Nice place to chill with books, Suggestion needed

placenta
post Oct 9 2013, 05:44 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(Cattitude @ Jul 28 2013, 01:46 PM)
Hi book lovers, I wonder where is your preference in a peace afternoon to chill with your books?

Let say Pacific coffees? Starbucks? Bookstores? or if there are really one place designed for book lover with decent environment?

No library please. There are ain't comfortable enough.  blush.gif
there was one time where i went to PD beach infront of seri malaysia to read. the best place to read is beaches lor.
braindeath
post Oct 9 2013, 06:04 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Oct 9 2013, 05:41 PM)
love your idea. selecting location would be the most tricky part as you don't want to go wrong with this. Unless you have a lot of $$ to re-do again, selecting the wrong place could cost you a bom!
Yes, that is the main concern, location and i believe city, big city people tend to be more well educate so reading is one of the hobby, not to say small city is not educated but majority will agree with me

But as for now i need to hold that idea, my capital source seem to be in trouble doh.gif blush.gif

QUOTE(placenta @ Oct 9 2013, 05:44 PM)
there was one time where i went to PD beach infront of seri malaysia to read. the best place to read is beaches lor.
What about an open air rooftop? With a garden surrounding or minimalist design?
placenta
post Oct 9 2013, 06:05 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(braindeath @ Oct 9 2013, 06:04 PM)
But as for now i need to hold that idea, my capital source seem to be in trouble doh.gif  blush.gif 
but as for me, i prefer to sit on a sandy beach instead..... nod.gif

zenwell
post Oct 9 2013, 09:44 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(braindeath @ Oct 9 2013, 06:04 PM)
Yes, that is the main concern, location and i believe city, big city people tend to be more well educate so reading is one of the hobby, not to say small city is not educated but majority will agree with me

But as for now i need to hold that idea, my capital source seem to be in trouble doh.gif  blush.gif 
let me know if you need help. When i'm free i can help you to do some research. Location is definitely tricky. even big cities, it's hard to select the location. for me I will be thinking: KL/PJ/Damansara?Subang/Bangsar/Mont Kiara?etc rclxub.gif Then the cost of operating, say KL could be expensive rclxub.gif sometimes it is hard when you have noble ideas to reach out and help others, encourage others to read. However, it can be done. Look at Big bad wolf books, I've spoken to the owners before, really respect them for their life long mission of making sure everyone reads by bringing in cheap books. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(placenta @ Oct 9 2013, 06:05 PM)
but as for me, i prefer to sit on a sandy beach instead.....  nod.gif
erm, sandy beach may not work all the time, especially when it is too hot. just my 2 cents wink.gif
placenta
post Oct 9 2013, 11:25 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Oct 9 2013, 09:44 PM)
let me know if you need help. When i'm free i can help you to do some research. Location is definitely tricky. even big cities, it's hard to select the location. for me I will be thinking: KL/PJ/Damansara?Subang/Bangsar/Mont Kiara?etc  rclxub.gif Then the cost of operating, say KL could be expensive  rclxub.gif  sometimes it is hard when you have noble ideas to reach out and help others, encourage others to read. However, it can be done. Look at Big bad wolf books, I've spoken to the owners before, really respect them for their life long mission of making sure everyone reads by bringing in cheap books.  notworthy.gif
erm, sandy beach may not work all the time, especially when it is too hot. just my 2 cents  wink.gif
bawah pokok kelapa lah, aiyo! its freaking relaxing, when you got your feet buried in the sand and read your book, dayyum
zenwell
post Oct 10 2013, 10:01 AM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(placenta @ Oct 9 2013, 11:25 PM)
bawah pokok kelapa lah, aiyo! its freaking relaxing, when you got your feet buried in the sand and read your book, dayyum
haha. I've yet to try that. Maybe i will someday wink.gif
highbury1913
post Oct 10 2013, 11:28 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Oct 10 2013, 10:01 AM)
haha. I've yet to try that. Maybe i will someday  wink.gif
the thought of having sand all over my precious books scare me :S
braindeath
post Oct 10 2013, 11:51 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(placenta @ Oct 9 2013, 06:05 PM)
but as for me, i prefer to sit on a sandy beach instead.....  nod.gif
They will fall asleep instead laugh.gif

Nobody can't deny the relaxing factor of the beach, but normally it is located far from town/city, i'm afraid nobody wanna come if the location is setup near the beach

