Thermaltake Shark Window, The original Shark window mod

TSianho
post May 11 2006, 08:43 PM, updated 19y ago

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Well, it's been a looooong time since I did a how 2 guide. Been really bz, bz ,bz. However, I personally liked this mod so much I decided to do a guide for it for all the poor TT Shark owners who cant show off their nice hardware inside.

Here's what I did today. Rejoice all u TT Shark owners! U can haf a side window too. Most ppl think the Shark can't haf a window coz of that funny B shaped honeycomb grill. Well, here's a guide on how I did it. Took me about 3 hours of slow n steady meticulous work.

Here's how the standard Shark side panel looks like. Boring isn't it? Most fellas using such an expensive case most likely got uber 1337 hardware inside so they wanna show off the insides too.

1st step is, remove the B shape plastic molding. Then mask it up with tape like this.

Now put the B back on to draw out the outline for the window. Also draw the lines for where u want the border of the window to be.

Now to the cutting. Drill a pilot hole near the edge n insert the jigsaw blade to start the cutting. This is the most difficult part of any mod. Be very, very, very, careful with the cutting n take it slow n easy since this is a very expensive case. The scary thing about this part is that TT doesn't even sell optional side panels for the Shark so if u screw up.................. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: May 11 2006, 09:24 PM
TSianho
post May 11 2006, 08:53 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

This is how it shud look like after cutting.

Now cut a piece of acrylic to size n tape it temporarily to the back of the cut panel like this.

Topside view of the attached acrylic. This is the time to mark out the shape of the window n then add an extra 1 - 1.5cm extra on all edges to allow for the double sided tape for the mounting.

This is how it looks like after drawing the outline of the actual window dimensions. Notice the extra 1.5cm I haf on the straight edges? The curved bit for the B will also need to add 1cm to the outside of the line. I did this by measuring many 1cm points all along the curved edge. Then it's just using freehand to join the dots n u get a 1cm extra edge all along the curved B.

TSianho
post May 11 2006, 09:00 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

In this pic u can c the extra 1cm I've addded to the curved edges I was explaining above. I've also started the cutting since everything is nicely measured n marked.

Finished cutting n this is how it looks like.

Both side panel n acrylic r complete now. Line up everything once u get to this stage to make sure u haf the 1 - 1.5cm extra all around for attaching the acrylic to the panel.

This step is optional n depends on whether u feel like doing it or not. I personally don't like raw metal edging. So I painted the edges black to gif it the final touch to make it look cleaner n more professional. Here's how it looks like after painting the edges.

mystvearn
post May 11 2006, 09:01 PM

6,639 posts

Because of the weird acrylic shape, tak cabut ke?
TSianho
post May 11 2006, 09:10 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Here's everything ready for final assembly. The acrylic is cut exactly to size n all edgings r filed smooth. The side panel is also filed nicely to gif it the final touch. Actually I forgot to mention this step in the above posting. U need to file the edges smooth b4 painting the edges.

Now stick the heavy duty double sided tape to the inside edges. There's also a choice in this step. U can just whack on the tape without caring for how it looks like since it's gonna b on the inside n nobody can c it.
My method is to go all the way for a fully clean look so I apply the tape carefully according to the edges n curves. There's a way to make the tape curve round nicely but it's really difficult to explain in words so I'll just show a pic. This is how it looks like on the inside with the tape carefully applied.

Acrylic appplied. Almost there. Just need to assemble the B n it's all done.

Voila! A Thermaltake Shark side window panel mod.

TSianho
post May 11 2006, 09:16 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ May 11 2006, 09:01 PM)
Because of the weird acrylic shape, tak cabut ke?
No lar. Won't cabut 1. It's nicely n firmly mounted with heavy duty double sided tape. Don't worry. cool.gif
Doom
post May 11 2006, 09:24 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

Really nice mod there men, but i would prefer not to have so many area being cut out..

cos it would shows some of the part inside the case that is not that aeshetic ...such as optical drive bay that has some wire hidden inside the cage.

or maybe a bit more curve would rock it men ...

anyhow it really inspire modder in getting it done without the need of so many proffessional tools
TSianho
post May 11 2006, 09:30 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ May 11 2006, 09:24 PM)
Really nice mod there men, but i would prefer not to have so many area being cut out..

