The Retrievers, Yay , I own a Retriever !

hamster9
post Jun 23 2007, 10:23 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

new retriever owner here notworthy.gif
hamster9
post Jun 24 2007, 09:33 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(snowcandy @ Jun 23 2007, 10:26 PM)
Yay! Do post more pictures of your GR, hamster9. biggrin.gif
What's his/her name? smile.gif
sure..will upload it later. Just finish snapping pictures today.

Her name is Queen.

Really a handful this puppy. Training him for potty manners and all...tiring but worth it. Even when she pooped at the wrong place, so hard to scold her...coz of the innocent eyes...awww wub.gif

Added on June 26, 2007, 11:46 ampicture updated rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by hamster9: Jun 26 2007, 11:46 AM

hamster9
post Jun 26 2007, 01:14 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(M2K2Land @ Jun 26 2007, 12:33 PM)
OMG queen tongue.gif ... higher rank than prince smile.gif wahaha... nice and really cute smile.gif

Added on June 26, 2007, 12:35 pm

Oh yeah did spray on prince body using something gave by doctor. RM15. Now seem no more tick... hoorah !
hahaha..i named her queen so that she could easily remember her name rather than prin-cess or yu-ka. laugh.gif

This picture not the cutest i can get. There's even more of her expression which is cuter but by the time i managed to get it in focus, she wanted to lick the camera lense sweat.gif

QUOTE(White Palace @ Jun 26 2007, 12:40 PM)
Queen is so cute. smile.gif
thanks wub.gif
here's a not so clear one..

hamster9
post Jun 28 2007, 12:04 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(M2K2Land @ Jun 27 2007, 04:37 PM)
okok... will do...

Eh how bout our gathering? seem like no news liao.... come on smile.gif this saturday go to bukit gasing and have a walk smile.gif come come !
wish to come..but must wait Queen finish her vaccination before she can mix with other dogs... or to public areas.
hamster9
post Jul 1 2007, 12:02 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(M2K2Land @ Jun 28 2007, 03:26 PM)
when is the last day of vaccination?
adui....long way to go lei....3 months lo. still young pup wub.gif
hamster9
post Aug 5 2007, 12:05 AM

CFP
2,251 posts

innocent dog

hamster9
post Aug 6 2007, 12:21 AM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(simchi @ Aug 5 2007, 06:11 PM)
wey , no money to buy collar ah ? or want to save money buy big big collar next time grow big also can use ?
lol laugh.gif now have to adjust to half edi... she grow up really fast. That pic was taken like a month or 2 ago.. sweat.gif now no more looking like this liao...

QUOTE(radical85 @ Aug 5 2007, 06:28 PM)
i tot u suppose to let retriever run freely in the house instead of chaining them like that?
do they shed a lot of fur?
yeah..they do run freely... but sometimes need to chain them a little when u want to clean up their poo. else.. they will be snatching those poo that you've picked up and tear the newspaper apart doh.gif

yes..they do shed a lotz

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Aug 5 2007, 07:59 PM)
yup....they shed alot...is it recommended to comb/brush retrievers everyday?? i only do 3 times...a week...
i comb her everyday...she would dutifully bring her comb to me every morning before i go to work. wub.gif sleep.gif
hamster9
post Aug 6 2007, 12:43 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Aug 6 2007, 01:10 AM)
woah...nice...mine is just "ill bring this you give me treat" "no treat i put back"...
lol...coz mine loves the belly rub i give her while grooming her... but then she enjoys biting me while grooming..aih.. doh.gif
hamster9
post Aug 6 2007, 01:21 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Aug 6 2007, 12:45 PM)
Same case..  smile.gif
aih..dion..~ din know u got GR wan tongue.gif

hamster9
post Aug 6 2007, 11:36 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

Hrmm.... i keep my dog fur nice and soft is by giving her dog food mixed with eggs laugh.gif then give her loads of puppy's milk. She love em. Guess that's how she weigh from 5kg last month to 10.4kg today sweat.gif
hamster9
post Aug 7 2007, 11:16 AM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Aug 6 2007, 11:59 PM)
omg..
5kgs per month, dats..
huge..
yeah..she's growing bigger and heavier...so hard to carry her nowadays sweat.gif
hamster9
post Aug 9 2007, 11:21 AM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Aug 7 2007, 04:33 PM)
carry her everyday....you will be stronger too haha... erm... what do you mean puppy milk?
puppy milk from pet shops... i gave her since young and never fails to finish it.. so i continue giving her as her source of calcium. nod.gif

QUOTE(crazytazz @ Aug 8 2007, 10:49 AM)

oh ya..wanna ask..since me and moon hardly can bring rooney for vet nowadays, was thinking to get own self deworm pill..any suggestions? on brands and quality? wink.gif
I can help u bring to vet if u wan...my car is dedicated for dogs laugh.gif Queen always love to go on a joyride in my car tongue.gif but lots of fur sad.gif

rooney big dog edi...usually they give pills and need to weigh if not mistaken. Queen still puppy..they give in syrup form, it's called pyrantel (we humans also eat those for dewormming wink.gif doh.gif , I have loads of em in my clinic tongue.gif ) 0.5ml per kg. I guess the next visit would be pills edi i guess wink.gif I dun think Queen would wanna drink that much

QUOTE(won @ Aug 8 2007, 02:05 PM)

Hamster9,

That's a cutie you have there.
How old is she? Must not be >6 months if you can still carry her. I doubt we can carry our GR anymore when they get to their full grown size.
Wow, your GR can even bring her comb to you, that's great. If I give mine his comb, he will just treat it as his toys and shred it into pieces......

my comb is made of rubber handle. I guess nothing much she can do except to chew on it. But she loves being groomed. Sad thing is she loves to bite my hand while grooming. I love her coz she knows when I'm sad or happy. She would be there to cheer me up.

