DELL XPS Desktop, Move over Alienware, DELL ftw!!

TSavex|mode
post May 16 2006, 09:43 AM, updated 20y ago

253 posts

http://www.dell.com/html/us/products/e3/index.html

Have to remorgage the house to own one cry.gif
ahsiah
post May 16 2006, 10:01 AM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

Dell are not launching the system in Malaysia. No worry.

deathbringer
post May 16 2006, 11:17 AM

I'll Pwn j00 !!
1,160 posts

> DELL XPS Desktop, Move over Alienware,

errmm....DELL already owns Alienware....so let's hope they r bringing it over here. smile.gif
if not, i can still settle for their XPS lappies. smile.gif
Mavik
post May 16 2006, 11:24 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Curiously enough, the acquirement of Alienware and Dell planning to open and R&D centre here in Cyberjaya, I wonder if they will build the Alienware PC here? Marketing surveys and reports would definitely put Malaysia out due to our strong sense in terms of personally built PCs rather than going out and buying a gaming system. But who knows.....

I am very curious to see if anyone might want to mod the current Alienware casings. I believe they can look even better!
j05h
post May 16 2006, 11:29 AM

340 posts

It's got that aggresive lean forward stance, that case. It's like a Hofmeister Kink for computers...
Cyclone
post May 16 2006, 12:37 PM

**Dark Knight**
Validating
1,227 posts

cool case smile.gif

looks HEAVYYYY............sleek but one thing that bothers me.....the leaning part.....its like "fugly" ! tongue.gif
wk1168
post May 16 2006, 12:52 PM

myLensDB.com
778 posts

omg. so sexy!!!!!!!
LanEVOchris
post May 16 2006, 02:02 PM

861 posts

Not that nice oso. Look like sumthing from planet pluto lol
nimloth32
post May 16 2006, 02:56 PM

284 posts

it is my dream laptop..i am going for the laptop though..if i were go for the desktop, i rather go for a clone..XD
ALIAS.JG
post May 16 2006, 05:52 PM

1,940 posts

ahhhh its so nice but the front panel just doesn't appeal to me
LittleLinnet
post May 16 2006, 08:36 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

Is it true that Dell bought alienware ??

Any official news ?
malaysia_ray
post May 16 2006, 08:55 PM

17 posts

Old news.
Bought last month.
Just like David Beckham denying he would ever play anywhere else other than MU until the money came in...
Alienware also denied it right until the contract was signed.
Guess they didn't want people to make money off the share spike (if there was one)
TSavex|mode
post May 16 2006, 09:00 PM

253 posts

Lol totally forgot about DELL buying Alienware. Their new name should be DELLIENWARE.
eBola
post May 16 2006, 11:36 PM

blah
1,928 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ May 16 2006, 11:24 AM)
Curiously enough, the acquirement of Alienware and Dell planning to open and R&D centre here in Cyberjaya, I wonder if they will build the Alienware PC here? Marketing surveys and reports would definitely put Malaysia out due to our strong sense in terms of personally built PCs rather than going out and buying a gaming system. But who knows.....

I am very curious to see if anyone might want to mod the current Alienware casings. I believe they can look even better!
i doubt it. dell has already stressed that 90% of their revenue comes from the business and enterprise segments of the market, and the rest from the consumer market. for all you know, dell pumping money into an R&D center is merely their way of playing along to the MSC, in return for better benefits here in Malaysia.

QUOTE(avex|mode @ May 16 2006, 09:00 PM)
Lol totally forgot about DELL buying Alienware. Their new name should be DELLIENWARE.
uh. that term came out ages ago. ever heard of the term 'originality'?
ianho
post May 16 2006, 11:54 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ May 16 2006, 11:24 AM)

Ya man. The case looks awesome. But it wud b much better with 2 side windows on each section of the side panel. 1 above n 1 below the centre curve. Then can show off the Quad SLi cards. drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
Mavik
post May 17 2006, 11:25 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ May 16 2006, 11:54 PM)
Ya man. The case looks awesome. But it wud b much better with 2 side windows on each section of the side panel. 1 above n 1 below the centre curve. Then can show off the Quad SLi cards.  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
But come to think of it, if you check out Alienware's website, they seem to claim that they have a "special" video cooling method and from the older models of Alienware, I see that there is some sort of vent at the side of the case. I am actually very curious to find out what do they mean by that.

Wow I can just imagine having a window right at the Quad SLi cards man, totally awesome. Of course someone might just break into your PC then. We've all heard of people breaking into cars to steal something valuable. Definitely not your PC to bring for Lan Parties haha tongue.gif
Mavik
post May 17 2006, 11:27 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(eBola @ May 16 2006, 11:36 PM)
i doubt it. dell has already stressed that 90% of their revenue comes from the business and enterprise segments of the market, and the rest from the consumer market. for all you know, dell pumping money into an R&D center is merely their way of playing along to the MSC, in return for better benefits here in Malaysia.
Yes your are right. That is why IBM moved out of the personal computers market and went on to concentrate on enterprise solutions. I saw a documentary on Google once and they were showing off their server farms and they mentioned that they had a hundred thousand servers there and I saw all of them having the Dell logo. The person who made that sale must have had a hell of a commission... sweat.gif
j05h
post May 17 2006, 01:00 PM

340 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ May 17 2006, 11:27 AM)
Yes your are right. That is why IBM moved out of the personal computers market and went on to concentrate on enterprise solutions. I saw a documentary on Google once and they were showing off their server farms and they mentioned that they had a hundred thousand servers there and I saw all of them having the Dell logo. The person who made that sale must have had a hell of a commission... sweat.gif
Somehow I've got this image in my head of the Google guys calling up the 1-800 Dell tech support if something goes wrong with their server farm smile.gif
Par@dox
post May 18 2006, 06:32 PM

Gantzer
1,222 posts

Looks crap. I think the old XPS looked better.
eBola
post May 19 2006, 02:05 AM

blah
1,928 posts

lol, lets just put it this way lah. yasmin mahmood isnt actually country manager for dell. to oversimplify things would be to put the title of 'salesperson' onto her. so you imagine lah, if she lands a couple of nice fat government contracts, you think the dell higher ups happy or not?

0.0192sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:51 PM