PEGAWAI TADBIR DAN DIPLOMATIK-M41, ....

Bizmind
post Jan 28 2010, 12:26 AM

169 posts

I am from Sabah.
I got this letter from JPA (previously I was JPA scholar) said that I need to "lapor diri" on 17 Feb 2010.
What does that mean?
Lapor diri for "kerja" or for the "exam/interview" ??
I forgot already when did I apply for this job.

Now I am working with MMCOG in Miri Sarawak.
Quite confuse what to do.

This post has been edited by Bizmind: Jan 28 2010, 12:26 AM
Bizmind
post Feb 1 2010, 12:06 AM

169 posts

Same2.. We will go to "lapor diri" on the same place. That will, if you go and I go,then we could meet. Haha.. THat is "IF"!!

I also quite comfortable with my job now.
The only interesting part about this PTD is that the salary a bit higher than my current. (Because of the allowances).

I finished my study since 2008 worr.. It's 1 year ++ ago. In JPA scholarship contract, it says, "within 6 months after graduating"..

Did someone in the same shoes as mine have the confirmation on whether we will "kena saman" if we are not accepting this offer?

There are only 2 things that I need to confirm if I reject this offer:

1. Kena saman or not.
2. Black listed from government of not.
Bizmind
post Feb 2 2010, 05:16 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(madmadam @ Feb 2 2010, 12:45 PM)
@ismall

Are you sure you're giving out accurate information? Afaik, being a JPA scholar myself, you have to register with SPA on your own after your last semester (and take the PTD exam just like everyone else)

Failing to do so within a certain period of time probably gets you a reminder to lapor diri, and in the long run, a big fat FINE tongue.gif

I'm surprised that so many JPA scholars go about doing as they please and seemingly get away with it. No conscience at all eh? Never mind contractual obligation..

Also, many people claim that we are released 6 months from the registration date. Is there any truth to this at all? The contract clearly stipulates that the duration for posting is 1 year.

Anyway, I'm attending the PTD interview in 2 days' time. This is trivial but just wondering, must our document copies be certified?
You are going PTD's interview?
Where?

Do you receive any letter from JPA?
If you got, did they mentioned about "lapor diri"??

Bizmind
post Feb 6 2010, 02:32 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(madmadam @ Feb 2 2010, 06:16 PM)
@NeuroOne

@Bizmind

Mine's in Kuantan.

I received nothing from JPA. Had to download Borang Lapor Diri from JPA website and mail to them together with copy of transcripts. Only then register with SPA online. Did you not do this? Thought it's standard procedure.
I received this package from JPA about this offer.
Tawaran PTD (Kontrak)

I contacted them appealing to reject the offer. But they come back to me
and said I MUST go and "lapor diri". So I just confirm to them that I am
coming. Just telephone and give my name and Identification Number.

So now I am waiting for 18-Feb-2010 for the report duty day.
(weird becoz no interview and no exam sitted).

I asked them what if in the 2 years contract I failed the exam/interview?
The answered re-sit the exam/interview until pass. As long as in the 2 years duration.
So from my understanding, if I failed the 13th exam/interview, I just take the 14th exam
as long as still in the 2 years contract. (Correct me if I'm wrong).

I hope this PTD thingy can promise better future for me as now I am working in Oil&Gas consultant
company.
I feel great loss for quiting this job.
sad.gif

But what to do. Government seems to need me. T_T

Bizmind
post Feb 8 2010, 05:32 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(T_J @ Feb 3 2010, 10:31 PM)
ahguan,
mine's at auditorium jbt pm, where's urs?
QUOTE(AhGuan @ Feb 3 2010, 10:54 PM)
Same as u..Auditorium Jabatan Perdana Menteri ..what about BizMind??. Actually, are we gonna start our job on that very day?? or It just a briefing  on our job or anything regarding PTD n settle our documents n thn after tht we hv to come back again another day to start our work???....hmm..i think i better settle the documents la..just in case....u settled all the documents n medical check up alrdy??

even I'm totally NOT INTERESTED with tht job AT ALL....I'll jst prepare.....
I did apply the post of Contract science officer at Atomic Energy Licensing Board and contract Research Assistant at UKM n Malaysia Nuclear Agency...don't knw if they allow me to reject the PTD offer for other  contract government post..n now, still hv't sure i get the jobs i applied or not...so, play safe, just sacrifice my 2 yrs of my youth serving the government as a paper pushers for ministers n politicians than risked being black listed or fined..
I will come all the way from Sarawak to "lapor diri" at:

Auditorium
Jabatan Perdana Menteri
Kompleks B
PUTRAJAYA

I do not know where is that. I do not have place to live.
The sad thing is that, when I ask the person in charge about place to live
for "oversea" people like me, they said, "Maaf encik, hal tempat tinggal
kena urus sendiri."
Then I ask again, "Ada siapa2 yang boleh saya rujuk untuk dapatkan tempat tinggal?"
The reply was, "Tiada".

