Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V31, Enjoying 4.3 while waiting 4.4 Kit Kat

Dannyl
post Jul 8 2013, 10:18 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Jul 8 2013, 09:50 AM)
And yes samsung sucks less coz u get to control your own device instead of having so many locks on it and even parts are comparatively speaking not exorbitant unlike the other company whose name also begins with S.
Samsung is the best of the worst. And the lesser of all evils.

BTW, is it Sony? Why so secretive?
Dannyl
post Jul 12 2013, 10:19 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 12 2013, 08:05 AM)
XeactorZ

Can you add this to the list of 'Working Hardware via USB connector OTG'
Logitech F710 Wireless Gamepad

Both digital and analog stick work. Buttons works too thumbup.gif
Nice gamepad for wireless gaming!
Now I need a HDMI connector laugh.gif
Can we use PS2 controllers to connect to S3?
Dannyl
post Jul 16 2013, 12:57 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 15 2013, 11:26 PM)
today already received a bad news to me in Singapore, which is next monday I got a presentation which is 1st group doh.gif
*lucky draw by my another group mate ~.~

what a super duper lucky draw ...
1st group is best, no expectation, no other groups to beat.
Dannyl
post Jul 19 2013, 02:22 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(raysaw @ Jul 19 2013, 12:38 PM)
anyone using miui rom? how is it? fast, stable? battery saver?
I'm on MIUIAndroid 3.7.12. Launcher slows down sometimes, but clearing memory solves it.

Compared with stock-based ROM, the drawback of this MIUI version:
No system volume
Ringtone and notification volume is combined
No camera low-light mode
Worse battery life than ARHD

The advantages are like monitoring your app permissions (number of times requested, which are denied, which are allowed), control auto-start apps, super easy themeing, big fat icons (bigger than Nova Launcher's 130%), clean UI, etc.

I keep alternating between MIUI and ARHD. If you want fast and battery saver, MIUI is not for you.
Dannyl
post Jul 19 2013, 05:13 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(martian7793 @ Jul 19 2013, 03:59 PM)
i buy my s3 at end of april..and since last 2 day..i was unable to charge my s3..but after i detach the usb cable from my charger..and plug in with my friend sony xperia sl usb cable..its work..so i wanna ask..is usb cable under warranty?will they change a new cable for me?
Accessories (battery, charger, cable) warranty period is 6 months.

QUOTE(rickk @ Jul 19 2013, 04:49 PM)
Mind to explain what is miui? Just simple explain. If not mistake, aokp means pure android, right

Tq
MIUI is a firmware from China for the Xiaomi series of phones. There are official builds for some popular phones like S3, Nexus, Note 2, etc. Even for not-so-popular phones, there are ports. It is not open source.

http://en.miui.com/
Dannyl
post Jul 24 2013, 09:07 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jul 23 2013, 11:28 PM)
I only stick with Umobile because it have good coverage in my area.
Been thinking of switching to Celcom, but too busy to work it out yet..
(because if I switch, I'll be bringing my wife and the whole family with me to that telco).
If you ever switch, update me. My wife and I are on DiGi, she's a supp line. Like you, if I switch, I'll be bringing her along. We call less, more on data. Thanks smile.gif
Dannyl
post Jul 29 2013, 12:40 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(RViN @ Jul 27 2013, 11:11 PM)
Anyone got any similar ROMs to recommend? I've only ever used stock and Wanamlite, so thinking of trying something a bit more different.
I believe there are only 3 types of ROMs which are different from each other: AOSP/AOKP-based, stock-based, or MIUI.
Dannyl
post Aug 9 2013, 10:12 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

I like the stock camera functions, like Low Light, etc. Any AOSP ROM have similar function? Tried SuperNexus but the camera UI is totally different and there's no Low Light.
Dannyl
post Aug 11 2013, 12:22 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Aug 10 2013, 02:34 PM)
saw 2 great ebay deals.
share with you guys.

10 pieces screen protector for RM6.15
http://www.ebay.com.my/itm/10-pcs-Clear-Sc...=p2057037.m2215

and

3 piece screen protector for RM3.8
http://www.ebay.com.my/itm/3x-Clear-Screen...#ht_3695wt_1175

ebay things are surprisingly cheap.
i bought a battery with NFC from ebay too, cost me RM46
The cost is cheap. Now you know the profit margin of shops.

