25 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Aug 30 2013, 01:33 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Yuanz @ Aug 30 2013, 12:49 AM)
HP Envy 4-1035TU

Hi.is this ultrabook good?
I m afraid of laptop that get heat fast.

I just need a lappi for normal college using.typing,searching and only game for dota 1.

any one experience with this lappi before?

How much will a new one normally cost?
And also a second hand guiding price.

thanks for helping
Envy 4-Ultrabook 4-1035TU, i3-2377M + Intel HD3000 + [32GB mSATA+ 500GB HDD(5400rpm)]@RM2159, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP

Are you sure you can still get this brand new? hmm.gif
2nd hand price depend on condition of laptop and negotiation skills between buyer and seller smile.gif

Don't game on ultrabook if "I am afraid of laptop that get heat fast" biggrin.gif icon_rolleyes.gif Anyway, always get good external cooling solution if you plan to game on laptop (cooling pad, table fan, ... )

If you really like the Envy 4 ultrabook look, then try to look for these (also not easy to find anymore) tongue.gif
Envy4-1204TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M + 32GB mSATA +500GB(5400rpm)@RM2399[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, W8
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

All the prices are RSP for brand new unit, negotiable.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 30 2013, 01:34 AM
nexus2238
post Aug 31 2013, 02:29 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Niklaus @ Aug 31 2013, 01:23 PM)
guys....
i have k46cm and want to upgrade to ssd....but my friend said k46cm do not support sata 3...just support sata 2.5...
i done a survey and find out sata 2.5 will just give you a slight speed boost compare to sata 3....

sorry if ask to many question...
any thnks....
doesn't matter.
SSD is actually capped by SATA bandwidth.
All SATA port and drive are backward compatible.
chuck any SSD to replace the HDD in the K46Cm, install OS and apps on the SSD, and the laptop will become much much more responsive.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 31 2013, 02:29 PM
nexus2238
post Aug 31 2013, 02:36 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(dreamschee @ Aug 30 2013, 03:29 PM)
looking for asus laptop below rm 1.5k, jz for movie/searching, some fb game.
X45A-VX078, Celeron 1000M + Intel HD@RM1199, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 1 year warranty
X201E-KX178D/9D , Intel 1007U + Intel HD@RM999, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 1 year
VivoBook S200E, B847 + Intel UMA + (1366x768; touch)@RM1399[1.38kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8; colors: Grey/Pink/White, 2-cell, 1 year

FreeDos mean you need to get OS yourself.
Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Use remaining of your budget to increase RAM, 4G stick ~ RM100, 8G stick ~ RM200.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Aug 31 2013, 02:36 PM
nexus2238
post Sep 1 2013, 09:25 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(nazfaliq @ Sep 1 2013, 12:23 AM)
Hello sifu's, need recommendation for my friend here,
He study Interior Design, so he will need a good laptop for using 3D Max...

1. Preferred Brand : Any
2. Budget : RM 3.3k ~ 3.5k
3. Usage : Interior Design softwares, mostly 3D Max...
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : Dosen"t matter...

Thanks in advance... ^^V
Think your friend will appreciate a FHD screen for more work space.

Acer
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8

Asus
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard

Dell
Inspiron 15R, i7-3537U + AMD HD8730M + (1920x1980; anti-glare)@RM3299[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8SL
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GP60-2OD, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT740M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM2999, 4GB, 750GB, W8, steel series KB

nexus2238
post Sep 6 2013, 04:39 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Sep 5 2013, 03:14 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Any (preferably brand that offers extended warranty)
2. Budget : Around RM 1400 ~ RM 1800 (or below RM2000)
3. Usage : Just for normal university use/typical student laptop (if possible Dota2 playable in lowest resolution)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : Any
Not necessary light weight laptop, as long as it's quite durable

All brands can offer extended warranty, but you have to pay. For your budget, most laptop models come with only 1 year warranty. Check with resellers on exactly how much to extend warranty period, typically 1 year ~ RM100-200, depends on brands, coverage type, etc.

Can't really tell which models is durable, it also depends on luck (the unit you get) and your TLC.

