Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V31, Enjoying 4.3 while waiting 4.4 Kit Kat

tigerporc
post Jul 11 2013, 03:10 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(xarmx @ Jul 11 2013, 03:01 PM)
I don't think I would be using any 4.2 rom at the moment, even the official ones if it finally comes out. The reason is because of the jkay framework and elegant theme that I'm currently using right now. Furthermore just did some tweaking with v6 supercharger, blazing fast. Wouldn't want my phone in any other way.

One question though, any of you know if perseus kernel supports init.d function by default? Trying to work with scripts at the moment
Yes Perseus kernel supports init.d scripts
tigerporc
post Jul 12 2013, 12:10 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Jul 12 2013, 11:06 AM)
isnt that a WIRELESS gamepad?
why need to add to USB otg working list? rclxub.gif
It has a wireless receiver that plugs to a USB port.
BTW neato4u - Good to know that it works with SIII.
tigerporc
post Jul 16 2013, 10:30 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(zubir2k @ Jul 16 2013, 08:55 AM)
Morning guys,

I've used the ZeroLemon 7000mAh battery since last June and I'm happy with it.
Due to my heavy usage (constant use of vid playback, web browsing, gaming) my standard battery only last half day.

With ZeroLemon, it last 2 days for me. And I'm currently on stock ROM

Appearance : Over-sized obese S3!
Feel in hand : Great.. especially when taking photos. TPU case is matte finished. Makes it good to hold.

Here's some pics (a bit blurry.. sori)
Are you on stock kernel? Does the battery remaining percentage display accurately?
tigerporc
post Aug 21 2013, 03:45 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(hanaxxaru @ Aug 21 2013, 03:18 PM)
has anyone faced problem like delay in receiving message from whatsapp?

i don't know if the problem came from the whatsapp server or wifi router or my phone.. do kernel related to this problem?
Are you a Maxis Home Fibre user? Some reports of this issue in the Broadband User-2-User forum...
tigerporc
post Sep 2 2013, 11:27 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Sep 2 2013, 10:02 AM)
guys, anyone try to log in maybank2u using dolphin? i cant log in..any tweaks?
Set the User Agent to Desktop (instead of Mobile)
http://dolphin.com/dolphin-for-android-phone-faqs/
tigerporc
post Sep 3 2013, 10:15 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Sep 3 2013, 08:17 PM)
S3 drop until rm1066 : sweat
At this time, if you still have an S3 (from 1st batch) and are itchy for an upgrade, I think no point sell or trade in. Just keep as spare phone or do a hand-me-down tongue.gif
tigerporc
post Sep 5 2013, 03:57 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 5 2013, 03:19 PM)
same here
but I want buy the galaxy gear 1st
USD 300, ETA RM 1k for it =.=
hopefully got some note 3 features ..
Hmm, don't think you can make do by buying Galaxy Gear first, it seems that to date, only Note 3 has been announced to be supporting Galaxy Gear...
tigerporc
post Sep 16 2013, 09:58 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(olygopoly @ Sep 16 2013, 08:27 AM)
any resolution to this ? planning to get one but afraid i'll get the insane chip
No resolution other than motherboard change, if you buy a new phone you can always request to check and find out if it is old stock. First batch is probably around Jun-Aug 2012 time, not likely you get first batch...
tigerporc
post Sep 19 2013, 08:53 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Sep 19 2013, 08:06 AM)
Whenever you buy new USB cable make sure you test it with GCC to ensure Current_now = 999, Current_avg and Max is 1000.

Last week brought one S3 USB cable after testing the reading for Avg and Max only 600, yesterday went to change but seller out of stock for S3 but luckly he willing to exchange with Note 2 USB cable and now my GCC reading as per stated.

If possible bring along your adapter to test it on the spot.

thumbup.gif
Very common for those colorful no brand 1m cables to be able to produce only 600mAH with 1A charger; nowadays as you said have to test or else buy branded cables...

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Sep 19 2013, 08:25 AM)
Walau leh, wish to have safestrap recovery for S3 and we can flash as many custom we wish to without disturbing our stock ROM.. drool.gif

http://www.sammobile.com/2013/09/18/att-an...strap-recovery/
I don't think that article is correct anymore about this "Samsung has never been a manufacturer that wants to prevent its customers from loading custom ROMs onto its devices"... they rolled out Knox enabled bootloaders in the latest S4 US firmware. Once installed, any custom ROM or etc will cause the 'speculated efuse' to trigger and from then on the Knox Warranty void (and Samsung warranty as well...)