cos it would shows some of the part inside the case that is not that aeshetic ...such as optical drive bay that has some wire hidden inside the cage.

or maybe a bit more curve would rock it men ...

anyhow it really inspire modder in getting it done without the need of so many proffessional tools
Well, u can basically cut any size window u like. I went for a big huge window. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Anyway, the main thing is most ppl take a look at the Shark n gif up on having a window coz of the B shaped thingy. As u can c from my guide, there's a way round to getting a window on the Shark. Once u follow my guide to getting round the B u then do any shape or sized window u like. So those who like smaller window just need to cut a smaller window after sorting out the B part. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: May 11 2006, 09:31 PM
2uk3y
post May 11 2006, 09:30 PM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

really nice ha........ if ur service near me, sure i make one hehehee !!!!
so x nak bukak cawangan kat melaka ke !!!! biggrin.gif
LittleLinnet
post May 11 2006, 11:10 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

where is the pic for this ?

There's a way to make the tape curve round nicely but it's really difficult to explain in words so I'll just show a pic. This is how it looks like on the inside with the tape carefully applied.
aaron_lwm
post May 11 2006, 11:56 PM

>jedi council<
3,277 posts

Bro ianho....another nicely done mod....respect....anyway, can u post a pic of the whole casing when it is in working condition...wanna see how it looks.
zahri
post May 12 2006, 01:18 AM

Do You Feel LuCKY PunK ?
1,526 posts

sweet mod....

i am thinking of modding my sidepanels too....

now it has a big X in the middle sad.gif

TSianho
post May 12 2006, 03:42 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ May 11 2006, 11:10 PM)
where is the pic for this ?
The pix is right below that. Anyway, I'll take a close up shot of it later n post up.

QUOTE(aaron_lwm @ May 11 2006, 11:56 PM)
Bro ianho....another nicely done mod....respect....anyway, can u post a pic of the whole casing when it is in working condition...wanna see how it looks.
Oh that ar? U hafta ask mr_summoner for pix of complete rig.

This post has been edited by ianho: May 12 2006, 03:48 AM
pizzaboy
post May 12 2006, 09:06 AM

9,495 posts

oo...bit-tech.net had this guy doin it too right? Hehehe...nice nice.
superdav007
post May 12 2006, 09:57 AM

1,072 posts

great fitting..nice job
Gamer
post May 12 2006, 11:00 AM

Be Original
3,366 posts

that is nice touch man, now the shark look more pro! will done
speedrider
post May 12 2006, 11:25 AM

403 posts

@ianho

The TT Shark panel is exactly just like TT Eureka.
Yes, the weird honeycomb make it quite difficult to think how to mod it, BTW, I'm not sure how is TT Shark interior like, If Eureka panel modded like that, it will shows up the IDE section of the HDD tray, that will make it fugly with 'cecacings' and cable management will be clearly visible.

Mind to share with us, how the final setup on the casing will be. This will be a referrence especially to TT Shark and Eureka owners (like me) to mod their casing and side panels.
SUSAllnGap
post May 12 2006, 11:34 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

sweet mod there, i wonder whether adding some bling bling in between the plastic molding and the side panel would do
speedrider
post May 12 2006, 11:55 AM

403 posts

CALLING FOR mr_summoner

We hope you will post your rig image here. We want to see it notworthy.gif
otherwise
post May 12 2006, 12:44 PM

496 posts

it much more nicer if u can have the same honey comb instead of the acrylic
DaRkSyThE
post May 12 2006, 01:52 PM

4,809 posts

dude, ive seen ur mods, and they are fantastic.
just a quick question here, how thick was the acrylic that u used?
i tired to cut a 2mm piece of acylic at school with a jig say, but i didnt turn out.
cud it be coz the blade was blunt? or maybe it was the wrong blade fastened with the jig saw? huh.gif
TSianho
post May 12 2006, 06:02 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(speedrider @ May 12 2006, 11:25 AM)
@ianho

Yes, the weird honeycomb make it quite difficult to think how to mod it, BTW, I'm not sure how is TT Shark interior like, If Eureka panel modded like that, it will shows up the IDE section of the HDD tray, that will make it fugly with 'cecacings' and cable management will be clearly visible.