Acer
E1-472G-54204G75k, i5- 4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1899, 4GB, 750GB, W8
E1-472G-54204G50, i5- 4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

Asus
K46CM-WX060V, B987 + Nvidia GT630M@RM1799[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD
K46CM-WX059V, i3-3217U + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W8, OD

Dell
Inspiron 14-3437, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1649[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell; W8SL @ RM1799

Lenovo
G400s, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1799, 4GB, 500GB, W8
G400s, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1449, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

For those models that come with FreeDOS or Linux, if you need Win OS, you can get cheap legal version from your school.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Sep 6 2013, 04:43 PM
nexus2238
post Sep 6 2013, 04:58 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(kerrykk @ Sep 6 2013, 04:42 PM)
Hi, sifu,

usage: photoshop,illustrator,dreamweaver, flash etc, internet online , normal paper assignments etc...

s410p enough? will lag?

and, s410p now cost how much?

if budget max 2k , got any recommendation better than lenovo s410p?

prefer brand: ASUS, TOSHIBA,LENOVO...
thank you so much!
S410p, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M +(1366x768, touch)@RM2399[1.8kg], 4GB, 500GB, W8, 2 yrs
The price is RSP, negotiable.
It depends on how extensive is your usage of photoshop and illustrator.

For your budget, if you could omit thin / light, then:

Asus
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD

Lenovo
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Toshiba
Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty; colors: Blue/gold/white

In term of spec, the Z400 offer the most power, since the i5 M + GT740M can really whip it quite well for this price range.
i5-4200U is better than i5-3337U in terms of battery running time. In term of raw performance, not much difference. So the premise is the GT740M outgun the GT720M.
But if the files you process are big, get more RAM. 4G stick ~ RM100, 8G stick ~ RM200.
nexus2238
post Sep 6 2013, 05:05 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(RitzyHoke @ Sep 6 2013, 04:45 PM)
Current notebook: Dell XPS 14 (14" and using NVIDIA GeForce GT 420M)

Looking for something larger than 14".
Gaming wise ... probably something a little better than my previous one will do. Seems to cater for most of my gaming needs.

Budget, 3 - 4k?

Thanks!
GPU better than GT420M is quite common now.
So it depends on what type of game you play, on what resolution you want to play them, other factors (screen, keyboard, aesthetic, ... )

Acer
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8

Asus
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4702MQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GX60-3BE, AMD A10-5750M + AMD HD8970 + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4399 8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series multi color backlit KB
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3599,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GE60-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4299,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard

www.illegear.com
Illegear RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3799[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 8GB, 500GB 7200RPM, FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]

nexus2238
post Sep 6 2013, 05:23 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(kerrykk @ Sep 6 2013, 05:07 PM)
so it's better for me to get z400 rather than s410p?

but why s410p expensive than z400?

the price negotiable is how much? you in live in penang?

thank you!
Yes, on spec, Z400 is more powerful than S410P.
S410P is more "thin and light" - more expensive.
You should be able to get RM100 to 200 lesser from re-sellers compared to RSP (for this price range).
No, I am not a reseller and not in Penang.

Try to look for hikari85 at LYN garage sales thread, shop at Butterworth iinm.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Sep 6 2013, 05:24 PM
nexus2238
post Sep 6 2013, 06:01 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(kerrykk @ Sep 6 2013, 05:48 PM)
okay..thank you so much!

but how heavy was z400?
~ 2.4kg, iinm.
nexus2238
post Sep 6 2013, 06:30 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(nazfaliq @ Sep 1 2013, 12:23 PM)
Thanks for the wise reply...
Wonder he will need nvidia 750 SLi for running 3D Max? if yes, i would recommend him
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs
but it seems over budget alrdy... doh.gif

What do you think?  hmm.gif
3D Max don't support Nvidia SLI, so don't waste money on it smile.gif
nexus2238
post Sep 6 2013, 06:33 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(kerrykk @ Sep 6 2013, 06:13 PM)
sorry, one more thing to ask about the z400 battery...compare to s410p , s410p will be better..but will far better?
thank you! biggrin.gif
normal usage, S410P will probably last 2 hours more than Z400T.
nexus2238
post Sep 6 2013, 06:47 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(kerrykk @ Sep 6 2013, 06:37 PM)
okay..thank you!

I'm searching those models recommended by you..still thinking which one better...

which one do you think is the best from the following 3?
Asus
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD

Lenovo
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Toshiba
Satellite L40-AS109Xb/G/W, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, 3 years local warranty; colors: Blue/gold/white
For your usage, Z400T definitely give better performance.
However, the L40 has longer warranty period.
Suggest you go out and look / listen / type / touch / click / poke / carry the real things to decide which one you like best. (these factors are important as well).
nexus2238
post Sep 6 2013, 10:35 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(stephennyy @ Sep 6 2013, 09:41 PM)
Hello ,

I need some suggestions . What do you think the best between these two ?

1. Asus A550CC – Intel i5-3337U/4GB/750GB/NVIDIA GT720M 2GB

2. HP Pavilion M4-1001TX  i5-3230M/4GB/750G/Nvidia GT730M 2GB

In terms of performace and the display
I am about to use it for graphic designing , rendering , and programming , and to play some mid-level games

Thank You
Performance - M4 has more powerful CPU and GPU.
Display - both are normal TN panel, nothing to shout about. Best to see for yourself to decide.

