24 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive

horns
post Jan 10 2015, 01:22 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jan 10 2015, 06:26 AM)

indeed...not saying must jump after 6 months but rather after you had master all your crafts in company and decided 2 venture in something new in new environment time nod.gif

back 2 the SSD,,,i think i wait 512GB drop price only will pull the triggguh...i want 2 testing game launch in SSD and thinks they are faster than in HDD
if that's the case it's a better move. work involves a lot of stuff and they are actually inter-related. it will take some time to learn them, before you can see things more practically from different angles, other than from your professional skill sets only. this helps to give much better justifications in a lot of things, and have better results in the end. there are mind barriers along the way, because many things don't simply click if you don't know how to tackle them. just overcome them as you go with open mind. it's not difficult tbh.

haha for common usage and gaming, sata ssd's are actually more than enough. there are good signs about price drop and capacity increase now. believe they will be available at much affordable price very soon.

horns
post Jan 10 2015, 11:19 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

you can have 2 choices to get a ssd. the first is to get the best premium drive, with a premium price (smaller capacity); the second is to get a mainstream drive, with higher capacity.

for general use, imo mainstream drives are fine already.

of course there is a third choice, get the premium drive with high capacity. it's up to you to decide.

if you have a good budget, you should go for samsung 850 pro. it's the best performance drive for now, with a good 10-year warranty.
horns
post Jan 11 2015, 02:14 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(sheng0729 @ Jan 11 2015, 01:40 AM)
using y50, single slot hard disk bay...120 too small...so going for 250 lo...if change new laptop can use the same ssd right
yes you can reuse it. it's just like hdd.

QUOTE(lace @ Jan 11 2015, 01:49 AM)
pcie 2 ssd
how good issit
?
do you mean to say pcie version 2.0, or x2 (2-lane) ssd?

in general pcie ssd are faster than sata ssd (depending on pcie version and the number of lanes). the minimal in the market now is pcie 2.0 x2, about 750MB/s. for x4 ssd, with ahci it's about 1 GB/s read/write (pcie 2.0); with nvme technology it can reach over 2GB/s (pcie 3.0).
horns
post Jan 11 2015, 02:20 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jan 11 2015, 02:06 AM)
Depends, PCIE SSD (lower end PCIE SSD are just m.2 SSD with PCIE adapter anyway) is faster, but you must buy the one support booting (OPROM), some PCIE are unbootable, eg the Samsung XP941.
no, if your mobo and os supports uefi, xp941 can boot without oprom. i am running one with w8.1 uefi and it works with m.2 or pcie slot (my current setup).

however if you don't have either support, yes you need the ones with oprom, like plextor drives.

edit: one more thing about m.2 ssd, there are 2 types of m.2 slot in laptops: sata-based and pcie-based. make sure you get the right one.

This post has been edited by horns: Jan 11 2015, 02:31 AM
horns
post Jan 11 2015, 08:06 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(lace @ Jan 11 2015, 05:59 PM)

something like this
oh this one is plextor m6e pcie 2.0 x2 ssd with aluminum heat sink. the current one in the market doesn't have the heat sink.
horns
post Jan 11 2015, 09:37 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(lace @ Jan 11 2015, 08:07 PM)
this one is my target hehe

pcie 3.0 x4 nvme. speed is over 2GB/s read.
horns
post Jan 11 2015, 10:17 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(lace @ Jan 11 2015, 09:46 PM)
im aiming this also
but i dunno my mobo got this slot or not
gg
you can use this whether or not you have m.2 slot. you can always get an pcie adapter for this. however take note that unlike plextor drives, it's unclear that this one has oprom for booting. if your mobo supports uefi then there will be no problem. just run windows in uefi mode.

QUOTE(tempdupe2 @ Jan 11 2015, 09:58 PM)
Some of asrock line had such slot, but it will eat into your PCIE usage for GPU though.
well yeah. it needs some plannings by referring to the mobo manual.
horns
post Jan 12 2015, 11:53 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(mrbob @ Jan 12 2015, 10:05 AM)
Current technology such as m.2 or pcie may have its disadvantages but at least you can buy them now and start deploying them. I foresee that manufacturers may bring SAS3 technology (12Gb/s) to the high-end consumers market as SATA3 (6Gb/s) reached its limits.

