STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V134, CI step into 1800, are you happy?

LOWYAT3AB
post Jul 25 2013, 10:33 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jul 25 2013, 10:11 AM)
Somehow these are the graphs that excite me.. not the forever up one. Something wrong with me?  icon_question.gif
I do not chase prices which are shooting up,
unless there are strong buying signals.

I love these types of charts where prices are still falling.

Prices cannot continue to keep falling with no end.

I will monitor and try to catch rebound.
Need to wait to see when selling stops and if likely short-term
rebound is strong or not.

I have made good profits from stocks which
have rebounded from grossly oversold positions.

Anyone has any LATEST fundamental data or interesting news
to share on this counter AXREIT ?

This post has been edited by LOWYAT3AB: Jul 25 2013, 10:59 AM
LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 2 2013, 11:10 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Aug 2 2013, 10:17 AM)
Oh well not much bargains...back to hibernation.  yawn.gif
FKLI suddenl;y dropped below 1780. Aug now 1776.
FBMKLCI to go below 1780?

LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 2 2013, 11:18 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Aug 2 2013, 11:13 AM)
Technically, KLCI's short term outlook remains choppy but the uptrend
from YTD low at 1597 is still relatively unscathed, given that the index
continues to trade above the uptrend line near 1760.

. A positive close today will improve the technical readings and spur KLCI
to retest the 1800 zones again post Hari Raya. Conversely, a decisive
breakdown of key 1760 support will signal a new bearish trend is underway,
potentially to retest the runaway gap at 1712-1743 (6 May).

Agree. I have also come across the above analysis in the newspapers.
Will wait and see what happens next.
LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 6 2013, 12:29 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(drsaleh @ Aug 6 2013, 12:04 PM)
since no one answer, let me answer for this fella

it actually depends on whatever your stylo is. if u're pure technical, u dont even look at their announcement. u just look at price-volume chart

for those fundamental, i dont think quarter results give much bearing in the decision WHEN to buy. quarterly are usually unaudited. so there can still room for 'fake'. correct me if i'm wrong

me? My buy/sell did not correlate with company quarterlies
i saw a similar question about whether it is better to buy before or after
ex-date and I have replied around June 8.

I am both a long-term investor and position trader not a day trader.

I repost my previous answer below.

I do not like to trade around ex-dates. Not much upside potentials.

I use FA and mainly TA to pick stocks and look for buying and selling signals
to trade. I aim to keep losses small and catch the big up-moves

This post has been edited by LOWYAT3AB: Aug 6 2013, 12:32 PM
LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 6 2013, 09:59 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Aug 6 2013, 02:26 PM)
After talking for so long, u seldom share what stocks  are deemed good  to buy .....

But talking is easy, making money is not .
I just want to say that I have shared a lot of ideas on stock picks and likely
stock trends in my previous posts, which can be checked.

I am not very active here because i am busy with other business investments.

I will share whenever I can and look forward to learn from others who
are providing good info here.

LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 15 2013, 11:24 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Aug 15 2013, 10:26 AM)
Finally Sumatec is moving to d North
Anyone has any latest news on this counter ?
LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 15 2013, 07:51 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(andrewL @ Aug 15 2013, 06:42 PM)
Anyone looking at Gadang?  has been mildly green everyday for a few days
Are you looking at long-term investment or short -term trade?
Anyone has latest news or FA data? Gadang has broken short-term
resistance but no strong buy signal now.

This post has been edited by LOWYAT3AB: Aug 15 2013, 08:38 PM
LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 19 2013, 09:57 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(ctrl_alt_del @ Aug 19 2013, 09:31 AM)
Winter morning, -26.37 °C, now, nothing serious, go back to sleep. smile.gif
Go back to sleep? No need to work? ha ha

I think it is not the time to sleep or you can wake up to find your hard earned
profits wiped out or small losses turned into huge losses.

KLCI has broken short-term support. Need to see if it can close
today above it or it may fall again.

I am monitoring support levels of my stocks to protect profits and
keep losses small.

This post has been edited by LOWYAT3AB: Aug 19 2013, 12:36 PM
LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 19 2013, 10:09 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Aug 19 2013, 10:05 AM)
i wont be surprise if CI close green today tongue.gif
I hope so too.

LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 19 2013, 10:40 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(blahbleh @ Aug 19 2013, 10:36 AM)
Fierce fight in MAS...maybe 0.40 is possible within this week..
Hope you are right and the price can go higher.
Must protect my profits.

LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 19 2013, 11:08 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(blahbleh @ Aug 19 2013, 10:55 AM)
Challenging 0.40!
Looks like Mas has broken above major resistance at 0.39 and may turn
more bullish if the price can close above it. But may be too late to chase
now ? so I am not adding to my positions and am just protecting my profits.

This post has been edited by LOWYAT3AB: Aug 19 2013, 11:11 AM
LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 19 2013, 11:23 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(blahbleh @ Aug 19 2013, 11:14 AM)
Err..I'm not holding any. 16,710,781,200 shares issued is a giantttttt amount. Only big players can move this. Upswing? I think it depends on news or rumours.
Whatever can move it up is welcome !! Looks like the comments by our friends Idris and Dr M
caused it to take off after sitting on the runway for so long. Hope the momentum can
push it to greater heights. Meanwhile I will protect my profits in case it goes down fast
again.

