wildwestgoh
post Sep 14 2014, 07:11 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(pakji @ Sep 14 2014, 01:17 AM)
many user lowyat forum 840 evo why to much buy
seen got trouble
why lowyat forum people like to buy 840 evo  rclxub.gif
doh.gif Are you asking yourself this question?
This is because it's the best performance over value right now, which is why everyone WERE recommending it.
wildwestgoh
post Sep 16 2014, 03:59 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(pakji @ Sep 16 2014, 01:42 PM)
that site .overclock.net
they dont have any problem speed low for 840 PRO  rclxub.gif
840 EVO OLD FILE affected bad speed
EVO = issues old file affected speed slow
PRO = no complaint no there  issues

daam i must take PRO i buy mistake EVO
i will sell and i buy 850 PRO 1TB X2  cry.gif
Selling? Unless you can throw at half the price, I expecting risk of shipping them back to Amazon. sweat.gif
wildwestgoh
post Sep 18 2014, 06:22 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(sapits @ Sep 18 2014, 06:01 PM)
guys i have a budget around rm300 planning to buy ssd and im using a desktop,my requirement is 120gb only so pls guys give me suggestion which ssd is the best..thx..i have a some brand in my mind rite now which is samsung 840 evo,plextor m6s,intel seriess..any other suggestion ? thxx in advance
Samsung EVO which is within your budget is to be AVOIDED for the time being until there's news of it being fix.
Intel 530 will fit your bill nicely, plus with 5-year of warranty, you don't have to worry for quite a long time.
Best performance will still be Samsung EVO but with its current issue (read few pages back), it's not recommended (for the time being).
Plextor M6s, I don't know about that price but if you can find one, the performance is considerable better than Intel 530 but with only 3-year warranty, that's if you only care about overall performance. wink.gif
wildwestgoh
post Sep 18 2014, 06:41 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(sapits @ Sep 18 2014, 06:29 PM)
yeah i did read this thread and find samsung evo got problem..i dunno my friend suggest m6s because he's using m5s w/o any problem..but u knoe that we might use dis for a long time and i might look at intel530 as ur suggestion..btw thanks for ur suggestion
For your reference, but the price may vary. wink.gif
http://ssd.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Plext...20GB/2225vs1934
If you care about reliability over performance, Intel is the way to go.
I just recently installed Intel 530 120GB for one of my client and it's extremely fast, less than 10 seconds (from power button press) to desktop with his 2-year-old HP machine.
wildwestgoh
post Sep 22 2014, 07:08 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(hairy9802 @ Sep 20 2014, 11:47 PM)
hi..need opinion from u guys to upgrade my ssd..which 1 better

Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB
Intel 530 240GB
Crucial MX100 256GB
Plextor M6S 256GB

Performance: Plextor M6S
Warranty/value: Intel 530

QUOTE(toya02 @ Sep 22 2014, 12:42 AM)
hello guys, im going to purchase a ssd, which on my mind WAS samsung 840 120gb until i read these posts, is intel 530 better than hyperx 3k? heard the performance are more towards hyperx 3k, price too eventhough is an old ssd.

my ssd is gona be purely for os/boost drive. Should i raid with my WD blue 1tb? or don do anything. Raid 1 btw
Intel 530 for value, Kingston has make a bad reputation of themselves right now so I don't recommend it.
RAID1 (and above) basically only redundancy, even the SCSI 10k rpm drive won't boot as fast as SSD. whistling.gif
wildwestgoh
post Sep 24 2014, 07:05 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Sep 24 2014, 12:45 AM)
I got some time; upgraded to a 850 Pro today smile.gif

