I was on the hunt of looking for conti cars (Merc / BMW) with recon car dealers. I looked at many places in KL, Cheras and found a good one @ setapak. Liked its condition, colour and mileage (21600km)
Later after paying deposit of RM3000, the SA sent me the custom certificates for checking. In that there was a Japanese certificate of export. I found that during the time of lading, the mileage clocked was 36600km. This mean that the importer here had tampered the meter for a lower mileage.
I also managed to get a redbook certificate from japan by paying (using chassis no) a sum. The certificate also mentioned Odometer reading above 35000km
When I produced the report infront of the dealer and their boss, they told me not to raise any report and refund my money back !!!!
The lesson learnt is when you are buying recon cars, please insist to see certificates of port of lading (UK or Japan) to see the mileage. Not the translated versions of certificates from Malaysian Customs as they dont mention the mileage in the translated versions.
This would help you to have a piece of mind before making any purchase....
PS: I cant post the cert's or pictures as they reveal the details of importer / their shop
Please take a snap of Chassis no (WD--------------------) 17 digits and key in in the box in above link page. you will get full history of the vehicle...
I was on the hunt of looking for conti cars (Merc / BMW) with recon car dealers. I looked at many places in KL, Cheras and found a good one @ setapak. Liked its condition, colour and mileage (21600km)
Later after paying deposit of RM3000, the SA sent me the custom certificates for checking. In that there was a Japanese certificate of export. I found that during the time of lading, the mileage clocked was 36600km. This mean that the importer here had tampered the meter for a lower mileage.
I also managed to get a redbook certificate from japan by paying (using chassis no) a sum. The certificate also mentioned Odometer reading above 35000km
When I produced the report infront of the dealer and their boss, they told me not to raise any report and refund my money back !!!! The lesson learnt is when you are buying recon cars, please insist to see certificates of port of lading (UK or Japan) to see the mileage. Not the translated versions of certificates from Malaysian Customs as they dont mention the mileage in the translated versions.
PS: I cant post the cert's or pictures as they reveal the details of importer / their shop
VIN plate no didnt implemented in Malaysia due to no enforcement. For export market they do the VIN plate at the dashboard especially Australia, middle east, africa market.
Any pro here can help me verify where is VIN place in local market cars?
VIN plate no didnt implemented in Malaysia due to no enforcement. For export market they do the VIN plate at the dashboard especially Australia, middle east, africa market.
My Saga's VIN is at the bottom of the B pillar..
Every car locally sure got VIN mah, if not how to do geran, insurance etc?
They asked me to call off the deal and apologised for the confusion !!! and they keep saying that this was amended by their Japanese exporter... No jokes here........ no trolling here...
Troll your head la
Just post the damn name already. Who know you might just help a buyer that is smart enough to google the car seller name next time and save him the hassle
Read my posts on this thread.. I have given hints... you can use your intelligence to find them............ One of the smart /k already found it....
So low mileage (before tampering) already recon and sold off to Malaysia.
First world country.
No... The original bill of lading at Japanese Port showed 36.6k on the Odometer which is signed and endorsed by MB, Japan (Yayase) But actual meter reading at KL dealer's lot showed 21.6k which is confirm tampered by local AP guys
When I produced the report infront of the dealer and their boss, they told me not to raise any report and refund my money back !!!! The lesson learnt is when you are buying recon cars, please insist to see certificates of port of lading (UK or Japan) to see the mileage. Not the translated versions of certificates from Malaysian Customs as they dont mention the mileage in the translated versions.
This is common knowledge what. Recon cars usually means second hand cars in Japan.They just refurbish the whole car and sell it to us since its still worth selling.
No... The original bill of lading at Japanese Port showed 36.6k on the Odometer which is signed and endorsed by MB, Japan (Yayase) But actual meter reading at KL dealer's lot showed 21.6k which is confirm tampered by local AP guys
Sorry, I mean even before the tampering it is low.
there's always the possibility dat the japs lowered the metered first to 36k then only the local dude recalibrate to 21k
mercedes? most of the time below your driver seat. move seat to max backwards. unfold the carpet. its at the "bone" of the chassis. use touchlight. if its a W220, its at the rear seat.
btw, tampering with odometer is very common nowadays la. even proton's digital 1 can tamper. as long as the whole car condition looks new, its fine. if it looks bashed up and shyt but clocked less than 20k ...thats weird.
