Astro B.yond Episode VI (Version 11.0), HD, PVR, IPTV and VOD

RAMChYLD
post Apr 16 2014, 12:42 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Apr 16 2014, 08:46 AM)
Not exactly ..........WC will see compressed channels for sure!  cry.gif The launch will be end of May and full use will take months. One more thing the main purpose of them is always NOT local interests their main interest is leasing transponders to other countries! Locals get the left overs,we are still on MPEG2 and  the still yet to go digital and we hv only one single satellite provider controlling the nation. mad.gif
+1, but minor correction in italic.

There are other providers in IPTV. But they all invariably have their own problems mostly caused by Assteruk's channel monopoly rights vmad.gif

But the real problem is this: all the other providers failing to take off is because assteruk can make MCMC deny them rights to take channels that assteruk already has and doesn't want them to have because of assteruk's own selfish means.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 16 2014, 12:43 PM
smileguy
post Apr 16 2014, 01:37 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 16 2014, 12:42 PM)
+1,  but minor correction in italic.

There are other providers in IPTV. But they all invariably have their own problems mostly caused by Assteruk's channel monopoly rights  vmad.gif

But the real problem is this: all the other providers failing to take off is because assteruk can make MCMC deny them rights to take channels that assteruk already has and doesn't want them to have because of assteruk's own selfish means.
Exactly, and not forgetting astro is owned by the umno investment arm Khazanah Nasional which struck heavy losses thru MAS 370! Another price hike or add on packages are surely on the way!
TSazrin_kiko
post Apr 16 2014, 08:45 PM

634 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Apr 16 2014, 12:03 AM)
because new version GUI was not able to sretch to fix the SD channel while my TV is 16:9... now force to see those SD channel in letterbox ...  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
I thought the aspect ratio button on the remote is useless?
chuppachop
post Apr 16 2014, 09:44 PM

957 posts

The new HD STB fr Starhub, similar to the new astro byond PVR. Will post the UI later.

Qash-M
post Apr 16 2014, 10:12 PM

#FreePalestine
6,104 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Apr 16 2014, 09:44 PM)
The new HD STB fr Starhub, similar to the new astro byond PVR. Will post the UI later.
>DD+

Hmm...ours still in Dolby Digital only.

This post has been edited by Qash-M: Apr 16 2014, 10:18 PM
chuppachop
post Apr 16 2014, 10:58 PM

957 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 16 2014, 10:12 PM)
>DD+

Hmm...ours still in Dolby Digital only.
Oh I see, didn't know that. Here are the UIs, think they are similar. I post one first...having difficulty in uploading the rest. Tks.

This post has been edited by chuppachop: Apr 16 2014, 11:00 PM

ausun
post Apr 17 2014, 11:40 PM

hi there, i am in Brunei and since Brunei is repeatedly mentioned, i hope someone can help me out here.
We have an old decorder and also Malaysian subscription as Malaysian astro offers more channels than Brunei kristal astro.

Now, we want to have that Extra decorder for Rm50 in another room.

Should i:
1. subscribe to Brunei astro so that Byond decoder is installed then get the card from Malaysia astro to hv the super pack? will the malaysian astro card read in brunei byond set? even if after that, how do i add the 2nd decoder?
2. get the 2 decoders with cards installed in a Malaysian address and dismantle the whole thing and get someone to come install in my Brunei house.. of course, this would mean dangerous smuggling.. but may well worth the effort..
3. or other way i don't know of??

Anyone who knows, kindly advise.

Thank you so much, Ausun

smileguy
post Apr 18 2014, 05:57 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Apr 16 2014, 10:58 PM)
Oh I see, didn't know that. Here are the UIs, think they are similar. I post one first...having difficulty in uploading the rest. Tks.
Bro,just a query,Mediacorp has gone digital,nw I can get singapore channels using normal aerials. Many in johor hv started using Digital Boxes and are getting HD. But my question is once analog signal is shut down will this digital signal reach Johor and other areas which now get analog signals, any idea?? People hv offered me those boxes but I am reluctant to commit. tongue.gif Thanks

@RAMChYLD perhaps you too can shed some light here bro! thanks. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Apr 18 2014, 05:59 AM
lpsoldier007
post Apr 18 2014, 06:02 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(ausun @ Apr 17 2014, 11:40 PM)
hi there, i am in Brunei and since Brunei is repeatedly mentioned, i hope someone can help me out here.
We have an old decorder and also Malaysian subscription as Malaysian astro offers more channels than Brunei kristal astro.

Now, we want to have that Extra decorder for Rm50 in another room.

Should i:
1. subscribe to Brunei astro so that Byond decoder is installed then get the card from Malaysia astro to hv the super pack? will the malaysian astro card read in brunei byond set? even if after that, how do i add the 2nd decoder?
2. get the 2 decoders with cards installed in a Malaysian address and dismantle the whole thing and get someone to come install in my Brunei house.. of course, this would mean dangerous smuggling.. but may well worth the effort..
3. or other way i don't know of??

Anyone who knows, kindly advise.

Thank you so much, Ausun
I think the second option is the best because basically u cannot use 1st option. Byond set is paired with the smart card. Thats mean the byond set can only read the smart card paired with it. Not other cards.
chuppachop
post Apr 18 2014, 11:18 AM

957 posts

The digital signals are actually spillovers as they can't really can't limit to a projected range to reach Woodlands checkpoint. This is in case residents at Woodlands can't received it. But I am not sure if future DVB-T2 from RTM or Media Prima may transmit on the same frequency used by mediacorp effectively covering them....

Similar in Hong Kong, residents near HK border can actually receive spillover China Digital HD chs.

There are additional chs on the DVB-T2 on test now, which are likely to launch soon, like Channel 8+1 (time shifted ch) and one ch called 'Test 1'.

