Transformers Thread v69, Takara VS Hasbro VS 3rd Parties VS Wifes

ckchan
post Aug 12 2013, 10:14 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(redcardwelling @ Aug 11 2013, 08:40 AM)
depends on your preference. hasbro colors are lighter and brighter, while takara is in a darker tone. for some the eyes in takara is already a dealbreaker. but takara much more paint app especially on the trailer. either way you can't go wrong as it is a great mold
hmm.gif
but i prefer takara mp10. the eyes in hasbro version, though more visible, looks fake and lifeless to me

but the price for takara version is overkill now... waiting for the reissue with stand...
ckchan
post Aug 12 2013, 11:13 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(Pliskin @ Aug 12 2013, 10:58 AM)
thumbup.gif
USD300??!! the one with the stand? if that's the PO price, then it's even more expensive the the scalped price of exsiting MP-10!! IT-Toys 'only' selling MISB MP-10 for RM800 tongue.gif
er...if the reissue is USD300, then it's still overkill...but i doubt any reissue will be that expensive unsure.gif

i prefer Takara version too...the blue is much more darker, looks better...Hasbro's one light blue looks too 'cartoon-y'...for me at least smile.gif
i think most of the takara MP from those western country is more expensive when we converted the currency... (due to our weaker currency vmad.gif )...

but if our local importers import direct, it's "usually cheaper" than those sites.

and well, hasbro OP does looks more cartoon accurate and thus the "cartoony" feel

This post has been edited by ckchan: Aug 12 2013, 11:15 AM
ckchan
post Aug 12 2013, 02:06 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(Pliskin @ Aug 12 2013, 12:08 PM)
as Takara is Japanese version, stores in US will import into US, thus the higher price, no? to buy Takara versions from US is like getting it shipped from Japan to US, then back to Malaysia again, rite? rclxub.gif
MP-10B is everywhere...they are still available at retail price in shops, and even better deals in LYN or ebay. i dun mind without the trailer, coz it's taking up space anyway....but i just wan to have that iconic blue+red for OP...black just doesn't do it for me. biggrin.gif
yup. that's also y we buy takara mp here is cheaper than other western country.

i have the mp10b. no doubt it's a very cool looking fig. but i also still thinking to get the iconic red&blue OP
ckchan
post Aug 12 2013, 02:23 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(omichael @ Aug 12 2013, 02:20 PM)
I also prefer the red & blue... but I don't want the trailer and I don't want to pay more than RM400+ for it.

Sell me your mp10b can? tongue.gif
haha... if and when i got the red&blue, then i'll consider selling the black. until then, i'll just hold on to the black
ckchan
post Aug 14 2013, 10:05 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(sekngucing @ Aug 14 2013, 09:59 AM)
tf for investment? first time i heard people buy tf a toy to invest? haha
where have u been lately? never heard about any particular tf fig got goreng until very insane price?

of course not all tf got "investment" value. usually only those limited and top of the line have "investment" value
ckchan
post Aug 14 2013, 10:20 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(sekngucing @ Aug 14 2013, 10:13 AM)
ooo mcm tu ka?
newbie here, can you show me which 1 tf is worthy for investment?
now i can tf for manypurpose, hobby and as investment lolĀ  biggrin.gif
i am not much of an "investor" also la... tongue.gif

i only know the masterpiece series got 2nd hand value lor. but even so, not every 1 of them also got 2nd hand value. some also depreciated. most expensive one now i think is the MP04, selling at least at rm800. some like MP03G, i think the value depreciated cos less demand and over supply.

some of the leader class movie line fig also selling at much higher price now compared to when they r first released

oh and sometimes these "investment" also depends on buyer at that time. if u r lucky, some hardcore collectors may be willing to pay a high price for your 20year-old-not-so-good condition g1 OP. but these cases i think usually only happen in western country where they value vintage stuff more than new stuff.

This post has been edited by ckchan: Aug 14 2013, 10:25 AM
ckchan
post Aug 14 2013, 10:29 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(cycheah @ Aug 14 2013, 10:24 AM)
tfs potentially will not be re-issue smile.gif like 3rd parties tfs... some MPs also hard to find already. Another type would be Takara/ hasbro tf with 3rd parties addon would be something people are looking for too.
nod.gif 3rd party tf... sometimes i found them costing even more than the official takara/hasbro tf...
ckchan
post Aug 14 2013, 12:18 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(omichael @ Aug 14 2013, 11:37 AM)
That sucks. If Takara & Hasbro are sincere about creating adult collectors items in the Masterpiece line, they should build this stuff to last for decades.

