Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V31, Enjoying 4.3 while waiting 4.4 Kit Kat

lloyd1030
post Sep 24 2013, 05:55 PM

272 posts

Hi, all the sifu here. I have been wanting to flash my S3 to a custom rom but I am a little bit concern because my S3 has what they call the insane chip, the one that would brick your phone. What should I be looking out if I decided to go forth and root and flash it?

Thank you all in advance for all the help. smile.gif
lloyd1030
post Sep 25 2013, 09:52 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Sep 24 2013, 08:47 PM)
VTU00M 0xf1 rite? i also worried but after warranty end, i straight away flash. b4 that i did a lot homework. so just go for it nothing wrong. think positive.  flex.gif
After I look up forums and Google a bit, it seems that we need to use the right kernel of latest firmware, then it will be fine. Might I ask what rom are you using right now? I am actually thinking of flashing mine to the latest CM 10.1 that is already released as a stable version for S3.
lloyd1030
post Sep 25 2013, 12:10 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Sep 25 2013, 11:21 AM)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2362743 >> read this 1st (personally i didn't read but u should)

1) You want root only. No custom ROMs, kernels etc. Just root, just to use root apps.

CF Auto Root Via Odin

Why? Tried and tested method, simple to use. No need to choose what exploit you want to use as it's tailored for your device.
What does it do? It gives you a stock recovery (so can't flash things) and roots the Android OS

2) You want to flash custom ROMs / Kernels

If you want root on your existing Android ROM, you can do 1) first. Then flash a recovery of your choice (CWM, Philz, TWRP) via Odin
However, if you immediately plan on flashing a ROM, there's no need to root your existing ROM. Simply skip straight to installing a recovery. Backup then flash what you like.

i faced some issue when wanna root my phone. don't know y CF-Auto-Root http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1957273 & ClockworkMod Touch 6.0.3.2 http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1719744 r not working then i try this http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1703488 but too complicated for me so i end up using CF-Root 6.4 http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1695238

FYI, u can try latest root method Framaroot http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2130276
u need recovery http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2002953 or http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2200501

u can flash http://get.cm/?device=i9300
read here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2382573

now i'm using http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1797109

*nothing to do with kernel. rmb don't play with bootloader. i haven't flash any kernel yet. the CM rom come with kernel itself. just simply pick one u prefer. rmb always read carefully & follow the instruction. good luck!
Thank you very much for your detailed explanation. notworthy.gif It is time to explore and start the rooting and flashing. thumbup.gif
lloyd1030
post Sep 25 2013, 02:19 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Sep 25 2013, 12:44 PM)
i highly recomend flash slimbean build 8 stable version, instead of cm10.1.3 stable.

CM is 168MB and need download another Gapps that is 87MB
slimbean is just 92.6MB inclusive of gapps already. 

slimbean have all of CM features, and some customization from aokp.
both rom are identical in terms of stability and smoothness.
Thanks for the recommendation. I will check it out.
lloyd1030
post Sep 26 2013, 05:59 PM

272 posts

Did anyone backup their EFS here? I read from a lot of sources and it is very important that we backup our EFS if not we might risk losing the most fundamental functionality of the phone which is the network connection.

0.0232sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:51 PM