Lenovo P780, quad core / 5inch screen / 4000mah

kemek
post Oct 6 2013, 09:06 AM

91 posts

Hi new user here and new to android as well.. Got the phone at rm870 with 2 years extended warranty..

Would love to root my phone but are those custom ROM efficient than current one? I mean stock from factory..
kemek
post Oct 6 2013, 04:23 PM

91 posts

Is there any option to uninstall unwanted app like Norton Mobile, Super Gallery etc.
kemek
post Oct 8 2013, 11:23 AM

91 posts

Hi.. thanks aseon7 for the tips.. Im able to do uninstall unwanted apps..

Happy P780 user here.. able to use 3 days without sweat. Full time internet + little gaming

@alien9: Where do you buy using PKB?

This post has been edited by kemek: Oct 8 2013, 11:24 AM
kemek
post Oct 10 2013, 09:11 AM

91 posts

Im having issue with duplicate contact and duplicate sms. Im using Contacts+ app instead default contact manager. But this issue arise before I install Contacts+. Anyone face this issue?

Edit: Found out this issue is common for Android based phone.

This post has been edited by kemek: Oct 10 2013, 09:56 AM
kemek
post Oct 10 2013, 05:00 PM

91 posts

@123joe: are we able to download/install back any default lenovo app? I just delete my Contact Manager because I'm using Contacts+, however i cant create new contact after that.. phew
kemek
post Oct 11 2013, 09:38 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(123joe @ Oct 10 2013, 08:02 PM)
done full factory reset? 
save all data n media 1st.
check if you can add@create new contact and update us
Done full factory reset, however no contact manager and dialer. Seems whatever I uninstall using Titanium Backup will totally wipe out. So for temporary solution I download Dialer and Contacts+ app just to make sure Im able to call + sms rclxub.gif

Need to find ori ROM
kemek
post Oct 11 2013, 02:55 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Oct 11 2013, 09:40 AM)
u never create a back up before that???
must create a ROM back up using recovery manager and also the apps using titanum back up... from there u can restore the app properly... if still cannot work then u can go back to the original state of the ROM...
Ya lor.. doh.gif Too eager to try without thinking about any consequences..

QUOTE(123joe @ Oct 11 2013, 10:44 AM)
yes it is.  u rooted it?
push red button at the back. 
then send it for warranty.
easy.

try find rom for malaysia.  but still can't find it
yup rooted it, tried to push the button at the back but my phone still rooted. BTW, am I able to send it for warranty eventho I kacau the ROM?

What about this (Link) ROM? Not official?
kemek
post Oct 12 2013, 03:02 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Oct 12 2013, 08:02 AM)
nah...wont be going there. too far from me.
anyway i found a shop selling at 849 including 3 yrs warranty, i think this is pretty good deal if the 2nd and 3rd yr warranty coverage is as good as 1st yr. i guess 1st yr by Lenovo, the rest by the shop.

btw, yest got touched the phone and i feel the vibration feedback is kinda week. i am using nexus and the vibration feedback is good. weak vibration makes me think like i am using galaxy Ace.
if you mean the shop is Navotech then yes 3 years warranty. 1st year by the Lenovo, 2nd and 3rd by shop. Those warranty by shop include all the hardware except battery. Extra rm50 for 2 years warranty which is very good deal. Btw, I buy at rm879 and the following week they reduce the price.. dem

Anyone know about procedure to claim warranty? I just want to have my phone reflash with malaysia rom..
kemek
post Oct 14 2013, 12:43 PM

91 posts

now able to re-install my contact manager and lenovo launcher but still my default dialer couldnt be use. Need to install 3rd party app for dialing..
kemek
post Oct 15 2013, 06:53 PM

91 posts

restart issue happen to me occasionally. It normally happen when I run too many app one time. It is normal?
kemek
post Oct 15 2013, 08:29 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(123joe @ Oct 15 2013, 07:21 PM)
install  clean master from playstore.  it help you clear memory once hit 90%
thx Joe. Just installed the app. It works great so far. Will monitor in few days.. I think whatsapp + fbing + Real Racing in the same time is too much for this phone..

@MatShadow: my phone rooted, no repart yet and using stock rom with few issue (user phailed!)

I did factory reset but system apk that I uninstall with Titanium Backup did not appear. In this case my contact manager (IdeaFriend.apk)

Will try to factory reset again before I claim for warranty. Btw do I need to unrooted before factory reset?

kemek
post Oct 15 2013, 09:03 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 15 2013, 08:34 PM)
why not just ask someone backup the apk and take out and send to you and restore on your phone? simple and fasts
I did install the apk that sourced from ori rom provided in Needrom (extract the system.img file and get the IdeaFriend.apk). My phone book and messaging able to use like normal but when i try to use dialer, it will closed immediately. Everytime I restart it will prompt ContactManager has stopped.