Why can't Transformers be made with the same grade of plastic as Lego?
plastic will not easily deteriorate... the parts that's easily deteriorate are metal and rubber. metal will rust over time and rubber will harden and broke into pieces. and chrome part will also fade after some time.
ckchan
post Aug 14 2013, 02:29 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(hianz86 @ Aug 14 2013, 12:42 PM)
Hi bros,

Been halting the collecting scene for more than 3 years....wondering what is the price for MP thundercracker [HasBro] MP-10 reissue version, MP Acidstorm and MP-09?
i think someone posted a TRU leaflet few pages back. it's all on promo price now
ckchan
post Aug 15 2013, 02:57 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(Mspot @ Aug 14 2013, 10:50 PM)
I have mp1, mp2 and mp1b, but all no trailer. Wanted one with trailer for the 'complete' feel. Actually been thinking for weeks if i should get op tru. suddenly the discount popped out. needn't to think further.
nod.gif i understand what u mean...

even though the trailer is like useless and redundant... but still feel a need to get it because of the "complete" feel... OP really doesn't feels "complete" without the trailer.
ckchan
post Aug 15 2013, 08:49 PM

3,026 posts

For those looking for mp acid storm and Soundwave, try tru klcc

ckchan
post Aug 16 2013, 09:39 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(redcardwelling @ Aug 15 2013, 11:04 PM)
Sound wave dilemma...Hasbro or Takara?
the main diff is the price between the 2!

design wise they r basically the same. the obvious diff is only the color of the eyes. hasbro yellow while takara red. other minor diff will be a "CE" chop and a panel not painted silver at the leg of hasbro version.

ckchan
post Aug 16 2013, 10:50 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(Pliskin @ Aug 16 2013, 10:46 AM)
Hmm...seems like the TRU Rodimus that i saw selling at RM300+ is still higher than retail unsure.gif i actually do not have much use for Rod's trailer...still in the box smile.gif if i have seen the TRU Rodimus, i might have just bought the TRU version...save a couple of hundred bucks.
er...the main difference is the 4 extra cassettes bro!  tongue.gif  that's the deal breaker for many people...
tongue.gif yeah... how can i forget about the included cassettes!!
ckchan
post Aug 16 2013, 10:53 AM

3,026 posts

WTA, is the 499 promo for hasbro MP OP still on? if yes, anyone saw any stock available in which TRU?

prefer to get the takara mp10. but if 499, this price is just too tempting
ckchan
post Aug 16 2013, 11:32 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(omichael @ Aug 16 2013, 11:29 AM)
TRU Bangsar Village still had stock two days ago. Not sure if the promo is still on though, try calling them.
ok thanks
ckchan
post Aug 16 2013, 11:56 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(kiien_kyan @ Aug 16 2013, 11:46 AM)
499 is tempting? u missed Xmas Sales bro whistling.gif
really? how much back then?

i have been in hibernate state in hunting TF for the pass 2 years... few months ago baru revive back this hunt
ckchan
post Aug 21 2013, 02:18 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(sekngucing @ Aug 21 2013, 01:46 PM)
when i was a kid i watch cartoon series where ultra magnus transform to become head of bigger robot
and a series where optimus was revived but in a body that can transform into lion , if im not mistaken it was japanese tf series, sunday, 10am
if these series what henkei tf is all about?
hmm.gif not sure about the ultra magnus u talking about

but the optimus revived into lion mode is the Victory series, continuation of the Masterforce series

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Victory_Leo
ckchan
post Aug 29 2013, 11:10 AM

3,026 posts

finally made up my mind and hunted this down at TRU 2 days ago

ckchan
post Aug 29 2013, 11:25 AM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(omichael @ Aug 29 2013, 11:17 AM)
Nice one! I was going to wait for the Year of the Horse reissue in a few months to get my MP OP... but according to reports it will be a repainted figure. I don't want a big yellow horse painted on my Prime haha... in that case better just go for Nemesis Prime.
well, i tot of waiting for that too. but looking at those year of the snake omega supreme/optimus, it's repainted into... what like yellowish/orange/brownish color, which is not the original color scheme.

so yeah, just decided to get this ori red+blue OP!

This post has been edited by ckchan: Aug 29 2013, 11:26 AM
ckchan
post Aug 29 2013, 05:08 PM

3,026 posts

QUOTE(sekngucing @ Aug 29 2013, 04:25 PM)
which tru? what price? maybe im gonna get mp 10 as well because mp01 and mp04 are quite expensive  hmm.gif
i got from paradigm mall, rm499.95, that's the last piece i grabbed, dunno still got stock inside their storeroom anot tongue.gif

0.0229sec    1.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:38 PM