today it arrive. in a tub!

and who said lego isnt made in china???

vey99
post Jul 4 2013, 08:43 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(bloodghost @ Jul 4 2013, 08:38 PM)
Mayb the box made in china? I dun think the block is made in china as they need set up machine for that and they will only finish setup buy 2014
in manufacturing, packaging material is seldom described as a component of assembly.

in any case, we wont know what exactly, but my recent new minifigs definitely feel crappier than the previous series.
i dont really care where its made but if they start this cost-down game, we will never again enjoy the great quality of lego that can last decades.

vey99
post Jul 5 2013, 10:35 AM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Jul 5 2013, 09:48 AM)
wonder if anyone here builds fr the Architecture theme?

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/LEGO-Archi...ore=allproducts

some of the designs are really nice, wonder how is the build experience?

paanjang16 did maybank

i have a miniature too

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Jul 5 2013, 10:19 AM)
Elegant white bricks smile.gif But somehow why their white bricks is much whiter than the normal white bricks? or is it just my illusions?
white balance setting tongue.gif
vey99
post Jul 5 2013, 12:06 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Jul 5 2013, 11:26 AM)
Anyone collecting Atlantis series?

I found Lego 7985 the monument is quite nice laugh.gif

i saw a set on BL selling for a reasonable price, deboxed i believe.
almost ordered laugh.gif
nice setting for my mermaids and mer-king and minions.

all you need is the big octopus from the same theme. that one is not very cheap.
vey99
post Jul 5 2013, 12:09 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Jul 5 2013, 11:37 AM)
Really nice you know... I'm not into those monster and divers.. I just love the temple only laugh.gif dunno who got sell only the temple..
I was trying to find just the temple only... it makes a good setting for my Diver set that I had previously laugh.gif
place this set on a 32x32 tan baseplate, and add on some more greens and dark grey stones. maybe even do a sunken ship half embedded with a few skeletons.
that was one of my idea

the monsters, figs, vehicle u can sell off separately to unker amcorp...
vey99
post Jul 5 2013, 12:31 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Jul 5 2013, 12:28 PM)
Die lor  rclxub.gif Let you say like that.. I have an "urge" or "adrenaline rush" to get the set edi  doh.gif I need the antidote...  shakehead.gif

I think it can mod into some Greek Mythology with Spartan and Roman Soldiers... very very nice  thumbup.gif
the link here. about RM260 nia.
http://www.bricklink.com/store.asp?p=jonadi&itemID=41064812

place on green baseplate.
lose the seaweed.
add pine trees around.
change the gold statue to roman commander, even better sit the commander on the new horse who can raise its legs.
the bowl in front of the steps, put fire on it.
add some ballista on the sides.

you'd need about 12 roman cmf also. get from rickebrick. they got 13 in stock. maybe rm 440 incl shipping.

This post has been edited by vey99: Jul 5 2013, 12:35 PM
vey99
post Jul 5 2013, 12:38 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Jul 5 2013, 12:36 PM)
hate you la...  cry.gif  cry.gif Now I go dig my credit card info edi
resistance is futile

vey99
post Jul 5 2013, 12:46 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Jul 5 2013, 12:39 PM)
You not only inject poison, you somemore push the whole syringe into my body  laugh.gif
12 roman soldiers (dont bother buy separate, just get them at rm30+ each.
3 roman commanders (cheap) to congregate over a table on battle strategy
1 roman emperor

then the invading army will be 20 vikings (RM10+ each)

vey99
post Jul 5 2013, 12:51 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Jul 5 2013, 12:48 PM)
No la.. where got?  rolleyes.gif

*Take spy satellite check who gives you this wind...  laugh.gif *
Roman Soldier got so expensive ah?  shocking.gif

but at least is cheaper than ridiculously priced zombie sweat.gif
roman soldier was 20+ last yr averagely. now increase liao.
i also tempted to buy it haha.
i knows a lot kaki here is quietly building armies of various soldiers

vey99
post Jul 6 2013, 04:17 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(bloodghost @ Jul 6 2013, 04:06 PM)
finally finish palace cinema, it is not easy to build lego when having a kid at home
i like the roof technique on this set. i gotta learn how to make this...

vey99
post Jul 6 2013, 04:19 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 6 2013, 01:53 PM)
10226 rm300
10220 rm332
10230 rm312

I calculate by x0.4 for simple calculation.
Actual rate is even lower when I was there, about rm0.397 = hkd1

So, organising a trip to HK ?  brows.gif

However, to be fair to sellers in M'sia, they have to factor in the cost of logistics, 10% tax and at least some profit margin.
Therefore, I'm very grateful to some bro who do CS, which is nearly non-profitable, and sometimes maybe intangible net-loss also.
icon_rolleyes.gif
Looks like I will be planning a trip there in Nov. Prolly with family so dun think got much luggage space.
vey99
post Jul 6 2013, 04:27 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

Completed my Hawker Food Corner MOC liao. Pls support the MOCPAGES link below, thanks. Hope you enjoy the MOC

My MOCPages Entry for Hawker Food Corner

vey99
post Jul 6 2013, 04:29 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 6 2013, 04:25 PM)
If you can accept unboxed, then bring along a big foldable bag. Throw all clothes/less value stuff into it. Padlock if needed.