I was just about to say, "Ada tandas untuk saya guna sebagai rumah sementara?"
(But I manage to control my temper).

Guys!!! Who will be in the same boat as mine.
Please please please. We must stand together!
Bersatu kita teguh! Bercerai kita roboh!

So this is my number:

016-848-6136

The rest, please share your number.
At least we can contact and go out minum2 together.
If only you guys are willing to make a great team together lah.
Hehe..

Looking forward to get new numbers from you guys.

And...

MEET YOU THERE.

p.s. I haven't done anything about the preparation because too busy at office.
Now I need to rush all these projects to completion and proper hand over. mad.gif

Bizmind
post Feb 8 2010, 05:39 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(popnyat @ Feb 8 2010, 05:24 PM)
jue let me guess... u from utm?
popnyat let me interrupt... I am from utm.
Hehe.. Sorry.. Just that my head is becoming a bit crazy due to this
JPA offer.
Bizmind
post Feb 9 2010, 04:58 PM

169 posts

No one give hp number..
zzz..

Bizmind
post Feb 11 2010, 08:11 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(AhGuan @ Feb 9 2010, 05:01 PM)
Attention to all bakal PTD kerahan reporting this 18th Feb in Jab PM, please give ur phone number!!!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

boss, here's mine, 012-9880635, MSN: hoo_guan87@hotmail.com
We've contacted with each other already. smile.gif.

QUOTE(AhGuan @ Feb 9 2010, 07:19 PM)
"Kerajaan tidak berkewajipan untuk melantik Pegawai ke jawatan
tetap dalam perkhidmatan awam. Apa-apa permohonan bagi maksud
pelantikan tetap perlu dibuat terus kepada Suruhanjaya atau pihak
berkuasa melantik berdasarkan syarat dan peraturan yang berkuat kuasa
sekiranya Pegawai berhasrat untuk berkhidmat dalam perkhidmatan
awam."

Just hope tht I'll be free after my 2 years of conscription..... rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Yeah!~!!!! happy.gif
At least after that 2 years, we will have "diploma pengurusan awam". smile.gif
Bizmind
post Feb 12 2010, 02:05 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(jue137 @ Feb 11 2010, 01:29 PM)
I asked them last week where we are gonna be posted at..but the lady said she isn't sure. So, I just keep fingers crossed for the time being. I have yet to look around for apartment or bilik sewa too..just hope that they could provide government quarters or things like that for "perantau" like us. I am from Kuching, studied in UTM for five years and the only place I familiar is, of course, Johor Bahru. Hehe..I will be bringing my luggage too. Haha, but then again, there are many other new JPA's scholar PTD are like us (I think), lets just meet on the 18th and figure things out. ^^
Ah Guan from Kelantan.
Jue from Sarawak.
and me.... from Sabah.
This is 1 Malaysia. Haha.

QUOTE(AhGuan @ Feb 11 2010, 03:08 PM)
Hi Jue, I called Encik Abd Rahman just now and he said, JPA will assign us to any dept/ministry around Putrajaya and KL. 18th is considered as our first working day already. Regarding the accommodation, he said JPA does not provide any accommodation and we have to sort it out ourselves. He told me there are apartments nearby in Presint 9, so I think on that day, we all just go and look around there if there's any room to rent...takda bilik, stor kosong pun jadi laa  ..hhaha
Hmm.. At least we got the confirmation that we are going to stay at KL and PutraJaya area.
Nice job Ah Guan. smile.gif
Apartment pun apartment lah. As long as I don't have to stay at "tandas". Huhu.

QUOTE(jue137 @ Feb 11 2010, 04:00 PM)
hahaha! Really?..that is great!! AhGuan..count me in! Let us scout apartment around Putrajaya that time..ya la..stor pun jadi la. Adoi..susahnya jadi perantau..I will PM you my number. hehe ^^
Am I in the conversation?
If not then nevermind. happy.gif

Bizmind
post Feb 14 2010, 01:36 AM

169 posts

Nice all. Happy Valentine's Day and Chinese New Year. smile.gif.
Whatever it is in front of us, there will always be room for improvement.
As long as we live, problem will help us to grow.
Hehe. 3 more days and we will meet up and at least have a drink together.