SAS3-based SSDs are already available and well supported in the enterprise market and its only a matter of time before we see SAS ports available on consumer motherboards.
it depends on how affordable sas can become. technology can propagate well only when it's affordable and abundant to everyone. sas is around for quite sometimes, but only a few use it in consumer space. of course 12Gb/s is an option in terms of speed, but pcie can run at even higher speed than sas (over 2GB/s, with nvme technology). about disadvantages, there might be some. however like any new technologies, they will go away eventually.

as a user, i want to get things that are readily available and most importantly, cheap. i still think the combo of sata ssd as boot/software/game drives and sata hdd as storage is good enough for personal computing in general. with ram-caching on hdd's, i don't feel any slowness in my current setup.

QUOTE(combataran @ Jan 12 2015, 10:08 AM)
My new MX100 is choking like crazy. Any ideas?

Happens every time I run something. And my H75 fans are spinning at max. Dunno why that's happening too.

These 2 problems came together after I booted up for the first time after a month.

have you tried look-ups with google? some possible reasons reported were acronis background service (uninstall it), or rst driver issue (reinstall it)
horns
post Jan 13 2015, 01:39 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(mrbob @ Jan 12 2015, 03:35 PM)
Doesn't all technologies require mass adoption to drive down the cost of manufacturing? Look at the current cost of PCIe-based storage and its acceptance among consumers. As you have demonstrated here, most consumers are still contented to be on SATA3 SSDs.

Some problems may go away but I doubt that the PCIE bus bandwidth sharing issue will go away. As GPU tech continues to improve with each iteration, more bandwidth will be required to drive the GPU. It will be interesting to see how the different manufacturers handle this bandwidth problem as the technology matures.

Why is this important? Consider the 4k video technology, at 24fps uncompressed 4K video (3840x2160, 12-bit RGB color) requires the bandwidth of approximately 900MB/s, well beyond SATA3 capability. Then again, we may have to re-engineer our data HDDs to ensure that they ARE capable of supporting 4k video in the near future. As we grow beyond 1080p, the exponential growth of data means that we will need new technology that don't limit us to 2x storage devices per PC (eg SATAe and M.2 on the existing Z97 and X99 motherboards).

Since SATA was developed to replace PATA storage technology in 2003 and successor to this decade old technology has come in the form of SATA Express (SATAe) which has a wider footprint compared with others. While the technology looks promising, its future is hazy beyond Intel Series 9 motherboards considering the shrinking real-estate of PC motherboards and whether Intel decides to integrate it to its future chipsets before we see it go mainstream. In the mean time, the next 2 years will see rapid introduction of new storage technology that promises to double the available bandwidth for storage devices.
first, pcie ssd is a new technology. i should say ssd technologies in general is still at active evolution stage. as storage, it will take quite some time to become as common and affordable as hdd today. to achieve mass adoption they started by using sata technology.

second, about pcie lane sharing, i think the actual question that needs to be answered is how more pcie lanes can be introduced to the system. evolution of new technologies almost always creates limitations to existing ones, and we cannot expect everything else to stop move forward when this happens, right? it's a good thing you know smile.gif

currently, the ideal consumer systems to make better use of pcie ssd is x99 systems. these systems have more pcie lanes than z97 ones, so you can get the best of both world. (gpu and pcie ssd; well sort of) (ok yeah i just simplify stuff in order to explain things biggrin.gif) things like 4k videos are highend stuff, that need highend hardware, which brings me to another point: price. new technologies are initially all expensive. like 4k monitors, i don't really expect high adoption in consumer space any time soon. then how do these new products earn the keep in this competitive market? before they can go mainstream, they create limitations to the existing ones, so that other hardware in a system need changes as well in order to stay in the market (while maintaining their price as competitive as possible). all in all, we consumers benefit sooner if not later. all we need is to wait for the right time biggrin.gif

by the way to solve the issue about storage bandwidth limitations, i think raid with multiple sata ssd's might be a better solution than to use ultra-speed spindle disks. as for satae, i am not really sure of its success in the future. your suggestion of adopting sas drives makes more sense.

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jan 12 2015, 06:23 PM)
Didn't know it sweat.gif
EFI booting might be good for laptop or low end PC, i don't know about Intel mobo, but AMD 900 series mobo and older does not support RAID anymore if EFI enabled.
My pc still on legacy mode which booting is far much slower than my HTPC lol doh.gif

Another way to boot the m2 SSD without OPROM probably is install the bootloader on bootable SSD/HDD, but this is just a theory.
i think there will be a day that nvme ssd supports oprom hehe (maybe by that time you already switched your system to a compatible one lol)

edit: one of the few things that makes me feel thrilled about new technologies like ssd is always the chances that technological spin-offs can happen to other matured hardware parts (most of them have only slow and little or no developments)

again, it's up to you to be early adopters of new technologies. there are risks that you must know (like incompatibility to current systems, and then there are these terrible price tags) if you don't wanna be one, tbh you have nothing to lose. we just need to be aware of these new things and put them into our wish lists if the price is right.

there are always cheaper ways to achieve the same outcomes with existing technologies. matured technologies have one common advantage: abundance. for instance, most of our systems have a lot of sata ports. if that's not enough you can grab raid cards (still affordable). the implementation is not that impressive, but it gets the job done. and it's cheaper.

