Samsung GALAXY S4 Official Thread V5, 4.3 incoming and wait for kit kat, 4.4

vincentlai
post Aug 6 2013, 02:37 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Aug 4 2013, 03:56 PM)
Changelog V4*

V.5
4/08 -Majors edits and added on youtube video at some post 1~7/8

V.4

V.3

and guys can start to discuss and make earlier cause next week FINAL EXAM cry.gif cry.gif
so make it earlier!
Hey, before I turn on the recovery mode,do I need to back up my data?
vincentlai
post Aug 7 2013, 12:13 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Aug 6 2013, 05:32 PM)
Answer... depending on personal (for me, apps no need, and SMS backup tools can obtained from play store, else use G.Account to sync )

*for those frenzied full back up

That means my apps will not be deleted? Btw my phone not yet root
vincentlai
post Aug 7 2013, 01:42 PM

129 posts

Great, my s4 now can't direct call when I put my device near my face
vincentlai
post Aug 7 2013, 08:59 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(UserU @ Aug 7 2013, 01:10 AM)
Depends on what you're planning to do during recovery mode. But if its accessed, there's an option for a factory reset and wipe cache partition.
did factory reset and still having the problem.
once i make a call, the screen automatically turns black and i need to press the home button in order to turn the screen on.
tried to put the device near my face but it won't make a call too.

vincentlai
post Aug 7 2013, 09:16 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 7 2013, 09:06 PM)
Try do *#0*# from your dialer and check your sensor (proximity sensor). See whether it features functioning.
(Hover your hand over the sensor and the screen will change colour)

If not functioning... Send the phone to service centre.
the screen remains green color. no changes.
vincentlai
post Aug 7 2013, 09:17 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(UserU @ Aug 7 2013, 09:07 PM)
Have you navigated to the Settings > Calls and unchecked on the Turn off Screen during calls option?
normally if you didn't put the device near your face, the screen will still on eh
vincentlai
post Aug 7 2013, 09:33 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(UserU @ Aug 7 2013, 09:19 PM)
Only if you uncheck that option. Mine's checked and the screen will turn off during calls. hmm.gif
erm, in my case is like you can't click on the end call button unless you press the home button first.
it is so annoying when you trying to end the call asap but you still need to press the home button.
sorry for the bad explanation.
vincentlai
post Aug 7 2013, 09:34 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 7 2013, 09:28 PM)
Meaning your proximity sensor is working.
Try disable and enable  your auto screen off during calls as UserU said.
but it won't direct call when i put my device near my face.
vincentlai
post Aug 7 2013, 09:53 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 7 2013, 09:47 PM)
Of coz it won't make direct call. You still need to send the calling.
Unless you enable your Direct call motion sensor.
Setting > motion >enable Direct call
yeah i did enabled the direct call motion sensor but it doesn't work.

* when I pressed in the direct call, there is a tutorial to teach us how to use it one right? even there also not working

This post has been edited by vincentlai: Aug 7 2013, 09:55 PM
vincentlai
post Aug 7 2013, 09:58 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 7 2013, 09:56 PM)
Huhh..sorry bro..can't help you further as my phone is with my sister now and she balik kampung already. So I cannot try to recreate your problem in order to solve it.  sad.gif
too bad.. few weeks ago don't have this problem 1, don't know whats wrong with my phone =/
vincentlai
post Aug 7 2013, 10:06 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 7 2013, 10:01 PM)
There's a setting for direct call tutorial. Look at the advanced setting and tutorial. (At the bottom part of the motion section). Then use learn about motions.
yeah thats what i meant just now. i tried the tutorial, it asked me to move the device nearer to my face but it doesn't work man.
vincentlai
post Aug 15 2013, 05:28 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(cursebreaker @ Aug 13 2013, 09:56 AM)
the direct call only works if you are displaying the contact from your logs, favourites or contacts tab. it wont work if you try from keypad tab.
i did tried it from logs but still don't work
vincentlai
post Aug 15 2013, 05:54 PM

129 posts

1st problem was direct call.
and now having the quick glance problem.
im very frustrated with my s4.
everything is set to on but when I go to each one and select 'Try it', it works even i don't put my device on the flat surface then but when i want to use the function does not work.
vincentlai
post Aug 15 2013, 07:01 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(Pyjamas999 @ Aug 15 2013, 06:34 PM)
For quick glance to work then the phone needs to be on a flat surface
everything was fine one month ago.
now i put my device on how flat was the surface its still the same. it doesnt work

0.0315sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:52 AM