29 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Hobbies Air Brush Acessories, Airbrush hose etc.

fyire
post Jul 9 2007, 07:30 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Jul 9 2007, 02:24 AM)
Fyire, I think ur sparmax compressor should be d same with mine.. but mine bought from Tamiya, mini 1 without airtank. I didnt know anything about -only run for 15 minutes at a time. So wat will happen after 15 minutes?
The chances of the motor burning out will be marginally higher.

I found my Airbrush will splash out water after using for a while... At first i thought is my AB got Clog.. SO d real reason it splash water is bcause d compressor overheated is it? blink.gif  blink.gif
Well, yes and no in its own way. I guess the compressor getting hot might contribute to the air coming from it being more damp (and hence resulting in more water splashes from the AB), but the real danger in prolonged use for such baby compressors is in the motor burning out.

Also I seldom do any AB work when the weather is wet (raining, or dark clouds in the sky), as that's got an effect on the splattering as well.

Something else to think about as well, I've read in quite a lot of other forums saying that the moisture traps found in our types of baby compressors r pretty useless, and don't work too well, and they recommend getting a heavy duty one off a hardware shop instead. However I've not yet tried hunting for one as yet.

I got another question.. Today i try Handbrush my toys using Mr Metalic COlour- lacquer type.. It is damn hard to use... Even when I want to wash my Brush + dice oso takes lots of effort.. By d way im using ZIPPO fluid...

Mr Metalic colour + zippo + Mr retarded Milo -- hand brush.
Yeah, its quite different indeed from using an airbrush. Although I currently do things the opposite of what u do. I use acrylics for hand painting, and lacquer for ABing.

Lacquers dries too quickly to hand brush for my liking, and acrylics dries too slowly for ABing for my liking.

I have nvr try AB using lacquer paint bcause im afraid it might clog my AB VERY easily.. n forever GONE~ pls advice me on how to AB using lacquer paint pls icon_question.gif

And comparing lacquer paint and acrylic... Lacquer is muc more durable compare to acrylic.. Am i right?
Yup, lacquer is more durable.

And in regards to the clogging, I used have the same thinking and phobia as you in regards to the clogging. However when I finally got around to trying out lacquer on my AB, I was rather surprised indeed.

Clogging when using lacquer and clogging when using acrylics r kinda different indeed. When using acrylics, u're guaranteed to run into clogging after 10 minutes of airbrushing, however that doesnt happen for lacquers.

Normal cleaning for lacquers is a lot easier than for acrylics as well, just spray thinner through your airbrush, while for acrylics, normal cleaning can be a lot more stubborn to do.

When using lacquers, just remember these points:
- Always spray thinner through your AB after u're finished with each cup of paint, or each color.
- Remove the needle for cleaning often as well
- Never ever forget to spray thinner through your AB after painting.

That's about it, for using lacquers in your AB. A lot simpler than acrylics, just that the mistake of not cleaning your AB is a lot more fatal than compared to acrylics.

What I tend to do currently, is to finish up the model nicely using lacquers, to obtain that tough finishing that's less prone to scratching. Then I apply the top coat for extra protection, then switch to acrylics for the weathering work. Any mess ups at this point (and mess ups during weathering is more frequent too), can be cleaned up using spirits, which does not run the risk of peeling off the lacquer paint at the bottom.
sooyewguan
post Jul 9 2007, 08:08 PM

427 posts

^ i think fyire can publish a book or video on airbrush tutorial already smile.gif.

by the way, did u post any work that we can take a look ?
fyire
post Jul 10 2007, 12:03 AM

9,270 posts

Here's some of the models that I've posted before:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=12293208

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=11188991

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=11532341

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=11943247

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=12184108
clivengu
post Jul 10 2007, 11:18 PM

1,850 posts

Fyire!~~~ YOU ARE D GOD!!! KIRA~~ HA HA

U explain my question in Such details that I think official AB guru oso will not tell. THANKS really A LOT.. your tips are really convincing.

