Bling, bling water cooling, How to pimp ure water block

TSianho
post May 17 2006, 04:11 PM, updated 20y ago

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

I just did this n the results r lovely. Just to share with u guys. Here's how to bring an outdated CPU waterblock back into use for current sockets n add sum real nice bling bling too.

Here's the old boring block. It's an old AMD socket block.

The copper base oso all corroded.

Even the insides of the copper block is all tarnished.

1st thing I did was dissamble the whole block n lap the base with 600,1000,1500, 2000 grit paper then finally autosol. I didn't take pix of this coz it's extremely messy work with hands all wet n black. It's just basically lotsa rubbing rubbing rubbing. Here's the results of all that rubbing.

Base.

Inside of base.

TSianho
post May 17 2006, 04:19 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Next thing I did was to make a mounting plate for it. I made a plate that'll fit this block onto AMD64 S939 n P4 S478 out of 5mm acrylic. I didnt take pix for this step coz I've included many pix of cutting acrylic b4 this n it's boooooooring. It's basically lotsa cutting n dremmeling n filing n the end result is this.

Now it's on to the bling bling. Look at the edge in this pix n notice I've given the whole edge a frosted finish? What's it for?

Well, here's the answer to the frosted edge. Just add a LED near the plate n this is what u get. Just imagine this water block in a nice modded case with glowing blue coolant in the tubes to match! NICE.

This post has been edited by ianho: May 17 2006, 04:23 PM
woopypooky
post May 17 2006, 04:34 PM

1,292 posts

the greatest mod i have seen!
superdav007
post May 17 2006, 04:38 PM

1,072 posts

there is another mod also similar.....

http://www.bit-tech.net/modding/2006/04/25...g_update/1.html
woopypooky
post May 17 2006, 04:42 PM

1,292 posts

how u cut the acrylic thing? u got the cutter or u go to shop to cut?
wat cutter is that? i also want to make a mould plate for my graphic card water cooler

This post has been edited by woopypooky: May 17 2006, 04:44 PM
TSianho
post May 17 2006, 04:55 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(superdav007 @ May 17 2006, 04:38 PM)
Wah! I like that Resident Evil T Virus thing man. Looooooooooovely. Unfortunately I don't haf aluminum machining equipment for the end caps.

QUOTE(woopypooky @ May 17 2006, 04:42 PM)
how u cut the acrylic thing? u got the cutter or u go to shop to cut?
wat cutter is that? i also want to make a mould plate for my graphic card water cooler
I cut with a jigsaw then machine the fine work with dremel n finally hand file for the last detail. Of course cut myself lar, I'm a modder doing for ppl then I go ask sum1 else to cut meh? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Here's a pic of the jigsaw I use for cutting.

Here's a pic of the dremel.
SUSAllnGap
post May 17 2006, 05:17 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

want to send to me for extra bling bling ??
a few SMDs and the cover would fly like a star laugh.gif

This post has been edited by AllnGap: May 17 2006, 05:19 PM
TSianho
post May 17 2006, 05:32 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ May 17 2006, 05:17 PM)
want to send to me for extra bling bling ??
a few SMDs and the cover would fly like a star laugh.gif
Hehehe. That u hafta ask Uzairi. C if he wants his Aleck block to fly like a star. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
unstoppable
post May 17 2006, 10:33 PM

451 posts

hi ianho, the jigsaw blade was so big, i wonder how u cut the hole with it, and dreamel blade also cannot go in rite?
radioactive
post May 18 2006, 12:04 AM

1,857 posts

Droolzz........my waterblock is yet to arrive to m'sia...ianho..u have any other locations tht i could get waterblock..i could hardly see any in lowyat
zahri
post May 18 2006, 06:45 AM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

QUOTE(radioactive @ May 18 2006, 12:04 AM)
Droolzz........my waterblock is yet to arrive to m'sia...ianho..u have any other locations tht i could get waterblock..i could hardly see any in lowyat
have u tried overclockers paradise ?

i have seen quite a selection there biggrin.gif

@ianho,

Sweet MOD biggrin.gif

lolhalol
post May 18 2006, 12:34 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

dude do u do lapping services for waterblock?? pm the cost
TSianho
post May 19 2006, 02:48 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(unstoppable @ May 17 2006, 10:33 PM)
hi ianho, the jigsaw blade was so big, i wonder how u cut the hole with it, and dreamel blade also cannot go in rite?
Drill a pilot hole inside the area. Then insert jigsaw blade n start cutting. After cutting to dimensions, use dremel to grind all edges to proper finish n shape. The dremel is using a grinding stone. The pix i showed is with a cutting disc just to show how a dremel looks like.
MetalZone
post May 20 2006, 04:16 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ May 18 2006, 12:34 PM)
dude, what block u wanna lap?
most high quality blocks have already been machine lapped for flatness. shinier doesnt mean better. Trying to redo the surface that is already flat will make things worse. At most you touch up with 1000 up to 2000 grit, and must be done correctly.
ahbenggay
post May 21 2006, 12:47 PM

Tra la la
1,136 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ May 18 2006, 12:34 PM)
the resident was cool man
i wish i could have that skill....wait till i 21 years old smile.gif
TSianho
post May 21 2006, 09:30 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(ahbenggay @ May 21 2006, 12:47 PM)
Y do u need to b 21 b4 u can start modding???????? The earlier u start the better u get. I've been modding my whole life since I was like 7 years old, modding my Tamiya, Airfix, Hasegawa plastic modelling kits. There's no age barrier to modding man.
MetalZone
post May 22 2006, 01:21 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ May 21 2006, 09:30 PM)
Y do u need to b 21 b4 u can start modding????????  The earlier u start the better u get. I've been modding my whole life since I was like 7 years old, modding my Tamiya, Airfix, Hasegawa plastic modelling kits. There's no age barrier to modding man.
ianho: right on.
there's no such thing as too young to start DIY'ing and modding. I started soldering electronics, woodworking, etc when I was 10. you have to start young and gain the skill along the way. skill doesnt come overnight when u are 21. skill comes with practice, trial and error. u may be able to afford the most expensive tools when u are 21, but having the best tools doesnt mean u can do stuff without the necessary practice? tools are like musical instruments, u need to practice to become good.

This post has been edited by MetalZone: May 22 2006, 01:24 AM
sherren
post May 22 2006, 01:24 AM

Retired
1,298 posts

im 15, i do case modding too ,not as good as others of course still learning rclxm9.gif
you dont really have to wait till that age ,anytime u can start,even now.
lolhalol
post May 22 2006, 05:55 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

ya man im 16 like sheren aledi doing modding and learining as i go..... its guys like ianho that are sifus.... hehe must start young ...
mADmAN
post May 22 2006, 06:57 PM

10,530 posts

true man.......have to start young... not necessarily the older u get u automatically become good at modding....

i mean look at me... im turning 28 and i suck at modding tongue.gif laugh.gif doh.gif

0.0172sec    1.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:17 PM