Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V20, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

jakuraz
post Sep 11 2013, 06:56 PM

need more stars. i luv em
582 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 11 2013, 05:02 PM)

Durable and long lasting - pray hard  tongue.gif or if you go with Dell, extend warranty to as long as you can afford.
thx for replying.
i had bad experience with Dell before, wont believe in Dell laptop's durability anymore.
i'll stick with lenovo/asus laugh.gif

This post has been edited by jakuraz: Sep 11 2013, 06:57 PM
devour
post Sep 11 2013, 07:22 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(limyenjun @ Sep 11 2013, 05:59 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Lenovo, Dell, HP or ohter good brands
2. Budget: Below RM4000
3. Usage: Casual but require fast response. Mild gaming
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: Above 14"
Lenovo Y500, Asus G46vw.....Dell alienware--> too expensive laugh.gif
inthedark
post Sep 11 2013, 08:19 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 11 2013, 05:21 PM)
For your usage, ideal is i7 quad core (lots of engineering software can make use of quad core), lots of RAM, medium level GPU for your 3D CAD / modelling, and games. FHD screen will be major plus for more work space.

But consider your budget, has to make compromise.
Not many laptop spec with FreeDOS.
Not many laptop spec with i5 Haswell M(obile) in Malaysia yet, more with Haswell U(LT).

Asus (2 years warranty)
N56VB-S3070H, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2899[/b][2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 750GB, W8
PRO45VJ-V0047X, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2399[2.4kg], 4GB, 500GB, W7P

Dell (extend warranty to 3 years for ~ RM300, and it become international warranty)
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + AMD HD7730M@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W8
Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099

Lenovo
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty
Z400 touch, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2599, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Check the UK area that you are going has SC.
Prices are RSP, negotiable.

Place to buy - can start with the resellers in LYN garage sales thread. Some has physical shop, some offer delivery / COD  thumbup.gif
Thank you for the recommendation, after i made some research i wast stuck with this 2 laptops

1.Z400 touch, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2599, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty which is in your recommendation list thumbup.gif
2.Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + HD 8850M 2GB@RM2499, 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); Ubuntu

The Inspiron 15R really caught my eye. Although, it do not come with the touch screen feature but the spec is quite reasonable with the price. I have several question regarding those 2 lappy

1. Which processor were better for my usage 50% gaming n 50% engineering software is it the i7-4500U or i7-3632QM?
2. Are the Radeon HD 8850M any better compare to Nvidia GT740M because is see alot of other lappy use GT740M while rarely use the HD8850M?
3. How about the heating issues for both laptops?..i heard that Lenovo offer us new tech of cooling and for 15'' laptops the cooling is better because lots of space...izit true?
4. Is there any laptops share the same spec as the Inspiron 15R?

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by inthedark: Sep 11 2013, 08:25 PM
tWice
post Sep 11 2013, 09:18 PM

312 posts

Msi, lenovo. Or other good one.
Rm3.2 below
To studies besides, dota2, some current games.
15inc preferable.

Fast feedbackkkk biggrin.gif
limyenjun
post Sep 11 2013, 09:52 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Sep 11 2013, 07:22 PM)
Lenovo Y500, Asus G46vw.....Dell alienware--> too expensive  laugh.gif
Thanks, but which is more preferred? I own Dell Inspiron before and have no confidence in Dell.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 11 2013, 09:57 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Sep 11 2013, 09:18 PM)
Msi, lenovo. Or other good one.
Rm3.2 below
To studies besides, dota2, some current games.
15inc preferable.

Fast feedbackkkk biggrin.gif
15"
Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GE60-ONC, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3299, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8

hidz7
post Sep 11 2013, 10:08 PM

Halfway there..
707 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 11 2013, 09:57 PM)
15"
Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GE60-ONC, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3299, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8
GE60-ONC, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3299, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, where i can find this?

