Theory/Lessons Anybody here who learnt from Play By Ear?, Is it worthy?

MISHUGINA
post Jul 28 2013, 11:21 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(ji3gg @ Jul 19 2013, 03:03 PM)
RM120 is quiet expensive, normally it will cost only RM90 for Level 1 Piano Class.

If you want to teach your kids when they grown up, you better save your money to let them join piano class when they grown up.
RM 90 bucks?! You got to be kidding me. That's way too underpriced.
little ice
post Jul 29 2013, 12:09 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(MISHUGINA @ Jul 28 2013, 11:21 PM)
lol, abuthen? pipu think piano teacher earn sh~t load and yet they insist to pay as cheap as possible. tongue.gif
ji3gg
post Jul 29 2013, 08:20 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(MISHUGINA @ Jul 29 2013, 12:21 AM)
LOL... This is just NORMAL price =.=

QUOTE(little ice @ Jul 29 2013, 01:09 AM)
lol, abuthen? pipu think piano teacher earn sh~t load and yet they insist to pay as cheap as possible. tongue.gif
True...
allieliew
post Apr 26 2015, 09:04 PM

QUOTE(shiva.battula @ Jul 10 2013, 04:00 PM)
icon_question.gif
Hi All,

Anybody there who learnt from Play By Ear music center?  They quote 2250RM for 20 Classes on Level 1.  But The its too pricey and I m in dilemma whether its Worthy or not. 

I dont see any testimonials on this program online. Can anybody help me with your valuable feedback on this course? 
I m at the age of 32.  I want to learn Piano and want to teach my kids while they grow up.  So I would like to take your valuable feedback on this.

Kindly Reply..
Thanks a lot!

Shiva..
This is a bit late in coming but I just stumbled onto this. I just happen to know my schoolmate who, without any knowledge of music, went for the Play By Ear course and within 1 year, she sat for her Grade3 LCM exam and passed with distinction. Next year, she at for Grade 5 and Grade 6 the year after that.

You bet I was amazed. It normally takes 4 years to go for Grade 3!

I went for music lessons the conventional way and my parents have spent easily more than RM8000 for that 4 years compared to RM2250 you mentioned which my friend completed less than 1 year. I also hated my lessons. It's no fun. I was so envious of her having so much fun not to mention how much time she saved -3 years!

In that respect, 2250 vs 8000+ is peanuts lah if you include saving 3 years of hardship.

On top of that, my friend's mother decided on it because of the Money Back Guarantee.

When you mentioned "no testimonial", I got curious and did a search. I saw a lot of testimonials. What do you mean, "no testimonials"? Did you miss something?

Bonchi
post Apr 27 2015, 12:03 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(allieliew @ Apr 26 2015, 09:04 PM)
This is a bit late in coming but I just stumbled onto this. I just happen to know my schoolmate who, without any knowledge of music, went for the Play By Ear course and within 1 year, she sat for her Grade3 LCM exam and passed with distinction. Next year, she at for Grade 5 and Grade 6 the year after that.

I went for music lessons the conventional way and my parents have spent easily more than RM8000 for that 4 years compared to RM2250 you mentioned which my friend completed less than 1 year. I also hated my lessons. It's no fun. I was so envious of her having so much fun not to mention how much time she saved -3 years!

In that respect, 2250 vs 8000+ is peanuts lah if you include saving 3 years of hardship.

On top of that, my friend's mother decided on it because of the Money Back Guarantee.

When you mentioned "no testimonial", I got curious and did a search. I saw a lot of testimonials. What do you mean, "no testimonials"? Did you miss something?
Maybe your friend is musically talented to begin with perhaps? XD for my case i had a year of yamaha junior music school before going to the usual ABRSM.. my teacher let me learn grade 1 and 2 at my first year and decided for me to jump to grade 2 straight away.. it was 300 a month back in the day and i was 8 YO at that time. then grade 3 the year after and then 5 when i was 11 years old. Had a pause due to UPSR and learn grade 6 and 7 but didnt go for exams at form 1.. That was the time my mom tried me for Play By Ear. It did not go very well for me as i was too technical. (im pretty sure it's play by ear but they're teachings inclined more to jazz and improvised chords. At the time i can only play if i had the sheets sweat.gif). But i can understand that the lesson is fun as you mustly play current songs compared to baroque tons of JS bach and his cursed accented notes
pikkidok
post Apr 27 2015, 11:52 PM

102 posts

Actually not everyone can learn by ear. Some people are better than others. I think it is worth a try.
I have a good friend who learned piano on his own. He can play better than many people who were forced by their parents to learn piano.
Interest and talent quite important. Should give it a try.

Dbassnut
post May 6 2015, 09:53 AM

293 posts

Every musician should know how to play by ear. After all, we all listen by ear. smile.gif.
SUSMatrix
post May 13 2015, 01:38 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

I think it's a rip off....play by ear ..depends you have good ears or not.

Last time my music teacher once told me, some people are tone deaf, if you got talent, can learn play by ears very easily.

Me, i will suggest you save your money, go to a normal class and then learn to play by ears by watching some youtube videos. i saw some pretty good ones before.

I sometimes do play by ear...although the result not so fancy as a professional scores, but at least i get some simple results. Besides, you just improvise from there to make the song nicer once you get the basic of a song.

SUSMatrix
post May 13 2015, 01:41 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(allieliew @ Apr 26 2015, 09:04 PM)

I suspect your friend has decent talents to begin with. biggrin.gif
peggyliew
post May 13 2015, 03:35 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(MISHUGINA @ Jul 28 2013, 11:21 PM)
one year ago at puchong area just RM80. Depends on area actually. In Mount kiara beginners is RM130.

QUOTE(little ice @ Jul 29 2013, 12:09 AM)
so true.
I thought proceed to master degree could get higher rates, unfortunately that's NO.
In puchong area they can give up to 64%, in mount kiara they just give 55% for start and max to 60%comission.
allieliew
post Aug 2 2020, 11:33 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 13 2015, 01:41 PM)
I suspect your friend has decent talents to begin with. biggrin.gif
Whatever it is, to learn 12 time faster is quite a claim and even to issue a money back guarantee; they must have some special secrets they have.

If I can afford the 2250, I certainly would check them out. After all, getting the results in 1/12 the time is well worth it - my 2 cents.
samanthaLee94 P
post Aug 18 2020, 09:30 PM

Probation

kinda difficult unless really talented, youtube best teacher though haha brows.gif
Kilohertz
post Aug 19 2020, 04:28 PM

2,173 posts

is there such classes around klang valley?

0.0186sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:55 AM