29 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Hobbies Air Brush Acessories, Airbrush hose etc.

ozak
post Jul 30 2006, 01:28 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(JdOtL @ Jul 30 2006, 11:20 AM)
Thank you for the info, will check my local hardware store for adjustable pressure compressor, now the only problem is to figure out how to connect air brush to the compressor.  tongue.gif
use an airhose size 4mm. get the fitting joint that just plug the hose in. No need srew in. But you ve to search for it. If you in KL/PJ, I can tell you where to buy. I m in this engineering industry. Deal alot with this air thing.
ezCISS
post Jul 30 2006, 02:12 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 30 2006, 01:28 PM)
... If you in KL/PJ, I can tell you where to buy...
Can you please share with us where to get the "good stuff", I've done my best to my knowledge of KL shops already

Cheers!
ntc3freak
post Jul 30 2006, 03:06 PM

2,347 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 30 2006, 01:21 PM)
if the compressor ia s piston type, it is quite noisy. I ve a compressor using rotary type (use in freeze). Very quiet. Can work in late night also. Brought it 16yrs ago. still run perfectly.
but from comments i read,i'm pretty sure its pretty silent.
ozak
post Jul 30 2006, 10:09 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(ezCISS @ Jul 30 2006, 02:12 PM)
Can you please share with us where to get the "good stuff", I've done my best to my knowledge of KL shops already

Cheers!
It's a jpn company. Call SMC pneumatic. Locate at shah alam hitech park. (digi main office) You must ve some knowledge and parts model to order the thing. Cause they ve thousand of parts. If you just tell them this or that, they don't understand. Here example the fitting. If you buy the hose, it come in a roll which is 5m, 10m and 100m. The hose is soft (polyurethane) and it is light compare rubber hose.

This is my rotary compressor with those water filter and dryer unit. The fitting is joint to the air brush. You can see each unit have the fitting join each other using hose. The dryer is important for spay emulsion paint which is oil base.

Hope can help. icon_rolleyes.gif

sunnyboy
post Jul 31 2006, 01:15 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(JdOtL @ Jul 30 2006, 11:20 AM)
Thank you for the info, will check my local hardware store for adjustable pressure compressor, now the only problem is to figure out how to connect air brush to the compressor.  tongue.gif
Hmmm....this i ca nhelp.....snap a pic of your compressor, especially on the hose area....then go to jalan kuchai lama frm old klang road....

when u on the way up a step hill road, look at the shop on your left and u can c a shop name "kinki"...

they sell industrial use spray gun, compressor, adjustable regulater bla bla bla.....

they will have the stuff u looking for....roughly rm130+ for the regulater, with moisture trap also.....

dun ask for phone coz i dun hav
JdOtL
post Jul 31 2006, 08:57 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Jul 31 2006, 01:15 AM)
Hmmm....this i ca nhelp.....snap a pic of your compressor, especially on the hose area....then go to jalan kuchai lama frm old klang road....

when u on the way up a step hill road, look at the shop on your left and u can c a shop name "kinki"...

they sell industrial use spray gun, compressor, adjustable regulater bla bla bla.....

they will have the stuff u looking for....roughly rm130+ for the regulater, with moisture trap also.....

dun ask for phone coz i dun hav
Thanks all for the pointer.. notworthy.gif but I'm from Kuching, sweat.gif so need to find part at my own city, think I can get the staff you all talking about, the big problem now is just the price of the whole thing, if every thing come out to be more costly then buying the whole mini system, then no point lah... sweat.gif btw, I also have plan to modified the car aircon gas tank into a compressore tank so that can be joint to the air brush, if can then no need to buy compressore oledi, just refill air at gas station... drool.gif what you guy think... blush.gif
ozak
post Jul 31 2006, 09:14 AM

17,018 posts

Did you guys find any shop that still selling badger airbrush? I ve a single action badger airbrush but the nozzle all crack. The nozzle very easy to crack when the needle comeout too much.
ezCISS
post Jul 31 2006, 09:44 PM

50 posts

sunnyboy
Thanks for the pointer.. I roughly know where that shop is. I will give it a scounting when the time come.

ozak
I've not seen any from the places I've been to in KL. I suggest you try ebay. I can see a variety of Badger items there. I also found a reputable Iwata seller there for price comparison. Hahah.. who knows, I migh end up ordering off ebay if it's cheaper.
ntc3freak
post Aug 2 2006, 07:26 PM

2,347 posts

btw guys,anyone noe where to get denatured alcohol/rubbing alcohol???And do you guys noe if this stuff is allowed to be touched for a muslim???thanks
ezCISS
post Aug 2 2006, 08:01 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Aug 2 2006, 07:26 PM)
btw guys,anyone noe where to get denatured alcohol/rubbing alcohol???And do you guys noe if this stuff is allowed to be touched for a muslim???thanks
I've been looking for "Isopropyl alcohol" = rubbing alcohol for ages! I cant seem to find it locally though.

BUT all is not lost. The next alternative is "Surgical Spirit" found very very easily in any Pharmacy. Though the chemically composition is slightly different (Ethanol if not mistaken) in "theory" it should surfice.