QUOTE(won @ Aug 9 2007, 12:59 AM)

so nice...got mattress for him. I'm still toilet training Queen. But still sad that she would pee at the mattress I provide her dry.gif poo is ok..she knows where to go but still sometimes fail sad.gif Can't wait for her obedience class next month. Planning to send her to the Pet's Safari one. Is it good?
hamster9
post Aug 9 2007, 12:27 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(won @ Aug 9 2007, 11:55 AM)
Shushu loves car ride too. He will automatically jump into the back seat when I open my car door. My car is also full of fur!  biggrin.gif
I used to vaccumm it, but not recently as I need to ferry him to and from the vet quite frequently - too much hassle.
Alternately, you can try to get a big blanket to cover the car seat. I do that sometimes.

haha, you have underestimated shushu chewing ability. sweat.gif  He did chew off the rubber handle of his brush before. He chew on my hands sometimes, not hard more like nipping.

It is actually just a large floor cushion. Not big enough for him, but he likes to lay on it to chew his toys.
I am thinking of getting him a bed but most of those sold at pet shops is for small dogs.
hrmm... I tried covering it with a blanket but then she would nicely chewing on and differs the point of having the blanket.

where does shushu sleep? at the cushion itself?

I'm having problem with mine actually... I separated the place for her to poo and pee, eat and also sleep but she could do it.... cry.gif icon_question.gif She would do whatever she likes coz there are other animals around and she would steal their food if i don't put the food bowl at her sleeping place. rclxub.gif
hamster9
post Aug 11 2007, 02:28 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(crazytazz @ Aug 10 2007, 10:12 AM)
oh ya...here's a few of rooney's pix.. biggrin.gif

Hrmm..all GR like to sit liddat issit? I tot mine's the only one who's having problem. laugh.gif

Here's mine.... having ringworm at 2 spots...so have to shave and put the collar sweat.gif

This is before going to the vet...I just love the eyes...so eager wub.gif

This is after the vet visit back home... laugh.gif sour face

This post has been edited by hamster9: Aug 11 2007, 02:29 PM
hamster9
post Aug 11 2007, 08:58 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(simchi @ Aug 11 2007, 06:30 PM)
wah queen so big liow . no sour face queenie , i will give you the best squeeze okay .
awww....thanks wub.gif
wub.gif wub.gif
hamster9
post Aug 14 2007, 12:31 AM

CFP
2,251 posts

Queen's fur feel a little dry now. Is it the outer coat growing? Coz the other day I visited a vet saw a GR and his coat was really rough.
hamster9
post Aug 15 2007, 05:03 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ Aug 15 2007, 11:08 AM)

However, whenever she pees, her tail and the fur between her thighs get stained. I was wondering, is it a good idea to cut off her thigh's fur or leave it be? I bathe her every week but the stained fur looks ugly leh...
yup..trim it a little. It helps a lots. icon_rolleyes.gif
hamster9
post Aug 25 2007, 05:50 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

alooo...just came back from PD with my Queen... pictures coming up soon. cool2.gif
Queen at the sands, chilling smile.gif
Whatcha looking at?
Queen pose wub.gif
Queen swimming... come to me...come to me.. laugh.gif
Queen and owner at sunset wub.gif
Bleh...salty tongue.gif
Mommy..i save you...grab the rope flex.gif
Resting

This post has been edited by hamster9: Aug 25 2007, 06:14 PM
hamster9
post Aug 25 2007, 06:15 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

beautiful dog u have there hewittLOVE wub.gif wub.gif i love the coat. What food are u giving her?
hamster9
post Aug 25 2007, 10:02 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(hewittLOVE @ Aug 25 2007, 06:27 PM)
hamster9, thanks wor...smile.gifi have been feeding her on Eukanuba since not long ago...and just bath her with better shampoo... their hair is quite sensitive and they shed a lot... it is kinda scary to see her hair dropping here and there everyday... i am wondering if aging is one of the cause or what coz she is not that young anymore...smile.gif i just realised that sorry... queen is a teen d? hehe...she loves to play with water eh...
yeah...Queen just finish her vaccination about 2 weeks ago..so bring her go out and play lo. Yeah..she loves the water very much nod.gif

QUOTE(simchi @ Aug 25 2007, 07:14 PM)
hamster8 , Queen has gotten so big now heh ... I like it . Anyway where did you bring her ? Please share smile.gif
hamster9 la sweat.gif

Bring her to Port Dickson beach nia...at 4th mile, Royal Port Dickson Yatch Club. But then got people complain. Last time people can bring their furkids to swim at the beach. I guessed the rules changed wink.gif

0.0578sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:27 PM