The Retrievers, Yay , I own a Retriever !

heidityj
post May 14 2006, 09:09 PM

520 posts

LOL... rclxms.gif
nice to see such an enthusiastic dog lover! biggrin.gif

well, I HAD a golden retriever and a labrador before..hehe... laugh.gif

my goldie was Crystal..got her from a breeder in Singapore..poor girl died at the age of 10 months old due to food poisoning...swore to never ever let my dogs go near my house gate anymore...itchy fingers throwing nonsense inside...tht's what we suspect lar..cos we've seen it before..but jus this time din manage to save her... cry.gif

my lab's name is Pip..cheeky lil guy..he was one of those labs with big bones..a breeder wanted to pair him up with his female pup..so we let him go..since the breeder had a big land and Pip enjoyed himself amongst the other labs..and we were having problems at tht time.. sad.gif

but overall, i love retrievers..such sweet natured dogs..hehe..always trying to please their owners..and so beautiful too.. wub.gif

i'll get myself another retriever in the future..when I have my own house with a nice garden for her.. thumbup.gif
heidityj
post May 14 2006, 09:27 PM

520 posts

i've always kept my doggies indoor...cos of what happen to my golden retriever..AND my american cocker who got lost...i have no luck with dogs.. cry.gif

anyway, Tammy is gorgeous! wub.gif Pip was the same colour as her...ahh..the memories.. laugh.gif

wish i could adopt the golden retrievers..but my place is jus too small for them..they won't get to run around.. sad.gif
heidityj
post May 14 2006, 09:32 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(simchi @ May 14 2006, 09:29 PM)
Hewo hewo ...

WELCOME  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  ,

We've basically gone through the same thing which is losing our four legged darlings . I once had a ECS and it was stolen , thank to our cruel neighbour .
really??? aiks...so u know how i feel too....horrid people...so sakit hati right? haih..

and i also found out from the breeder who i gave my lab to..my lab's future mate was poisoned by some construction workers nextdoor...so sad!!!!! cry.gif

he's still alright..and the breeder is moving somewhere else to protect his doggies..
heidityj
post May 14 2006, 09:43 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(hao @ May 14 2006, 09:38 PM)
But sometimes they will throw poisoned food to lure your dog to eat... if your guarddog is greedy, then bye bye d...
yeah, and some people dun like guard dogs cos they bark when strangers pass by...so if u have horrid neighbours, they'll report u and do evil things to ur dogs..kinda sad...they dun appreciate the dogs are jus doing what come naturally...sigh..

good thing retrievers are generally good-natured.. smile.gif

my uncle's goldie never barks at anyone..stranger or not...so one night I told her, if u dun bark at strangers, they might come in and harm us..

so then my other uncle came back and was unlocking the wooden door..and she started barking at him...hahahaha... rclxms.gif
heidityj
post May 14 2006, 10:32 PM

520 posts

hahaha.. the ah pek thought ur Fala going to bite him??? laugh.gif

get a bulldog? hrm...wat other dogs that are medium size, bark loud, and muka garang..........
heidityj
post May 15 2006, 09:35 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(simchi @ May 15 2006, 09:20 PM)
I too am looking for a mongrel but I am afraid as it might not get the attention it deserves lor . Much think twice before getting another dog , my purpose to get a guard dog to guard my Fala is a tad bit TOO OVER lor , SELFISH ME .
icic...adopt a mongrel/mixbreed pup!

consider it as getting a companion for Fala..at the same time they can protect each other~
heidityj
post May 17 2006, 10:20 AM

520 posts

hmm..yeah..

last time when i got my GR, we went to the breeder's home in Singapore to see the pups and the mom and dad...the dogs were well loved by the family and the mom and dad were champion line show dogs..

i remember playing with the dogs in the house..they have access to the whole place, including the bedrooms..haha..

but of course the price was expensive..paid them RM3000.. sweat.gif
but that was 9 years ago...so mayb over the years price drop.. laugh.gif

the owner often called up to check on my GR's condition too..

so sakit hati when she kena poison....argh..

This post has been edited by heidityj: May 17 2006, 10:23 AM
heidityj
post May 19 2006, 12:23 AM

520 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ May 18 2006, 08:45 PM)
Always wanted a retiever wub.gif . But can't have them as they aint good guard dogs. Just know something weird happened. Was it a sign from GOD?

I was on my way out of my house to town. As I came out my front door I heard a chopping sound coming from my swimming pool. I thought it was my sis swimming...But with the pool lights off??? Then to my greatest shock.....

It was an Adult Labrador.....  ohmy.gif . It looked like it had been swimming for a while... but why didn't any of my family members noticed it? It was beginning to sink icon_question.gif . I tried to call it over to me as I stood over the steps leading down to the deep end but it must have been too tired to wade to me. I went near it and was a bit worried about the temperament at first, but when I approached it, it seemed friendly so I touched it forehead first. As it was beggining to sink again, I grabbed it and aided it out of the water. After drying itself, I tried to approach it but it was afraid of me. Maybe somebody left my gate open so the poor doggie came in. I let if out the front gate and it walked away.......

Am still recovering from the incident...... sweat.gif Would have been really bad had it drowned. Lucky doggie.... Hope it stays nearby my place so that it goes home....
woah! good job! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
thank God u were going out at that time...otherwise..the poor doggie would be on it's way to doggie heaven.. sad.gif

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
heidityj
post May 20 2006, 02:38 PM

520 posts

ouch... sad.gif

0.0457sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:21 AM