QUOTE(Joelles @ Aug 10 2013, 09:45 PM)
Original Receipt? I don't have one coz I bought from a forumer to redeem it from their CC. Anyway I have registered it through E-Warranty, will that helps? Any SC will exchange?
Yes eWarranty is enough for your purpose. I've tried it One Utama and Berjaya branches.
Dannyl
post Aug 14 2013, 07:38 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Aug 14 2013, 12:08 AM)
If no root, how u flash CM 10.2?
I believe no need root to flash custom ROM. Just need custom recovery.
Dannyl
post Aug 14 2013, 02:28 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Aug 14 2013, 09:25 AM)
To install custom recovery you need to root, so the answer is need to root lah.. biggrin.gif
I thought to install custom recovery, you just need to flash with Odin at Download Mode? Root only required if the custom recovery keeps getting overwritten by the stock recovery (special case).
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1719744
Dannyl
post Aug 17 2013, 03:12 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Aug 15 2013, 11:56 AM)
i think face this issue

Stock Recovery being reflashed after a reboot?
There is an auto recovery restore system on stock roms that will reflash the Stock Recovery on a Stock Rom. If the restore files are renamed then CWM Recovery should not be overwritten after a reboot.

You need to be rooted and then delete or rename the following files:
Quote:
/system/recovery-from-boot.p
/system/etc/install-recovery.sh
You can then flash recovery without it being overwritten.

my bro s2 don't have this issue.
Posting source is good too:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1719744
Dannyl
post Aug 18 2013, 09:14 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(arju @ Aug 17 2013, 06:44 PM)
any good roms besides wanamlite 4.1.2, getting boring in rom space.
want to try other. near stock rom and AOSP rom.
Only 3 types of ROM: stock-based like ARHD, AOSP-based like SuperNexus (mostly look the same but slightly different features), and MIUI-based like MIUIAndroid.
Dannyl
post Sep 4 2013, 09:54 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Aug 31 2013, 08:33 PM)
-fixed-

eh... nobody use MIUI rom?
I use MIUIAndroid from time to time. Excellent UI and theming. Sometimes use SuperNexus but cannot stand the camera quality. Mostly just use ARHD. Come to think of it, haven't played with MIUI for a couple of months. Maybe will flash soon to see if there's any improvements smile.gif
Dannyl
post Sep 5 2013, 01:30 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Sep 4 2013, 10:12 AM)
camera quality varies between aosp (supernexus) and touch wiz (ARHD) rom?
To me, it's different. TouchWiz has the excellent Low Light mode which I couldn't find in SuperNexus. Do any AOSP ROM have it?
Dannyl
post Sep 5 2013, 07:22 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Sep 5 2013, 03:02 PM)
You mean night mode?
The original stock aosp camera don't have.

But custom aosp rom like aokp slim bean rrootbox etc have modded aosp cam. So they have scene mode like touch wiz cam. The night mode works well.

In xda themes and apps section. There is a touch wiz cam for aosp rom also. I have it too but seldom use it. I prefer the default modded aosp cam that comes with slim bean
Gonna give this SlimBean a whirl. Seems like many users are on it in this thread.
Dannyl
post Sep 7 2013, 06:39 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(rex82 @ Sep 6 2013, 09:48 AM)
hi all,

you gut encounter issue using headphone for S3? when i using the headphone the volume will go up and down automatically. Sometime it will off itself and when to vibration mode.

i force to set the volume back to middle it will decrease down automatically...
I just encountered this the other day. Was using some Sony earphones. Didn't happen with my regular earphones (also not Samsung's). I think it's the earphone connector. You try another pair and see if it happens.
Dannyl
post Sep 10 2013, 10:12 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Sep 9 2013, 08:55 AM)
i strongly agree using silicon tpu or rubbery case that are bendable.
those hard plastic case that are not bendable are useless, just protect from scratches but 0 protection from fall.

i use the mercury case, rubbery kind, during a drop it helps absorb impact.
not saying 100% unbreakable, but chances of survival much much higher than hard case.

another important thing to consider is the case must have some protrusion at the front,
so that when the phone is face down on the table, the case is touching the table instead of the glass
Agreed fully. Hard case offers no drop protection, may scratch the chrome, and normally don't cover top and bottom. I'm still using cheapo transparent TPU, phone still looks like new plus can see my Ironman battery cover tongue.gif but hands itching for Mercury jelly.
Dannyl
post Sep 14 2013, 07:27 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Sep 13 2013, 10:53 PM)
always rmb wanna buy adidas go the shop only sell adidas product. if a shop sell other brand mostly fakey. nowadays ppl r cunning just to earn money only.
So buy Samsung phones at Samsung official store only? hmm.gif
Dannyl
post Sep 14 2013, 07:41 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Sep 14 2013, 05:03 PM)
damn.. never thought this would happen but it actually did. My Note 2 kena curi, and I didn't install any tracking or wiping app. Guys, please install immediately before it is too late.
Sorry to hear that, bro sad.gif

0.0589sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:18 PM