I believe those older cars (especially those close to 10 years old & above) displaying an exceptionally low mileage number (aka below 100,000 km - too good to be true like)...; are most definitely like this... (Most of the time, the actual/real mileage number could already be around 200,000+ km if you do not know...)
what? yes most recond,used car that u see is already got their mileage tempered. me myself has tempered 200000km mileage into 80k.
have u ever buy a total lost car? now that is worst than 300k mileage
that;s the worst case scenario....not even qualified for insurance and roadtax...the car you just bought is just a real life scale model for display purpose.
if dealer managed to get passed puspakom test, then can still buy insurance and roadtax rite?
for me I when I bought my car it was tampered as I bought a used car officially imported by AB.
So i just brought the key, the AB guy slotted the key into a reader and wall the mileage showed up 213k and my car was showing 87xxx hahahaa..
So i went back to the dealer told him abt the tampering which he admitted telling me all used cars in Mysia do that (mind u this is very serious offence in the UK or Australia to tamper odometer of a used car)
Then I said I still want to buy coz I liked the car but I will take RM 5k off as I believe there are more parts to replace in due time. or I will walk away.
He agreed I am happy!
So moral of the story nego hard or just walk away,
You are one nice guy to that dealer... 215k odo reading is something like re-boring the engine !!!! BTW, what car was it and when?
Not only imported car had its mileage tampered, local cars here also tempered as I have said here before..
When my mum wanted to sell her car, the 2nd hand dealer sort of raised his voice a little to my mom because she had send the car to Honda Service centre even after warranty period (133k KM), he was a little furious because he cant adjust the mileage.. And he said that he might be sued if the new buyer found out the truth
One thing is 15k mileage is not a deal. But He asked 175k, Once I found the anomaly, I asked for 165k. He kiasu and called off the deal... That sounded that the car might have a bad service record or accident one ??
honestly, its a fraud and your duty as a citizen to report it ! now they dealer may not cheat you, but how about other ppl ??
Since, my deal is called off I dont want to pursue this again. However, mentioning the experience here in the forum will caution members to know what to look for when buying a used car and be cautious
I thought that has been the practice of used car dealers for ages? Mine said 9k km only on odometer, so i brought for check and it was 80k+. But i still buy la, since got the price i want, 197k for E60....
Not meant to bump this topic, but I do wanna share something. Last time I worked at a Toyota Dealer at my hometown, I've encountered several cases regarding this issue. One example, an unker, my regular customer, bought a camry 2.4 at Klang. Came to me with a huge grin, saying that he's a lucky guy, managed to find a very low mileage car (25K km+). When I input the plate number, jeng-jeng...last service, clocked at 127K km. But there's more, the service history oso showed that the camry involved in a severe accident, which costs about RM45K. As seeing this, the unker's face turned red, grab his phone and maki the Klang salesman. He asked me to print out all the service history. "Wa mau saman itu jilaka punya olang", he said. I learned from his wife, the salesman gerenti the car is accident-free, and said the previous owner is a kilang manager, rarely use the car. I donno the outcome. Hope the salesman got sued gao-gao la.
Recent case, my kolik bought an avanza 1.5. odometer is 65K km, but toyota sc record, last service, 130K km, plus with narrative from sc, the avanza got AT problem, parts need to be replaced costs nearly rm5K
Not meant to bump this topic, but I do wanna share something. Last time I worked at a Toyota Dealer at my hometown, I've encountered several cases regarding this issue. One example, an unker, my regular customer, bought a camry 2.4 at Klang. Came to me with a huge grin, saying that he's a lucky guy, managed to find a very low mileage car (25K km+). When I input the plate number, jeng-jeng...last service, clocked at 127K km. But there's more, the service history oso showed that the camry involved in a severe accident, which costs about RM45K. As seeing this, the unker's face turned red, grab his phone and maki the Klang salesman. He asked me to print out all the service history. "Wa mau saman itu jilaka punya olang", he said. I learned from his wife, the salesman gerenti the car is accident-free, and said the previous owner is a kilang manager, rarely use the car. I donno the outcome. Hope the salesman got sued gao-gao la.