This post has been edited by LOWYAT3AB: Aug 19 2013, 12:39 PM
LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 19 2013, 11:54 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(blahbleh @ Aug 19 2013, 11:25 AM)
Congrats to you for the profits!
Thanks. I bought Mas about one and half months ago.
The price did not go up or down,so I just held on.
It has moved up now but it is speculative stock, so I
must try to protect profits.

What shares are you holding or interested in ?
LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 19 2013, 08:47 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(kancs3118 @ Aug 19 2013, 02:54 PM)
Hi all;
Just a question.
FOr counter: 5191 Tambun Indah;
This is about dividend and price adjustment during ex-date. My dealer told me when a company pays dividend, the share price will experience a downward price adjustment.

Example: today's share price (19/08/2013): RM1.54
Pay dividend RM0.033 by today
Hence, the share price will experience a downward price adjustment; RM1.54 - RM0.033

Don't really quite understand how can this happen? Any advice? I thought share price should appreciate when dividends are paid.

Also, where can i read up on investing in share market?

Thanks in advance.
No need to worry about the slight price dip after
the dividend because the price will quickly recover
and move higher, if the stock is still in uptrend.

However, should be careful when chasing prices
which had already moved up a lot or can end up
buying too high and losing money when prices
suddenly come down and you sell too soon or too late.

This post has been edited by LOWYAT3AB: Aug 19 2013, 09:16 PM
LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 21 2013, 11:08 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(kancs3118 @ Aug 20 2013, 12:29 PM)
Hi sifus...wanna ask for some advice.
Just now, press release for counter 5171: TamBun Indah.
http://www.thesundaily.my/news/801088

Given that TamBun Indah (counter: 5171) is doing very well, do you think i should continue buying? Yesterday, i bought at RM1.53, but then I do not know whether wanna continue buying. But i buy Tambun Indah to keep (maybe keep for 1 year + to 3 years) and won't sell off within the next 6 months. Honestly, i like this company (TamBun Indah) as the company is simple, it is making lots of monies and the fundamentals are strong.

The reason i ask is that the whole market now is dropping. In terms of opportunity costs, I think maybe can preserve cash (instead of continue buying Tambun INdah) and buy other good counters whereby the price is getting cheaper by the day. If i follow this path, is there any other good counters to recommend?

But if I choose to stick with this company (Tambun INdah), do you think i need to wait further (for KLCI to continue dropping) and continue buying when the price drops even more in the future?
Busy yesterday so only saw yr post just now.Here is my observations.
Tambun has gone up a lot. Not good time to chase the price now since
the price may be near temporary short-term peak. I hv seen TP of RM1.80
by analysts but that does not mean the price will shoot up now. The likely
short-term support is RM1.48. If that level breaks down, the price may go
further down and there may be opportunity to pick it up at lower price but
must first see stop in selling and rebound buy signal.

I use FA and some news to select stocks and TA to help me decide when to hold,
buy or sell.This simple strategy has helped me keep losses small and capture
some big gains, on some stocks even when the general market or index is falling.

I do not believe in pong shui charts or try to predict prices and do not fall
in love with stocks. When supports break, I get out to protect profits and look
for some other opportunities.

I am not boasting but if you are not alert, you can easily lose back all your
hard earned profits or worst still your capital and you have not enough bullets
to take advantage when the next buying opportunity comes.

Happy investing and trading
LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 21 2013, 11:51 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(kancs3118 @ Aug 21 2013, 11:32 AM)
Thanks for your advice. But what is the meaning of
- short-term support?
- FA and TA? and
how to see stop in selling and rebound buy signal?
Where to read more about this?

It appears that we use fundamental analysis to pick strong companies and then use technical analysis to time our entry (and exit).
Short term support means the likely level which should not break down on a day by day basis.
If the price falls below this price at end of the day, the price may continue to fall further.

FA is fundamental analysis, mainly based on annual reports.

TA is technical analysis and uses electronic charts to identify likely resistance and support levels
at the end of each day. TA is not 100% accurate, but it is a very useful additional tool to increase
the chances of keeping losses small and capturing some big gains.

To read more, you can go to the link in signature.
LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 21 2013, 12:23 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Aug 21 2013, 12:05 PM)
There are many methods which supposedly can be used to see rebound signal, but none is bullet-proof.
In timing entry and exit: if you get it right, you may save (or earn) a few extra sen per share; but if you get it wrong, you may miss the boat.
Agree. No method is 100% accurate. But if can at least get to see likely sell or buy signals.
they can help prevent heavy losses or catch some good rebounds. Better than not being
aware of the likely short-term trends and when danger or opportunity appears. If miss one boat,
can try to catch others.
LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 22 2013, 11:08 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Aug 22 2013, 09:04 AM)
i hand itchy go long position at 1716 sweat.gif
Did you go in at 1716? If not, 2nd chance coming .
KLCI still above 1720. Market may rebound, but not
so soon. Maybe next week?
Dare to go long now?
LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 22 2013, 11:15 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Aug 22 2013, 11:12 AM)
Haha, so far I am holding and I am still paper profit on everything. It's just that all the near-term news seem bad. As cherroy says, prospects for the second half of the year doesn't seem good, being stagnant at best. If so, why not sell and park the cash for now?
paper profit on everything ? what stocks are you holding ?
LOWYAT3AB
post Aug 22 2013, 12:20 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Aug 22 2013, 12:16 PM)
sweat.gif 1720 support line just broke............straight away 1713 now
Next critical support 1700. May not reach so low but if
breaks down , can fall further.

0.0476sec    0.06    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:21 PM