You are right about im being phobia for using Lacquer paint for AB.. Cause all this time i have been using Acrylic for AB.. and to be honest.. AFTER 2 years of buying AB + Mini compressor.. I have never complete an AB kit. I get so irritated when the AB begins to clog ..so FAST.. took out everything...wash.. n spray again.. n d process keep repeating.. n once in a while will spray water n that totally spoil my kit surface..

Fade up... i put my AB aside.. until recently begin to carry out my hobby again. But right now im just waiting to move to a better n more convenient ROOM.. where thr is big windows, ventilation for me to do AB..

Now im staying in a room with tiny top windows n only hav AIRCOND.... try spray once in d aircond room.. FEEL LIKE GOING TO DIE ANYTIME.. ha ha. KIDS DONT TRY THIS AT HOME.
fyire
post Jul 11 2007, 12:42 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Jul 10 2007, 11:18 PM)
Now im staying in a room with tiny top windows n only hav AIRCOND.... try spray once in d aircond room.. FEEL LIKE GOING TO DIE ANYTIME.. ha ha. KIDS DONT TRY THIS AT HOME.
eeeeeeeeee... bad place to do AB work. If you're using acrylics, still not as bad, but definetely a big no no if working with lacquers.
HenryLow
post Jul 11 2007, 08:04 AM

liddat oso can, you win liao lor.
4,336 posts

get a Mr. Super Booth... Is a painting booth... for those no place to do AB...
i am considering this thingy...
but the price.... hmmm...
and M'sia look like don have this stock...
need order one... sad.gif

edited: Attachment added...

This post has been edited by HenryLow: Jul 11 2007, 08:06 AM

Kyoshiro
post Jul 11 2007, 11:45 AM

372 posts

the booth can DIY urself. Here's a short tutorial.
http://plamo.outthere.info/forum/showthread.php?tid=1846
If u're looking for ready made ones... A shop name Gallant in lowyat sells them. Basically its a shop selling hp accessories and services but i donno y they sell some other stuff like spray booth exhaust fan etc.
I saw it awhile ago so not sure whether they still have it or not.
duke_hunt
post Jul 11 2007, 12:00 PM

259 posts

henry, that booth is quite big and the packaging also will be big...
if u order online, shipping via SAL or EMS, it'll get notice...
not sure also but most prolly will kena tax...
big box mar...
was thinking on buying that too but decided to DIY...

HenryLow
post Jul 11 2007, 12:05 PM

liddat oso can, you win liao lor.
4,336 posts

QUOTE(Kyoshiro @ Jul 11 2007, 11:45 AM)
If u're looking for ready made ones... A shop name Gallant in lowyat sells them. Basically its a shop selling hp accessories and services but i donno y they sell some other stuff like spray booth exhaust fan etc.
Thanks for the DIY link and the location of the local shop...
Will go there see see... smile.gif

QUOTE(duke_hunt @ Jul 11 2007, 12:00 PM)
henry, that booth is quite big and the packaging also will be big...
if u order online, shipping via SAL or EMS, it'll get notice...
not sure also but most prolly will kena tax...
big box mar...
was thinking on buying that too but decided to DIY...
I think so... the shipping fees and taxes already cost a lot...
think of DIY myself like the link which Kyoshiro stated... smile.gif
clivengu
post Jul 11 2007, 10:39 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(Kyoshiro @ Jul 11 2007, 11:45 AM)
The tutorial... Very impressive.. ha ha.. Wonder how much it cost to create a dIy booth like this.. d Fan.. where to get it..n wat is tat called actually. sweat.gif
Kyoshiro
post Jul 12 2007, 03:15 AM

372 posts

The fan i think its call the exhaust fan gua... lolx!
Anyway, the shop i mention earlier got sell. U might wanna go there n check it out. I'm not so sure bout the availability right now coz i saw it quite sometime ago. I think it works with a computer casing fan too but need a strong 1 and have to DIY abit. Refrigerator fans will do too.

sooyewguan
post Jul 26 2007, 02:58 PM

427 posts

Finally my AB arrived. Still need more exercise.

