Hobbies Air Brush Acessories, Airbrush hose etc.

fyire
post Jul 1 2007, 02:23 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(Kyoshiro @ Jul 1 2007, 01:54 AM)
Any1 heard of the brand PUMA air compressor?? I've been told by af hobby's boss about this brand that he's selling. It comes with an air tank. Price is around RM500+, just the compressor. He told me its a local brand. thus, getting replacement parts n servicing it becomes easier. I heard it gets overheated fast. Donno whether its worth buying. Any advices?
No idea about the PUMA brand, but the air tank is supposed to prevent the quick overheating, as the compressor fills up the tank first, then cuts off. It only comes back on when the tank's pressure drops below a certain level.

U might wanna check with the shop on how long can u switch it on continously before it overheats. My Sparmax that I got from Venus Arts, I was advised by the uncle there to only run it for 15 minutes at a time. So u can use that 15 minutes for without an air tank to judge if the running time's alright or not.
fyire
post Jul 2 2007, 09:11 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(Kyoshiro @ Jul 1 2007, 12:29 PM)
Yup, he told me that it has to be switched off after 15minutes using it. I come across my fren who is a relative of venus art's owner, he told me that Sparmax air compressor with air tank is around RM700+. How about those they sell in Grafiti @ BTS? Any feedbacks?
hmm.. if its just 15 minutes with an air tank, then its not really worth it, as my Sparmax without an air tank runs for the same duration too. U might wanna check with the Venus Art's ppl on how long that Sparmax with the air tank can run for.
fyire
post Jul 9 2007, 07:30 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Jul 9 2007, 02:24 AM)
Fyire, I think ur sparmax compressor should be d same with mine.. but mine bought from Tamiya, mini 1 without airtank. I didnt know anything about -only run for 15 minutes at a time. So wat will happen after 15 minutes?
The chances of the motor burning out will be marginally higher.

I found my Airbrush will splash out water after using for a while... At first i thought is my AB got Clog.. SO d real reason it splash water is bcause d compressor overheated is it? blink.gif  blink.gif
Well, yes and no in its own way. I guess the compressor getting hot might contribute to the air coming from it being more damp (and hence resulting in more water splashes from the AB), but the real danger in prolonged use for such baby compressors is in the motor burning out.

Also I seldom do any AB work when the weather is wet (raining, or dark clouds in the sky), as that's got an effect on the splattering as well.

Something else to think about as well, I've read in quite a lot of other forums saying that the moisture traps found in our types of baby compressors r pretty useless, and don't work too well, and they recommend getting a heavy duty one off a hardware shop instead. However I've not yet tried hunting for one as yet.

I got another question.. Today i try Handbrush my toys using Mr Metalic COlour- lacquer type.. It is damn hard to use... Even when I want to wash my Brush + dice oso takes lots of effort.. By d way im using ZIPPO fluid...

Mr Metalic colour + zippo + Mr retarded Milo -- hand brush.
Yeah, its quite different indeed from using an airbrush. Although I currently do things the opposite of what u do. I use acrylics for hand painting, and lacquer for ABing.

Lacquers dries too quickly to hand brush for my liking, and acrylics dries too slowly for ABing for my liking.

I have nvr try AB using lacquer paint bcause im afraid it might clog my AB VERY easily.. n forever GONE~ pls advice me on how to AB using lacquer paint pls icon_question.gif

And comparing lacquer paint and acrylic... Lacquer is muc more durable compare to acrylic.. Am i right?
Yup, lacquer is more durable.

And in regards to the clogging, I used have the same thinking and phobia as you in regards to the clogging. However when I finally got around to trying out lacquer on my AB, I was rather surprised indeed.

Clogging when using lacquer and clogging when using acrylics r kinda different indeed. When using acrylics, u're guaranteed to run into clogging after 10 minutes of airbrushing, however that doesnt happen for lacquers.

Normal cleaning for lacquers is a lot easier than for acrylics as well, just spray thinner through your airbrush, while for acrylics, normal cleaning can be a lot more stubborn to do.

When using lacquers, just remember these points:
- Always spray thinner through your AB after u're finished with each cup of paint, or each color.
- Remove the needle for cleaning often as well
- Never ever forget to spray thinner through your AB after painting.

That's about it, for using lacquers in your AB. A lot simpler than acrylics, just that the mistake of not cleaning your AB is a lot more fatal than compared to acrylics.

What I tend to do currently, is to finish up the model nicely using lacquers, to obtain that tough finishing that's less prone to scratching. Then I apply the top coat for extra protection, then switch to acrylics for the weathering work. Any mess ups at this point (and mess ups during weathering is more frequent too), can be cleaned up using spirits, which does not run the risk of peeling off the lacquer paint at the bottom.
fyire
post Jul 10 2007, 12:03 AM

9,270 posts

Here's some of the models that I've posted before:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=12293208

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=11188991

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=11532341

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=11943247

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=12184108
fyire
post Jul 11 2007, 12:42 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Jul 10 2007, 11:18 PM)
Now im staying in a room with tiny top windows n only hav AIRCOND.... try spray once in d aircond room.. FEEL LIKE GOING TO DIE ANYTIME.. ha ha. KIDS DONT TRY THIS AT HOME.
eeeeeeeeee... bad place to do AB work. If you're using acrylics, still not as bad, but definetely a big no no if working with lacquers.
fyire
post Jul 29 2007, 11:15 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(sooyewguan @ Jul 29 2007, 04:09 PM)
Noise level is still acceptable, but never tested how long it would last yet.

Added on July 29, 2007, 4:11 pm
No airtank and not auto off, only got pressure control.
The auto off is only applicable if you've got an airtank. And well, without those 2, then its more of classified as a baby compressor, with a limited run time. But still pretty good enough for hobby use. Just don't go and just 'test' on how long it can be switched on continously as that'll risk a burn out smile.gif Best way to find out is to check with the shops, and other ppl who've used the same compressor before.

QUOTE(sooyewguan @ Jul 29 2007, 04:09 PM)

Added on July 29, 2007, 4:12 pm
I am in Japan currently, but i am sure its also can be found in Malaysia in silver color
Hey, when cha coming back to Malaysia, and which part of Malaysia r u from? Might wanna ask a favour, if u can help me get an Iwata AB or not smile.gif The prices that u got the stuff for in Japan is really cheap, especially the Iwata stuff.
fyire
post Nov 9 2008, 06:07 PM

9,270 posts

Anybody used Mr Hobby airbrushes that can give comments? Would the airbrush fit into a Sparmax compressor, or is there a need to fiddle to get it to fit?
fyire
post Jan 13 2010, 09:49 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(fess66 @ Jan 6 2010, 08:50 AM)
does anybody know who is the supplier for Mr Hobby stuff ?

my brotehr bought me a Mr Hobby Pro Spray Mk. 5 AB from HK but it uses Mr Super Air - or compressed air cans - and i have not seen any of those around? Does anyone know if there is any shop that brings these compressed air cans or is there someway i can connect it to a compressor.

One of the earlier posts said that a Sparmaxx and Mr Hobby AB combo worked for him.

Can anyone help me with this or i will be stuck with another useless Xmas gift that can't be used  rclxub.gif
If I'm not mistaken, in order to attach the spray can right, they give you some connector for it? But to use a compressor, you just need to attach the fitting directly into the AB itself.

I think it'll be easier to see if you post a pic of the AB.

0.0283sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:40 PM