Knox Warranty on new I9505 ROMs

Don't think this apply to SIII hardware (even when they start rolling out 4.3) but since S4 affected (quite possibly Note 3 as well)

This post has been edited by tigerporc: Sep 19 2013, 09:04 AM
tigerporc
post Sep 19 2013, 03:22 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Sep 19 2013, 10:10 AM)
Samsung may not preventing from rooting but putting indicator to void warranty. Don't you think is related? shocking.gif

The article also saying 'but U.S. carriers like AT&T and Verizon have a polar opposite policy and often lock down their devices’

With SafeStrap stock ROM remain untouch could also meant the indicator never change and S4 user can continue to flash other ROM on top of the Stock ROM.
Yes, US telcos often have locked devices due to the phone subsidy they provide with their plans, so that is understandable but this is very likely to be for all their new flagship phones.

Samsung KNOX is basically Samsung's initiative to make their devices secure to get the US DOD approval and for Enterprises BYOD requirements. FYI Blackberry and iOS 6 is already compliant.

But for them to do it to their flagship phones which us normal consumers buy is really damning for anyone who chose Samsung over HTC etc for the ability to 'restore warranty' by reflashing stock firmware. vmad.gif

EDIT: Looks like only choice is to get the Google Play edition of the Samsung Phones (but that is not available here...) blink.gif

This post has been edited by tigerporc: Sep 20 2013, 11:10 AM
tigerporc
post Sep 20 2013, 11:13 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Sep 20 2013, 11:04 AM)
in direct response to apple releasing iwork for free.
apple's pages,numbers, and keynote are really awesome apps.

google finally adding documents into the os as well.
competition is great.
Yupe rclxms.gif finally Google is making sure android phones and tablets have ability to professionally edit MS Office files for FREE (rather than 'depend' on Kingsoft Office or Polaris Office for Samsung phones)

NOTE: Faster install QuickOffice and link to Google Drive before September 26, 2013 to get the additional free 10GB.

This post has been edited by tigerporc: Sep 20 2013, 03:31 PM
tigerporc
post Sep 23 2013, 10:29 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(qhalidx @ Sep 23 2013, 09:49 PM)
question, after the new ota update my root is gone so i did the chainfire odin cf-auto root.
the auto root ran without any problem but the Super User i got from play market cannot be updated and previously rooted app suddenly hangs. any idea why?
Did you download the correct version of auto-root? Make sure it was latest version as well.
After CF Auto Root is flashed (you definitely have root but maybe SuperSU will not work), you should try to run SuperSU.

If it does not run, then you should have been able to go to Google Play and download the latest SuperSU. (Please note that SuperSU and Superuser are not the same and you cannot have both installed/running at the same time)

If SuperSU can run, then you should go to settings and go to Reinstall (Cleanup for reinstallation from Google Play) then reinstall from Google Play.

This post has been edited by tigerporc: Sep 23 2013, 10:30 PM
tigerporc
post Sep 24 2013, 01:39 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Sep 23 2013, 11:42 PM)
i'm using superuser & supersu on the same time.
What is the point of that ? rclxub.gif
There can only be one superuser.apk in /system/apps/ anyway

QUOTE(dark_axl21 @ Sep 24 2013, 12:39 AM)
I've been on WanamLite for quite some time now, looking for something fresh with exFAT support, don't wanna have that 4GB limitation.
Well, sometimes I use my phone as a portable file storage, and some video files of mine are huge, way over 4GB. So I wouldn't want to convert that and directly watch it off my laptop.  tongue.gif
Yupe, exfat support is important for me for all these reasons as well icon_rolleyes.gif
Alternative USB OTG (NTFS mount) is too troublesome sometimes...

This post has been edited by tigerporc: Sep 24 2013, 01:43 AM
tigerporc
post Sep 24 2013, 01:58 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(jokeserv @ Sep 24 2013, 10:37 AM)
Hi situ. Need some help for my friend. I suspect his s3 motherboard is faulty. His phone at the moment is unable to charge. Even with charger connected the battery will drop.  Only way to charge is to switch off the phone but that also will increase a bit over night. Never full. I swapped cables for him still sane problem. Tested his battery on my s3 then charging seemed normal. What may be the problem? How much does it cost to replace motherboard?  Btw he sent for warrant and they factory reset the phone and said charging is normal.
Must be a charging port problem, if send to Samsung, will need motherboard replacement to fix. Too risky to DIY fix the port (search on XDA). Try again and see if can claim warranty, Many months ago, I saw a woman at the Petaling Jaya Service Center complain she has come and send phone/cable for warranty 3 times already but still not fix slow charging (must not have replaced her motherboard, maybe just factory reset and change charger/cable); if she can do it, you can too biggrin.gif

Need to avoid getting sweat/water on the bottom of the phone... but should just try claim for warranty anyway until you get a rejection.