This post has been edited by sooyewguan: Jul 26 2007, 09:05 PM
clivengu
post Jul 26 2007, 08:54 PM

1,850 posts

Beautiful Photo...~ u took it ? congratulation mua ha ha ha
Kyosiro.. Which shop in Lowyat are you talking about.. Draw a map for me.. i can go there to check.. i juz live next to there.. tongue.gif
eehtsitna
post Jul 26 2007, 09:45 PM

356 posts

Wow!!! That Iwata airbrush set looks delicious!!! It must cost a fortune though. biggrin.gif
sooyewguan
post Jul 26 2007, 09:53 PM

427 posts

well, i got it during cheap sales. compressor RM240 and AB (not iwata actually) RM 100, a nice startup for newbie i think.

btw, i bought some acrylic paint. i dunno what is the portion between paint and tinner to get a nice output.
ozak
post Jul 26 2007, 11:24 PM

17,018 posts

How is the noise of the compressor? Can it be run long hour?
Kyoshiro
post Jul 26 2007, 11:35 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Jul 26 2007, 08:54 PM)
Beautiful Photo...~ u took it ? congratulation mua ha ha ha
Kyosiro.. Which shop in Lowyat are you talking about.. Draw a map for me.. i can go there to check.. i juz live next to there.. tongue.gif
The shop name is Gelant. Sell all kinds of handphone accessories. It's beside APT academy.

BTW, bro sooyewguan really got that compressor cheap. Does it comes with airtank or auto off function?
[]tr|al[]
post Jul 29 2007, 02:09 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(sooyewguan @ Jul 26 2007, 02:58 PM)
Finally my AB arrived. Still need more exercise.
sooyewguan : bro, which shop did you made the purchase for that particular compressor?
sooyewguan
post Jul 29 2007, 04:09 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 26 2007, 11:24 PM)
How is the noise of the compressor? Can it be run long hour?
Noise level is still acceptable, but never tested how long it would last yet.

Added on July 29, 2007, 4:11 pm
QUOTE(Kyoshiro @ Jul 26 2007, 11:35 PM)
BTW, bro sooyewguan really got that compressor cheap. Does it comes with airtank or auto off function?
No airtank and not auto off, only got pressure control.

Added on July 29, 2007, 4:12 pm
QUOTE([]tr|al[] @ Jul 29 2007, 02:09 AM)
sooyewguan : bro, which shop did you made the purchase for that particular compressor?
I am in Japan currently, but i am sure its also can be found in Malaysia in silver color

This post has been edited by sooyewguan: Jul 29 2007, 04:12 PM
fyire
post Jul 29 2007, 11:15 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(sooyewguan @ Jul 29 2007, 04:09 PM)
Noise level is still acceptable, but never tested how long it would last yet.

Added on July 29, 2007, 4:11 pm
No airtank and not auto off, only got pressure control.
The auto off is only applicable if you've got an airtank. And well, without those 2, then its more of classified as a baby compressor, with a limited run time. But still pretty good enough for hobby use. Just don't go and just 'test' on how long it can be switched on continously as that'll risk a burn out smile.gif Best way to find out is to check with the shops, and other ppl who've used the same compressor before.

QUOTE(sooyewguan @ Jul 29 2007, 04:09 PM)

Added on July 29, 2007, 4:12 pm
I am in Japan currently, but i am sure its also can be found in Malaysia in silver color
Hey, when cha coming back to Malaysia, and which part of Malaysia r u from? Might wanna ask a favour, if u can help me get an Iwata AB or not smile.gif The prices that u got the stuff for in Japan is really cheap, especially the Iwata stuff.

29 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:25 PM