i have a savy...i had driven almost all proton cars before and personally i think savy is still the best! it pick up slow but i feel steady and safe when moving fast at corners etc!
PROTON SAVVY LYN club, D4F, JB1 repair manual inside
May 12 2006, 10:58 AM
1,532 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
i have a savy...i had driven almost all proton cars before and personally i think savy is still the best! it pick up slow but i feel steady and safe when moving fast at corners etc!
May 12 2006, 10:58 AM
650 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(antikru @ May 12 2006, 10:49 AM) you think savvy use a hafei lobo engine ka ? come on lar .... d4f ..... but if you dont like buy a Sutera .... see for your self I dun blif PROTON only. To me although savvy sounds better than hafei lobo, but still not a good choice at that price.. If it's priced at RM20k then i buy lar. Wira RM15k, saga RM8K, their quality make them worth that price only, and that should be the price IF (no chance one unless proton shut down) import duty (including excise duty) is taken away. |
May 12 2006, 11:15 AM
3,799 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: All Over The Place |
hmmmm... actually how much is the savvy now? btw how is that handling of that car?
May 12 2006, 11:16 AM
9,309 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sabah-Australia-Shah Alam. |
May 12 2006, 11:19 AM
guess it's due to the Lotus tuned? the tires look pretty small for it isnt it? have you seen the R3?
May 12 2006, 11:27 AM
The tyres 'look' thin. They're 195s aren't they?
I haven't seen the R3 in real life. EDIT: My mistake, they're 175s. That's pretty decent for 15 inch rims. This post has been edited by tunertoobe: May 12 2006, 11:29 AM |
May 12 2006, 11:35 AM
ok.. much better than the Myvi.... the tyres are so skinny....i wonder what will happen if the car turns to fast
i've seen it twice on the road already and also a promo of eneos mod cars in 1U a month ago. *sorry i dont know how to spell that company's name* |
May 12 2006, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(DreMAx @ May 12 2006, 11:35 AM) ok.. much better than the Myvi.... the tyres are so skinny....i wonder what will happen if the car turns to fast Lower the ground clearence a bit and reduce some weight, you'll have no probs! i've seen it twice on the road already and also a promo of eneos mod cars in 1U a month ago. *sorry i dont know how to spell that company's name* |
May 12 2006, 11:52 AM
3,872 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 10001011010101 |
I guess many of you are missing the point. The main grudge against that review is the dangerous way they carried out the review. So farking what if savvy can hit 170km/h? My waja and Gti can do that easily too. So can any car, given the right conditions. And the highway is not your place to do such tests.
RM150 is all you need to take it down to the track, and in real life nobody carries the car to that kind of speed all the time. Imaging the wear and tear involved! Real cars need good torque, one that the savvy is lacking. Also, the quality issues have not been addressed. No matter what they say, its not really an honest review. More like an ignorant review. |
May 12 2006, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(DreMAx @ May 12 2006, 11:35 AM) ok.. much better than the Myvi.... the tyres are so skinny....i wonder what will happen if the car turns to fast Again you're missing the point. Myvi is made for the people, the people who drive it from point A to B and rely on the warrenties for repairs. They need a reliable car that is comfortable and fuel economic, especially the latter which is the whole reason for compact car's existence. The savvy is meant to be a zippy and fun car, and thus to say the savvy is much better than Myvi just because its good in handling is like saying a wrestler can be a president of a country just because he got big muscles and is stronger than the next candidate.i've seen it twice on the road already and also a promo of eneos mod cars in 1U a month ago. *sorry i dont know how to spell that company's name* In terms of handling, savvy pwns myvi. But then, will that sell cars? Alfa romeo learnt that the hard way. In the real world, quality, reliability, comfort come first. Proton needs sales figures, not fun cars that dont meet the market's demands. |
May 12 2006, 11:57 AM
May 12 2006, 11:58 AM
May 12 2006, 12:00 PM
haha.... but kinda funny le if one does lowers the height of the car.... it's so big and tall and fat......
May 12 2006, 01:08 PM
276 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Bangi Avenue |
May 12 2006, 01:09 PM
64 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Jaya Supermarket , PJ |
QUOTE(soggie @ May 12 2006, 11:56 AM) Again you're missing the point. Myvi is made for the people, the people who drive it from point A to B and rely on the warrenties for repairs. They need a reliable car that is comfortable and fuel economic, especially the latter which is the whole reason for compact car's existence. The savvy is meant to be a zippy and fun car, and thus to say the savvy is much better than Myvi just because its good in handling is like saying a wrestler can be a president of a country just because he got big muscles and is stronger than the next candidate. again ... p1 wont be able to satisfy everyone .... at least we have a choice .... need space ... buy myvi .... need fun ... buys savvy .... why do you need 2 of the same ??? more difficult choice .... but dont expext to have saga at 8k .... yes you can la if buy 2 half of kerete potong then sambung .....In terms of handling, savvy pwns myvi. But then, will that sell cars? Alfa romeo learnt that the hard way. In the real world, quality, reliability, comfort come first. Proton needs sales figures, not fun cars that dont meet the market's demands. |
May 12 2006, 01:14 PM
17,566 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: FFK Division - Klang |
QUOTE(antikru @ May 12 2006, 02:09 PM) again ... p1 wont be able to satisfy everyone .... at least we have a choice .... need space ... buy myvi .... need fun ... buys savvy .... why do you need 2 of the same ??? more difficult choice .... but dont expext to have saga at 8k .... yes you can la if buy 2 half of kerete potong then sambung ..... need space ? buy cityneed fun ? buy civic that will be better right ? way less QC problem to worry about... |
May 12 2006, 01:22 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(pearldiver @ May 12 2006, 01:08 PM) please re-read the above posts. kimmie was saying that he/she tested all Proton cars and thinks Savvy is thebest. so soggies asked whether he/she tested GTi / Perdana. IMO Satria GTi and Perdana V6 would be Proton's best offering so far. |
May 12 2006, 01:22 PM
64 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Jaya Supermarket , PJ |
yes ........ agreeeeeeeee with kcng
This post has been edited by antikru: May 12 2006, 01:23 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0172sec