Fundsupermart.com v4, Manage your own unit trust portfolio

j.passing.by
post Oct 27 2013, 07:30 PM

1,639 posts

Global trend for the industry? LOL. The trend was started by Uncle Lim in Singapore itself. Even with daily fees per entrance, 'investors' still come out in droves to the casino.

iFast Singapore just catching on and learning from their rival operator.

Kaka23
post Oct 28 2013, 03:58 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(creativ @ Oct 27 2013, 04:51 PM)
I think one day FSM Malaysia will charge platform fees like FSM Singapore.

Singapore FSM Platform Fees
CODE
Fixed Income Funds Holdings*                              0.05% per quarter
Equity Funds Holdings* - first $50,000                    0.125% per quarter
Equity Funds Holdings* - next $150,000                    0.11% per quarter
Equity Funds Holdings* - next $300,000                    0.09% per quarter
Equity Funds Holdings* - remaining amount above $500,000  0.05% per quarter
All CPF Holdings  Exempted

As appetizer, FSM Malaysia has started Platform Fees for Bonds at 0.05% per quarter effective 20 September 2013.

Malaysia FSM Platform Fees
[attachmentid=3693699]

Wonder when the main course will come to Malaysia!  hmm.gif When it does, it's going to be a real turn off

If you are a long term investor, and has a huge sum invested, platform fees will cause a drag.

The difference between Malaysia and Singapore investors is that, Singapore investors has alternatives (ex. ETFs or other online UT distributors)

"The reality is that it is a global trend for the industry to see a shift of the fees that distributors of unit trust earn. The shift is away from the upfront sales charge towards an ongoing recurrent fee. That is, in general, sales charges are declining, but distributors and advisers will have to increasingly rely on some ongoing fees to ensure that their business remains viable." - Lim Chung Chun CEO, iFAST Financial Pte Ltd Singapore

Source: https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/commu...=002156&page=11
it will be a real turn off if this happens!

TakoC
post Oct 28 2013, 06:19 PM

2,081 posts

yawn* yawn.gif

So quiet around here. Everyone hibernating?
SUSyklooi
post Oct 28 2013, 07:06 PM

8,188 posts

anyone attended the Post budget seminar last weekend?
any new tips?
kkk8787
post Oct 28 2013, 07:39 PM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

Wah why within 1 day my portfolio jatuh 1%...osk uob asia pacific fund not doing well aiyo

SUSPink Spider
post Oct 28 2013, 08:06 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Oct 28 2013, 06:19 PM)
yawn*  yawn.gif

So quiet around here. Everyone hibernating?
Nothing to talk about...no major event, US resilient, China ding dong...autopilot lor yawn.gif
techie.opinion
post Oct 28 2013, 09:36 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 28 2013, 08:06 PM)
Nothing to talk about...no major event, US resilient,  China ding dong...autopilot lor yawn.gif
Yup... Hibernate.
kkk8787
post Oct 29 2013, 09:20 AM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

Hello sifus..wanna ask opinion..my osk uob asia pacific fund not doing well tot wanna take advantage of japans olympic but not doing well..should I hold on or just sell once touches new high
SUSyklooi
post Oct 29 2013, 09:26 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Oct 29 2013, 09:20 AM)
Hello sifus..wanna ask opinion..my osk uob asia pacific fund not doing well tot wanna take advantage of japans olympic but not doing well..should I hold on or just sell once touches new high
hmm.gif refer to the countries covered in that funds.....
do you need those countries in your portfolio? Based on your portfolio, are you ok with the % allocated for those countries?

the fund has 39% in Japan...you are waiting for Olympic.....when is that?
the Olympic announcement just done...
Planning to select committee to handle that should just been done.
i think All projects/budget are not yet prepare. who is to get the projects and how much is still a questions.
so how can the companies have benefits to show improvement in the funds
unless those companies are progressing based on 'rumours" or "hearsay"..just like some companies in our local mkts and that is speculative. sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Oct 29 2013, 09:50 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 29 2013, 09:30 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Oct 29 2013, 09:20 AM)
What u can think of, the market sifus and insiders already know wayyyyy earlier than u and took advantange, u think u can beat them? wink.gif
kkk8787
post Oct 29 2013, 09:53 AM

Julyd8th
2,525 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Oct 29 2013, 09:26 AM)
hmm.gif refer to the countries covered in that funds.....
do you need those countries in your portfolio? Based on your portfolio, are you ok with the % allocated for those countries?

the fund has 39% in Japan...you are waiting for Olympic.....when is that?
the Olympic announcement just done...
Planning to select committee to handle that should just been done.
i think All projects/budget are not yet prepare. who is to get the projects and how much is still a questions.
so how can the companies have benefits to show improvement in the funds
unless those companies are progressing based on 'rumours" or "hearsay"..just like some companies in our local mkts and that is speculative. sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Nope the other countries covered by my other overlapping funds d...hmm....
Coz if I sell now I'm at a loss....
Yupe pink in late to the party...hahaha..

