Nokia Lumia 1020 - 41MP, 1/1.5" BSI Sensor CZ Lens, Fully MF|Exposure|Shutter Speed|ISO|WB

SUSchokia
post Jul 12 2013, 08:33 AM, updated 13y ago

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Read : http://www.nokia.com/gb-en/phones/phone/lumia1020/

Photography
Main camera
Primary camera sensor size: 41 MP, PureView
Camera resolution: 7712 x 5360 pixels
Camera Focus Type: Auto focus
Carl Zeiss Tessar lens: Yes
Sensor size: 1/1.5 inch
Main camera f-number/aperture: f/2.2
Camera focal length: 26 mm
Camera minimum focus range: 15 cm
Camera image formats: JPEG
Camera Flash Type: Xenon flash
Flash operating range: 4.0 m
Flash modes: Off, Automatic, On

Main camera features
Main camera - other features: Optical image stabilization, PureView, Backside-illuminated image sensor, 6-lens optics, High resolution zoom 3x
Digital camera add-ons: Nokia Smart Camera, Cinemagraph lens, Panorama lens, Bing vision, PhotoBeamer, Creative Studio, Nokia Glam Me, Nokia
Pro Camera

Photography apps

Nokia Pro Camera: Get the most out of the Nokia Lumia camera: it works great in Auto mode or you can take full manual control over exposure, shutter speed, ISO, white balance and focus, just like on an DSLR-camera. The different framing grids help you to frame your shot, and if you did not get the shot completely straight, don't worry - you can straighten and crop it afterwards, over and over again. Plus, for the first time ever for Nokia Lumia, we’ve included an HD video mode that records high-quality stereo sound.

Panorama: Get the bigger picture with Nokia’s easy-to-use Panorama app. Simply take your pictures and the app automatically stitches them into a picture-perfect view. Once you’re done, share your panorama directly to Twitter and Facebook.

Creative Studio: Get more out of your pictures with this quick and easy photo editor. Creative Studio’s editing tools let you quickly adjust color balance, remove red eye and apply filters. Then, share your pictures directly on Facebook and Twitter.

Nokia Smart Camera: Shoots a sequence of photos, making it easier to capture great moments. Choose your Best Shot or combine the photos into one picture, make a strobe effect to emphasize motion, remove unwanted objects or choose the best faces for great group shots.

Nokia Glam Me Lens: Glam Me is the leading face beautification app for Windows Phones. With Glam Me, you can automatically enhance your self-portraits with toning, eye resizing, teeth whitening and all sorts of artistic effects.

PhotoBeamer: PhotoBeamer is an innovative and easy way to show your pictures on any screen. Point your Nokia Lumia at any screen displaying www.photobeamer.com and enjoy your photos anywhere with family and friends. It's a mobile projector that's always at hand.

Cinemagraph: A magical blend of photo and movie-like animation, creating pictures that seem almost alive. Helpful on-screen assistance lets you select the animated area of your picture and easily create and edit a cinemagraph. You can share your cinemagraph with friends via social media, email and messaging.

Image capturing

Capture modes: Video, Still
Scene modes: Automatic, Night portrait, Sports, Night, Close-up, Backlight
White balance modes: Cloudy, Incandescent, Fluorescent, Daylight, Automatic
Light sensitivity: Automatic, ISO 100, ISO 200, ISO 400, ISO 800, ISO 1600, ISO 3200
Photos viewed by: Camera Roll, Month, Timeline, Photo editor, Favorites, Album, Photos from social networks

Secondary camera
Secondary camera resolution: 1280 x 960 pixels
Secondary camera f-number/aperture: f/2.4
Secondary camera - other features: Video recording, Still image capture, Video call, HD 1.2 MP wide angle

Video

Main video camera

Camera video resolution: 1080p (Full HD, 1920 x 1080)
Camera video frame rate: 30 fps
Camera video zoom: 6 x
Video playback frame rate: 30 fps
Video playback codecs: VC-1, Windows video, H.264/AVC, H.263, MPEG-4
Video playback file formats: MP4, WMV, AVI, 3GP, 3G2, M4V, MOV
Video recording formats: MP4/H.264
Video white balance modes: Cloudy, Fluorescent, Incandescent, Automatic, Daylight

Main video camera features

Video streaming: YouTube browsing and video streaming, Progressive video download, Streaming from video services and internet
Video recording features: Stereo Audio Recording, Video light, Video zoom, Optical image stabilization, Continuous autofocus
Secondary video camera
Secondary video camera resolution: 720p (HD, 1280 x 720)
Secondary camera video recording format: MP4/H.264

full Specs http://www.nokia.com/gb-en/phones/phone/lu...specifications/

Camera Grip - 1020mAh built-in rechargeable battery for 55 minutes more shoot time.
user posted imageuser posted image

http://www.nokia.com/gb-en/accessories/accessory/pd-95g/
super aloha
post Jul 12 2013, 08:57 AM

