Fundsupermart.com v4, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

howszat
post Aug 9 2013, 06:50 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 9 2013, 02:56 PM)
I have vested in Mutual funds for > 10 years. In average I would say, Mutual fund returns are not that attractive compared to my property portfolios.

I started to invest in Public Mutual since year 2000, became Mutual Gold member in 2005, and then to Mutual Gold Elite.
I started to invest thru Fundsupermart in 2006, by opening an account in their Hong Kong branch when FSM hasn't been opened its branch in Malaysia.

This is just my personal experience.

If you know what you are doing and is prepared to put effort into any avenue of investment/trading, whether it be stocks, options, commodities, forex or anything you are knowledgeable in, there is a very good chance you will beat mutual funds.

Properties need time, effort, knowledge, timing, access to locality, good luck, and lots of patience. Especially patience. Plus dealing with difficult tenants. There aren't any above average investment that don't require effort, and is readily available to the general public, AFAIK.

If properties are more attractive, why put money in Public Mutual?. Not to mention PM returns are quite mediocre compared to other Fund managers.

howszat
post Aug 9 2013, 08:17 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 9 2013, 08:00 PM)
U got me right.
I can't say for all. My experience dealing with property and mutual funds, the earlier gave me better return.
I made more in property not just because of luck, a lot of hard work though.
As I said earlier, the rich in the world has 2 things in common, they either make their fortune from real estate, or they keep their wealth in the form of real estate.  There is no exception.

Yes, no shortcuts. To make money in properties, work is required.

Properties is one of those vehicles that make people rich, but it is hardly exclusive. There are plenty of others whose wealth don't involve properties, exceptions like Buffet and Gates.

howszat
post Aug 9 2013, 08:45 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 9 2013, 08:32 PM)
Do u know how many properties Buffet and Bills Gates own to conclude that?

Same question for you - you said "There is no exception." How do you know?

On the other hand, I'm pretty sure Gates made his money from a software company called Microsoft. Buffet invests in a wide range of companies, eg like Coca-Cola, Goldman Sachs. I'm sure they own some properties, but is that what they make their fortunes from?

howszat
post Aug 10 2013, 10:58 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Aug 10 2013, 02:35 PM)
If u check my previous statement I did mention that the rich either made their fortune from real estate or KEEP their wealth in the form of REAL ESTATE. The 2 tycoons u mentioned keeps their wealth in the form of real estates. They own office buildings, houses, blocks of condos, hotels and resorts, land, private jets directly or indirectly. That is why I said no exceptions.

Keep their wealth in real estate? Or keep MOST/MAJORITY of their wealth in real estate?

As I mentioned, Gates started with software and has now diversified across a range of companies, many of them IT/technology related. Buffet's holdings include a range of companies, many of them are banking/financial related. Most of these holdings are not real-estate related.

But if you mean it in a general sense (without the word MOST/MAJORITY), then of course, rich people tend to have lot of properties.

howszat
post Aug 11 2013, 12:32 AM

2,932 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by howszat: Aug 11 2013, 12:37 AM
howszat
post Aug 13 2013, 09:18 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Aug 13 2013, 01:55 PM)
I think it depend on individual interpretation. For me cut loss means selling it back to cash. My portfolio IRR calculation will always include the losses I made on every funds that I ever own, so I'm still carrying the loss. If I sell to cash and then reinvest again, it is a brand new investment with a fresh IRR calculation. For profit target, one would sell/switch if reach target to lock the profit, but switching because the other funds have better return potential...  hmm.gif I would not consider that as reaching profit target but more on portfolio rebalancing/adjustment.

Cut loss, or more specifically stop loss in trading terminology is quite specific in meaning.

Cut loss/stop loss means that when you sell (or buy, depending on the instrument), you set your losses in concrete. If you had not sold/bought, your losses are only on paper, and you recoup your paper losses when the instrument recovers. If you had sold before the instrument recovers, your losses remain as losses no matter what.

This post has been edited by howszat: Aug 13 2013, 09:21 PM
howszat
post Aug 26 2013, 08:07 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Aug 26 2013, 12:14 PM)
Don't forget the sequestration that will come into effect soon.

That's just a political ding-dong between the Republicans and the Democrats.

The markets didn't really pay much attention to them last time, as neither side would want to be responsible for causing any upheavals.

What uncle Ben does or say is more earth-shattering (financial-wise).

howszat
post Aug 27 2013, 08:51 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Aug 27 2013, 01:29 PM)
2013 sequester impact only felt 2-3 quarters after the cut. If the US economy tank again because of sequester, the domino effect will affect stock market in a deeper way than 2-3 weeks.

Open, transparent, free-market economies like the US are not dependent on government spending, alone. The US is not a centrally planned economy - it has a large private sector. They have people like Jobs and Zuckerberg who generate market demand regardless of what the government is doing.

Spending cuts are bad when they are wholesale across the board. Spending is bad when it gets out of control. Somewhere in between the Republicans and Democrats have to agree on something. But I don't believe they (both sides) will come up with something that will make the US economy "tank".

howszat
post Aug 27 2013, 09:04 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Aug 27 2013, 04:32 PM)
Just be wary that this could happen and there are efforts to get away from USD. China already have agreement with Russia to pay for their oil directly in Yuan instead of USD. Speculation that the main reason for US to invade Iraq is because at that time Saddam is actively trying to switch the petrodollar to Euro. If that happen, US economy would crash as there is no more demand for USD to pay for oil. Google petrodollar to understand more about this.

The Yuan is pegged to the USD. Until they are prepared to let it float freely according to market forces, bi-lateral agreements are irrelevant - the USD is still king.