Mind to share with us, how the final setup on the casing will be. This will be a referrence especially to TT Shark and Eureka owners (like me) to mod their casing and side panels.
Yes it will show everything n thats what 1337 hardware owners want mar. They wanna show off everything including their 1337 cable sleeving n mebe even show their Raptor HDDs. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

QUOTE(AllnGap @ May 12 2006, 11:34 AM)
sweet mod there, i wonder whether adding some bling bling in between the plastic molding and the side panel would do
I'm sure there's gonna b sum bling bling CCFLs going in. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ May 12 2006, 01:52 PM)
dude, ive seen ur mods, and they are fantastic.
just a quick question here, how thick was the acrylic that u used?
i tired to cut a 2mm piece of acylic at school with a jig say, but i didnt turn out.
cud it be coz the blade was blunt? or maybe it was the wrong blade fastened with the jig saw? huh.gif
Wrong type of blade n wrong speed of blade n cutting too fast perhaps?
Modding to super level of detail like this, takes a lot of time n patience. Sumthin like this Shark panel window I can easily finish in bout 1 hour but the level of detail n pro look is not gonna b there. So, take it slooooooooow n easy. That's the trick.
TSianho
post May 12 2006, 06:05 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Ok LittleLinnet, here's the close up pix of the curved double sided tape. Hard to explain how I do it. U hafta experiment n try then u'll get it too.

speedrider
post May 13 2006, 01:12 AM

403 posts

sweat.gif my hands shake a lot. I CANT do that... Especially for the clipper section.
LanEVOchris
post May 14 2006, 08:42 PM

861 posts

Wah ianho u use agojama jigsaw oso ar like me. Got mine in Makro damn cheap at that time.
TSianho
post May 15 2006, 12:41 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(LanEVOchris @ May 14 2006, 08:42 PM)
Wah ianho u use agojama jigsaw oso ar like me. Got mine in Makro damn cheap at that time.
Yes, I got it from Makro many, many years ago. Was only rm50. But remember to always use good branded high quality blades. Actually my blades cost a lot more than the jigsaw. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
zattara-
post May 15 2006, 02:52 PM

97 posts

wow ianho..nice job..ur shark become more ganas..heh
superdav007
post May 15 2006, 03:14 PM

1,072 posts

maybe should spray ur case red HOT...will look better
TSianho
post May 15 2006, 05:28 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(zattara- @ May 15 2006, 02:52 PM)
wow ianho..nice job..ur shark become more ganas..heh
QUOTE(superdav007 @ May 15 2006, 03:14 PM)
maybe should spray ur case red HOT...will look better
The Shark is not my case lar. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This is my case. Ch3@psk8 Case

This post has been edited by ianho: May 15 2006, 05:29 PM
aaron_lwm
post May 15 2006, 06:50 PM

>jedi council<
3,277 posts

anyway.....really nice job done.
mr_summoner
post May 15 2006, 09:50 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(speedrider @ May 12 2006, 11:55 AM)
CALLING FOR  mr_summoner

We hope you will post your rig image here. We want to see it  notworthy.gif
coming soon..waiting for my PSU to arrived... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
btw...ianho rocks!!!!! icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

TSianho
post May 21 2006, 09:41 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Yo mr_summoner, show us ure complete rig man. PSU havent sampai yet kar? Waiting to c ure full rig. thumbup.gif
LittleLinnet
post May 21 2006, 10:22 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ May 12 2006, 06:05 PM)
Ok LittleLinnet, here's the close up pix of the curved double sided tape. Hard to explain how I do it. U hafta experiment n try then u'll get it too.
well, actually, before when you posted up this worklog, i saw 2 same pictures showing about the double sided tape part and the below.

So, i posted that.
Anyway, thanks for the picture, never knew double sided tape can went until that
mr_summoner
post May 22 2006, 12:11 AM

61 posts

aiseh.....psu ETA this tuesdy or weds...so still need to wait....hehehe....
yyteik
post May 22 2006, 01:16 AM

..::Upgraded::..
1,172 posts

1.side panel window(square with rounded corners) including acrylic- rm75

maybe i wanto do this.....

if i wanto send.. where to send it to u???? which part of kl??? then i give u the side panel only right???
TSianho
post May 22 2006, 04:38 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(yyteik @ May 22 2006, 01:16 AM)
1.side panel window(square with rounded corners) including acrylic- rm75

maybe i wanto do this.....

if i wanto send.. where to send it to u???? which part of kl??? then i give u the side panel only right???
ugpm. here is for discussing mods n all. business we talk by PM. thumbup.gif
torped91
post May 22 2006, 04:44 AM

754 posts

Nice mod dude, looks like there isnt only one person in this who can mod a tt shark. Heres a pic that i plucked from an aussie forum by a pro modder called Defyant.