161 posts

this is just another nice gadget to catch, OMG I just love the Zeiss lens on it, perfect for my mobile photography, IOS and Android is something that I avoided due to dizziness and boringness of it nowadays , to focus on mainstream where it's good OS but person like me prefer taking and enjoy photo in most unique way through mobile, I will get this Lumia I guess.
SUSflar3star
post Jul 12 2013, 09:10 AM

Look like a flower , Sting like a bee.
605 posts

QUOTE(super aloha @ Jul 12 2013, 08:57 AM)
this is just another nice gadget to catch, OMG I just love the Zeiss lens on it, perfect for my mobile photography, IOS and Android is something that I avoided due to dizziness and boringness of it nowadays , to focus on mainstream where it's good OS but person like me prefer taking and enjoy photo in most unique way through mobile, I will get this Lumia I guess.
Question is , what is the SIZE of the image LOL !! its gonna be H U G E yawn.gif
lizardlim
post Jul 12 2013, 10:45 AM

134 posts

post some sample pics capture by this device???
flamestudio
post Jul 12 2013, 10:52 AM

1,758 posts

I wonder what the noise performance going to be? hmm.gif
lizardlim
post Jul 12 2013, 10:54 AM

134 posts

yeah, so many pixel in a phone sensor...
post Jul 12 2013, 05:21 PM

1,447 posts

Seems laggy the interface in all those video share online.
super aloha
post Jul 12 2013, 11:26 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Jul 12 2013, 05:21 PM)
Seems laggy the interface in all those video share online.
prototype or mass production model u saw? Did u ask them in the video? Wat ever conclusion still came discussion anyway lets see and hands on first.
Everdying
post Jul 13 2013, 12:08 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(flar3star @ Jul 12 2013, 09:10 AM)
Question is , what is the SIZE of the image LOL !! its gonna be H U G E yawn.gif
if its anything like the 808, max file size at full res should be around 8mb.

QUOTE(flamestudio @ Jul 12 2013, 10:52 AM)
I wonder what the noise performance going to be?  hmm.gif
looks like its a mix of 808 and lumia 92x...so pretty good.
Everdying
post Jul 13 2013, 12:14 AM

30,735 posts

but its win8...so im staying away from it for now until it stabilizes.
by then there will probably be a lumia 1200 or whatever tongue.gif
danny_sp15
post Jul 13 2013, 07:46 AM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(flar3star @ Jul 12 2013, 09:10 AM)
usually 7-11mb, depending on details and lighting. dark pics tend to have bigger size.
Rice_Owl84
post Jul 13 2013, 10:53 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 13 2013, 12:14 AM)
but its win8...so im staying away from it for now until it stabilizes.
by then there will probably be a lumia 1200 or whatever tongue.gif
What's a stable system then? I find that they all hang. I've seen friends iphones and google phones crash too.

The only main flaw of win 8 phone i see is less apps for it. But I don't use or want to have few hundred apps on my phone anyway so no problems there.
SUSchokia
post Jul 13 2013, 12:04 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Black one for me and the battery grip plus with that leather casing

Perfect. Lets put back Windows 8 Pro 64bit into the Macbook Air via parallel and Im good to go.
Icehart
post Jul 13 2013, 12:18 PM

14,906 posts

QUOTE(lizardlim @ Jul 12 2013, 10:45 AM)
post some sample pics capture by this device???

Seems to me the images are a bit over-sharpen and not as good as 808 when it comes to IQ. Still I think since this is a new release, subsequent update will probably fix this. smile.gif
Everdying
post Jul 13 2013, 01:39 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Jul 13 2013, 10:53 AM)
What's a stable system then?  I find that they all hang.  I've seen friends iphones and google phones crash too. 

The only main flaw of win 8 phone i see is less apps for it.  But I don't use or want to have few hundred apps on my phone anyway so no problems there.
apps also fall under the category of stability.
if an OS isnt fully stable, who would want to develop lots of apps for it? tongue.gif

apart from that, maybe this article may provide more info.
http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/features/it..._for_moving.php

then again, symbian is pretty stable...
in this case again, i guess it all depends on how much microsoft is willing to pay other developers to make apps for win8...just like they did for win7.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Jul 13 2013, 01:43 PM
ChinHong86
post Jul 13 2013, 01:42 PM

1,116 posts

whn will this be out a?
SUSchokia
post Jul 13 2013, 02:35 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Lumia 1020 White Paper

http://i.nokia.com/blob/view/-/2723846/dat...-whitepaper.pdf
Icehart
post Jul 13 2013, 04:11 PM

