SteelSeries Thread V9, RIVAL 100 DotA 2 Edition coming!

wildwestgoh
post Apr 15 2014, 05:07 PM

2,215 posts

Anyone has side by side picture compare for Logitech G400s and Steelseries Rival?
I'm planning a mouse to replace my almost a decade old companion (yes, a decade old) MX518 first gen (yeah, guess that again, FIRST GEN!! 5 little mice feet!) so I heard Rival has some really good sensor and all, but unknown LMB & RMB switches hmm.gif
If anyone is kind enough because here all the store does not have demo unit, all packaging is secured so I can't even compare side by side (reluctant to ask salesperson to do that without buying).
If possible I need to see the height as well, side way view.

Thank you in advance for your time and effort. And I do hope this comparison may help some users here to choose as well, switch from Logitech to Steelseries. brows.gif
wildwestgoh
post Apr 15 2014, 05:29 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Apr 15 2014, 05:21 PM)
Do u live near Low Yat Plaza. If yes, you can try demo rival and g400s at Gaming Brightstar 4th floor. Buying mice very subjective, you need to get in on hands than only you can decide which suit ur type.
Which is why it is so unfortunate that I'm not in West Malaysia cry.gif , Kuching here is well, not many shop has demo unit, only the cheapo Gigabyte mice doh.gif
I know that I have to hands on to be able to feels it, but that's how I bought my MX518 as well, just ask my friend to grab it from Lowyat back then because Kuching still does not have such mouse available (HOLY SHYT? you guess that right... sweat.gif )
wildwestgoh
post Apr 15 2014, 08:43 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Apr 15 2014, 08:20 PM)
what a coincidence to meet you here!! i thought weilung is in EM and he carries quite a number of gaming mice afaik
Yeah, Weilung has it I think, but of course no demo unit which I can feel the whole thing myself.
Looking forward upcoming ICT fair at May, maybe can find demo unit, but mostly only the Logitech. sweat.gif
Not many people want to demo such niche (in Kuching) product. yawn.gif
wildwestgoh
post Apr 16 2014, 01:59 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Apr 16 2014, 01:49 PM)
i dont have G400s but MX518 is sitting side by side with Rival on my desk

if you are comfy with MX518 probably you would too with Rival, at least Rival works well for my hands coming from MX518..Rival feels abit heavy for my taste while MX518 hit the right spot but of all this is subjective matter

the cheapest Rival can find is from her?

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1029302&hl=

written there RM1XX but i buy from her before cny also cheapest i can find in whole of lyn lol
Do you claw grip or tip grip? I do suppose when I do FPS and tip grip on rare occasion where small movement is needed.
As for weight, I open up my MX518 and added some big head screws to increase its weight (LOL), so Rival may fits my weight preferences.
I did notice the back (or butt?) logo can be taken off? Is it for weight distribution or just fancy cap? hmm.gif

Edit: Ok, it's just a fancy replaceable cap. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Apr 16 2014, 02:05 PM
wildwestgoh
post Apr 16 2014, 06:35 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Apr 16 2014, 04:09 PM)
good deal wor drool.gif my 2 year old cmstorm inferno is starting to register single click as double-clicks, maybe time for a change. anybody has used steelseries sensei/rival EXTENSIVELY for two year? i wanna know can the mouse button hold up better than logitech/razer/cm storm. also will the matte surface on the SS Rival peel or become ugly from sweaty palm?
How I wish the switch is uses the Cherry MX switches methology... well just in my dreams, anyway I think the older mouse has better copper plating inside the switches, I did the switch fix DIY myself once for my MX518 and still intensively smashing it for my casual gaming, works fine now but planning on replacement (a decade old... time to retire liao la..).
Anyway about your mouse, you can try the DIY if no more warranty, but if handling tiny things is not your cup of tea then it's not advised, cause those Logitech M100R did have this kind of problem and I tried to repair it the same way, and the copper just broke on me... shakehead.gif
So I do hope Steelseries has way better copper inside that switch, something that can last me like I do for my MX518, planning for Rival, now just need to compare the fattiness so I can comfortably replace my oldie partner. wink.gif

Just notice that I'm claw grip while gaming, tip grip when uses photo editing program... sweat.gif
wildwestgoh
post Apr 16 2014, 11:23 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Apr 16 2014, 08:34 PM)
the matte surface on Rival kinda suck..i dont like it..i use mine since january the surface my finger or palm touches looks like faded paint surface on cars
Oh shrug, looks like the paint will wear off much easier than expected, my MX518 side paint become sticky after 1~2 years of use, then I just scrap it off using sand paper and just spray with normal matte paint, not very fancy job but at least does not feels so plasticky without the coating.
Will think another time about buying those mice... sweat.gif
Most mice nowadays also uses matte coating on the top and side, Rival seems to use rubber grip, a nice touch, but wonder if that's just coating or real rubber piece that won't get sticky after pro-long usage. hmm.gif

Researching mode ON. brows.gif

Add: Just did a Google and found even Sensei which cost much higher also has such issue of paint wearing off... doh.gif
Well, this link belong to Steelseries forum and at the bottom is one of the support reply, 1-on-1 exchange if paint wear off... sweat.gif what if wear off again after the warranty end... cry.gif
http://www.overclock.net/t/1329515/any-rep...sei-wearing-out