Recent case, my kolik bought an avanza 1.5. odometer is 65K km, but toyota sc record, last service, 130K km, plus with narrative from sc, the avanza got AT problem, parts need to be replaced costs nearly rm5K
You are one true Ex Auto Industry man spit the truth here....
Where got so lucky customer one, Lucky sohai got la
how do we, as a buyer, check these kind of things as most of us doesn't have the tools/insider whatever that is needed to check them. how can we check whether a car has been tampered with?
Ok, this is for toyota vehicle la. Other makers i think oso the same. For me, its better for u to jot down the car number u like in a used car shop, then head down to the nearest toyota dealer/branch and straight go to the advisor and request the service history. no need insider bro. They will gladly help. If far, u can call them ma. If oso cannot, PM me the vehicle number. I'll try to help. Majority of toyota vehicle owners will service their vehicle at toyota SC at least 3 years, for warranty's sake. U just need to find out the last service odometer reading and compare it to the vehicle u like in the used car shop. if the reading at the vehicle is greater than in the service history, well good for u. If the other way around, walk away la. Plus, accident and major repairs information also can be retrieve in the history. Btw, for accident case if owner repair at Toyota SC, record will show la.
Damn, at my place, nearly all avanza got tampered. All used car towkeys claimed the ex-owners are unker, cikgu, docter, low mileage user. Ptuii. Ironically, a big-ass toyota dealer is just next door to them. I wonder what reason they gonna give if kantoi...ex-owners did the tampering before sell the vehicle to them? Double ptuii!
thats why i always believe that a car that is too cheap - is too good to be true. mileage tampering from 60k to 40 k in my view is acceptable if price is right..but 120k to 20k, that is way too much.
there is alot of things that needs to be replaced..timing belt etc...if the new owner does not realised....and drive for 60-70k, thats 190k in total!
driving down plus, u can often see broken down estima's
Ok, this is for toyota vehicle la. Other makers i think oso the same. For me, its better for u to jot down the car number u like in a used car shop, then head down to the nearest toyota dealer/branch and straight go to the advisor and request the service history. no need insider bro. They will gladly help. If far, u can call them ma. If oso cannot, PM me the vehicle number. I'll try to help. Majority of toyota vehicle owners will service their vehicle at toyota SC at least 3 years, for warranty's sake. U just need to find out the last service odometer reading and compare it to the vehicle u like in the used car shop. if the reading at the vehicle is greater than in the service history, well good for u. If the other way around, walk away la. Plus, accident and major repairs information also can be retrieve in the history. Btw, for accident case if owner repair at Toyota SC, record will show la.
Damn, at my place, nearly all avanza got tampered. All used car towkeys claimed the ex-owners are unker, cikgu, docter, low mileage user. Ptuii. Ironically, a big-ass toyota dealer is just next door to them. I wonder what reason they gonna give if kantoi...ex-owners did the tampering before sell the vehicle to them? Double ptuii!
fuuu! damn them motherfcukers. cheating our hard earned money. thanks for the tips. very useful for car buyers.
Recond cars usually are less than 3 years, meaning under warranty.. so when buying should request for full service record which might end up costing more but it will definitely be worth it on the long run
if you want to buy 2nd hand car - pls do not buy recond. Always insist of a model that is available in malaysia through local dealership AND is from owner instead of use car dealer.
buying a car 100k on the odo is okay - as long the service history checks out and is accurate
if you want to buy 2nd hand car - pls do not buy recond. Always insist of a model that is available in malaysia through local dealership AND is from owner instead of use car dealer. buying a car 100k on the odo is okay - as long the service history checks out and is accurate
Actually nt all recond car SA are bad.. I noe some of them wic r quite gud n honest.. They let u choose the car through BMW UK since they got so many different packages.. then they will personally fly there n check the car.. But usually they wait till they have few car orders n then they travel to inspect the cars... this cars come with BMW UK full service record.. But again, u get wat u pay for..
Can you share with us how to obtain the "redbook certificate" from Japan ?