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 11 2013, 10:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(hidz7 @ Sep 11 2013, 10:08 PM)
GE60-ONC, i5-3230M + Nvidia GTX675M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3299, 4GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, where i can find this?
Its a relatively older model, but should still be available hmm.gif
Garage Sales is a good place to start laugh.gif
tWice
post Sep 11 2013, 10:36 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 11 2013, 10:28 PM)
Its a relatively older model, but should still be available hmm.gif
Garage Sales is a good place to start  laugh.gif
garage sale? what do you mean by that? do i can still find a new laptop (that laptop-msi gtx675m) which mean not used, now??? interested with that
Prothero
post Sep 11 2013, 11:00 PM

239 posts

Hi there, would like some help to buy a new laptop since I'm moving to study to another country later on (don't judge my intention to buy the laptop tongue.gif)

1. Preferred Brand - Any actually, as long as have good warranty period and cheap prices for good hardware (and also not so bad quality, I wouldn't want the hardware to break up so fast).

2. Budget - RM 3000-4000.

3. Usage - Gaming (World of Warcraft at moderate graphics and Dota 2). And doing courseworks of course.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size - Screens that can support wide screen and high resolution. Not sure about this really.

Thanks hope u guys can help! Drop me a PM or tag my name or just post here if u guys wanna make any suggestions.

P/S: A link to the suggested laptop would be great too smile.gif
nexus2238
post Sep 12 2013, 06:42 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Sep 11 2013, 10:36 PM)
garage sale? what do you mean by that? do i can still find a new laptop (that laptop-msi gtx675m) which mean not used, now??? interested with that
Garage Sales thread right here at LYN.
nexus2238
post Sep 12 2013, 06:53 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(jakuraz @ Sep 11 2013, 06:56 PM)
thx for replying.
i had bad experience with Dell before, wont believe in Dell laptop's durability anymore.
i'll stick with lenovo/asus  laugh.gif
As I said, the thing with Dell is not about "durability", it's about their warranty support service and return policy.
If you buy a laptop from Dell, and opt for their standard on site warranty support, if there is any hardware problem, call them, and technician will be at your door within couple of days to fix it for you. This is true as long as warranty period is in force. Don't need to send to SC. So the idea with Dell is extend the warranty period, ideally to 3 years.

Personally, for laptop, I only buy Lenovo Thinkpad and Dell (any series) for family members (except that one time when my cousin insisted on MBA tongue.gif ) since their top notch on site warranty support ensure that aunties / uncles never bug me laugh.gif

Some users believe certain brands are very durable. But machine failure is a matter of statistics, and it will happen, the question is percentage. If user happen to get the lemon unit, then it all fall back to warranty support. And nobody want to deal with SC from hell laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif (you can find 1 thread right here in LYN talking about that sweat.gif )

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Sep 12 2013, 06:56 AM
nexus2238
post Sep 12 2013, 07:10 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(inthedark @ Sep 11 2013, 08:19 PM)
Thank you for the recommendation, after i made some research i wast stuck with this 2 laptops

1.Z400 touch, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2599, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty which is in your recommendation list  thumbup.gif
2.Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + HD 8850M 2GB@RM2499, 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); Ubuntu
The Inspiron 15R really caught my eye. Although, it do not come with the touch screen feature but the spec is quite reasonable with the price. I have several question regarding those 2 lappy

1. Which processor were better for my usage 50% gaming n 50% engineering software is it the i7-4500U or i7-3632QM?
2. Are the Radeon HD 8850M any better compare to Nvidia GT740M because is see alot of other lappy use GT740M while rarely use the HD8850M?
3. How about the heating issues for both laptops?..i heard that Lenovo offer us new tech of cooling and for 15'' laptops the cooling is better because lots of space...izit true?
4. Is there any laptops share the same spec as the Inspiron 15R?

Thanks in advance.
1. the i7 Haswell ULT is duo core. The i7 Ivy Bridge M is quad core. Quad core is more powerful, and if engineering software can utilise quad core (most can) then obviously the quad core can get job done faster smile.gif

2. Yes, Nvidia mobile GPU is definitely more common in Malaysia (globally as well) currently. There aren't many review about the HD 8850M out there, but from what I read so far, it should be comparable to GT740M.
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Graphi...List.844.0.html
You can refer here for more benchmark and comparison of mobile GPU.

3. "Lenovo new tech of cooling"? hmm.gif no lah smile.gif
Yes, generally 15" laptop offer more space to dissipate heat.
Also make sure you periodically clean the laptop air inlet / outlet / fan of dust, and if possible re-apply good thermal paste onto heatsink.
And make sure you get good external cooling solution (cooling pad, table fan ... ) when you do heavy duty task for extended period using ANY laptop.

