Hi
I own a kancil but afraid to drive down from MLK to PEN. Any others alternative to transport the car to PEN? Can I post that ?
WTA- transport Kancil from MLK to PEN
Jul 21 2013, 03:46 PM, updated 13y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
601 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Penang |
Hi
I own a kancil but afraid to drive down from MLK to PEN. Any others alternative to transport the car to PEN? Can I post that ? |
Jul 21 2013, 07:14 PM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
QUOTE(codenamew @ Jul 21 2013, 03:46 PM) Hi driving down yourself would still be the cheapest way, albeit you need to spend time especially if you're afraid to drive.I own a kancil but afraid to drive down from MLK to PEN. Any others alternative to transport the car to PEN? Can I post that ? towing costs can be in the hundreds. imagine within state also need 100-200+, cross state you're looking at much higher price. do a search on LYN on long distance driving (there was 2 threads with many pages of discussion on tips and advises on how to deal with long distance driving and how to prevent from being sleepy.) quick advises would be drive in the 60-100km/h (kancil, and again, you said you're afraid to drive) and keep at the furthest left lane and only over take slower vehicles than you. be patient, even if the journey may take very long however all that matters is that you get there safe and sound consider maybe 3-5 hours trip, and plan accordingly. maybe drive early in the morning, so you'll reach by noon. make periodic stops at R&R to refresh yourself, wash your face/take a piss/get a drink etc. constantly monitor your temperature levels, check your water levels in coolant tank (DO NOT open the radiator cap) when you're at the R&R, check the engine oil dip stick to make sure that it's at appropriate levels (never over fill, however never below L(ow) levels, in between at middle point is the best. take note, after long distance/driving for a while and checking engine oil level you will probably see it being much lower or even around the L levels, that is normal as the oil is already cycled around the engine/moving parts. a best way is to check engine oil levels BEFORE you even start the car (or after 2-4 hours the car engine has stopped) on a flat surface if possible. last but not least, make sure your petrol is enough even if you're driving a kancil that seemingly will never run out of fuel and maybe have some chewy food or even a partner to accompany you along the journey which you may even swap driver if you're too tired or at least chat with you to keep you away from boredom/drowsiness |
Jul 21 2013, 07:23 PM
1,024 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kajang |
since the car is small..pls drive according to the suitable speed.too slow on hway might be dangerous since your car is small..might be hit from behind by a lorry or bus. 80-100kmh is good enough.
take your time..do not rush...relax..stop at rnr to rest..have a drink. if possible get someone or friends to accompany you. better if they can drive for you or rotate. |
Jul 21 2013, 07:26 PM
oh ya just remembered, get your alignment/balancing checked, and having appropriate air pressure in the tires can help a LOT during long distance. if you have to struggle with the steering due to bad alignment (eg: car swerving 1 side) then you'll have unnecessary stress during the journey.
if possible, consider dropping front tires camber to negative 1-1.5. that'll keep your small car much steadier/straighter on the road (assuming your caster/toe alignment are all in proper) and with proper wheel/tire balancing, you won't be having added vibrations at higher speed. air pressure recommend 30-32psi. |
Jul 21 2013, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 21 2013, 07:14 PM) driving down yourself would still be the cheapest way, albeit you need to spend time especially if you're afraid to drive. Yeah. I have been thinking about that too by driving by myself. Just afraid the car is too small on highway. One of the problem with my temperature meter is that it never raise up. All the while below the first line. I suspect that my mechanic has tampered with the meter. By the way thanks for all the advises.towing costs can be in the hundreds. imagine within state also need 100-200+, cross state you're looking at much higher price. do a search on LYN on long distance driving (there was 2 threads with many pages of discussion on tips and advises on how to deal with long distance driving and how to prevent from being sleepy.) quick advises would be drive in the 60-100km/h (kancil, and again, you said you're afraid to drive) and keep at the furthest left lane and only over take slower vehicles than you. be patient, even if the journey may take very long however all that matters is that you get there safe and sound consider maybe 3-5 hours trip, and plan accordingly. maybe drive early in the morning, so you'll reach by noon. make periodic stops at R&R to refresh yourself, wash your face/take a piss/get a drink etc. constantly monitor your temperature levels, check your water levels in coolant tank (DO NOT open the radiator cap) when you're at the R&R, check the engine oil dip stick to make sure that it's at appropriate levels (never over fill, however never below L(ow) levels, in between at middle point is the best. take note, after long distance/driving for a while and checking engine oil level you will probably see it being much lower or even around the L levels, that is normal as the oil is already cycled around the engine/moving parts. a best way is to check engine oil levels BEFORE you even start the car (or after 2-4 hours the car engine has stopped) on a flat surface if possible. last but not least, make sure your petrol is enough even if you're driving a kancil that seemingly will never run out of fuel and maybe have some chewy food or even a partner to accompany you along the journey which you may even swap driver if you're too tired or at least chat with you to keep you away from boredom/drowsiness |
Jul 21 2013, 08:24 PM
2,730 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: In the shadows behind you |
I had to transport my car from Mlk to KL before after engine problem. Cost already RM500... All the way to Png sure more expensive.