This post has been edited by horns: Jan 13 2015, 10:34 AM
horns
post Jan 17 2015, 12:12 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jan 16 2015, 10:58 PM)
Why no one recommends Plextor SSD? sweat.gif
How is the Plextor SSD price in Malaysia? In Singapore here the Plextor SSD M6P price same as 840 EVO, they even gave the external enclosure at first launch.
haha here the price of plextor drives are relatively expensive.

m6p's price is the same as 840 evo?! you're so lucky :/ mlc + ram-caching + 5-year warranty, that's a damn good deal.

horns
post Jan 17 2015, 11:44 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ashraf095 @ Jan 17 2015, 07:32 PM)
Hi, asking sifu here.. Can i put 7mm ssd into 9.5mm in notebook? I dont have 9.5mm spacer. Will it fit?

Edited: One more thing, i saw people selling oem ssd e.g, micron, liteOn. I tried google it, and those oem brands got a very good score in ssd.userbenchmark. anyone using those ssd?
it will fit. no spacer required usually.

yes i tried liteon previously. for general use, no problem. the reason why oem drives are way cheaper is because the lack of warranty. other than that, they are all good.
horns
post Jan 19 2015, 02:18 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(mrbob @ Jan 19 2015, 11:13 AM)

Ditto Plextor is on the Premium level. Malaysia market too small so Plextor rather give way for Samsung and Intel. Sigh...  sad.gif
this is boring :/ previously when m5 series was around, i thought plextor had all the potentials to become one of the best options here.

so far i think idealtech sells quite a number of them. smart choice.

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jan 19 2015, 01:42 PM)
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/converge...bo-4767969.html
Price at first launch, though 840 EVO price already dropped further.
I went to shop yesterday i think they still have the external enclosure left lol sweat.gif

It's so damn cheap you can pretty much forget the external HDD or big capacity thumbdrive, because the later are slower / unreliable and much more expensive  doh.gif
yeah as i explained about this before, big capacity thumb drives simply are not up to the speed of a ssd + enclosure. it's relatively cheaper too with this combo.

for now, i just get some oem drives for this purpose. risky, but i don't have any issues with any of them yet.

This post has been edited by horns: Jan 19 2015, 02:20 PM
horns
post Jan 20 2015, 12:12 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Jan 19 2015, 05:46 PM)
Item 1:   https://pcdiy.asus.com/2014/07/plextor-m-2-...etter-together/

Item 2: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/plexto...s-ssd,3763.html

Item 1 plug into an M.2 slot in a Z97 mobo is faster or
Item 2 plug into a PCIE slot in a Z97 mobo ?
they are the same ssd (pcie 2.0 x2). item 1 is the bare m.2 drive, while item 2 is the same drive mounted on a pcie adapter for compatibility reasons (so that it can be used in mobo's without m.2 slot)

in terms of speed, they are the same.

This post has been edited by horns: Jan 20 2015, 12:12 AM
horns
post Jan 21 2015, 10:20 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(mamasos @ Jan 21 2015, 08:27 AM)
anyone know where can i get the Samsung XP941, and how must is it?
you can get it from ramcity.com.au. note that there is a 10% gst 'discount' for international buyers.

as for the price, it's slightly expensive (double of sata ssd's of the same capacity).
horns
post Jan 21 2015, 03:17 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jan 21 2015, 01:01 PM)
i dont think the price is "slightly expensive" when it costs 2x of SATA SSD of equivalent capacity  sweat.gif

but damn.... hope prices for SATA SSDs can come down faster abit...  cry.gif  cry.gif
Oh crap i forgot to edit that part :/

Samsung announced its external ssd drive already. It's based on an usb 3.0 uasp with msata 840 evo (or 850 evo i didnt read clearly) hehe

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jan 21 2015, 02:00 PM)
You can always opt for 2X SSD as RAID 0, double capacity, double speed and double the risk  rclxms.gif
This alternative guarantees work well also. Since we have more sata ports than we need hehe

horns
post Jan 22 2015, 09:32 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jan 22 2015, 08:33 AM)

which transcend ssd is this? how's your computing experience with transcend ssd? it looks good enough for common usage. (the write part is slower but i think as long as reads have enough speed, then you should be fine)

plextor's ram-based cache is relatively impressive. although it's not as good as ramdisk, and we don't need that crazy speed for everyday use, it looks better than samsung's rapid and primocache.

