Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

syirbiznatch
post Jul 31 2013, 02:01 AM

549 posts

1. Something like ACER S7/macbook air? I prefer thin but powerful laptop. My last model was ASUSA42JV which still running strong.

2. RM2000-RM3000 (not sure with this budget)

3. Mostly work (MS Office, Sound Mixing, Video and Picture editing). At least PC can run PES I am ok.

4. Prefer no bigger than 13".

Additional Value:
a) Battery Life - we have laptop that can run 12-15hrs nowadays?
b) Ergonomic USB Port - Good USB, Audio Jack 'place'
c) Something like Vaio/apple keyboard? If there is backlit on keyboard it is better
d) Best internal cooling system - dual, triple, quadruple fan; you name it
syirbiznatch
post Jul 31 2013, 11:17 PM

549 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 31 2013, 10:37 AM)
Since you like MBA, just go with it.
MacBookAir 13", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 128GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3299[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX
MacBookAir 13", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 256GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3899[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

Run bootcamp to run Win OS.
I am not into macbook air, since I prefer normal HDD (750GB-1TB).

I read somewhere in website and decide to have a laptop with these 3 features:

1) Toshiba Satellite U845-S406 ----------- Best rating
2) HP Envy 14 Spectre ----------- 9 Hours battery life
3) Dell XPS 13 ----------- Best Performance and well designed

Can u help? I think Acer S7 meet the requirement?
syirbiznatch
post Jul 31 2013, 11:45 PM

549 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 31 2013, 11:29 PM)
1. Huh?  sweat.gif
2. BS. Totally idle, maybe.
3. Well designed, yes. Best performance - what criteria? laugh.gif

S7 is also on SSD lah, where do you see it has normal HDD?
Aspire S7-391-53314G12, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; touch)@RM3799, 4GB, W8

All the models you listed are ultrabook that run on SSD (which help them to achieve good battery running time).
It is something that I really want to have actually. Longer Battery life, bigger HDD and in term of performance is how fast it can do video conversion, photo editing and multitask software.

Still new with SSD, and I still prefer HDD (if there is any).

Anyway, laptop in the list is just meant to use as sample. My last laptop buying was back at 2010, and I am new with "ultrabook" world. Hopefully can get your advice on laptop brand that I should look and AVOID. notworthy.gif
syirbiznatch
post Aug 3 2013, 03:08 PM

549 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Aug 1 2013, 12:03 AM)
The thing is you want 13" or below, and want good battery running time.
Want good battery running time, go with ULV CPU. Video conversion, Intel Quick Sync already pretty good. Photo editing - unless you do some extensive stuff, Intel HD4000 can handle it (actually CPU could be more important). Multitask a lot - get more RAM (8G or more).

SSD not only improve battery performance, it also generate a lot less heat - another of your criteria.
It also improve the "responsiveness" of laptop very substantially.
HDD is so cheap now, 1 TB external HDD ~ RM250.

iinm, currently, there is no 13" models spec with ULV CPU & 750GB/1TB HDD. Biggest is 500GB.
Acer
S3-371-53334G50, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB, W8
Asus
S300CA-C1033H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 500GB, W8
U38DT-R3033H, A8-4555M + AMD HD7600G@RM2199, 2GB, 500GB, W8
UX32VD-R3001H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT620M + 24GB mSATA SSD + 500GB HDD@RM3099[1.45kg], 4GB, W8
Dell
Vostro 3360, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000@RM2249[1.67kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7/8
Fujitsu
CH702, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB@RM4296[1.45kg], 4GB, W8
Samsung
NP540U3C, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768; touch) + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2999, 8GB, W8
NP530U3C, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2699[1.52kg], 4GB, W8
Sony
Vaio SVT13133CVS, i5-3337U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768; touch) + (24GB SSD + 500GBHDD)@RM2799[1.6kg], 4GB, W8

You want big capacity HDD:
Sony
Vaio SVS13135CV, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT640M LE@RM3199[1.72kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8; colors: white/black; Vaio carrying case
Vaio SVS13137PGB, i7-3540M + Nvidia GT640M LE + (8GB + 750GB HDD)@RM4199[1.72kg], 4GB, W8Pro; color: black; Vaio carry case
All of this is consider ultrabook? wow, thanks for the advice. I even learn why SSD is better even it is lor more expensive..Thanks again
syirbiznatch
post Aug 4 2013, 01:25 AM

549 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Aug 3 2013, 06:02 PM)
No, actually some of the listed models are not ultrabook, there are just light enough, and has HDD as you request.
Ultrabook need to be able to boot up quickly. For Haswell, to recover from hibernation, < 3 sec. Without SSD, that kind of target is just not possible.
as per your advice, i think i can consider SSD as option. Any suggestion?
syirbiznatch
post Aug 4 2013, 05:42 PM

549 posts

QUOTE(arc x @ Aug 4 2013, 02:06 AM)
If u finally decided SSD , asus zenbook and samsung series 7 ultra would be a nice option , Both fitted ur criteria wanted .
Thanks. Currently reviewing this ultrabooks.

By the way, what is your personal opinion on macbook air?
syirbiznatch
post Aug 4 2013, 07:32 PM

549 posts

QUOTE(arc x @ Aug 4 2013, 05:51 PM)
personally i dun use mac air  smile.gif  unless ur work reli need their OS (like some engineering or drawing software) , otherwise stick to Windows as u can get conventional programme easier and more options =)

And also lower price for same specs  rclxms.gif build actually price count into their build quality , so u can see around this kind of price in zenbook and samsung ultrabook coz they both uses same top notch build quality , screen in Samsung and Zenbook would easily blew mac air off  biggrin.gif
My work require a lot of video editing, in which I found very handy in using mac software (love how they compress HD file). The price of Zenbook and Samsung I think is a more or less of a mac air I think..

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Aug 4 2013, 07:14 PM)
Coming back to the MBA that I mentioned earlier eh?  brows.gif
MacBookAir 13", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 128GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3299[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX
MacBookAir 13", i5-4250U + Intel HD5000 + 256GB SSD + (1440x900)@RM3899[1.35kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, Mac OSX

Good stuff. If you want best battery running time, this is the ONE right now.
Haswell, spec with HD5000 (best IGPU for ultrabook without discrete GPU). The SSD also is the fastest in the market right now (proprietary but very similar to m.2 port)
Within your budget.
As I mentioned, if you need win OS, just run bootcamp (it is fully supported by Apple).
It's not wrong to have more option right? tongue.gif

I think there is no reason to buy that price for mac, just to use win OS. I read through reviews and mac air probably the one suits me well for now.

Any other opinions are welcomed. thumbup.gif

syirbiznatch
post Aug 4 2013, 09:14 PM

549 posts

QUOTE(arc x @ Aug 4 2013, 07:36 PM)
One of the flaw in which the screen is not matte and low resolution . Also , too simple design  smile.gif  forgive me to say so , they just use the same design every year .
U mean glossy (not matte?). Yeap, the design is at simplest as it is, but I prefer 'minimalist' design to keep things simple and clean.

How about Dell and HP? Hear lot bad news for HP before but I am not sure on their ultrabook market..

0.0421sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:02 PM