new car not equiped with autolock feature?, was told by car sales person

kadajawi
post Jul 25 2013, 07:36 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Jul 25 2013, 07:16 PM)
its easy to install autolock outside if doesnt comes as stended ...btw accident lock or no lock does make differences ??
It makes a difference. Modern cars are designed in a way that you should be able to open the doors without much force. That AFAIK goes into the NCAP ratings.

You can only have that feature if the car unlocks itself. And IMHO that makes sense.

To be honest I don't understand what the problem is. When the airbags are deployed send a signal to the central locking to open the doors. Deployed airbags are a clear signal that there was an accident.
kadajawi
post Jul 26 2013, 12:10 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 26 2013, 10:57 AM)
For P1 only Preve and Exora.
Not really, look at Vios vs Fiesta Sedan. Almost the same price, but worlds apart in terms of safety equipment. If the consumers tell Toyota they want 6 airbags and ESP, Toyota will prolly answer "CAN! pay RM20k more."
No need to pay more. Elsewhere the Toyota models are equipped with ESP and 6 airbags at no premium, and they cost as much as their continental competitors. It is just that Toyota wants to make more profit.
kadajawi
post Jul 26 2013, 01:17 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Jul 26 2013, 12:55 PM)
Those "elsewhere" also charge u RM 4-6 for a liter of gasoline,  a simple lunch at RM 50, monthly water bill at RM 500, their people should tembak their govt for not following Malaysia fuel price, food price, electric & water bill.
It's is not because thing r expensive, it's because u r poor, why u see so many Benz, BMW, Audi surrounding u ?
Car r base on brand, house r base pn location,  do u compare house in TTDI to Semenyih ? or JB with Singapore ?? U can build a bungalows in kampong with 500K but with the same money u can't even afford a 1500sq ft condo in KL.
You don't understand it. It has nothing to do with the price of gas, lunch, water, housing, ... dares is right.

You see, in Europe, 10000 Euro will get you a Fiesta with 7 airbags and ESP. A 208 with 6 airbags and ESP. A Toyota Yaris with 6 or 7 airbags and ESP. A Jazz, again 6-7 airbags and ESP. A Nissan March/Micra with 6 or 7 airbags and ESP. Heck, a Daihatsu Sirion (Myvi) with 6 airbags and ESP. Taxes are the same for all cars.
In Malaysia RM 70-90k will get you a Fiesta and 208 or Rio with 6-7 airbags and ESP. But the Vios, Jazz/City and Almera will have to do with 1 or 2 airbags and usually no ESP.

Why can some brands offer their cars with all the safety features (plus other gadgets) for less than 90k, while other brands claim to be unable to do so? Do you think continental brands get lower taxes? Or what could be the reason?

There is simply no excuse why brands like Toyota, Honda and Nissan can't offer the full set of safety features that has been standard elsewhere for ages. The only reason why they do that is that they can earn more profits by omitting those features, since people will buy those cars anyway.
kadajawi
post Jul 26 2013, 08:01 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(jolokia @ Jul 26 2013, 04:42 PM)
U can't expect everything to be cheap isn't it ? cheap petrol,  cheap insurance,  cheap labour,  sure expansive car price lah !
In those elsewhere country,  cheap car, expansive petrol,  expansive insurance,  expansive parking,  expansive labour,  so back to same thing.
If any of u living in those countries before surely know what i mean, u may get a cheap car but end up paying through ur nose  maintaining it.
Even our south east asia neighbours do not require 6 air bags as standard features,  offcoz u can alway choose what u like, base on your affordability.

Why waste time asking Toyota to oblige to these rule, just buy Cerato & Fiesta lah ! Why ? still dream of Toyota leh.....lol... thats why Toyota alway No. 1 loh.

Pakai KIA tak glamour leh...Rofl..
I wouldn't want a Toyota even if it had EU spec. I'd rather buy a Korean car. I'm just saying that Toyota wouldn't have to increase the price. They could easily give decent safety equipment for all trim levels and still earn well. Safety isn't so expensive. It is just that they want to make profit, and customers are happy to pay way too much for the cars.
kadajawi
post Jul 29 2013, 12:54 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(E34E36E46 @ Jul 29 2013, 12:45 PM)
Could it be the law was officially implemented in Sept1012, but directive to take out auto lock was given much earlier. Car manufacturers/distributors are only too happy to oblige to take out the feature as it saves cost, which means more profit. See how they drag their feet and give all sort of excuses and apply for exemption when asked to comply with the minimum airbags/ESP requirements.
I don't think it saves them cost. Look at the Forbes article + video I've posted recently about hacking a car. With access to the onboard computer you can do pretty much everything, including pulling on the seatbelt, fully pressing the clutch, deactivating or activating the brakes, jerk around the steering wheel, change the speedometer or any other display... Auto lock is just an easy software feature. Auto unlock should be very easy too, so it is probably what jolokia said, they want to avoid being sued.
kadajawi
post Jul 29 2013, 04:24 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(E34E36E46 @ Jul 29 2013, 03:59 PM)
May be the fire or electronic short circuit made the auto UNLOCK function failed (whether the car had auto LOCK feature-unknown).

Motto of the day, leave your car door unlock at all time to prevent locking yourselves inside the car when "shit things" happened. Or lock your car at all times to prevent "shit things" from happening. May be an actuary will be able to calculate the odds.

Your own safety, your own decision. No one should decide for you.
I suppose this ban on auto locking is coming from Europe, where the risk of being hijacked is lower.

0.0204sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:20 PM