14,906 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Jul 13 2013, 02:35 PM)
Thanks rclxms.gif
Newbieeeeee
post Jul 13 2013, 05:19 PM

:)
1,286 posts

Seriously? shocking.gif The images are gonna be 13mb each if you use all 41mp. But still, wow! I love how Nokia always uses CZ lenses. The IQ is really noticeable.
danielcmugen
post Jul 13 2013, 05:58 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jul 13 2013, 12:18 PM)

Seems to me the images are a bit over-sharpen and not as good as 808 when it comes to IQ. Still I think since this is a new release, subsequent update will probably fix this.  smile.gif
Looks good thumbup.gif
I wanna buy 1 but it's gonna be above 2k, so no.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jul 13 2013, 05:59 PM
Everdying
post Jul 13 2013, 06:11 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Jul 13 2013, 05:58 PM)
Looks good thumbup.gif
I wanna buy 1 but it's gonna be above 2k, so no.
USD699...u think? tongue.gif
Icehart
post Jul 13 2013, 06:16 PM

14,906 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 13 2013, 06:11 PM)
USD699...u think? tongue.gif
AT&T exclusive 3 months off contract price is $659 brows.gif
sniper on the roof
post Jul 13 2013, 06:25 PM

23,414 posts

Will buy if it comes with ABM (Anything But Microsoft) tongue.gif
Everdying
post Jul 13 2013, 06:37 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 13 2013, 06:25 PM)
what are u on now?
linux? macos? tongue.gif
SUSchokia
post Jul 13 2013, 06:38 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 13 2013, 06:25 PM)
LOL Hypocrite

This post has been edited by chokia: Jul 13 2013, 06:43 PM
sniper on the roof
post Jul 13 2013, 06:51 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 13 2013, 06:37 PM)
what are u on now?
linux? macos? tongue.gif
QUOTE(chokia @ Jul 13 2013, 06:38 PM)
LOL Hypocrite

Hahaha... It's not like I've a choice for desktop but mobile's a different story altogether.
SUSchokia
post Jul 15 2013, 09:27 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

I hope celcom or maxis will bring the same offer like AT&T - $299.99 + Free Camera Grip if you preorder via Microsoft Store

It also comes in 32GB and 64GB variants and you have 7GB of Skydrive cloud service or just dump it to 1TB Flickr account if not enough.

source: http://www.microsoftstore.com/store/msusa/...uctID.283843000

Here's how to use the camera and create all that bokeh effect.

http://www.att.com/shop/wireless/devices/n...lumia-1020.html

Im pretty sure there will be a tweak either from 3rd party apps or custom rom for WP @ xda to increase to exposure value to 30s coz im planning to shoot Milkyway Galaxy with this thing.
Icehart
post Jul 15 2013, 12:24 PM

14,906 posts

Did I just saw 3:2 in the aspect ratio selection? drool.gif
bb100
post Jul 16 2013, 06:17 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

Aiyo. Better buy DSLR. That price can get a mid-range DSLR liao. rclxub.gif
Dwango
post Jul 16 2013, 09:53 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jul 16 2013, 06:17 PM)
DSLR cannot fit inside my long pants pocket.
bb100
post Jul 17 2013, 10:10 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Dwango @ Jul 16 2013, 09:53 PM)
DSLR cannot fit inside my long pants pocket.
Got neck strap wan mahh. I see those people carry DSLR very pro lehh. But whether they know how to shoot or not is a different story lahh. laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSchokia
post Jul 17 2013, 10:58 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by chokia: Jul 17 2013, 11:34 AM
sniper on the roof
post Jul 17 2013, 02:26 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jul 16 2013, 06:17 PM)
2 different thing altogether ... one is a phone the other is camera.

It's like why eat sushi when at the same price can get big bowl of rice.
bb100
post Jul 17 2013, 07:01 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jul 17 2013, 02:26 PM)
2 different thing altogether ... one is a phone the other is camera.

It's like why eat sushi when at the same price can get big bowl of rice.
I mean no point buying a cameraphone that costs almost like a mid-range DSLR mahh. Phone for me, at most RM1000 enough liao. I would rather spend it on a good camera.
SUSchokia
post Jul 18 2013, 06:17 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jul 17 2013, 07:01 PM)
I mean no point buying a cameraphone that costs almost like a mid-range DSLR mahh. Phone for me, at most RM1000 enough liao. I would rather spend it on a good camera.
~1,000,000,000 smartphones sold each year
~100,000 DSLR sold each year

Now compare the zero and i think more, i mean way LOT more people think totally the opposite.
danny_sp15
post Jul 18 2013, 06:39 AM