This post has been edited by howszat: Aug 27 2013, 09:08 PM
howszat
post Aug 28 2013, 08:50 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Aug 28 2013, 08:45 AM)
This is not about bi-lateral agreement but about not depending on greenback to buy oil. If more and more countries stop using USD to buy oil, the world will be less dependent on USD and that spells bad news to USA.

The oil market is currently priced and traded in USD. Sellers expect USD. The only way currently to not pay USD is to have individual seller/buyer agreements to not transact in USD.

I was referring to your Yuan example as not being representative of a not-USD transaction because the Yuan is still pegged to the USD, so in effect the transaction would still be conducted using the equivalent of USD.

Sure, I understand the point of not using USD for pay for oil. It's a nice concept. At the present time, since there's no open markets for oil, they only way non-USD transactions can happen is via bi-lateral agreements.
howszat
post Aug 29 2013, 08:29 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Aug 29 2013, 05:26 PM)
for collection of dividend? want to build my own system of passive income, do correct me if i am wrong  blush.gif
wanted to follow his footstep, my idol  wub.gif

You can use UTs to collect dividends, but not in the way you think.

First, read Pink's #1 and understand UT "distributions" (note how they never actually call it dividends) are different from stock dividends. In short, UT "distributions" are meaningless - please ignore them.
Second, you can still use UTs to collect dividends by buying UT funds that focuses on dividend stocks.
Third, and most important, avoid PM. Their charges are the highest while their fund performance is one of the lowest. Avoid.

Any further questions, please refer to Pink. biggrin.gif

howszat
post Aug 29 2013, 09:23 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Aug 29 2013, 08:52 PM)
me too,..i was thinking of RHB-GS Eq but the annual expense ratio is 2.15%, while the OUB OSK US Focus EQ is 0.3%....
what is that? does it has big impact like the Sales Charges on the ROI?

Looking at the charts for these 3 funds, for AGEF, RH-US, OSK-US, there's not much to tell them apart, except AGEF which has been lagging in recent months. Ratios, if you have them, may be another thing to look at, but they can't tell you things like economic conditions, or the funds managers, etc which have since changed. Like QE will be tapered, or they replaced the fund manager with another inferior one, and so on...

One more thing, never worry about annual expenses. Look for nett returns, ie after expenses. The only thing you are interested in is what you get in hand, isn't it? smile.gif

howszat
post Sep 5 2013, 11:07 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ Sep 3 2013, 09:13 PM)
What happened to ambond? suddenly huge drop T_T

This could be due to a distribution.

Past history says there is one in Mar/Apr and one in Sept. I think a forumer did post about a news-site link about an Ambond distribution last month - the actual drop is normally reflected up to several weeks later. No info on the FSM distributions page yet - but delays have been known to happen.

Don't you just love distributions? doh.gif

This post has been edited by howszat: Sep 5 2013, 11:13 PM
howszat
post Sep 5 2013, 11:23 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Sep 5 2013, 11:09 PM)
Awesome. This should be it. Thanks for digging this out, bro. Will read if on my tablet tomorrow smile.gif

If this is what you are after, you are a bit late. Tax credits are being phased out, completely by 1 Jan, 2014. It says so in the article. In other words, there is nothing you can, or need to do about it when the credits have been used up.

howszat
post Sep 21 2013, 08:39 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 20 2013, 06:29 PM)
I'm aware of this.

How about if I top up AmDynamic Bond next week? This additional new units will be going for new rule right?

AmDynamic Bond no sales charge, no platform fees, according to their Funds Info Table currently.

This post has been edited by howszat: Sep 21 2013, 08:53 PM
howszat
post Sep 22 2013, 10:07 PM

2,932 posts

Just noticed IFAST has been added to RHB's bill payee list.

But the FSM website hasn't been updated yet.
howszat
post Sep 25 2013, 09:45 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Sep 25 2013, 09:36 PM)
according to the page it doesnt give example of amdynamic and hwang select bond fund. is the platform fee incured

No, there are no platform fees for those 2.

Not surprising since Amdynamic still charging Redemption fee of 1%, and Hwang Select Bond still charging sales charge of 1.5%.

howszat
post Sep 25 2013, 10:07 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Sep 25 2013, 09:46 PM)
u mean these 2 not in the new 0% exercise la...so these 2 funds no changes ...I tot 0% for all the funds end up for selected only

yes, dat's wat i mean lah.

Amdynamic charges redemption fees, so it's different.

But technically, Hwang Select Bond makes their advertisement "ALL BOND FUNDS" inaccurate. In Western countries which are quite strict about mis-leading claims, they could get into trouble. But here, well, we are in the East. smile.gif

howszat
post Sep 25 2013, 10:22 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 25 2013, 10:12 PM)
If u have been with FSM for some time, you'd notice that HwangIM funds are "special" in that Silver and Gold FSM clients won't get any Sales Charge discounts on HwangIM funds. wink.gif

Yes, I know.

But it hasn't stopped me buying Hwang funds just because of fees or discounts. I look for nett returns after fees. Looking at fees alone is missing the big picture. Don't mean to give anyone that impression at all, in case that was the case.

However, there were occasions where discounts do apply across the board - the last one I think was HAQ at 1%. In addition, there is the minor point of no switching fees for Hwang funds.

howszat
post Sep 25 2013, 10:29 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Sep 25 2013, 10:13 PM)
I went to fund selector, selected Fixed Income......0% SC and some got no buy icon (cannot buy)
so technically 0%SC for all bond funds are correct.

If you go into FUNDS INFO, Fund Sales Charge, Buy/Sell, Hwang..., it says 1.5%. So, technically, that's mis-leading. smile.gif

0.0513sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:54 AM