V12 - Property prices discussion, For non "UUU" and "DDD" campers only...

Martinis
post Jul 30 2013, 08:52 PM

219 posts

I was wondering if the weakening ringgit means that one should invest or stay invested in properties as a hedge for further inflation. Am my thinking right? Why should property investors sell their props and keep RM which is depreciating?
Martinis
post Aug 12 2013, 09:07 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(AmayaBumibuyer @ Aug 12 2013, 06:13 AM)
Means even cars are expensive in Malaysia people still keep on buying cars and cars in Malaysia didnt crash.

And Madrid the capital of spain the apartments are actually more than euro 100k, so basically not cheaper than KV.
Maybe you should compare property prices in Kelantan, Terengganu or Kedah. There are very affordable properties available there.
You know what, you are absolutely spot on! Property prices up a few years keep whining. Cars have been a bubble since god knows when. You see the number of expensive cars like city, civic, accord, vios, forte etc. Yes, those are freaking expensive cars for Malaysians. Notice I did not even mention the BMWs and the Merc. Those are astronomical in terms of Malaysian's level of income. Yet, Malaysians happily drive them. No complaints, man. Got lah, got complain, but nothing one, accept it and move on lo. The same thing with property, complain lah, but nothing much can be done lah. want to complain, start with the car first...persevere until you get the prices down..then only target property...

Relative to cars, Malaysian property should go up another 200%. Then, we can justify the car prices.

Martinis
post Aug 12 2013, 10:39 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Aug 12 2013, 09:17 AM)
Prob with got face onot ma. Many young kids driving luxury cars picking up leng lui. Whereas there r minority of down to earth ppl drive lauya cars collecting rental. hmm.gif

Of cos, its not an advise to many ppl to buy now. The arguement might go back to yrs ago tat 1 should not hav waited to invest in props. And who would guarantee the market ll goes up or down with onli some crap analysis. If the charts shown tat PIGS is goin 6 ft under, then who r those tat oso missed the boat in KLCI in the recent GE??? Facts shown tat ajibkor is palia 1, but many make handsome profit in KLCI. rclxub.gif

Noone can guarantee a market crash or boom with some articles which reflected personal "I THINK SO". Just buy or sell if u think u r comfortable with the decision made. thumbup.gif
ya la, last time if buy house now can change car for free...but if still dun change now, few years down the road, can upgrade few "ma-si-li" tongue.gif
Martinis
post Aug 12 2013, 04:31 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(doremon4 @ Aug 12 2013, 12:27 PM)
You should understand that people are buying cars to evade tax in business, but you can't do that in property. In business tax, car is a depreciating asset and accounts for business cost spread across 3-5 years. Property is a fixed asset in your balance sheet which does not depreciate, so , not deductible for taxes. In other words, if this year your business makes a lot of money, let's say 1 mil profit, you tax should be around 250K. instead, you might decide to buy a 500K car, spread the cost across 5 years, (100K each year), and you save 25% off the car you purchased. That's a lot of money and perceived value. People will think you own a 500K car but in fact, it just cost 375K and it is out of company expenses. You can't do that with property and the worse part is LHDN might come after you after some time if you property appreciates and you have to record that in account as paper gain which is taxable profit.
Hi doremon,

You sure are living in doremon land. First of all, as mentioned, cars above 150k cap allowance capped at 50k.

A typical China man thinking " buy car to escape tax" ...penny wise pound foolish. Just like during cheap sale...buy 1 piece discount 20%...buy 2 pcs discount 30%....buy more discount more...buy buy buy...in the end you must understand what u are paying to save the miserable tax......

And, your last part is the best..."paper gain of property appreciation is taxable profit" rclxms.gif
Martinis
post Aug 20 2013, 08:56 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(lucerne @ Aug 19 2013, 11:06 AM)
me too, i hv been buying prop since 25 yrs ago and average 1 prop every year so far all doing ok (rental and capital).  i try to diversify my prop portfolio (like UT) and buying bungalow, semiD, terraces, condo, apartment, factory, land, shops, retail, REIT etc.  from my 25 yrs experience, i think prop will rise in the long run.  it is better to start earlier. all my earlier purchases make good $ and location wise is better. (after more developments in that area)
How do you manage all your properties? At least 25?

0.0370sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:55 AM