last longer than your interest in mashing your balls to mush....so, they are the most reliable ones...

as for wasting a bunch of money for no reasons... look is the next choice with it's polycarbonate body... it is considerably lighter than shimano ones excluding the carbon duraace... and they usually have a wider platform than 105 pedals but at a cost...with look, at least get classics minimally... keo2max would be more preferable and if you have money that you find is spilling out of your pocket and yet you don't want to donate it to charity... the keo 2 blade can wash your overfilled pocket away...

cleat wise... both is crap... if you find yourself walking for more than 2 miles at any one time... prepare to say bye bye to your clits (oooppsss!!! blush.gif ) i mean cleats...

but anyways... shimano cleats is roughy 50 bucks... same for look ones minus the grip ones... if you want keo grip cleats... it'll cost you around 70++... shimano ones comes with rubber grips by default... so, you can bash the frenchies for making unreliable, shitty pedal, and slippery cleats and charging you for a premium...

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 8 2013, 12:36 PM)
U sure u want advices here? HAHAHA
he sure he want advices here... jus not sure if he regrets it...

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 8 2013, 01:01 PM)
hi all!

roadie from Penang lipoting in!

wahsai... your zipp wheel is not authentic one right.. or is my eye playing tricks on me...

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 8 2013, 02:10 PM)
Advance SL series ? biggrin.gif
dun jelly la...

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 8 2013, 02:23 PM)
yep! i usually go up the dam every Sunday  tongue.gif
DAM!!!
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 03:30 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 8 2013, 02:51 PM)
tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

no money to buy the real thing then. Not regretting it though, these wheels are quite stable even after riding them for quite a few months d..

going to sticker it up with some Shimakaze art soon though  biggrin.gif
as long as it doesn't let go mid-ride... it's still a wheel anyways...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 8 2013, 02:51 PM)
wahlaueh... cat demam oredi so many posts
i went and chat some chick up at work and came back with 18 posts... WTF!!!

the chick barely spoke more than 3 sentences with me and there is 18 posts... WTF!!!

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 8 2013, 02:53 PM)
i'm using the Keo 2 Max now.. large base for my feet and they're light!
haha...you are adding fuel to the poison...

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Oct 8 2013, 02:54 PM)
wave.gif

welcome! I have company! another doremon bike user!  rclxm9.gif
here comes nobita to brag about his pus-sy again....

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 8 2013, 02:57 PM)
paddle pop.... paddle pop...

super duper yummy!!!

bwahaahhahah!!! now who still eat paddle pop lar... kid meh!!!... makan magnum lar at least if not some super expensive gelato pops....

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 8 2013, 02:58 PM)
why call giant doremon ? laugh.gif
QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 8 2013, 03:01 PM)
wave.gif

and why doraemon?
because....

QUOTE(Nazrull @ Oct 8 2013, 02:59 PM)
Just curious, any advantage on using clipless? Strangely I rarely see rider here in Kuantan using clipless pedal.
other than not slipping from your pedal and then banging your wedding vegetables against your top tube in a violent headbutting all out sprint with miao... i can't think of any other convincing reasons....

butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 03:30 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 8 2013, 03:01 PM)
oi BH, u beli swift frame ka?
i said my friend lar... i consultant only...and paid nothing one... WTF!!!!!!!!!!!... he dun pay me... bike shop dun pay me.... WTFFFFFFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!FFFFFFFFF!!!!!

bengang...can see.. cannot eat... go let off steam first....

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 8 2013, 03:02 PM)
wat lar... not in the mood to read... summary pls....

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Oct 8 2013, 03:02 PM)
if you want durable, go for SHimano brand.
and, take note... it's SHImano brand... if you accidentally bought SHITmano brand... gawd bless babeh!!!

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Oct 8 2013, 03:06 PM)
I think I met you in front of Tesco during CFAL LOL
now you are starting to sound weird... you stalking him or wat...
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 03:32 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 8 2013, 03:07 PM)
you can remember that?  blush.gif  I can't even remember the rider I meet in front of last weekend's traffic lights... so many cyclists on Penang roads d nowadays  biggrin.gif
i can't even remember if i zipped up in the toilet just now... imagine that...

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 8 2013, 03:10 PM)
weirdo has found his next victim
shall we sound the alarm?

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Oct 8 2013, 03:12 PM)
at least i open challenge... face to face...
he sprsbtsx the sprsbtsx'er... tats something new...
butthead
post Oct 8 2013, 03:34 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Oct 8 2013, 03:31 PM)
ohhhhhh now i see

should've been obvious from the start but missed it haha  laugh.gif
that was just a test to see how old you are... an obviously growing up watching doraemon... you are certifiable dang old...bwwahahahha...

i grow up watching Ben10 only.. so, i dun know what that shit is...

49 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 >Top

0.0520sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:23 PM