Just drive yourself if the car is well maintained to make the journey. Save $$$... Get a friend to accompany and regular rest stop as so many suggested. |
Jul 21 2013, 09:18 PM
9 posts Joined: May 2012 |
Get a co-driver, preferably someone experienced with highway driving.
Drive during the day. The night can cause many problems if you are not used to it. Do not drive too slow. Minimum 80 kph in 90 kph zone, and 90 kph in 110 kph zone. Can't stress this enough. Lorries and busses WILL overtake you. And that can be a scary experience. |
Jul 21 2013, 09:41 PM
3,582 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: everywhere in sabah |
just drive it...its the cheapest way
just make sure all fluids and tyre pressure are all ok just do a few stops in between, should be fine |
Jul 21 2013, 11:05 PM
4,221 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Somewhere on Earth |
do a few stop to let the car rest and cool down before continue on. small cc cars isnt always the best for long distance travel. bring extra water and engine oil.
Jul 22 2013, 12:21 AM
116 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Why afraid drive to Penang?
Jul 22 2013, 12:49 AM
107 posts Joined: May 2011 From: On Your Bed |
i've once drove my mom's kancil 660 from batu pahat to bagan serai in perak. quite an experience though.
Jul 22 2013, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(codenamew @ Jul 21 2013, 08:05 PM) Yeah. I have been thinking about that too by driving by myself. Just afraid the car is too small on highway. One of the problem with my temperature meter is that it never raise up. All the while below the first line. I suspect that my mechanic has tampered with the meter. By the way thanks for all the advises. perhaps get the meter checked/repair? and among other things that i've mentioned and you should be good to go.and you're welcome |
Jul 22 2013, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(lewiszen @ Jul 22 2013, 12:21 AM) afraid not cos i never drove on highway b4 just that i have never drive kancil on the highway. so feel abit risky but i got no choice. have to drive it else my gf will not have a car to drive when at penang. whats the pressure that i should pump my kancil?220? |
Jul 22 2013, 09:22 PM
147 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 21 2013, 07:14 PM) driving down yourself would still be the cheapest way, albeit you need to spend time especially if you're afraid to drive. I trust this guy. Good advice!!towing costs can be in the hundreds. imagine within state also need 100-200+, cross state you're looking at much higher price. do a search on LYN on long distance driving (there was 2 threads with many pages of discussion on tips and advises on how to deal with long distance driving and how to prevent from being sleepy.) quick advises would be drive in the 60-100km/h (kancil, and again, you said you're afraid to drive) and keep at the furthest left lane and only over take slower vehicles than you. be patient, even if the journey may take very long however all that matters is that you get there safe and sound consider maybe 3-5 hours trip, and plan accordingly. maybe drive early in the morning, so you'll reach by noon. make periodic stops at R&R to refresh yourself, wash your face/take a piss/get a drink etc. constantly monitor your temperature levels, check your water levels in coolant tank (DO NOT open the radiator cap) when you're at the R&R, check the engine oil dip stick to make sure that it's at appropriate levels (never over fill, however never below L(ow) levels, in between at middle point is the best. take note, after long distance/driving for a while and checking engine oil level you will probably see it being much lower or even around the L levels, that is normal as the oil is already cycled around the engine/moving parts. a best way is to check engine oil levels BEFORE you even start the car (or after 2-4 hours the car engine has stopped) on a flat surface if possible. last but not least, make sure your petrol is enough even if you're driving a kancil that seemingly will never run out of fuel and maybe have some chewy food or even a partner to accompany you along the journey which you may even swap driver if you're too tired or at least chat with you to keep you away from boredom/drowsiness |
Jul 22 2013, 09:24 PM
Aug 12 2013, 10:25 PM
66 posts Joined: May 2013 |
@Quazacolt has always been very helpful.