QUOTE(zenwell @ Oct 9 2013, 09:44 PM)
let me know if you need help. When i'm free i can help you to do some research. Location is definitely tricky. even big cities, it's hard to select the location. for me I will be thinking: KL/PJ/Damansara?Subang/Bangsar/Mont Kiara?etc  rclxub.gif Then the cost of operating, say KL could be expensive  rclxub.gif  sometimes it is hard when you have noble ideas to reach out and help others, encourage others to read. However, it can be done. Look at Big bad wolf books, I've spoken to the owners before, really respect them for their life long mission of making sure everyone reads by bringing in cheap books.  notworthy.gif
erm, sandy beach may not work all the time, especially when it is too hot. just my 2 cents  wink.gif
Research will be held when the capital is there blush.gif as for now it is just an idea

Community that read is a better community, they are more knowledgeable, if you ask me, my fave book genre will be biography but we can learn a lot through reading, not necessarily someone need to read iq test book all the time to be smart

I just hope kids will understand how important to read a book plus we can get a tax reduction by buying books laugh.gif
omgimahero
post Oct 10 2013, 11:51 AM

479 posts

QUOTE(Cattitude @ Jul 28 2013, 01:46 PM)
Hi book lovers, I wonder where is your preference in a peace afternoon to chill with your books?

Let say Pacific coffees? Starbucks? Bookstores? or if there are really one place designed for book lover with decent environment?

No library please. There are ain't comfortable enough.  blush.gif
I dont read books
JohnJon82
post Oct 10 2013, 02:40 PM

716 posts

I read at airport waiting room and during the flights.
zenwell
post Oct 10 2013, 03:23 PM

1,749 posts

QUOTE(braindeath @ Oct 10 2013, 11:51 AM)
They will fall asleep instead laugh.gif

Nobody can't deny the relaxing factor of the beach, but normally it is located far from town/city, i'm afraid nobody wanna come if the location is setup near the beach
Research will be held when the capital is there blush.gif  as for now it is just an idea

Community that read is a better community, they are more knowledgeable, if you ask me, my fave book genre will be biography but we can learn a lot through reading, not necessarily someone need to read iq test book all the time to be smart

I just hope kids  will understand how important to read a book plus we can get a tax reduction by buying books laugh.gif
so you planning to do it. hopefully your wish will come true very soon smile.gif
braindeath
post Oct 10 2013, 08:49 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Oct 10 2013, 03:23 PM)
so you planning to do it. hopefully your wish will come true very soon  smile.gif
Yes, thats my plan but for this moment it is just an idea without resource to make it happen

Maybe in a year or two flex.gif
Azure19
post Oct 11 2013, 11:17 PM

44 posts

So far usually read at coffee shop or house.but nice idea TS,would love to spend the time reading in a cozy place serving tea/coffee and snacks with some instrumental/slow music

This post has been edited by Azure19: Oct 11 2013, 11:19 PM
desmoso
post Oct 22 2013, 03:55 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Oct 10 2013, 02:40 PM)
I read at airport waiting room and during the flights.
Yeap, do most of my reading during these times. The only good thing that ever came out of delayed flights.
cempedaklife
post Oct 25 2013, 08:18 AM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

No idea why ppl like to read in Starbucks. Most of the time it's a noisy and busy place. Not to mention, a cramp place as well.

I would have prefer any other coffee shop than Starbucks. Depending where u stay, kl and selangor actually got a lot of unique coffee shop places for u to go, which is more serene.

But for me personally, I would prefer to read at home or in lrt. But nowadays driving to work already. So now read less book 😢
botterjr
post Oct 31 2013, 05:20 PM

Hey guys,

Any suggestion for a nice and comfortable place to read and hopefully easy to focus, around Subang Jaya area?
(I am super easily distracted by almost anything especially walking people!! sad.gif )

Thanks in advance!
epsilon_chinwk86
post Nov 27 2013, 11:28 AM

603 posts

Read a lot in Starbucks. Noisy and cramped at times yes but at home there is that irresistible temptation of computer, internet, tv and the ever comfortable & seductive bed.
TrollNoob
post Nov 27 2013, 11:36 AM

627 posts

Public parks in the afternoon right after people finishing work and publics began their jogging rituals....
SUSNXJ
post Nov 27 2013, 12:05 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Oct 25 2013, 08:18 AM)
No idea why ppl like to read in Starbucks. Most of the time it's a noisy and busy place. Not to mention, a cramp place as well.

I would have prefer any other coffee shop than Starbucks. Depending where u stay, kl and selangor actually got a lot of unique coffee shop places for u to go, which is more serene.

But for me personally, I would prefer to read at home or in lrt. But nowadays driving to work already. So now read less book 😢
White noise. Some people focus better with white noise.
Nocturnal Being
post Dec 8 2013, 06:42 PM

I just need to open my kindle and I forget about my environment. But I would say reading in the LRT and missing your station is priceless smile.gif

This post has been edited by Nocturnal Being: Dec 8 2013, 06:42 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0184sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:07 PM