Samsung Galaxy Note III - Official V1, 3rd Gen of the original Phablet !!
un_id
Sep 8 2013, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 8 2013, 10:33 PM) You go enjoy XZU, we go enjoy our Note II and decide whether to keep it or sell it since Note II is still a capable phone. The temptation is killing me  Haha I know right.. The temptation.. Makes u sleepless at night.. U wish u can forward the calendar.. Thus I help to bakar2 a bit more..
un_id
Sep 8 2013, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(joytest @ Sep 8 2013, 10:46 PM) Let's just say both are very capable devices. If the stylus support on xzu was proper, I would have gotten the xzu. I use the stylus a fair bit, so I was the first guy to raise the stylus n palm rejection issue from day1 on the xzu. Once it failed that test the xzu dropped out of the running. However if it is to be used for media consumption I bet it will be somewhat nicer due to the larger screen. Don't forget also that xzu's size is also its liability as nobody seems to be able tosit down comfortably with it except maybe uncle benny and his humongous pockets  Haha yaya.. But I have faith that a future firmware update will solve the stylus problem.. And I think XZU will keep on rocking for another year due to the unbeatable size and boldness, albeit very slim device that will caught anyone eyes.. Even bangla working at a food stall can't resist to ask me what device I am holding yesterday..
un_id
Sep 9 2013, 01:33 AM
QUOTE(joytest @ Sep 8 2013, 10:55 PM) I'm willing to bet you 1 Coffee Bean latte that it won't ever solve the stylus problem. We can wait for 2 more sony fw updates. If it fails you owe me one drink otherwise I'll buy you the drink. Haha tell me that u actually want to show off your Note 3 only during the drinks
un_id
Sep 10 2013, 12:47 PM
hail Note 3!  you are the best, nothing to compare… meanwhile in Apple; CEO: go find some alien to design the next iPoop! (i got influenced by internet jokes..lol) This post has been edited by un_id: Sep 10 2013, 12:47 PM
un_id
Sep 10 2013, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 10 2013, 12:52 PM) Samsung's Exynos 5 Octa CPUs will be able to use all eight cores at once in Q4 Mobile http://www.engadget.com/2013/09/09/samsung...nos-5-octa-hmp/Yes, its confirmed Note 3 will be the best. Exynos version will really be 8 core. All usable at once. Not fake octa core. But real one. So anyone interested on Exynos version now? of course it is, because its the latest flagship anyway, what the point to be the latest if not the best.. the only question is just for how long it will be on the throne? for this year, yes, it might be, because afaik there is no more unannounced incoming device for this year… but towards the end of this year, be ready for next year flagships rumours.. its never ending contest.. you know why i'm excited to see Alcatel One Touch Hero? its not about how powerful is the processor, but i'm glad to see more functionality coming for smartphone when manufacturer starts to think out of the box and making more hybrids.. thats what i really want to see, not just increase in number of processor cores and RAM.. I think we already come to a point that we have above sufficient processing power on our smartphones, but whats next?
un_id
Sep 10 2013, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 10 2013, 01:10 PM) Z1, Ultra Z, LG G2, all this flagship but its not the latest with 3GB RAM. Why? Samsung monopolize all 3GB in the market?  it comes to a question, do we really need 3gb RAM? is it just a waste of resources? for user, having more is always good.. but for manufacturer, being smart, being conservative while it still can.. how if next flagship come with 5gb RAM, do we need that much? for me, 1gb RAM boooo.. but 3gb, i don't mind, because 2gb is still abundant…So far i never been in a situation that my 2gb RAM is fully utilized, so why 3gb? just for the sake of fancy spec sheet? its like a Proton Wira with big spoiler, does it really need that?  but anyway i'm dunno engineering stuffs, maybe the current/incoming Android needed 3gb RAM. or maybe TW is so heavy that it needed 3gb RAM while other UI running fine on 2gb.. This post has been edited by un_id: Sep 10 2013, 02:18 PM
un_id
Sep 10 2013, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 10 2013, 02:23 PM) Maybe its just boiled down to Android OS. It just refuse to execute TW UI when doing other things. Thus, more cores are need and Kitkat need to take advantage is 8 MP. i highlighted the keyword of the day. TW is very fancy, with many features as well which is great, but due to that it requires more processing power.. Samsung realizes that, thus 3gb RAM for us in Note 3.. Direct comparison.. HTC One on Sense 5 is way smoother than XZU UI, eventho XZU having S800. Both same 2gb RAM.. again, the keyword.
un_id
Sep 10 2013, 02:30 PM
QUOTE(antt00 @ Sep 10 2013, 02:28 PM) Fact is. Android OS itself is very optimise for smoothness. Anyone using aosp rom before will know. Its TW itself that's not smooth cos it have alot more functions than plain android. Frankly i dun think its even related to RAM. It's the TW framework itself. My note 2 is only using 0.8/2 GB ram and it's not even smooth as aosp using the same amount of ram. And there is no reason to debate on why samsung is giving 3gb. They are and there is nothing we can do about it so just take it. They have their reason either its a neccesity or just to help sales its up to them. And i dun see the more RAM helping in any game. I would say atm, cpu speed is more of the limiting factor rather than ram when running very high intense game. Never blame it to Android or Google, i think they have done good job to Android.. See Nexus lineage, using plain vanilla Android, less problem and smoother.. Again, the keyword is the personalised manufacturer UI
un_id
Sep 10 2013, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(WiLyi @ Sep 10 2013, 02:31 PM) I really don't understand, Note 3 is not even released nor available, yet there are so many bashing, if not because of the faux leather then about the UI.Some people will buy a device for the hardware sake of future proof, some will buy it for the features and performance, and some will strike a balance in between. If there is a particular device that doesn't suits you then just stay away from it. I don't like i-devices therefore I have never bother to keep track on the news or lurk around the threads for the i-devices, because I don't even care about it. If someone come and bash this and that I can only come out with 2 reasons, is either they are jealous that their favorite brand doesn't offer what another brand offered. Or the second reason could just be they wanted this device so badly. Personally I used before HTC, Samsung and even LG and although I prefer HTC Sense UI over the other 2, but the overall performance, usability and features of Samsung beat the rest of it, especially with the Note series. So my advice to those who keep bashing on which device is better than which, is either you stay away from the device that you dislike, or you go and do your research and find a way to resolve the minor issue you have with the device (for god sake, there are plenty of solutions available which is free) i have to agree with you.. haha.. more important is, user first hands experience.. until we really experience Note 3 in hands, it is just a spec sheet.