4. Not many models with Haswell CPU right now.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Sep 12 2013, 07:14 AM
nexus2238
post Sep 12 2013, 07:12 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Prothero @ Sep 11 2013, 11:00 PM)
Hi there, would like some help to buy a new laptop since I'm moving to study to another country later on (don't judge my intention to buy the laptop tongue.gif)

1. Preferred Brand - Any actually, as long as have good warranty period and cheap prices for good hardware (and also not so bad quality, I wouldn't want the hardware to break up so fast).

2. Budget - RM 3000-4000.

3. Usage - Gaming (World of Warcraft at moderate graphics and Dota 2). And doing courseworks of course.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size - Screens that can support wide screen and high resolution. Not sure about this really.

Thanks hope u guys can help! Drop me a PM or tag my name or just post here if u guys wanna make any suggestions.

P/S: A link to the suggested laptop would be great too smile.gif
which country? Sometime it is cheaper to buy overseas.
If buy in Malaysia, need to make sure you get International Warranty, and the brand has support at the country you are going.
What course are you studying? Depend on software that you are going to use, may require different computing power.
All laptop models are "wide screen" now smile.gif
tWice
post Sep 12 2013, 08:00 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 12 2013, 06:42 AM)
Garage Sales thread right here at LYN.
thanks smile.gif
tWice
post Sep 12 2013, 08:20 AM

312 posts

Wanting feedbacks:

Is it a good deal if i buy Y500 with dual gt750m? cuz i can get it at rm3455. A good deal or not? Or any other recomendation???
nexus2238
post Sep 12 2013, 09:44 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(tWice @ Sep 12 2013, 08:20 AM)
Wanting feedbacks:

Is it a good deal if i buy Y500 with dual gt750m? cuz i can get it at rm3455. A good deal or not? Or any other recomendation???
I thought that was above your budget? laugh.gif
Anyway, if that a Local set (not AP set), then the price is about right.
Lenovo Y series is the most bang for buck for 15" gaming around RM3k range.
bearbear
post Sep 12 2013, 09:44 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 12 2013, 06:53 AM)
As I said, the thing with Dell is not about "durability", it's about their warranty support service and return policy.
If you buy a laptop from Dell, and opt for their standard on site warranty support, if there is any hardware problem, call them, and technician will be at your door within couple of days to fix it for you. This is true as long as warranty period is in force. Don't need to send to SC. So the idea with Dell is extend the warranty period, ideally to 3 years.

Personally, for laptop, I only buy Lenovo Thinkpad and Dell (any series) for family members (except that one time when my cousin insisted on MBA tongue.gif ) since their top notch on site warranty support ensure that aunties / uncles never bug me laugh.gif

Some users believe certain brands are very durable. But machine failure is a matter of statistics, and it will happen, the question is percentage. If user happen to get the lemon unit, then it all fall back to warranty support. And nobody want to deal with SC from hell laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif (you can find 1 thread right here in LYN talking about that  sweat.gif )
which is why i am now having second thought on Asus X201e, my sis had a Asus and had all sort of issue claiming warranty.

Sadly Dell's 12 inch market is for the uptrend, Acer just sound so wrong to get....
nexus2238
post Sep 12 2013, 09:53 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 12 2013, 09:44 AM)
which is why i am now having second thought on Asus X201e, my sis had a Asus and had all sort of issue claiming warranty.

Sadly Dell's 12 inch market is for the uptrend, Acer just sound so wrong to get....
I know what you mean biggrin.gif I've been resisting the temptation to buy Asus for so long, their products do look very nice biggrin.gif

What is your concern about the Acer?
The V5 is pretty ok for an 11", and it come with W8 already. Warranty support from HighPoint (Acer appointed SC) is considered ok as well nowadays. Worth a look smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Sep 12 2013, 09:53 AM
bearbear
post Sep 12 2013, 09:56 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

Maybe more to the perception that the product itself is questionable on quality - Had friends who went for Acer and hear some negative feedbacks. I am outdated on notebook so my perception might be wrong.

131 Pages « < 127 128 129 130 131 >Top

0.0309sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:13 AM