(T_T) Why my golden sleeps all day de...? Then at night she becomes mandur and wakes everyone up one by one.
If we don't play with her, then next morning she'll show temper and sulk at a corner.
The Retrievers, Yay , I own a Retriever !
Jan 26 2007, 11:18 PM
1,250 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Tropicalu Janguru |
(T_T) Why my golden sleeps all day de...? Then at night she becomes mandur and wakes everyone up one by one.
If we don't play with her, then next morning she'll show temper and sulk at a corner. |
Jan 27 2007, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(RedBox @ Jan 26 2007, 11:39 PM) Probably because during the day, most people are out and there is no one to play with her. Mom and Dad go out to work, you go to school or whatever, sis go to school or something, bro go out lepak or something. At night, everyone come home and she gets up to play. Arrange for some activities during the day. Easiest is to find time to take her out for walks. Get her some exercise and I bet she will be tired during the evening and will sleep like a log. RB QUOTE(moon* @ Jan 26 2007, 11:48 PM) fuwahh..is your golden small or big first?? my rooney also sleep all the time when he was few weeks old oni....perhaps still very young puppy thats why always like to sleep....hahahahha My Chelsea about 3 years old now. I don't think boredom is the problem because my dad's retired. Besides, I've a super hyperactive Rottweiler mix and an equally hyperactive Shih Tzu in the house but Chelsea likes to sleep in the daytime with her legs wide open like nobody's business.Problem with my housing area is that there's too many malay ppl. Last time I took my dogs out for a walk, they all look at me one kind and started complaining bout my dogs 'cemarkan' their house. Anyway, I think it could be caused by the accident that Chelsea had 2 years back. We brought them to Kuala Kubu Baru for their weekly swim at the mountain stream, but they got over excited and ran off towards the main road. Chelsea was hit by a truck, but luckily she only broke her tail bone. Her tail's a little limp now but it's still wagging like a broken helicopter blade. XD I love my Abby and Chelsea. |
Aug 15 2007, 11:08 AM
Guys, I wanna ask something ya.
A few years back, my Chelsea was hit by a van when she ran out to the main road when we bring her and Abby (Rotti mix) to KKB for swimming. Her tail bone's been broken and she can't lift her tail up and wag it like normal dogs do although she can still wag it like crazy though at a much lower level. However, whenever she pees, her tail and the fur between her thighs get stained. I was wondering, is it a good idea to cut off her thigh's fur or leave it be? I bathe her every week but the stained fur looks ugly leh... |
Aug 15 2007, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(babymiki @ Aug 15 2007, 11:13 AM) did u bring chelsea to the vet after she got hit? or just let it be? -.- won, yes he is very naughty. likes to hump and im pretty scared when he does dat cause he'd pushed me down the ground haha Can you imagine the horrible shock that we went through? My dad became angry because of the vet's attitude, so he insist that the vet gave us some pain killers and brought Chelsea home. A day later, we bring Chelsea to our vet and the first thing he do is pinch Chelsea's tail. When she turn around and look at him, he said her tailbone is broken but she still have sensation on her tail, means no need to amputate. He then bandage her tail's base with a splinter like thingy. Chelsea's fully healed but she tends to wet her tail and thigh furs a little everytime she pees. So now, by the 2-3rd day of every week, she'll have this ugly stain between her thighs. I try not to bathe her every other day because her fur's getting a bit dry (she's on a salmon oil supplement at the moment). So, do you guys think it's a good idea to shave/cut of her thigh's fur? (the fluffiest part). It's getting unsightly and it smells a little. |
Aug 15 2007, 02:33 PM
Hmm, a bit difficult because I working leh. My dad recently had a serious skin allergy because of the new shampoo that we used to bath the dogs, so I tell him not to touch water unnecessarily.