Is that a Dell XPS13? hmm.gif Looks familiar (the back).
wildwestgoh
post Sep 24 2014, 03:46 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Sep 24 2014, 08:19 AM)
Sharp eyes Bro. It's a XPS 15.  rclxms.gif
Oh, XPS15, I guess they're using same body design. sweat.gif
Anyway, what was the original storage? HDD?
I think the XPS13 is using m-SATA for its storage. hmm.gif
wildwestgoh
post Sep 30 2014, 08:19 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Sep 30 2014, 07:20 AM)
Haven't buy anything yet, searched for Apacer SSD reviews for this particular model but none so far.
Actually I am eyeing for capacity of 12xGB and the price given:-
HyperX Fury RM245
HyperX 3K RM260  lust.gif << some sellers is selling about RM299-RM310 price range)
Intel 530 RM250
hmm.gif Why not Intel? Seems to be on the same league and performance, with 2 more years of warranty to boot, nice value.
wildwestgoh
post Oct 11 2014, 08:05 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(eugene88 @ Oct 11 2014, 02:32 AM)
MX100 256GB or Samsung EVO 250GB? Almost same price..  sweat.gif
User benchmarks, you can take this as a reference guide for your SSD decision.
http://ssd.userbenchmark.com/Compare/Samsu...56GB/1594vs2317
wildwestgoh
post Oct 28 2014, 10:26 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Oct 27 2014, 08:57 PM)
hi guys if plan to get  120gb ssd
price around 3xx
or should i top up till 4xx for get a 250gb ssd ?
Topup if you're able to, since the capacity, performance/price ratio is lower.
wildwestgoh
post Oct 29 2014, 06:44 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Oct 28 2014, 04:30 PM)
Ok
budget raise till 450
Try ask lingloong from garage sales, his Intel 530 240GB should fit your bill, may topup bit more to cover the postage though. hmm.gif
wildwestgoh
post Oct 29 2014, 12:59 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Oct 29 2014, 11:21 AM)
dunno go for intel 530 or samsung evo
What's your aim between those two?
Performance or warranty value?
If performance then Samsung EVO, warranty then Intel.
Real world usage won't notice any differences between those two, only when you goes into specific task like loading lots of files or any IO intensive programs.

Comparison: http://versus.com/en/intel-530-series-240g...g-840-evo-250gb
Take it with grain of salt though... just follow your instinct.. brows.gif
wildwestgoh
post Oct 29 2014, 10:21 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Oct 29 2014, 01:18 PM)
Ya  I read it already
cause saw a lot advantages for Samsung
But ssd will hard to spoil right cause my hdd use more than 7 years
If you can wait, there're some sifu here with Samsung EVO that had issue with performance for old data (more than few weeks to months), Samsung already came out with firmware fix but still need times to determine if the fix will works long term.
If you can't wait and do not want to take the risk of bad firmware (hopefully it's not sweat.gif ) then go for Intel, the firmware is one of the most reliable so far, haven heard of any issue regards their firmware. thumbup.gif
wildwestgoh
post Oct 30 2014, 07:44 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Oct 30 2014, 02:03 AM)
haha actually what the big difference compare to mlc and tlc chip?
so far i know samsung they say faster speed
intel greater warranty
correct me if i am wrong
cause still new in ssd
MLC has better endurance than TLC chips but as tech grows, it improves with how controller and firmware works to minimize the wear level in each chips, Samsung uses their developed software call Magician or whatever it is (lazy to Google tongue.gif ).
Intel however has their own R&D and they have good history of developing chipset and firmware (look at all the Intel mobo...).
Samsung also developing many NAND chips for OEM and Enterprise so their storage chips is very good, now the only thing left is probably their firmware development, of which I'm looking forward to.