Add 2: Rival paint wearing off, oh gosh doh.gif 1 month only... shakehead.gif
http://www.overclock.net/t/1469867/steelse...0#post_21856041

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Apr 16 2014, 11:39 PM
wildwestgoh
post Apr 17 2014, 07:38 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Apr 17 2014, 02:01 AM)
is this already wiped or....?
As you can see at the left and right finger click area where it gets shines, that's where the paint wear off, now we can confirm that Steelseries does not goes too well with their paint job (Just like cheap ABS keycaps ya know), although there's no report of faulty clicks or other build quality so far.
If it's only the paint issue I can still live with it, just the back of the mice where the logo shines wear out is kind of disappointing though, need Steelseries to gets their quality up with the paint, especially the matte. flex.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Apr 17 2014, 07:39 AM
wildwestgoh
post Apr 17 2014, 03:45 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Apr 17 2014, 02:02 PM)
not wiped, not as bad after wiping it
its not wear but rather oil from our touching leaving the stains on the surface, im lazy nowdays didnt wipe it after use and longer leave it the more it stays there

i sanded down my MX518 for repainting or plastidip it soon..the original coating also get sticky from my sweaty palm..just me me go yucks lol..but after sanded down its great the feel is like PBT keycaps with nice texture  laugh.gif
Oh... so it's not the paint wear off?
But I have found 2nd link, refer my top post that many reported the paint wearing off here and there after few months... sweat.gif
Got excited to get the mice but end up with not-so-good result after researching... cry.gif
unsure.gif but the thing is the that ergo shape is so darn tempting... drool.gif doh.gif
wildwestgoh
post Apr 19 2014, 06:38 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(H3LLKEEPER @ Apr 18 2014, 11:36 PM)
Stop by MVP store today
Here is the pic you requested
Hope its not too late

sorry for the poor pic quality notworthy.gif
notworthy.gif Oh hail goodness~~
Yeah, almost as I imagined it would be from many picture source and also the measurement of G400s that I found on one website (forgotten that link).
The height is tad few mm different for most of the part, except rival is longer, slimmer (width shorter), and to my surprise, G400s is actually higher (height).
Rival however has the "butt" bump at further back, making it contact with palm more than G400s, feelings will be much different in this case.

Thank you again for your effort, going for Rival... probably in June (PIKOM), stupid Kuching ICT fair got postponed... AGAIN!!! mad.gif
Hopefully can feel the actual mice in my palm at the fair. wink.gif

QUOTE(ntw @ Apr 19 2014, 03:05 PM)
i dont think thats the paint wearing off on the rival la, its soft-touch coat. just maybe will be aesthetically ugly to look at
sweat.gif Yeah, you're probably right about that, been a bit faint hearted after seeing the big brother Sensei having such an issue. doh.gif
I should have faith at Steelseries ($.$;;)

wildwestgoh
post Apr 19 2014, 06:46 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(ntw @ Apr 19 2014, 06:44 PM)
the Rival are going for rm189 from hikari85 so you might wanna bring forward your purchase.. brows.gif
Oh really, erm.... hmm.gif
Lets see how much I can get from local.... brows.gif
wildwestgoh
post Apr 22 2014, 01:17 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(and1nicky @ Apr 22 2014, 12:15 PM)
Hi guys i got a steelseries sensei. want to ask in order to use button 6 and button 7 do i have to on my steelseries engine ? bcz it takes up 110k kb in my task manager. when i off steelseries engine. i cant use button 6 and 7
You can try to set the button 6 & 7 in game's key settings to see if it working without the Steelseries Engine.
wildwestgoh
post Jul 15 2014, 10:34 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(H3LLKEEPER @ Jun 29 2014, 06:38 PM)
i dont think thats possible

SteelSeries RIVAL DotA 2
Estimated to arrive in August
Pre-order from a retailer near you

Wow one very sexy mouse indeed, not too fond of Dota game but that mouse really tempting.. hehe brows.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 20 2014, 10:47 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(oOoproz @ Aug 18 2014, 05:59 PM)
Ok!! Never expect tat cheap... Using I-9250
And I had tried using the usb otg, it didnt work.. how come  sad.gif
Does your phone prompt USB audio when you plug in your headset?
If your phone has originally started with Android 4, it should have, but there're also some early model does not support external USB audio, that's hardware limitation rather than the OS itself.
Also, not all USB audio is supported due to the power of the USB output to power both the DAC and the AMP unit of your headset.
wildwestgoh
post Sep 30 2014, 01:13 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Sep 30 2014, 11:30 AM)
after a month of usage the rubber started wear off, seriously, tat's y i hate rubber. used logitech and microsoft b4, both throw away within 3 months...
i still prefer the good old plastic.
gotten my rival via taobao. they got the stock when the rival 1st release.
rival size and the shape fit very well in my hand thus bought it the first moment the stock is available.
Rival also rubber side right?
Not sure how to maintain rubber, it's pain to make sure it does not become sticky. doh.gif
Air-cond room is one way but my room isn't air-conditioned... cry.gif

p/s: Sorry didn't make it up for Rival even though I look forward for it, Logitech G502 make sure me didn't do so... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Sep 30 2014, 01:14 PM

0.0305sec    1.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:33 AM