Bizmind
post Feb 14 2010, 09:43 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(redx @ Feb 12 2010, 07:46 PM)
1st of all congrats for being one.. smile.gif
afta all this is same with other job, you ask for it , if you get it, you need to be prepare ..,it gonna be tough ,ull know it around a week or so how tough it is..some will regret, some will happy. if u gonna get post there..maybe dpt kuarters kalau ada kkosongan..
and yes the 2008 batch are gonna go to DPA for almost 6month. ..wish all da best!
How tough is tough?
Can give some examples?
Bizmind
post Feb 19 2010, 11:36 PM

169 posts

Hi guys.
Jue you manage to surf internet ya.
Where you surf? happy.gif

When will you know where you will be posting?
We from KDN need to wait about 2 weeks to know the posting place.
Hopefully will be in PJ.
Bizmind
post Mar 25 2010, 06:58 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(nabelon @ Feb 25 2010, 02:11 AM)
Anybody from KDN here, let us make some connections tongue.gif, I'm at JPN Perak.

p/s: waiting for placement at KDN is a painstaking process, mine took about a month.
I got JIM Sarawak. The only person in this KDN intake that was thrown to Borneo. Now I know how do Nomad's life is. Got pros and cons. happy.gif. My concern is mostly on financial. I spent thousands of ringgit for this posting. My salary is expected to be given the earliest at the end of April. Some more, this coming 29th March I will be in Terengganu attending course (Money again). Now I became "papa kedana hutang keliling pinggang". Thanks government! I love you! happy.gif

QUOTE(interferens @ Feb 25 2010, 08:23 PM)
last year, 1 of ptd lepak at the library almost 6 months!!!
Wow! The person must already memorized all the books and magazines in the library right? happy.gif

QUOTE(jc_23 @ Mar 10 2010, 07:49 PM)
Ya, this was my 1st interview,n ...

i've failed my interview ..
sigh ~

i have no idea what's the prob with my interview.
i was told by all of my fren, their interview took roughly 30min,
but mine, <10min.

all of them kena ask the FAQ,
8 bidang PTD, apa ministry yg anda nak masuk, kenape mau jadi PTD ...

n my question were:

(1) choose a topic, any topic and present it in English.
(2) choose a topic, any topic and present it in Malay.
(3) apakah yang anda faham tentang perjanjian dua hala ..

yup . tat's all, n finished, n as a result .. i failed.
could it be at the very beginning, they oledi set to failed me?
I have no idea ..

well, nth i can do, but sincere wish to all those who have passed the interview ..
all da best ~
There are times that "at the very beginning, they oledi set to failed me?". Take this situation:
As an interviewer, you only need 10 person for this interview. There are 100 people in the list.
After interviewing 30 person, you already have your 10 favorite person. Then the rest of the
70 person is just "on the paper" procedure. This can be the situation.

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Mar 11 2010, 03:49 PM)
neuroone, the posting in the relevant ministries will only be decided after evaluating us in the induction or its alredi decided after our interview?
Random. I think they thought that every human have the same ability to learn. Or, they want to have revenge! Last time they also have the same experience. Hehe.

QUOTE(jue137 @ Mar 13 2010, 03:05 PM)
Guan..why you sound so bitter? Be positive, please..you are painting a poor portrayal of PTD Lantikan JPA by condemning the department and blaming them for forcing us to join PTD scheme. You are my friend..we had drinks together, and yes..it is something lifechanging when we are forced to work in a field "not within our expertise". But we need to be positive about this. Yes, I know it sucks when like for two years we are an engineer and all of sudden, we are in the administration field. It is lifechanging.. We are from what they call as "technical field" are "left-brained"..we think strategically and logically..we are machine, we make decision carefully and objectively..and This is an answer given by my KP when I ask why they need PTD with technical background sedangkan there are a lot of management graduates out there. Not to say they are not good...but they call it as an "Added-Value" to PTD Scheme. "We need engineers, planners in our scheme. Who has technical background and different expertise will view the norm differently. To think differently." We are young, yes..that is why they need to train us because we are young. So that when it comes to administrative, we know what happens "up there" and we know how to handle a mess.

