Samsung Galaxy Note III - Official V1, 3rd Gen of the original Phablet !!

mydragoon
post Aug 27 2013, 09:05 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Aug 26 2013, 05:14 PM)
seems like definitely OIS won't make it for Note3.

Samsung Galaxy S5 details begin to surface
http://bgr.com/2013/08/26/galaxy-s5-specs-samsung-camera/

11:10 AM Samsung’s Galaxy S4 helped the company post its most profitable quarter ever, and it certainly hopes next year’s flagship Galaxy S5 will continue the trend. We have seen a few rumors here and there regarding Samsung’s hero phone for 2014, but now the first report from a reliable source containing Galaxy S5 details has emerged. According to South Korea’s Electronic Times News, the upcoming Galaxy S5 will feature a brand new 16-megapixel camera module that is currently in development. Details are scarce for the time being, though the report notes that Samsung’s new Galaxy S5 camera will feature optical image stabilization (OIS).

“At first Samsung Electronics wanted to adopt the OIS function for Galaxy Note 3, but the schedule was put off due to problems with parts supply,” the report noted. “The OIS function is implemented in the auto focus (AF) actuator, but the supply of the OIS AF actuator is not smooth yet. Korea’s Hysonic and Jahwa Electronics and Japan’s Mitsumi are the only companies which successfully developed the OIS AF actuator. However, the OIS AF production capacity of Korean companies will be greatly increased early next year. “

According to the report, Samsung expects to finish developing the new camera module by the end of 2013 and it will begin testing it in devices early next year. Samsung’s Galaxy S5 is expected to debut in 2014 around the same time the Galaxy S4 was released this past year, and hopefully Samsung will dial back its “jack of all trades” approach and begin to focus on more refined hardware and high-quality services that tie users in for years to come.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 27 2013, 09:06 AM
mydragoon
post Aug 27 2013, 01:38 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Aug 27 2013, 11:54 AM)
hmm supply problem again
last time note 2 say need use 13 MP camera, also due to supply problem ...
i guess comes with the 'territory'... new tech... need time to iron out the factory/ production machinery...

but seriously, if Note 3 is anything like s3 to s4, then i dun really look forward to it. no offence to S4 owners, but i find s4 to be too bloated for its own good. s3 is still good, if only it came with 2GB RAM.

that's why for me... Note 2 is just nice. 2GB RAM. mine is 32GB memory... so also good. it can do with faster processor, but if not, i'm also not complaining.

its just... at the moment... gadget world dun really have anything new to show. not just Android. tablets, etc... all nothing new except more RAM and faster processor. i recall the thread i created asking if "anyone is excited about anything new", and i think its safe to say that at the moment, there's nothing really new to excite people... other than some niche items like Google Glass.
mydragoon
post Aug 27 2013, 10:57 PM

7,044 posts

RT @BGR Galaxy Note III display and front panel leak in high-quality photos, revealing shockingly thin bezel http://bgr.co/19WD1h9 by @zacharye
mydragoon
post Sep 5 2013, 08:22 AM

7,044 posts

my quick few cents...

* samsung bashing. it only means that Samsung has 'arrived'. its onyl when you're BIG that you get the attention. would anyone be bothered if i said the new Proton Saga came with say... built-in android TV? no one cares much about Proton. so, Samsung bashing... it only means Samsung is BIG. smile.gif

* thin bezel & the 'leather back' ... now i wonder how practical will those phone cases be... its gonna be hard to design a 'well rounded' protection for Note 3 with these two new 'features'.

* 4k recording... sadly... i find it useless. at least now for the next 2-3 years. how many own a 4k TV? and can your 4k recording be displayed in its full 4k glory on the phone's screen? yes, this is very much like last year's (and the year b4) Note 2 where it could record 1080p video, but screen only 720p. but at least 1080p TV is more accessible. but 4k TV...?!?

mydragoon
post Sep 5 2013, 04:41 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Sep 5 2013, 03:45 PM)
no more microUSB?  sad.gif
actually, it is still considered MicroUSB, just that its USB v3, i believe. see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/USB_3.0

update1:
and also: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/USB

update 2:
that microB connector... actually not new. if i remember correctly, some new external harddisk already using that... those that's USB3 with super-speed. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Sep 5 2013, 04:47 PM
mydragoon
post Sep 5 2013, 05:51 PM

7,044 posts

RT @verge For the new Galaxy Note, USB 3 is the magic number http://vrge.co/1cJihXR
mydragoon
post Sep 6 2013, 02:15 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 6 2013, 02:14 PM)
price drop will always happen no matter how.. see how much Note 2 selling now, dirt cheap considering its a very good phone, better than the fruit vmad.gif  users who is looking for their first smartphone, or simply want to buy a good phone to replace a broken one, will be very lucky now.. why android device manufacturer cant just maintain their device price until it stop its production la..
huh? why would consumers want that?
mydragoon
post Sep 6 2013, 03:46 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 6 2013, 02:23 PM)
good for us gadgets enthusiast when we upgrade.  rclxms.gif  tongue.gif
well, i'm one of those that buy a few months later, when price drop a fair bit... biggrin.gif

0.0410sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:24 PM