This post has been edited by tigerporc: Sep 24 2013, 02:00 PM
tigerporc
post Sep 25 2013, 11:23 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjack228 @ Sep 25 2013, 07:19 PM)
@kurtcobain77 thankyou , the firmware solve my problem . So does this means I can't flash m'sia rom or other custom rom to avoid 'emergency call only' problem ?  blush.gif  thanks
If you want to use other ROM, you can as long as you still stay on this modem as your EFS is now v2. See this link for the XXEMG4 modem flashable zip.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...65&postcount=15
tigerporc
post Sep 27 2013, 04:54 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 27 2013, 04:04 PM)
aduh just now open play store, saw malay word
and say play book is available =.=
and saw some book I purchased already ????
Any books you have viewed before (as in view inside) even if cost is USD0 or FREE on Google Books web site while logged in will appear as purchased.
tigerporc
post Sep 28 2013, 05:20 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(dark_axl21 @ Sep 28 2013, 04:24 PM)
Guys,  say when you're switching from a Samsung based ROM towards another say ROM that's ASOP based, how do you recover your apps? Titanium backup?

Just curious would there be implications when restoring the apps after flashing another ROM that was developed based on different sources.
If the apps are from Google Play originally, why worry about compatibility issue if you are restoring back to the same phone? The apps after restore should still work (and if you restore app+data, you should not have to do anything else at all...)

And if you are using Titanium Backup, you can backup and restore Android ID as well so even if apps are linked to that, you should be fine...

Edit: Only possible issue I foresee is if your new ROM is based on different Android versions like 4.1.1/4.1.2 and your backups are from 4.0.4)... but that is app compatibility problem right...?

This post has been edited by tigerporc: Sep 28 2013, 05:33 PM
tigerporc
post Sep 28 2013, 05:54 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(dark_axl21 @ Sep 28 2013, 05:42 PM)
Because I was planning to try out some 4.3 ROMs
But I'm using 4.1.2 currently
Well... I am not planning to use any 4.3 ROM (though SlimBean seems good)
But I would think that as long as those Custom ROMs have GApps installed working and tested, you should have no problems with App+Data restore. Maybe others who have specific 4.3 ROMS can pitch in with their advice hmm.gif

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 28 2013, 05:42 PM)
you are not the only 1
most of us here also want to try 4.3
So true... but I am more waiting for Kernel sources for Perseus kernel to be updated to be able to run 4.3 Samsung Stock (BUT if it does not ever happen, then no choice, have to choose a stable 4.3 ROM like dark_axl21) nod.gif

This post has been edited by tigerporc: Sep 28 2013, 05:56 PM
tigerporc
post Sep 28 2013, 10:54 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(NXaqua @ Sep 28 2013, 10:39 PM)
Fella guys,

Read the front page but still unable to find solution to my charging problem.

Am using original Samsung charger & cable but unable to charge as I noticed the icon display named MTP connection and not the charging icon.

How do I change the mode from MTP connection back to charging mode?

Thanks in advance.
There is NO disabling of charging mode, just disconnecting from the PC or disconnect from SIII (via the Settings)
Your cable probably is only usable for sync and not charging. Change the cable...
tigerporc
post Oct 1 2013, 10:47 PM

391 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Oct 1 2013, 06:38 PM)
Thanks you guys, sent it to the SC@1U last night and they reset the entire phone. But still had to leave it there with them cause they want to run some test or something to make sure 100% normal then only return it. Is that normal?  blush.gif
Yes normal; you should hope they thoroughly test for you. If they still find problems, they can change the motherboard in less than half a day.

QUOTE(narutokun83 @ Oct 1 2013, 06:07 PM)
Decided to try Cyanogenmod after so many friends is using it. I've tried 10.1.3 and also 10.2, stable and nightly... both causes my phone to freeze unexpectedly. No rhyme or reason when and how it freezes, sometimes browsing FB it freeze, sometimes after long usage it freeze.
Need a recommendation on a ROM like slimbean (minus the small icons) and with loud MP3 player and ringtone tweaks.
1st batch of S3? Unlikely that CyanogenMod will cause such problems. After wipe+flash, you reinstall the apps+data using Titanium backup? Maybe just some bad apps.

Else could be the start of SDS issues, mine also was 1st batch and I could get it to freeze just by using the wifi (browser, facebook etc). It will not unfreeze (have to power off/on) If someone calls, the person will just hear the ringing tone.

QUOTE(ArthurMickey @ Oct 1 2013, 10:32 PM)
i did that..i using odin to flash..
im will wipe everything later and do factory reset..
i suspect my power button spoil...
You suspect power button causes your issue? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by tigerporc: Oct 1 2013, 11:00 PM

0.0523sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:36 AM