So maybe, u can shop around for the cheapest T2 box for now.
smileguy
post Apr 18 2014, 11:53 AM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Apr 18 2014, 11:18 AM)
The digital signals are actually spillovers as they can't really can't limit to a projected range to reach Woodlands checkpoint. This is in case residents at Woodlands can't received it. But I am not sure if future DVB-T2 from RTM or Media Prima may transmit on the same frequency used by mediacorp effectively covering them....

Similar in Hong Kong, residents near HK border can actually receive spillover China Digital HD chs.

There are additional chs on the DVB-T2 on test now, which are likely to launch soon, like Channel 8+1 (time shifted ch) and one ch called 'Test 1'.

So maybe, u can shop around for the cheapest T2 box for now.
Thanks for the info,according to info the box is effective and perfect until kulai,I am further down south though I still recieve UHF Vasantham/CNA,the box is RM200 thought of buying and testing out! tongue.gif
chuppachop
post Apr 18 2014, 12:19 PM

957 posts

Oic. FYI. The Draco T2 box sold here is still priced at S$129, price yet to drop. 😊
RAMChYLD
post Apr 18 2014, 02:57 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Apr 18 2014, 05:57 AM)
Bro,just a query,Mediacorp has gone digital,nw I can get singapore channels using normal aerials. Many in johor hv started using Digital Boxes and are getting HD. But my question is once analog signal is shut down will this digital signal reach Johor and other areas which now get analog signals, any idea?? People hv offered me those boxes but I am reluctant to commit.  tongue.gif   Thanks

@RAMChYLD  perhaps you too can shed some light here bro! thanks. hmm.gif
At the moment from what I gather the MediaCorp digital signal is spilling into Johor and can be received with any DVB-T2 receiver (last time stay at a hotel in Batu Pahat and they have a DVB-T1 receiver to bring in crystal clear SG channels). So yes, if analog shutdown you can still get Singapore via digital, and in fact it would be better since the signal would be at least assteruk quality and not grainy. In many cases quality will even surpass "assteruk quality".

The only worry is that there are talks that Singapore is proposing CI card (smart card like assteruk, but for normal TV use. Which means digital TV signal will be encrypted) and Malaysia also thinking the same from what I read. If it gets implemented then it's going to be a nightmare since DVB-T2 TVs sold in the countries will have card reader like Japanese TV (from what I read, Japanese ISDB-T TVs require a "license card" to be inserted to be able to use. DVB consortium borrowed the idea because countries like Singapore and UK enforcing TV license and the system will make it possible to lock out those who don't pay) and may mean that Malaysian gomen may reinstate TV license (since deactivated CI card or no CI card equals no TV). Possibly they may leave one or two channels clear and make other more desirable channels encrypted.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Apr 18 2014, 03:04 PM
smileguy
post Apr 18 2014, 04:10 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Apr 18 2014, 02:57 PM)
At the moment from what I gather the MediaCorp digital signal is spilling into Johor and can be received with any DVB-T2 receiver (last time stay at a hotel in Batu Pahat and they have a DVB-T1 receiver to bring in crystal clear SG channels). So yes, if analog shutdown you can still get Singapore via digital, and in fact it would be better since the signal would be at least assteruk quality and not grainy. In many cases quality will even surpass "assteruk quality".

The only worry is that there are talks that Singapore is proposing CI card (smart card like assteruk, but for normal TV use. Which means digital TV signal will be encrypted) and Malaysia also thinking the same from what I read. If it gets implemented then it's going to be a nightmare since DVB-T2 TVs sold in the countries will have card reader like Japanese TV (from what I read, Japanese ISDB-T TVs require a "license card" to be inserted to be able to use. DVB consortium borrowed the idea because countries like Singapore and UK enforcing TV license and the system will make it possible to lock out those who don't pay) and may mean that Malaysian gomen may reinstate TV license (since deactivated CI card or no CI card equals no TV). Possibly they may leave one or two channels clear and make other more desirable channels encrypted.
Ok bro thanks for shedding light on the matter,will try it myself soon tongue.gif Need a break from astro at for least OKTO's cartoons nod.gif
chuppachop
post Apr 18 2014, 10:47 PM

957 posts

Remaining 2 Pixs.

Qash-M
post Apr 18 2014, 10:49 PM

#FreePalestine
6,104 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Apr 18 2014, 10:47 PM)
Remaining 2 Pixs.
That TV guide is somehow more confused compared to ours. rclxub.gif At first look, that is.

This post has been edited by Qash-M: Apr 18 2014, 10:50 PM
Anonymous34
post Apr 19 2014, 02:06 PM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Apr 16 2014, 12:03 AM)
because new version GUI was not able to sretch to fix the SD channel while my TV is 16:9... now force to see those SD channel in letterbox ...  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
My low end Samsung Smart TV is able to do it natively. Have you checked your TV settings.
My TV model is UA46ES7100
nujikabane
post Apr 19 2014, 10:12 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Hi, I plan to terminate my subscription.

Question is, do I need to return back the decoder and the stellite dish (HD) ?
Anonymous34
post Apr 20 2014, 01:28 AM

3,176 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Apr 19 2014, 10:12 PM)
Hi, I plan to terminate my subscription.

Question is, do I need to return back the decoder and the stellite dish (HD) ?
Don't have to. After a few days, NJOI will be activated for free.
nujikabane
post Apr 20 2014, 11:11 AM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous34 @ Apr 20 2014, 01:28 AM)
Don't have to. After a few days, NJOI will be activated for free.
Thanks for the reply!
But AFAIK, the Njoi free preview is only for those account dormant before 31st Dec 2013, right?

125 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0385sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:47 AM