[WTS] Please close, mod!, Thanks!

TSshinz
post May 12 2006, 04:27 PM, updated 17y ago

71 posts

intend to design t-shirt for sale. but i wonder how and where to start?
is there any software to design t-shirt.
how about photoshop? just send a .psd file to the printing shop and they'll print for you?

This post has been edited by shinz: Dec 13 2008, 11:01 PM
etsuko
post May 12 2006, 05:07 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

i think before you ask how do you start a t-shirt business, you'll need to ask yourself..

how serious do you want to take your business?

are you trying to build a brand? do you plan to make a living doing this business? what's the business in 5 years down the road? are you even prepared to start a business?

once you've answered those questions yourself, you can then go about planning a t-shirt business properly.

- target market
- quality or quantity
- the right price
- the shipping
- the warranty
- the expansion

to design a t-shirt, you can either use Illustrator, Photoshop, Freehand, Fireworks and etc but it'll boil down to what software does the printer support. you'll need to learn about DPI as well.
junkieG
post May 12 2006, 09:31 PM

DIGITAL ERA
2,687 posts

in my opinion lar...

i assume u know nothing bout photoshop and such...therefore, i seriously recommend u to hire 1 good profesional designer for ur t-shirt...coz i think u wanna be the boss to ur company and ur not doin it because of passion and such...so, i think u better forget bout learning photoshop and concentrate more on management and marketing strategy

have u started ur marketing planning and strategy?

do u have any contact to become ur reseller?? dont tell me once u print all those 20k t-shirt and suddently nobody wanna buy em'...get some order then supply!

do u have the money to start ur business...?? coz when u wanna move around also need money right? i suggest i make a loan (avoid loan shark or ahlong...) legit one of course...why? so dat u can feel the presure if u cant get ur tshirt to sell!!!!

imagine,

u have the men power (designer), u have the money (to realize ur business) u have done ur market research...u know whos ur target audience and at whut price they willing to pay u, have ur own "standard" when it comes to quality, u oredi have a company bank account, u oredi have an order from reseller who want ur t-shit, u oredi have at least 6 month salary for ur designer inside ur bank, u oredi provide ur designer wiff 1 decent computer machine, ur family being supportive, u dont need/have a boyfriend , u love being challenge to deliver whut ever task.....

ouh well....dats all i could think of rite now...i wish u all the best and again, forget bout being a designer and concentrate more or ur business....just follow whut master etsuko sayz...coz i know he is talking via observation and experience...

regards!

jayhan
post May 12 2006, 10:41 PM

7 ☆ DSLR noob
2,707 posts

get urself a silkscreen tools

here is my lil attempt:
the silkscreen (spoilt)

the tee

dun send out ppl print lah, u wont earn many, all do it yourself

...and first, u can try sell ur t-shirts to ur frens, ask their opinion

then u might thinking of selling ur shirts on net (maybe at forum, LYN here oso can, hehe, or maybe, get urself a web and sell online)

----
all suggestion here was refered to wat my man SHEPARD FAIREY was doing (silkscreen roxxor) notworthy.gif and eleven18 (damn talented msia artist, saw his video on how to do silkscreen at home notworthy.gif)

----
checked ur signature's links:

seems that u r experienced seller, nice, no wonder has this idea, why dun ya DIY mix and match tee shirts, since u got do the lil' tiny thingy, it might can sew on shirts?

btw, ur bracelet web need to refine lah

This post has been edited by jayhan: May 12 2006, 11:02 PM
nada-
post May 13 2006, 12:46 AM

264 posts

Before one thinks of this whole t-shirt business as I can clearly see the trend now, one should also think about whether they themself can design and their designs will sell.

The process of silkscreening is an old one and has been done for a long time. It might be cheap, but silk screening is also a tedious process and not everyone will be able to do it. What if you have more than 4 - 5 colours on your shirt? I know this because I sell t-shirts that I design and I use the method of silkscreening. Yes you cut down on cost bu the big set back is that you are limited to a few colours.

No offence but I see there is no logic to sell just only to your friends or to ask for their support. The problem is not cost here, but quality of design. Is your own design able to compete with current brands in the market and are you able to market your brand well? Selling t-shirts if done long term is not like selling it at a pasar malam. It is a tedious process and silkscreening one is the least of your matters.

Estuko already has listed a few, but would you have the contacts for tailors or wholesalers that provide good t-shirts? finding market price and how much your own products are worth. Estimating the quantity and making a business and financial plan,
to marketing and branding your t-shirts. Quality control and breaking even

You will have to seriously workout cost first and what is the reality and the amount of people that actually are willing to shop in malaysia via online? The idea of selling t-shirts or starting your own clothing business might sound very appealing but most people dont think long term and have a wider scope of the whole issue.

At the end of the day its the quality of your t-shirt (cutting) and your designs. No point having good marketing and silkscreens if your t-shirt designs are not good at all. Its a WHOLE process

This post has been edited by nada-: May 13 2006, 12:48 AM

0.0121sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:04 PM