Aug 15 2007, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(won @ Aug 15 2007, 02:51 PM) That's a horrible vet! Hmm, all along we never want to bring Chelsea to another vet but our vet's clinic was closed that day, that's why we went to another vet.If you hate the hassle of cleaning her up everytime she pee as babymiki suggested, I guess you can try trimming the fur a little to see whether this would eliminate the problem or not. Don't worry, it is not really permanant effect since the fur will grow back right? But just curious, she only has this problem when peeing? We'll try to trim her fur and see how first because it's getting stained a bit and turning yellowish, look very wat-tat. She never gets poo on her tail and hind leg because her poo's quite solid (not rock hard). So far she haven't had diarrhea type poo, so don't know yet but I guess will be stained also because her tail's touching the floor whenever she squats. |
Aug 15 2007, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(M2K2Land @ Aug 15 2007, 05:37 PM) chibi_tenko, I think u can go to VET and consult for this case... if GR no tail look weird wor. No worries. That happened two years ago. Her tailbone's broken, so she can't lift her tail up high like normal dogs but it can still wag like gila. There's nothing we can do about it because the bone's totally broken. Next time i should very careful when let prince out... prince now going out unleashed and run anywhere he like... I quite worry he got bang too... The vet has done all he can for the tail already. I'm very thankful to the vet because he saved my Chelsea's tail from being cut off. |
Aug 17 2007, 10:37 AM
Well, she's definitely very happy all the time but getting a bit overweight. Bring her out for walks also she gets tired very easily. I don't know why, but might be caused by the accident gua.
My Rotti-mix's physical shape is very fit but Chelsea's getting sluggish. Her eyes will shine when she smells/hear food. |
Aug 18 2007, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(M2K2Land @ Aug 17 2007, 01:55 PM) Opps sorry ah I tot chelsea is boy... hahaha is a girl ! Overweight? this does not happen for prince... he is very thin... tried alot method food and even give rice... also so thin.. 22KG niah... This August is his birthday liao but yet underweight ahaha but nevermind he very healthy. QUOTE(won @ Aug 17 2007, 04:27 PM) Yalor, from 28kg drop to 24kg. Ayo... you guys wanna fatten your furkids, I need to slim down my Chelsea. Now go up to 26kg, but still very thin. Need to fatten him up more.... I still remember last time bring Abby and Chelsea go Bkt Gasing hiking. Chelsea hike 1/2 way only, then give up liao. The moment she seems a stream, she jump right into the middle and lie down there. Everyone laugh, make me so paiseh. Lucky my Abby strong |
Aug 19 2007, 06:57 PM
QUOTE(won @ Aug 18 2007, 09:46 PM) How heavy is Chelsea btw? Shushu also no stamina...halfway during training, he will run and hide at the shaded area and refuse to come out while the others doggies are still continuing their lesson. If I'm not mistaken hor, she's between 100-110lbs. IMO, I think Chelsea's obese already. She's very lazy la. Bring her out for walks also she give up halfway and just sit down there and dont want move liao.So now we cut down her kibbles lo but she always give the pitiful look with her eyes when she finished her makan. |
Aug 20 2007, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(won @ Aug 20 2007, 09:19 AM) Wah, 100 lbs is really heavy Chelsea's fine with stairs. Only when she gets down, she sits on the steps and slide down one at a time. BTW, Won ar, how much did the groomer charge you for Shushu's grooming session? I wanna trim her thigh furs but rather let the groomer do it.Just brought my shushu to grooming last saturday. The groomer shop is on the 1st floor but shushu doesn't know how to climb up/down the stairs so I have to carry him Attached is a picture of shushu after grooming ![]() |
Aug 20 2007, 10:36 AM
WAH! So cheap leh! Where did you send shushu for grooming? Last time I asked around Setapak area, they say for shih tzu grooming costs RM75 (but including bathing la).
