Samsung GALAXY S4 Official Thread V5, 4.3 incoming and wait for kit kat, 4.4

yyt
post Aug 26 2013, 01:26 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(masterelr @ Aug 25 2013, 07:52 PM)
Planning to transfer all my SMS and Whatsapp messages from my old Galaxy W to the S4. How do you guys do that?
hope this help.

CODE
I'm getting a new Android. How do I move my chat history over?
Summary:

Backup your chats on your old phone.
       Go to WhatsApp > [Menu Button] > Settings > Chat settings > [Backup conversations].
   Transfer your microSD card to your new phone.
       Please see below if your phone only has internal memory.
   Install WhatsApp on your new phone.
   Click [Restore] when prompted to restore your message history.

Note: You cannot restore chat history from any other phone type to Android, or from Android to another phone type.
Details:

You can transfer chats from one Android phone to another. To do so, please follow these steps:

To start, make a back-up of your most recent chats.
       Go to WhatsApp > [Menu Button] > Settings > Chat settings > [Backup conversations].
   Next, transfer this backup to your new Android phone.
       If your phone has an external microSD card, take the microSD card out of your old phone, and pop it into your new one.
       For phones that have an internal memory / internal SD card (most Samsung phones have this), you will need to transfer the /sdcard/WhatsApp/ folder from your old phone to the same folder of your new phone. There are a couple of ways you can do this. You can use a file explorer or even transfer the backup files to your computer.
       If you are unsure about what kind of SD card you have, we recommend checking your phone specifications on your phone manufacturer’s website.
   Once you have safely transferred your backup, you can install WhatsApp on your new Android phone.
   During the installation process, WhatsApp will automatically find your backup and ask you if you would like to restore it. Once restored, your old chats will reappear, on your new phone.

Having problems with phone number verification? Check out this article.

Cheers,
WhatsApp Support Team

yyt
post Aug 26 2013, 09:42 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 26 2013, 08:33 AM)
Nano is NOT no good lar

I think you guys have to understand the weakness of all SP, glass or plastic. Unlike normal SP, glass SP with a much higher hardness rating, can withstand sharp object like knife, keys, screwdriver, etc.

However its seems that NO SP, glass or plastic has been able to withstand sands. It was mentioned all over the forums on practically all glass SP as sand is the bane of all SP.

Thus my reluctant earlier on get casing without frontal covering even with glass sp although I've been looking at Neo for a while. It was not until Slim Armor View appearing that trigger my immediate purchase of glas.T Nano along with the casing, after that the phone itself.
yeah sand has higher hardness than the SP, glass, gorilla, etc.
but that's the point of using SP, to take the scratch instead of your screen glass, and it can be changed after it's too many scratches.
anyway, i don't use SP, and it has some very very tiny scratches already, but it's ok with me.
yyt
post Aug 27 2013, 01:07 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Aug 27 2013, 12:38 AM)
Anyone can help? Tried reinstall twice already, the setup stuck at this stage...

remove the WhatsApp folder inside your internal sd card before reinstall again?
yyt
post Aug 27 2013, 03:07 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Aug 27 2013, 01:10 PM)
Remote the entire folder will remove the chat backup as well right
backup the conversations history first, then remove, then reinstall, then put back the history.
u can get the backup info in whatsapp website.
yyt
post Aug 28 2013, 09:58 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Aug 28 2013, 12:40 AM)
Yeap I have done this before but without manually removing the Whatsapp folder. However it did not work.
then try again by removing the folder.
yyt
post Sep 7 2013, 10:29 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Sep 7 2013, 12:52 AM)
normally it won't auto restart, today suddenly kena 5 times in less than half a day, weird.

will continue to monitor. hmm.gif
this is very annoying, and you can't take to service center, because u cannot replicate the issue there and they can't take it to check also.

0.0198sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:34 AM