QUOTE(MatShadow @ Oct 15 2013, 08:40 PM)
If I'm not mistaken I read somewhere here that to reset we need press button at back.. Where? I no see la.. Or there is another way doing reset? Also, Reset get unroot?
open your back cover, there is red small button nearby mmc..

for my case, it does not unroot me. I need to manually unroot in app call Kinguser.btw, im usng geno method to rooted.
kemek
post Oct 15 2013, 09:13 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(123joe @ Oct 15 2013, 09:00 PM)
few issues?  share with us please
no need unrooted.  reset button at the back
how to properly reset the phone to factory setting?

system setting -> all setting -> backup & reset -> factory data reset not same?

This post has been edited by kemek: Oct 15 2013, 09:14 PM
kemek
post Oct 15 2013, 10:23 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(123joe @ Oct 15 2013, 09:20 PM)
push red button.  below sd card slot
do it just now and it turn off my phone.after that nothing happen. push the button few second but still same.turn on phone manually , no changes..

i did install mobile uncle tool and TWRP recovery.does this affects?

This post has been edited by kemek: Oct 15 2013, 10:25 PM
kemek
post Oct 16 2013, 12:03 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(123joe @ Oct 16 2013, 01:55 AM)
because you repartition the 4gb internal storage i guess.  i never done that.  i even not installed the twrp or cwm.  just rooted. please take some pictures@videos better and share with us
I havent repartition yet.

Been googling for quite some time. Seems that everyone using TWRP and CWM for recovery. Are you able to boot up factory recovery mode by pressing power button + vol up button? Since yours haven't install any 3rd party recovery..
kemek
post Oct 16 2013, 01:58 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(123joe @ Oct 16 2013, 01:30 PM)
standard recovery 3e. yes
Ok thanks for your answer. I will try to remove the 3rd party recovery first. Then give it a try.. nod.gif
kemek
post Oct 16 2013, 06:19 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(123joe @ Oct 16 2013, 02:01 PM)
good.  keep update us.
I uninstall Mobile Uncle Tool since I could not find any guide to remove 3rd party recovery such as TWRP. After turn off my phone i press power button + volume up button at the same time and it boot the list of chinese word. Is this recovery mode for P780?

This post has been edited by kemek: Oct 16 2013, 06:27 PM
kemek
post Oct 16 2013, 10:15 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 16 2013, 09:09 PM)
Lemme translate for you.

Factory Mode
Sensor Mode
Automatic Test
Single Test
Test Report
Commissioning test items
Clear eMMC
Device Information
Reboot
Thanks NightFelix, really helpful. Do you think i should choose "Factory Mode" to re-flash my ori rom?

QUOTE(liquid.D @ Oct 16 2013, 09:34 PM)
any of you can elaborate the goodness of p780 in real life situation?.. any lagging?.. any problem on GPS detection? etc2... cause I want to use it for waze also... smile.gif
I can handle 2 days of full internet access + real racing session few hours (just to discharge the battery before recharging it). My record, 3 days with full time internet access without gaming.. Of course with Lenovo Battery setting to Long mode thumbup.gif
kemek
post Oct 16 2013, 11:21 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(liquid.D @ Oct 16 2013, 10:20 PM)
waaaa... that's good... hehee.... idol X i think around 1 full day OnLy ... but (full HD / 2GB ram) .. anyway do you root your phone and remove any standard apps so that your phone RAM being free and lag free bro? .... I wonder the performance after rooting or after using custom ROM smile.gif hehe
Yup rooted, I did remove some of the apps that pre-install by the factory and i can say i does not feel any improvement in term of performance. But by changing to Nova Launcher it helps a lot.. Better than sluggish Lenovo Launcher.. Btw, gently reminder.. Please do not simply uninstall the system app unless you know what you are doing..

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Oct 16 2013, 10:47 PM)
Screenshot show me, and I do translate for you. I dont have this phone. tongue.gif
I think the Factory mode should be factory reset or something similar like that. I can't tell you is correct or not because I dont have this phone.
Ok bro.. Will give it a try once later on.. Hopefully it able to solve my issue
kemek
post Oct 19 2013, 10:24 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(xMika @ Oct 19 2013, 08:48 PM)
It is a reset button to cut off the power supply .. so for example your phone hangs and you need to restart it .. but we cant remove battery .. so press the red button lor .. its not software related .. ppl say it is factory reset .. bullshit i already press few times before
haha.. thats quite true.if we really want to format this phone to stock factory rom, we need to press power button + volume up button and go through all the choices.

btw xMika, how long it takes to claim your warranty?

0.0413sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:37 AM