From www.overclockers.com.au

This post has been edited by torped91: May 22 2006, 04:51 AM
ZipD
post May 22 2006, 12:13 PM

434 posts

QUOTE(torped91 @ May 22 2006, 04:44 AM)
Nice mod dude, looks like there isnt only one person in this who can mod a tt shark. Heres a pic that i plucked from an aussie forum by a pro modder called Defyant.

I prefer Ian's mod. The top left corner near the B is not rounded which looks a lot better. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(speedrider @ May 12 2006, 11:25 AM)

HDD case for TT shark is 90 degress, facing towards side panel. It doesn't face the casing's front panel like most do. So if you install your HDDs so that the IDE/SATA cables are inside facing the 'other' side panel, you won't see any 'cecacings' smile.gif
lolhalol
post May 24 2006, 05:20 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

can some one show how the casing look like with th eside panel on?? wanna buy the case and give to ianho to mod.... i wan to see how it loks ....can see the wc or not..heheh thx metalzone
gmail
post May 24 2006, 05:42 PM

Trolling Level
2,597 posts

QUOTE(ZipD @ May 22 2006, 12:13 PM)
I prefer Ian's mod. The top left corner near the B is not rounded which looks a lot better.  rclxms.gif
HDD case for TT shark is 90 degress, facing towards side panel. It doesn't face the casing's front panel like most do. So if you install your HDDs so that the IDE/SATA cables are inside facing the 'other' side panel, you won't see any 'cecacings'  smile.gif
i prefer ian mod also! more cun rclxms.gif
mr_summoner
post May 24 2006, 08:36 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ May 24 2006, 05:20 PM)
can some one show how the casing look like with th eside panel on?? wanna buy the case and give to ianho to mod.... i wan to see how it loks ....can see the wc or not..heheh thx metalzone
try this...

http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showthre...highlight=shark
lolhalol
post May 26 2006, 03:54 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

no i mean urs mrsummoner......i wan to c ianho acrilic ....
Skylinestar
post Jun 7 2006, 10:13 AM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

can just remove the whole stamped B shaped grill and put a BIG acrylic just like other windowed side panel?? add a 12cm blowhole too on it too.

how much is the $$$???
TSianho
post Jun 7 2006, 06:31 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jun 7 2006, 10:13 AM)
can just remove the whole stamped B shaped grill and put a BIG acrylic just like other windowed side panel?? add a 12cm blowhole too on it too.

how much is the $$$???
Pls PM all enqueries. Keep the topics clean. Anyway, I've PMed u the details d.
kelvin_hata
post Jun 17 2006, 07:53 PM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

dude... good mod ya...

dunno y u always choose the casing to mod n i oso hav de wor...

like v2000 n tt shark... u r!!...make me wanna mod my case oso tongue.gif
TSianho
post Jul 1 2006, 06:57 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Here's another Shark window I did today. This time it's a silver colored panel. Just to show u guys how the silver Shark looks like with this window.

Nemesis181188
post Jul 2 2006, 09:52 PM

635 posts

Are there any services in lowyat who does this shark mod?
ikan_semilang
post Jul 2 2006, 09:54 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis181188 @ Jul 2 2006, 09:52 PM)
Are there any services in lowyat who does this shark mod?
Try ask OP @ Overclock Paradise but the price.... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: Jul 3 2006, 09:32 AM
Skylinestar
post Jul 2 2006, 10:07 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

possibe to get rid of the honey comb grill...BUT maintain the B thingy & yet able to use the lock?

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jul 2 2006, 10:07 PM
TSianho
post Jul 3 2006, 09:37 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Thread cleaned.