Err.. the touching portion I'm not sure lah sweat.gif BUT know that it is a type of alcohol.
ozak
post Aug 3 2006, 12:55 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(ntc3freak @ Aug 2 2006, 07:26 PM)
What alcohol is that? You need it for diluting? Just get the nail cleaning alcohol. that will do the job. Maybe you ve to ask the ulama. But I thing, if you get inject by doc before, I tink the doc got clean up your skin using alcohol before stick the needle to you. Is that count?
howiechoo
post Aug 3 2006, 12:58 AM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

i m interesting in this...but can i know how hard is it to spray air brush? is the paint using normal automotive paint bought from paint supply or any other paint? erm...
ezCISS
post Aug 3 2006, 01:11 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 3 2006, 12:55 AM)
What alcohol is that? You need it for diluting? Just get the nail cleaning alcohol. that will do the job. ..
Consider it as poor mans thinner for model kits. I think nail cleaning alcohol is migh melt the models kits blush.gif

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Aug 3 2006, 12:58 AM)
i m interesting in this...but can i know how hard is it to spray air brush? is the paint using normal automotive paint bought from paint supply or any other paint? erm...
U need some skills there.. and there is only one way to learn wink.gif Depending on your requirment and the correct tools, you can paint whatever you like. Model Kits users prefer to use those model kit paints.
howiechoo
post Aug 3 2006, 01:16 AM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

i know how to paint by using spraying can..but i think i can learn how to spray air brush quit fast...btw, how much is the normal kit cost? erm...kinda ex for me to play play with it le
ezCISS
post Aug 3 2006, 03:17 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Aug 3 2006, 01:16 AM)
t...btw, how much is the normal kit cost? erm...kinda ex for me to play play with it le
info posted HERE already
ozak
post Aug 3 2006, 09:08 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(ezCISS @ Aug 3 2006, 01:11 AM)
Consider it as poor mans thinner for model kits.  I think nail cleaning alcohol is migh melt the models kits  blush.gif
Nope, It won't melt the plastic. Thinner yes. I use alot to clean the air brush and wipe out the paint on the model. Sometime I use thinner to clean the air brush also but not good for the seal.
For tamiya paint, just water will do or buy thier thinner. For airfix and others emulsion paint, I just use thier thinner.
ozak
post Aug 3 2006, 09:12 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Aug 3 2006, 01:16 AM)
i know how to paint by using spraying can..but i think i can learn how to spray air brush quit fast...btw, how much is the normal kit cost? erm...kinda ex for me to play play with it le
You need skill and precision to control the air brush. It is more thing to learn in the air brush spray than a can spray.
Ratatosk
post Aug 3 2006, 12:30 PM

60 posts

I've been looking for an airbrush also.

Just checked out VenusArt and Nanyang a few weeks ago. Actually had decided on buying from VenusArt, but after I withdraw money, the shop was already closed...

Maybe a good thing... save me from impulse buy tongue.gif

At the same time, I also heard that there's a big Arts supplies store called ArtsFriends at UE3. Heard from friends who buy pottery clay and paints from there. Supposedly much cheaper stuff than elsewhere. This is a chain from S'pore, where they've got 2 stores at BrasBasah and Takashimaya... So, maybe they are the Carrefour of arts stuff.

Just asking if anyone knows that area, and have seen whether they've got airbrushes & compressors or not?

Eitherway, I'll probably want to check out UE3 first before going back to Venus Art again.

Nanyang has Japan made Holbien ABs only.
Their compressor is huge, rm780, no moisture trap, and boss doesn't know specs. Last unit there. So, highly uninterested. shakehead.gif

VenusArt is better for compressors. Cheapest one I've seen so far. With moisture trap and pressure gauge etc. The boss keeps recommending the one with the air-tank.

The one with no airtank is rm4xx. But must switch off after 25-30min. Else will overheat and break. And there's no warranty.

The one with airtank is rm180 more expensive. Has auto-off. When airtank is full, it doesn't run continuously. So, can use longer. Less likely to breakdown. No need to worry that you'll forget.

But am still wondering whether can just get a small motorbike compressor and use it. Minimal investment. And later, if lose interest to do AB, can still use it to open motorcycle garage. laugh.gif

ntc3freak
post Aug 3 2006, 05:53 PM

2,347 posts

i asked my agama teacher today,and she said that alcohol CAN be touched rclxm9.gif .btw,u guys can't find denatured alcohol??? blink.gif serious??? i can't quite remember what am i gonna use it for sweat.gif doh.gif
Ratatosk
post Aug 4 2006, 09:30 AM

60 posts

Just checked out ArtFriend yesterday.

Plenty of paints, inks, paper, wood, brassrods, stencils, brushes etc etc...

Also a whole range of Badger airbrushes.

All the double action Badger ABs selling for 488.

But there's a 10%discount after paying rm10 for membership.

Also Badger compressed air canisters, small rm36, large rm56.
The large one, from what a guy told me, is enough for painting 3 modelling kits.

There's also a selection of 'cheap'-er Badger single actions with plastic handles.

There are a few boxsets, small air can, plastic singleaction AB, hose, connectors, regulator etc... for 300+

But I still find these boxsets expensive. Cos in S'pore, I found a few taiwan imitations of the exact same design going for sgd58, without the small air can.

The air compressors are expensive. The ones with moisture trap etc going for 1200+.

Best option so far is still Venus Art...

29 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:51 PM