QUOTE(rioven @ Oct 30 2014, 02:45 AM)
durability and reliability writes (they call Program/erase) of certain cycle. lots of information on internet such as
TLC vs MLC vs SLC
TLC MLC and SLC Devices
Flash Chiptype
It's been long since I heard/saw SLC, even more Enterprise are now uses MLC, and Samsung trying to pushes the TLC into Enterprise market. laugh.gif
wildwestgoh
post Oct 30 2014, 01:10 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Oct 30 2014, 11:42 AM)
haha
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
have a long way to do research and update knowledge
thanks a
but my mobo xien diao just support till sata 3g speed
cant max ssd speed xien
hope i am wrong it can support till 6g speed
haiz
If you don't do bulk copy all the time (copy tons of files), the sequential speed from SATAIII is not so useful, random 4K read/write is much important, just make sure you're on native chipset (Intel usually preferred for Intel mobo) for optimum performance.
Benchmark wise there's only minor difference from SATAII to SATAIII in terms of random 4K read/write so you don't have to worry if it slow till "poke" sweat.gif

My plans for my laptop is 240/250GB or 480/500GB in the future and install my current (120G) SSD to my old desktop (still using SATAII) for faster OS and games load. wink.gif That will be an unknown future time sweat.gif
wildwestgoh
post Oct 30 2014, 02:23 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Oct 30 2014, 01:35 PM)
haaha
my pc have 6 slot
then i have 5 hdd le
but problem is boot into os need 2-4 minute
cause loading speed
thats why plan to get ssd XD
Well, you can always arrange your other HDD to different slots, making sure SSD is plugged to Intel chips.
3rd party chips SATA port should have different color? Well, that depends on the mainboard model and chipset. sweat.gif
wildwestgoh
post Oct 30 2014, 02:58 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Oct 30 2014, 02:26 PM)
Uh? That long? You must either be a very patient guy, or use system hibernate alot :/
I was in the same condition as him before when I was using my previous Dell Studio 1555, even though it's Scorpio Black, it will become that slow after half-a-year. I use hibernate almost all the time when I was on my previous laptop, just to shave off a minute of boot up time, it was a terrible experience when I think back; how the hell did I had such patient? doh.gif
Now my SSD is been running for more than 9 months with Windows 8.1, shows some sign of slowing down but still capable of booting fast (worst is around 25 seconds), SSD is really amazing. brows.gif Putting more poison to newbie... brows.gif
wildwestgoh
post Oct 31 2014, 09:41 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Oct 30 2014, 07:23 PM)
u really poison me 99
but the poison of samsung more strong compare to intel
dunno why> <
u say the intel slot i dunno
cause i using alienware area 51 alx many years ago
cant find intel slot
This, you need to read the full manual for your mainboard support, the full hardware support should includes all the ports, switches, and jumpers for your mainboard.
Otherwise, you will have to find one of the Internet for the complete hardware service manual.

Ok, found this link to servicing manual for your model, but I'm not guarantee it will the very same mainboard model however.

CODE
ftp://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-products/esuprt_desktop/esuprt_alienware_dsk/alienware-area51_Service%20Manual_en-us.pdf

wildwestgoh
post Nov 1 2014, 07:36 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Nov 1 2014, 02:20 PM)
haha
if u have money
then u can think ssd
if no money how?
lol now i got 4xx think
go for samsung evo
cause see advantage of samsung evo lot XD
hope when i get software update solve their firmware problem

buy ssd they got provide bracket?
or i need to buy bracket my own
for put in my desktop?
Well, Samsung EVO is one performance value SSD for now, but there's Crucial as well. hmm.gif
If you don't mind the hanging SSD or just put it without any holder in place, SSD can be put anywhere in the case, even you do move them a lot, they're not afraid of mechanical failure (shock & vibration) cause there's none to begin with. Bracket only helpful for installing into laptops. wink.gif
wildwestgoh
post Nov 3 2014, 04:05 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Nov 3 2014, 03:42 PM)
oh just check
wao intel 530 cheaper than samsung evo 840
SSD nowadays are price according to their respective performance, warranty seems to be the 2nd thing that consumer look at right now.
The 730 will be tad expensive, but slightly faster, and also has better features such as Power lost protection, good for desktop without UPS. wink.gif

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0666sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:52 AM