Haven't bring Chelsea to groomer for a long time edi since her accident. Now her paw's fur 'boing-ing' all over the place. |
Aug 20 2007, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(won @ Aug 20 2007, 10:47 AM) hehe....u will have to bring your furkids to Ipoh lor for the grooming. I stay in Ipoh mah The paw's fur boing-ing ..... I don't know whether it is true or not but someone told me that we need to trim the paw pad fur to prevent them slipping coz they will have a better grip if the paw is clear of fur. |
Aug 20 2007, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(won @ Aug 20 2007, 11:02 AM) She let you cut her fur? So nice, mine will try to nip at me once he saw the scissors. He is ok with you touching his legs and paw but not when he sees that I am holding the nail cutter or scissors. I can only manage to trim a bit everytime before he run away or nip at me. Ear cleaning also quite a hassle. The only thing he likes is daily combing. He will just lay there and chew at his nylon bones while i comb his fur. Yeah, Chelsea lets us cut her nails and trim her fur. All she does is lie down and sleep sleep sleep. Ear cleaning also she like alot but need to buy medication coz her ear is getting abit smelly.As for combing. |
Aug 20 2007, 11:48 AM
Aug 20 2007, 05:47 PM
Won, is your shushu big boned ar? My Chelsea's not big bone leh. Those big boned GR all look so smart.
Aug 23 2007, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(won @ Aug 22 2007, 05:02 PM) Ooh, how is the party preparations? Share some tips with me, ok? Next month is my dog 1st birthday liao. Won ar, apart from the rawhide bones that you give shushu, have you bought any big pig's bone for him to chew on? My furkids love those bones to death. Some pork sellers sell a big expensive if you want the bone with some meat on it but it's nice for the furkids.lol I don't know what's the name of that type of bone but it's really big and shaped almost like the rawhide. (long piece of bone with two balls at either end). XD Shushu will love it la. But prepare to bathe your furkid after the pig bone treat because their chest fur and front paws will be sticky. |
Aug 23 2007, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(won @ Aug 23 2007, 10:15 AM) Haven't try giving him any real bone before... Well, I give my furkids the whole bone. We just put all the bones into a big pot and boil it until it's cooked. How long it takes for them to finish the bone... it depends. Abby sapu habis the meat+cartiledge(not sure how to spell but it's the semi-transparent bone attached to both ends of the bone) in about one hour but Chelsea sapu habis in 20mins.Just give him the whole bone? need to clean it or not first? Does it take long time for him to finish it? I can try and give him on the weekend before his bathing time But must let him eat at the porch there lor. If not, later my whole house floor will have traces of the bones and meat......will look like murder scene After that, she'll ronda ronda around the house and try to steal the other dogs' bones. The shih tzus usually take up to 1 1/2 - 2 hours to finish. However, when your furkid finish the bone, you must throw away the leftover bone (the hardest part). It should left about 3-4 inch long bone. My Abby last time pick up all the leftover bones and bury in under my blanket. No wonder she give me the nervous look when I sit on my bed. Give it a try la Won. Shushu will love it if he loves chewing on nylon bones. QUOTE(FriedChicken @ Aug 23 2007, 12:15 PM) Original Name on MKA cert : Pearlflakeshelixcorigold |
Aug 23 2007, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(won @ Aug 23 2007, 04:54 PM) OK, will try to look for the bone this weekend. No la, my brother renamed him an even weird name. Starbuck. Lol, the cert names are all very fancy or weird ones Guess what is shushu's cert name..... Last time I wanted to name him Chewie (from Star Wars) but my brother don't want. |
Aug 24 2007, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(won @ Aug 23 2007, 10:45 PM) Fala has a nice cert name short form for "give me a smile" but I found out it is actually the name of a race horse Actually, the cert name is quite entertaining. Shushu's mom name is called FA FA Sorry, I have no idea....can't help you on this. Maybe you can ask around at the dog kopitiam there..... This post has been edited by chibi_tenko: Aug 24 2007, 02:48 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0569sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:02 AM |