If you want 15", for that price range, can also consider:
Toshiba
Satellite L50-A100X/XW, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty; colors:silver/white

Lenovo
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty

nexus2238
post Sep 6 2013, 10:40 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(michael_och @ Sep 6 2013, 08:41 PM)
Try to buy a laptop for my sister

Brand: Any except Acer
Budget: below 2k
Usage: Web browsing, assignment, music and video. No gaming
Preferred: 14'', light weight
Asus
S400CA-CA006H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2199[2kg], 4GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14-3437, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1399[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1549
Vostro 5460, i3-3120M + HD 4000@RM1,549[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM1,749

nexus2238
post Sep 6 2013, 11:10 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(enaleni @ Sep 6 2013, 10:46 PM)
Did this model only avaiable on linux base? Doesnt it come with windows base?  biggrin.gif however will consider it if come with windows base wink.gif
Try to read the whole post ok? Especially the bit about "W8SL@RM1099" icon_rolleyes.gif
nexus2238
post Sep 7 2013, 09:15 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Goodygod @ Sep 7 2013, 07:56 AM)
1. Preferred Brand: toshiba / dell / asus (no acer, no hp)
2. Budget: below 2.5k
3. Usage: surfing, entertainment, work
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15.6 & above

Prefer to have nice design & slimmer like macbook

bro, i prefer to have win 7 notworthy.gif

thx
no brand new laptop come pre-installed with W7 now, except those business class machine, i.e. Dell Latitute / Precision, HP Probook / Elitebook, Lenovo Thinkpad, Toshiba Tecra, Asus PRO, ...

These type of machine is expensive, and you want thin and slim yet 15" ...
Tell me if you actually find 1 icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Sep 7 2013, 09:20 AM
nexus2238
post Sep 8 2013, 08:44 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(takkhor2004 @ Sep 8 2013, 12:46 AM)
again thank a lot sifu!!! may i know where u get the laptop list and the price list? and one more question, if i wan the model GE6 ond which is old model, will i get it from a computer shop, coz usually they will said they dun have the stock, and i from penang.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2656663
sifu TJ and lots of other sifus help to maintain this list.

You really have to do your leg work. Alternatively, go to LYN garage sales thread and try to ask the re-sellers there. Hikari85 is from Penang, eg. Some of the other re-sellers can deliver by courier service.
nexus2238
post Sep 8 2013, 08:47 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(JieXian @ Sep 8 2013, 12:04 AM)
Thanks for mentioning about the Asus warranty... I was thinking about buying it already... what about the warranty for lenovo and msi? How is it?
MSI - only carry-in warranty. so far reputation is still ok.
Lenovo - carry-in warranty, depends on which SC you send to (some SC centre has pretty awful reputation, some SC centre is ok) laugh.gif But Lenovo offer buyers to upgrade Y series warranty to 3 year on site, and that on site warranty service is pretty decent thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Sep 8 2013, 08:48 AM
nexus2238
post Sep 8 2013, 08:55 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(mrtresynth @ Sep 7 2013, 09:58 PM)
Hi all,

1. Preferred Brand, Any brand with good SC response, service, etc
2. Budget, not more than RM200
3. Usage: Both gaming (Dota 2) and study in mechatronic engineering field
4. Preferred laptop/screen size, any
I suppose you mean RM2000? icon_rolleyes.gif

Dell has the best warranty service in Malaysia right now. Extend to 3 years on site for ~ RM300 (from standard 1 year on site) for best peace of mind.

Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2049 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell

Price is RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Sep 8 2013, 03:32 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(JieXian @ Sep 8 2013, 02:34 PM)
Really? Nice to know biggrin.gif How much the the price for the Lenovo onsite 3 year warranty? And how to get it?

about MSI I searched around after posting in this thread, I heard a lot of complaints... mainly need to pay labour cost and cannot upgrade ram or HDD by ourselves..
Lenovo Y series in Malaysia normally come with 2 years carry-in warranty. Upgrade to 3 years on site warranty cost < RM200. When you buy, just ask the re-sellers, they can arrange to buy the upgrade for you.

MSI - labour cost? hmm.gif As long as under warranty, labour and parts are covered. Upgrade of RAM and HDD is pretty much depend on the location of "warranty void if broken" seals inside the laptop. MSI gaming series normally is pretty OK with these.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2939095
check with owners here for 1st hand feedback.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Sep 8 2013, 03:33 PM

25 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0599sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:22 AM