==============
3,045 posts

think of it as just buying a phone, and the camera is just an extra. when the new samsung models or iphones came out, they're similarly priced as well, but they dont have that good of a camera. yet people are crazy about it, some even camped in front of the store. so why not spend similar amount of money on a phone with much much better camera? smile.gif
coollong
post Jul 18 2013, 08:13 AM

56 posts

Buying is always endless as technology is always evolved everyday......
just take watever u like and enjoy shooting....
I am extreme hp photography with lens adapter and I do own high end dc n dslr......
Shooting is not my job but is my life...
looking forward to c wat nokia has to offer at local......
Icehart
post Jul 18 2013, 04:09 PM

14,906 posts

Sometimes dam tired of constant hanging DSLR around neck or inside bag (heavy ya know) or halau by guards.
HP photo also quite good what for web view and facebook. tongue.gif
davidletterboyz
post Jul 19 2013, 09:21 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jul 17 2013, 10:10 AM)
Got neck strap wan mahh. I see those people carry DSLR very pro lehh. But whether they know how to shoot or not is a different story lahh. laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
The best camera is the camera you have in your hand.
I used to have a Nikon D90 before downgrading to a more compact Fujifilm X100. Then I bought a Nokia 808PV. The issue is, I do not bring my X100 with me all the time. Since I got my 808PV, I only bring my X100 out from home unless it is a pre-planned event.

SUSchokia
post Jul 19 2013, 01:17 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

808 has bigger sensor right? bigger than APS-C.

I wonder how 808 onwers respond to 1020 with a tad smaller sensor but has BSI plus W8 as compared to Symbian
danny_sp15
post Jul 19 2013, 01:22 PM

==============
3,045 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Jul 19 2013, 01:17 PM)

I wonder how 808 onwers respond to 1020 with a tad smaller sensor but has BSI plus W8 as compared to Symbian
Anxiously waiting for camera review of the 1020. Hopefully they can do a shootout with the 808 as well. then i'll decide want to change or not laugh.gif
shadow_calamity
post Jul 19 2013, 10:57 PM

124 posts

bigger than aps-c sensor? err.. i dont think so..
SUSchokia
post Jul 20 2013, 04:21 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(shadow_calamity @ Jul 19 2013, 10:57 PM)
bigger than aps-c sensor? err.. i dont think so..
LOL i know just kidding, coz CNET's review really gets into me when they said.

Still, it's hard not to get excited about a modern smartphone powerful enough to replace your point-and-shoot, and possibly even your dSLR.

http://reviews.cnet.com/nokia-lumia-1020/
Xirality
post Jul 20 2013, 03:12 PM

12,176 posts

I hope the pricing can compete with LX 7 range. A good camera come with a decent phone rclxms.gif
davidletterboyz
post Jul 20 2013, 11:20 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

No bro. While the 808 sensor size is 4 times larger than mainstream smartphones, an APS-C sensor is also ~4 times larger than 808 sensor. 808 sensor size is almost as large as Nikon J1/V1 system. To be honest, Nokia is winning this mobile imaging war due to the sensor size and Zeiss optic. However, the software part can be improved; after what I had seen Apple and Samsung had done to their tiny sensors.

I own an 808. The only things that tempted me to switch is the OIS function, shorter focus distance, better dynamic range (on paper), slimmer/lighter profile, and larger screen size with doubled ppi. But all the full reso pics released so far do not look as good as 808 despite all the hype on paper. I can only tell it from my experience with 808; not side-by-side A/B comparison. I think they got the software part wrong.

This post has been edited by davidletterboyz: Jul 20 2013, 11:26 PM
SUSchokia
post Jul 20 2013, 11:31 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Jul 20 2013, 11:20 PM)
No bro. While the 808 sensor size is 4 times larger than mainstream smartphones, an APS-C sensor is also ~4 times larger than 808 sensor. 808 sensor size is almost as large as Nikon J1/V1 system. To be honest, Nokia is winning this mobile imaging war due to the sensor size and Zeiss optic. However, the software part can be improved; after what I had seen Apple and Samsung had done to their tiny sensors.

I own an 808. The only things that tempted me to switch is the OIS function, slimmer/lighter profile, and larger screen size. But so far all the full reso pics released so far do not look as good as 808. I think they got the software part wrong.
I used to be fan of WM. Flashing custom ROm was like a weekly routine. Do they still doing it for WP8?

All these mobile OSes pretty standard without Root, JB and Custom ROM
davidletterboyz
post Jul 20 2013, 11:53 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Jul 20 2013, 11:31 PM)
I used to be fan of WM. Flashing custom ROm was like a weekly routine. Do they still doing it for WP8?

All these mobile OSes pretty standard without Root, JB and Custom ROM
No idea. I only have a limited experience with WP7.5 and I had sold it to get my 808 lol.

0.0375sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:28 PM