Yes, I know many senior PTD does not really in favor of us because they say, "Its not fair..you semua tak ambik exam, kitorg kena amik exam..ada kabel fibre-optic la..blablabla"..but that is just a part of challenge. Things happen for a reason. I know some people out there laughing at me when I kept being annoyingly optimist and when they ask, "ahh..ruginya you balik dari luar negara and jadik PTD". I will always say..this is a part of learning curve. You may think I am stupid, but I am not. I will always learn..if I kena jual minyak wangi tepi jalan pun I will always learn. People wont like us, yes..that is life. Not everything comes easy. Be positive. Just do it. Just enjoy it. We may not change the reality..but we could change the way we think.

Hidup 1Malaysia. Cheers. ^^
There are people taking challenges in positive approach. Some people tend to do it from the other direction. Both having the same chances of becoming successful. I know that eventhough Guan speaks like that, he never run away from the responsibilities. smile.gif. Yes Ah Guan? We can do it becoz we all are special!

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Mar 14 2010, 11:35 PM)
hi guys
just fill in and send my application in spa.gov.my
hopefully can dapat
xD
It's just a matter of time. happy.gif

QUOTE(Asper_Sapper @ Mar 15 2010, 02:01 PM)
I think Ah Guan's right...how can the gomen just force everyone to do the job that is not their interest? how can lidat? those who opted to study engineering or science or medicine had already planned to pursue their career as engineer, scientist or doctor after they grade, u tot they study engineering so hard to be admin or manager? If they wanted to be admin then they should have study Degree in Management or Human Resource la..

Those bright students applied JPA with the hope that the gomen sponsor them to do the course of their choice so that in the future, they cn serve the gomen and contribute for the development of our nation using their own expertise..n now?? gomen ruined theier dream....

well, I don't really know much about PTD, but what I know is they do admin work in the ministry. Yea, they are very prestigious, but, is it nice to choose those without the attitude to be a good manager to mnage and organise our nation?? y not choose those who are experience in their own respective field and had went for the interview?? how can u just catch anyone on the street and force them to be soldier???? cuz not everebody can be a soldiers. same thing for PTD!! not all peoplel can b a PTD!!!!! even tentera kerahan also have to undergo the basic physical check even not as strict as regulars.

well, doesn't M'sia realise that we r lackingĀ  in R n D and engineering field????? y doesn't they recruit more scientist and engineers??? patutlah, Stadium kat terengganu runtuh!!!

Mlaysia now heboh about biotech corp la tis la that la, furthermore, this year suppose to be Malaysia Innovation year...y not just give opportunities for these intelligent brainiac to come out with ideas for nation's scientific and technology development??? well, gomen never care much about scientific and technology advance....so, let's see which building or stadium will runtuh after this!!!!
There is truth behind what you say Asper. But the government also managed by human. There are times us human actually are stupid with so called "brilliant" ideas. I loved to see what happen next. smile.gif. The game has been started by our ruler, let us play by their rules. happy.gif. I always remind myself that "Information is power!".

QUOTE(tenno @ Mar 16 2010, 11:32 AM)
Stadium Terengganu runtuh ye ? Well, my fellow brother & sisters.. once U're in the govt, & once U get to a high enuff position, U will see how difficult it is to make decisions when politics is involved. Pls remember that in the govt there are 2 bosses, always 2. The govt boss (or admin boss) & the political boss (the ministers). Sometimes saying things from the outside is easy, once U get inside then U'll know how it works.
Yup. Ministers at the right side and Admin boss at the left side. We are in the middle. Who do you want to obey? Hehe. Becoz of this, they are 3 types of PTDs. One, minister's PTD. Two, admin boss's PTD. Three, multipurpose PTD. Hehe.

QUOTE(madmadam @ Mar 17 2010, 01:24 PM)
For those reporting to JPA on April 3, any idea when we are required to start work?

Just wondering if I should be looking for a permanent place already, or stick to hotel first.

Quite hard when placement is unknown
Tumpang rumah kawan. Free! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Bizmind: Mar 25 2010, 07:00 PM
Bizmind
post Apr 28 2010, 06:44 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Apr 16 2010, 10:30 AM)
For me I love the idea of non bumi getting the PTD's position.

@ AhGuan

How do you find PTD so far in terms of career progression and salary increment? And may I know which department you are in now?
And from your post above, you mentioned about you trying to apply for Science officer..may I know why?