horns
post Jan 22 2015, 01:28 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jan 22 2015, 10:05 AM)
cheap low costing, and much better than kingston v300 (after changing to slow nand flash), and no provisioning on ssd340.

the fw update method quite dumb on ssd340, will wipe off the drive data sweat.gif

guess ssd340 no longer available, ssd370 now. ya, for laptop purpose it fast, cheap & good enough, though the 256GB model will double the 128gb write speed.
those scary high speed ssd really good for big large fast require database like tesco/mydin.
nice smile.gif to reduce os and app load time, read speed is more important. this is a good choice to go for if budget is a concern.

oh they have a not-so-good firmware upgrade process. still, i think it's not a big deal, as long as they can deliver proper updates hehe

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jan 22 2015, 11:05 AM)
I just read up about Plextor's PlexTurbo implementation and the difference between it and Samsung's RAPID.
It seems that Samsung's RAPID is a write-back, which only writes to the SSD when a flush command is issued
while Plextor's PlexTurbo is a write-through, which will writes to the SSD when modification is still commencing.... can't find the correct word to describe it  sweat.gif

and it seems that the difference is in the implementation nature itself, rather than the difference between implementation technique...  hmm.gif

write-through improves data integrity but write-back improves performance (as only when write is committed then only it writes to SSD)

that M6E BE, you are using it???  drool.gif  drool.gif
the price must be  rclxub.gif
ah my comments about plextor's plexturbo was based on speed found on images only hehe

yeah.. maybe all implementations ram-cache with write-back (i think it's deferred write-back) are slower for some reasons. i'm not really familiar with it. for the purpose of ssd optimizations, my personal preference is still write-back.

horns
post Jan 22 2015, 11:43 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Jan 22 2015, 10:35 PM)
Oh, I see.

Its only PCIE 2.0  x2 only ?

I thought because it is very fast that it is PCIE3.0 and x16 just like Graphic Card slot....smile.gif
yes you can verify that from their product flyers. it's slightly faster than sata3 but yeah not really fast hehe

haha we can use pcie slots to access it but it doesn't necessarily use up all of the pcie lanes.

horns
post Jan 23 2015, 10:56 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Jan 23 2015, 09:54 AM)
2 sata3 SSD at RAID 0 is faster than 1 M. 2 SSD?
for now, yes. currently this is the better option to get speed and to free up pcie lanes for better use (like gpu sli setups).
horns
post Jan 23 2015, 03:17 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Jan 23 2015, 01:59 PM)
every now and then i heard people discussing about using PCIe lanes or not enough PCIe lanes etc, those are conditions IF you are using SLI setup right? other than that, i think your PCIe lanes are pretty much still have some left used most of the time??  hmm.gif

RAID 0 is fast, but doesnt that also means it is very dangerous if something happens to your file? As it will be rendered totally useless....
and also i want to ask, does using SSD with a not-so-stable voltage (for example, living in an area where there are suddenly electricity outage every once awhile) will brick the SSD??  hmm.gif
it's not just about multiple gpu setups. it depends on the purpose of that rig. there are some pcie-based stuff, like sound, video capture, nic, wifi, and raid/sata/usb/scsi cards, that can be added to the system to cope with needs. pci-e slots can also be used as a means to replace faulty integrated parts of a mobo.

mainstream systems (like 4790k, z97) usually have less pcie lanes than high-end ones (like 5930k, x99).

due to such limitations, different implementations are adopted by manufacturers to assign and distribute these resources that involve lane sharing (that means there are differences in the number of pcie lanes connected to each slot, something like this, http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/best-i...oard,3902.html). it's important to check out the mobo manuals and review sites to know more about this, then plan your rig setup ahead before purchase.

we all know the risks of using raid0. we cannot eliminate them, so just prepare for the worst:

1. use it as a boot/software drive, not storage. normally 2x 256gb should be good and large enough.
2. make sure you can recover from disasters, by keeping the latest system images outside the system. (it's much more time saving than doing fresh installs from scratch everytime)
3. store the data in hdd (non-raid), or nas.

bad power supplies will cause damage in electronics. it's better to use UPS in this case. (it's not just about ssd. every component in your rig will be affected and i don't think you wanna risk them too) laptops are relatively better. they have built-in battery for this purpose.

24 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0615sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:27 AM