This post has been edited by ianho: Jul 4 2006, 01:40 AM
TSianho
post Jul 3 2006, 09:43 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 2 2006, 10:07 PM)
possibe to get rid of the honey comb grill...BUT maintain the B thingy & yet able to use the lock?
Yes it is possible. U can just cut out the honeycomb part n just use a big square piece of acrylic behind instead of cutting it to shape like what I did. But then what's the point of having the B there if it's not letting air in?
Skylinestar
post Jul 3 2006, 08:21 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

But then what's the point of having the B there if it's not letting air in?

if got honeycomb grill, this will suck in dust unlesss i put a fan there for exhaust.

what i mean is cut only whatever is inside "B". leave the rest like normal.
TSianho
post Jul 19 2006, 01:23 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 3 2006, 08:21 PM)
if got honeycomb grill, this will suck in dust unlesss i put a fan there for exhaust.

Can. Just cut off the honeycomb n use acrylic behind it. Then it'll look like a big poiece of acrylic with the "B" on top of it.
Elvin
post Oct 17 2006, 03:25 AM

78 posts

aiyo....dun know b4 the shark can b modding..so regret bout that i bought a Tsunami dream....the shark after moding side panel really better than dream...how much if modding one ?
edison92133
post Oct 17 2006, 04:08 PM

Myvi SE - It's a passion
3,097 posts

QUOTE(Elvin @ Oct 17 2006, 03:25 AM)
aiyo....dun know b4 the shark can b modding..so regret bout that i bought a Tsunami dream....the shark after moding side panel really better than dream...how much if modding one ?
pm ianho lor

smile.gif smile.gif
TSianho
post Oct 20 2006, 09:38 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 3 2006, 08:21 PM)

Here u go Skylinestar. The answer to ure query. Hehehehehe. I just did this.

r4ydc24
post Oct 20 2006, 09:49 PM

Level of Noobness
1,067 posts

whoa... sleek color man~ notworthy.gif
TSianho
post Oct 21 2006, 01:39 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(r4ydc24 @ Oct 20 2006, 09:49 PM)
whoa... sleek color man~ notworthy.gif
laugh.gif Tokin bout colors. I was at McDonalds just now n sum1 mentioned I shud make 1 more Shark panel like that for Mr Ronald McDonald. All I need to do is paint the B in bright canary yellow n the alu panel in red. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Look at it from a different perspective now n u'll get what I mean.

This post has been edited by ianho: Oct 21 2006, 01:42 AM

z3r0717
post Oct 21 2006, 11:04 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 21 2006, 01:39 AM)
laugh.gif Tokin bout colors. I was at McDonalds just now n sum1 mentioned I shud make 1 more Shark panel like that for Mr Ronald McDonald. All I need to do is paint the B in bright canary yellow n the alu panel in red.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Look at it from a different perspective now n u'll get what I mean.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
hahahahaha.... it takes a guy to be a very BIG fan of Mc D's only dare to do tat.. hahahaha..
TSianho
post Feb 4 2007, 11:42 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Here's a TT Shark window with a difference. I've done 2 other types of Shark windows. I'll just show the pix of the stock panel n 2 diff types of Shark windows I've done 1st.

Stock Shark panel.

I've done these 2 Shark windows b4. 1 is with window on the outside of the "B" like this. The honeycomb section stays the same.

The other type is where I cut out the honeycomb n put the window inside the "B" like this.....

What I'm gonna do this time is to cut a full window. That means cutting a big window both inside n outside of the "B".
Here's the start of the mod. All marked up n ready for cutting.

taxidoor
post Feb 4 2007, 11:47 AM

1,008 posts

oh another big project the cae belong to who ? tongue.gif
DaRkSyThE
post Feb 4 2007, 12:18 PM

4,809 posts

so i believe this is a blend of the two above?
Thunderbolt
post Feb 4 2007, 12:20 PM

Tonight We Dine In Penang!
1,191 posts

That is my sidepanel.

Yes, it is a blend of both.

I would be happy if he can finished it.

rainingzero
post Feb 4 2007, 01:32 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(Thunderbolt @ Feb 4 2007, 12:20 PM)
That is my sidepanel.

Yes, it is a blend of both.

I would be happy if he can finished it.
don't worry...of coz uncle ianho can finish it... thumbup.gif

will looking forwards this thread... icon_idea.gif
Lefty
post Feb 4 2007, 01:43 PM

Designer Piece
750 posts

woouh that is great!!