As for me, I am currently working @ an MNC. But recently I got news that I passed the interview for Science Officer in KKM. Which is 100% related to my education (Biochemistry). I also already sat for the last PTD exam.

All the people around me told me that it's better to grab the PTD position if I managed to pass all the stages.

One thing I'm sure of is I will take the SO job. But IF the PTD offer comes, I want to make sure I know what to pursue.
You will pursue the job of a multi-tasking person. Jack of all trade. You need to know at least a bit of everything. For me the most important thing is to be able to master diplomacy with staffs and customers around you. Not too good nor too bad. happy.gif. Even if you in a high position, be HUMBLE. Ask question to people. Do not learn all just by READING (You will consume 100 years to learn it all).

QUOTE(pojiekun @ Apr 19 2010, 11:27 AM)
Hi all, just view this thread and u guys are having quite interesting discussion here about JPA scholar being enforced to join PTD. First,  I need to know what will happen if those who got JPA scholarship reluctant to join PTD? Will the scholarship converted into Loan instead?

2nd, If u guys join PTD then, how many years u have to serve in the government sector in order to meet a release clause stated in the agreement. Im sure there's an agreement u have to signed when applying for this scholarship right. Government will not enforce u guys joining PTD if no clause stated in the agreement about this. But i'm sure there's a clause where u have to serve for several years before u can get out from government sector.

Maybe some of u find it hard coz u prefer to work in the field related to what we study in University. But I believe u guys have to take this opportunity to work in government sector. PTD is well known for gud management skill be it in finance, economics, land matters, international relationship, HR etc. By joining this, it sure will exposed u more locally and globally. Take this chance to buid up your interpersonal skills and learn how the govenrment is run that PTD can offer.

After u guys have already meet a release clause in the agreement, just resign and work in private sector. No big deal. I'm sure during that time, many company will acquire u not only because of interpersonal skill u have, but ur knowledge in  the government sector is valuable to them too.

Juzt my opinion  icon_rolleyes.gif
After being released, better open business, because at that time you will know a lot of Datuks, Datins, Taukes.. happy.gif. BIG NETWORK man.
Successful business = BIG NETWORK.

QUOTE(AhGuan @ Apr 19 2010, 04:42 PM)
Well, I don't think that I'll have a good future in this kinda job. My personality doesn't suit this kind of job...
I really feel like being a school boy who don't have passion to read being forced to read every day. sad.gif
No need to wish me a bright future in this job, just wish me all the best to be able to resign from this PTD post.
Before you out from PTD, grab ALL the information!! It will be your advantage out there. happy.gif

QUOTE(The Beetle @ Apr 22 2010, 07:47 PM)
Thank you, Asper - for giving lights at the end of the tunnel for AhGuan. Take it that jobs in Malaysian Institute of Nuclear Technology (MINT) is already full (yesss, MINT is a government agency) and most important, with HIS ATTITUDE, I don't think those people will take you in, believe me. And don't think that since u r a nuclear science graduate, you're the only one around. UKM has been producing nuclear science grads since early 1980s, brother.  And therefore, the government have lots of choices NOT ONLY YOU.

Added on April 22, 2010, 7:59 pmAnd If I am not mistaken, AhGuan is only a PTD-JPA appointed contract officer. He should have asked why JPA contract not SPA contract.  Even that he cannot understand, blabbing here and there.  I am not a PTD officer, graduated ini 2002 yet by following explainations given by officers like Tenno and few others, I could see the difference.  He said he even could accept job as Pegawai Kawalan Trafik Udara - pray to God, NO. His attitude will surely cause problems at our airports. Grow up, "wode kewei"....
Wow! Marah nampak. happy.gif.
Relax bro. Ah Guan just need to release his tension via his fingers.
You have your perspectives and he got his. That kind of ATTITUDE can be nurtured to be success ingredients.
We must be able to look for positive inside negative.
~Peace to all~

Added on April 28, 2010, 6:48 pmOne more thing that jumps into my mind is that, being a good leader, we need to be able to utilize skills around us. For example, you want to repair the computer, if you don't know how, it's ok. Just look for staff with the skill. That is only one of the examples. Hehe. But don't forget to learn from the staff on how he do it. Bit by bit, you will absorb all the skills around you. Same like "HERO" series.

This post has been edited by Bizmind: Apr 28 2010, 06:48 PM
Bizmind
post May 9 2010, 01:06 AM

169 posts

The result for the previous exam have gone out already?

0.0605sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:58 AM