SUSyklooi
post Oct 29 2013, 10:07 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Oct 29 2013, 09:53 AM)
Nope the other countries covered by my other overlapping funds d...hmm....
Coz if I sell now I'm at a loss....
Yupe pink in late to the party...hahaha..
That build-up in value is eventually reflected in the aggregate-growth of the stock markets in the different countries. The problem, though, is that the build-up in value and the reflection of that value in stock prices takes time. So, for individual investors to reap the rewards, they have to be in the game.

simple read
http://www.fool.sg/2013/10/21/the-best-inv...e-you-will-get/

click refresh when prompted to log in.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Oct 29 2013, 10:13 AM
pinksapphire
post Oct 29 2013, 10:57 AM

1,264 posts

Hi, guys. I'm looking at AmAsia Pacific Equity Income for my first time try out. What do you think of it?
It says in FSM that the initial sales charge is 2% and then there's annual management charge of 1.8%. So, how many % do I have to pay actually?
Also, I have had a bank trying to sell me this and they charge 4%. Does this mean I save 2% if I go through FSM?

Lastly, how much do people normally invest as a start in a sizable manner?

Thanks for your valuable feedbacks on this! smile.gif
jerrymax
post Oct 29 2013, 11:05 AM

310 posts

Ninja for 2 months then just finished read all 90 pages... mata sudah blur

Any heads up??
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 29 2013, 11:12 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Oct 29 2013, 10:57 AM)
Hi, guys. I'm looking at AmAsia Pacific Equity Income for my first time try out. What do you think of it?
It says in FSM that the initial sales charge is 2% and then there's annual management charge of 1.8%. So, how many % do I have to pay actually?
Also, I have had a bank trying to sell me this and they charge 4%. Does this mean I save 2% if I go through FSM?

Lastly, how much do people normally invest as a start in a sizable manner?

Thanks for your valuable feedbacks on this! smile.gif
Read Post #1 thoroughly to understand how charges (annual management fee, trustee fee) works.

Sales Charge works like this:
U pay RM100
2% SC
U will get RM100 / 1.02 = RM98.04, the difference is "commission" to the distributor i.e. FSM

Don't buy one fund only, build a portfolio of at least 3-4 funds at the very least.

U can start with RM1,000 on each fund, then slowly accumulate bit by bit monthly or every 3 months.

AmAsia Pac Equity Income is an Asia ex-Japan fund
Go get a global fund with exposure to US, Europe and Japan too (e.g. Aberdeen Islamic World Equity, OSK-UOB Global Equity Yield, Alliance Global Equities)
And a Malaysia-focused (majority invested in Malaysia with others to "spice" it up e.g. Hwang Select Opportunity, OSK-UOB Equity Trust)

If u are a newbie, try to talk to FSM's Client Investment Specialist, go FSM website and ask Live Help on how to get in touch with them. Share with us their suggestion to u, then we discuss further. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 29 2013, 11:13 AM
ZH888
post Oct 29 2013, 11:15 AM

42 posts

OSK-UOB BIG CAP CHINA ENTERPRISE FUND Anyone go in?
SUSyklooi
post Oct 29 2013, 11:19 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ZH888 @ Oct 29 2013, 11:15 AM)
OSK-UOB BIG CAP CHINA ENTERPRISE FUND Anyone go in?
why?
hmm.gif why this and not other China fund?
mind to share why you asked about this fund? notworthy.gif
ZH888
post Oct 29 2013, 11:51 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Oct 29 2013, 12:19 PM)
why?
hmm.gif  why this and not other China fund?
mind to share why you asked about this fund? notworthy.gif
China gonna be TAIKOR in coming century, must buy it and keep 1st rite? biggrin.gif
SUSyklooi
post Oct 29 2013, 12:00 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(ZH888 @ Oct 29 2013, 11:51 AM)
China gonna be TAIKOR in coming century, must buy it and keep 1st rite?  biggrin.gif
hmm.gif if that is the case, i would focus more on M'sia...
EPF, Tabung Haji, PNB, PM has a large monthly contributors of monies from investors.....and many of this funds have mandate to invest in M'sia.....
Bursa has about 930 stocks.....limited Big Caps with gomen/umno link....
i think this is a BETTER bets.....
at lease i can see this and judge
The unseen financial liabilities
http://www.thestar.com.my/Opinion/Online-E...iabilities.aspx

but if with China stocks...i may have missed this.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Oct 29 2013, 12:53 PM
SUSyklooi
post Oct 29 2013, 12:14 PM

8,188 posts

This morning Asia Pac bourses was green, now ALL "RED".

This post has been edited by yklooi: Oct 29 2013, 12:34 PM

126 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 >Top

0.0318sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:22 PM