V12 - Property prices discussion, For non "UUU" and "DDD" campers only...

Steven83
post Jul 20 2013, 12:00 AM

595 posts

woah....so fast another section is up. Don't panic investor and flipper. There are still room to play and fry. Just take your time.....so that we can have a greater bubble to be burst. I would like to see a down to earth property price in future.
Steven83
post Jul 30 2013, 03:40 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(teohkpin @ Jul 30 2013, 03:28 PM)
just to share

http://www.danielloh.com/2013/07/qe.html

the chart basically shows the impact of the begining of QE tappering (Early Stage).....Bonds yield started to rise, Share prices started to correct and property prices started to adjust.

Once QE confirm exiting the market, bond, share, property prices will see major correction

Last stage, after the draining of QE.....interest rate will hike......this is when Gold, Property, stocks market will be hitting hard.....bear market.

If US is draining the QE in early 2014 coupled with the oversupply of high rise.....i think property correction may come earlier than expected.

Now we fear the recovery of US......
Seriously, I been thinking that it could be the free flow fund moving back to US. As with the end of QE, investor would like to hands on US dollar.
Steven83
post Jul 31 2013, 03:36 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(Anon_1986 @ Jul 30 2013, 03:58 PM)
It's funny, all of this. The 2007/2008 crisis was paradoxically good for our asset markets, not just because of the investor pullout in developed markets, but also because of their stimulus money which had no where to go. As I recall, the asset bubbles which led to the Asian Financial Crisis was in part due to Japanese monetary easing in the aftermath of their own property bubble back in the 80s. Deja vu anyone? Most people don't understand this relationship, and think that our surviving the 2007/2008 crisis is proof of our resilience. It isn't. It's the magic of fiat money.

We are more prepared for a crisis now than back in 1997/98, but I remember being in Singapore where interest rates were at a stupid ~0% even though inflation was hitting 5%, simply because of the hugely profitable carry trade between the USD and the SGD. My colleagues were actually feeling forced into buying property as mortgage rates at 2% were lower than inflation at 5%. In that period, I note that Singapore, Indonesian and Filipino asset markets actually did even better than us. While the withdrawal of stimulus monies is expected to hurt our asset markets by restricting credit growth, I'm still of the view that the most likely scenario is that any fallout can be controlled and contained because of strong government financials, the fact that the withdrawal of QE is expected to be gradual, and I foresee Japan, GB and Europe to continue easing for a while.
Yes, I do agree with the strong foreign fund we having now but at the same time.... How long it would hold on with the debt we having.....I still thinking of where can we check out about the details of the debt of our government in terms of the expire date on any place...besides that China export draw back has really again impact our export lead economy.

This post has been edited by Steven83: Jul 31 2013, 03:37 PM
Steven83
post Aug 2 2013, 06:06 PM

595 posts

http://my.news.yahoo.com/penang-turns-cons...-085100075.html

Please continue to push the property price up. We are now official Spain nation wink.gif

Lets see how our job going to further shrink for construction job to replace.

This post has been edited by Steven83: Aug 2 2013, 06:10 PM
Steven83
post Aug 2 2013, 11:11 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(tigana @ Aug 2 2013, 07:50 PM)
Its not as bad as you think.
We are different from Spain and Greece because their cost of labour is far more expensive.
Its true that Spain, Greece, and other EU countries and the Malaysia government spend too much, but because our labour cost is lower, businesses move to low cost regions during a downturn.
Our ringgit going down against the USD is actually also a good thing because it makes our exports even cheaper.
In Australia, they were bragging how high their currency is against the USD, but then came the announcement Ford was pulling out their car manufacturing from Australia. In fact manufacturing in Australia is only relatively small sector.

The Malaysian economy can still be saved by the private sector.
Do you think the MNCs in Malaysia are sitting still while the rest of the world become more competitive?
In Penang, local management in MNCs like Intel, Altera, Sony, Agilent, etc. are working hard to transform even if the government does not.
Working hard to bring in more product lines, jobs, etc.
I admit that MIDA does work hard as well, but you should be thanking the Malaysian Managers in these MNCs to not just say, we are cheap, but we are also capable.
Not just Penang, but elsewhere in Malaysia.

However. I would be extra cautious in property investment in 2013.
If you notice well, a lot of factory worker are moving to property region because of salary issue. Let's don't discuss about Greece yet as Greece crisis has nothing to do with property. Yes, Spain cost of labour is far more expensive but at the same time they having a lot of foreign workers as well. My future prediction is all the private sector are mostly construction. I don't believe that purely construction income are good for our nation as property can't be export. Investor may come and buy the property....all they want but don't forget when they want to sell it...who they can sell it to? In the end, the property are going back to Malaysia. This is a crisis that soon coming. What I highlight is Msia are going Spain way as Spain majority private sector are just construction before the property crisis.

Oh ya, I know the local management are doing it hard. But, statistical won't lie. The MNC are going down after so many year of tried hard. Our MNC industry has been stagnant for more than 10 years before it start drops few years ago.

Anyhow, I will be watching biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Steven83: Aug 2 2013, 11:22 PM
Steven83
post Aug 2 2013, 11:12 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(accetera @ Aug 2 2013, 10:54 PM)
With sarcasm, do you think these people are just pure investors or homebuyers? Hahaha...

bbb mode is back in subang jaya with @cylee pic from empire remix2
I know what they are and what is their background. tongue.gif
Steven83
post Aug 2 2013, 11:14 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 2 2013, 07:29 PM)
to me, this is very bad news. if penang as the bedrock of boland mfg thinks its a goner, tough.

in the old days, sg did that - plough money incl cpf into constr when recession arrives. that actually worked, but they r passed that now, more in to services n trade.

here, gud times, bad times, just build n constr out of trouble. may not work tis time with so much debt overhang. of course, the leakages go on regardless...

very dark days ahead... more so when focus seems to be dogs n canteens....
They can't afford to mass around with their property this time, or their people are going to sleep on the street or in Johor tongue.gif So...now they turn to rich China folk or foreign workers that will give better tax rate. The local hates it but they have to live with it, Singapore don't have another way around or it will be game over. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Steven83: Aug 2 2013, 11:16 PM
Steven83
post Aug 8 2013, 11:59 AM

595 posts

QUOTE(accetera @ Aug 6 2013, 04:49 PM)
The overall retail market is growing... but it is true that if you look more closely most retailers are struggling. 

Our growth is from the big players for example in F&B you have to see Starbucks, McDonald's, Chatime, TGI Friday's, Chilli's, etc... so as long as the big players are doing well, in totality wise, I would say we are doing fairly well.
Yes all fully booked.... i was at The Curve... even the non-halal ones aso crowded. So ended up in Din Tai Fung which was crowded as well.
Halal one already been fully booked....sure those non halal who eat out will have no choice but to go for non halal food...I think this is a very common behavior for this puasa month...Now puasa is over...can recheck F&B market again.

0.0401sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:58 AM