I plan to take my 850 Kancil to Penang from KL this year end. However, like our TS I have worries if my small car can make it. To be honest, I don't even know what I should be worried about. The only thing I can think of is overheating. According to Google Maps, KL - Penang is 331km distance. This means that if I drive at 60-80kmph, it will take me around 4-5hours of drive. - Is taking 1 hour once break good enough for the car? - Besides checking for break fluid, engine oil, battery water, tire pressure & coolant, what else should we check? I take the Kajang SILK highway everyday to work, and I have experienced being overtaken by lorries, busses, tankers as well as containers because I drive 60kmph on the slow lane. If this is not what @sanadi was mentioning, is there other reason? QUOTE(sanadi @ Jul 21 2013, 09:18 PM) Lorries and busses WILL overtake you. And that can be a scary experience. @codenamew, I wonder have you made that trip of yours from MEL to PEN?However, there is 1 thing I'm not sure. How do you change the tire camber? QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 21 2013, 07:26 PM) if possible, consider dropping front tires camber to negative 1-1.5. that'll keep your small car much steadier/straighter on the road (assuming your caster/toe alignment are all in proper) and with proper wheel/tire balancing, you won't be having added vibrations at higher speed. I use 220 pressure for the front and 200 for the back, is it optimum?air pressure recommend 30-32psi. Btw, what is the difference between alignment and balancing? |
Aug 13 2013, 02:53 AM
QUOTE(GottliebDaimler @ Aug 12 2013, 10:25 PM) According to Google Maps, KL - Penang is 331km distance. This means that if I drive at 60-80kmph, it will take me around 4-5hours of drive. - yeah, in fact if you're confident/not tired and your car is not having any failures (overheat etc) then you don't even need to rest- Is taking 1 hour once break good enough for the car? - Besides checking for break fluid, engine oil, battery water, tire pressure & coolant, what else should we check? I take the Kajang SILK highway everyday to work, and I have experienced being overtaken by lorries, busses, tankers as well as containers because I drive 60kmph on the slow lane. If this is not what @sanadi was mentioning, is there other reason? However, there is 1 thing I'm not sure. How do you change the tire camber? I use 220 pressure for the front and 200 for the back, is it optimum? Btw, what is the difference between alignment and balancing? - every mechanical aspect of your cars (drive shafts, bushes, absorbers etc) , transmission oil (be it auto or manual), are brake pads worn? are tires worn? is the battery too old? > 2 years for maintenance free or 3/4 years for refillable non-maintenance free batteries - there really is no other reason, if you're slow, you will get overtaken, simple as that. just be patient and stay calm. one thing you *can* do, although NOT encouraged, is by slightly moving into the emergency lane (you have to make perfectly sure that there are NO cars whatsoever far ahead) and further slowing down, to allow the larger vehicles to overtake you faster and easier. once done immediately move back from the emergency lane. - you can't change the tire camber, only the wheel camber. - tire pressure you mentioned is optimum. - alignment refers to the wheel alignment after fitted on the vehicle - mainly camber, toe, and caster while balancing refers to the wheel (rim + tire) balance. refer: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wheel_alignment http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech/techpage.jsp?techid=4 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tire_balance http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tiretech/tec...e.jsp?techid=20 - adjusting camber usually involve camber adjustable bolts (which most stock vehicle does not come with) that cost between rm20-40 ringgit per piece depending on workshop some may include adjusting charges while some don't (typically the total cost would sum to around 30-40 per wheel) some cars/wheel axle would require camber adjusting kits which could cost hundreds majority cars for the rear wheel. However as majority of cars are also front wheel driven, adjusting rear alignment is not crucial unless it is altered severely most likely due to serious/major accidents involving the rear wheels and/or it's surrounding chassis. codenamew QUOTE I wonder have you made that trip of yours from MEL to PEN? not sure about TS, however the longest distance driving in a go i've done was Ipoh to Singapore. Tires (c drive 2) were in bad shape after hours under the hot sun and decently high speed (150-170km/h) abuse rofl. |
Aug 13 2013, 04:18 AM
7,863 posts Joined: May 2007 From: highbury |
| Change to: | 0.0169sec
5 queries
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:25 PM |