Otherwise, ask the shops for carton boxes. You bring along masking tape, cling wrap (big roll from Tesco), just check in the entire carton box. Or boxes. But doing that will have risk of KLIA/LCCT Customs stop you

The main problem here is weight, if you just 1-2 person. If more, then can help utilise/share the weight.
Else haul everything into multiple cartons, then goto HK post office  tongue.gif

I use the first method, so far, didn't get stop.
icon_rolleyes.gif
Will definitely unbox. Now dunno what to buy nia.
vey99
post Jul 6 2013, 04:39 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(zennan83 @ Jul 6 2013, 04:34 PM)
lot'sa white bricks!!! shocking.gif  such a nice moc... already liked in your MOC page
just buy anything that is "cheap" will do... buy it 1st,regret later wahaha...
TQ. I will hunt for items with "further diskaun".

QUOTE(501-Elite @ Jul 6 2013, 04:36 PM)
Wow !

Very nice MOC thumbup.gif
notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

How much the cost to MOC this ?
TQ. I guess the food corner costs about RM100 excluding the house. and most of it is due to shipping cos so many different parts.
vey99
post Jul 6 2013, 04:46 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 6 2013, 04:39 PM)
Nice! Can I provide some comments ?
1) maybe the white walls too smooth (front & side). Replace a few with those Friend's 1x2 bricks. Then, the building looks more antique with broken plaster wall, which shows the bricks inside. (BL: 98283)

2) Windows - use the older frame type, which can connect panes (BL: 3856)

3) side alley awning - add medium-blue/green colour tiles ? More colourful a bit.

4) Tekan kuat sikit ya ... the upper portion roof / wall, got gaps between bricks/plates  tongue.gif

Just my 2 cents ya ...  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks for feedback. Lots of things can be made better and probably will put it into my next MOC which should be another similar shoplot so i can join them up together. Big headache are the parts. A lot of time i need to use substitude cos the cost is prohibitive, or too many stores to purchase from, or cannot meet min. order amount.

Still thinking about whether the chinese medical hall is a good idea anot cos it look rather plain. if do a modern shop, it kind of lost some magic that i am trying to capture in old malaya.

vey99
post Jul 6 2013, 08:03 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 6 2013, 04:53 PM)
Normally I buy double the qty, or add more items which I think I may use in future to reach minimum order, or weight limit.

I remember your chinese medical hall. Quite detailed and nice. But ... the reddish brown a bit over-whelm, and the interior looks a bit dark/gloomy.
Maybe can replace some with lighter colours ? Tan ? etc.
icon_rolleyes.gif

Agree with you, don't do modern shops/building/architecture. IMHO, not much point doing that, for now.
ya the colour scheme too dull and i thinking how to spice it up. but u know medical hall, its all wooden drawers for an entire wall.
might have to scrap the idea, spending too much time reworking it.

QUOTE(maxilife1 @ Jul 6 2013, 05:03 PM)
Great!! Congrats!! biggrin.gif
oh ya i owe u somethin
ugpm
vey99
post Jul 7 2013, 08:22 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(Bigfoot-X @ Jul 7 2013, 07:41 PM)
Anyone knows if Lone Ranger Cavalry Builder set (smallest set) available at Brickboys outlets or any Aeon with sales now?

i saw about 15 boxes at TRU empire subang. RM70 no diskaun.

i am thinking if i should get a set of 8 deboxed. maybe cost rm50... not sure... but tempted altho i have no idea wat to do with 8 extra lone rangers or who the cavalry will be fighing with, since red indian minifigs are so damn expensive.
vey99
post Jul 7 2013, 08:31 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(paanjang16 @ Jul 7 2013, 02:40 AM)
Vintage sets are VERY dangerous,
nice collection you have there. yeah very dangerous, i often browse vintage houses but i intend to save cost and "rebuild" instead of buying the actual set.

QUOTE(Bigfoot-X @ Jul 7 2013, 10:41 AM)
Maybe it will come with a Police Station. Maybe should hold off getting any Police Station sets until a modular version comes out.
buy the current one and modularize it wei.

what this guy did was great, and nice use of a road baseplate:

vey99
post Jul 7 2013, 08:40 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Jul 7 2013, 08:27 PM)
So far I only see roman soldiers are expensive, red Indian also expensive eh? huh.gif
haha ya cos i check ad hoc and the only two i can think of is the chief big bear and the CMF S1 indian archer

now that u mention, S10 also got and should be cheap.

now u have given me reason to buy plenty of cavalry and plenty of indians to fight with. damn.

btw this is a really nice indian woman

torso and legs from S5 CMF cavewoman.
hair from CMF S1 indian

This post has been edited by vey99: Jul 7 2013, 08:46 PM
vey99
post Jul 7 2013, 10:00 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Jul 7 2013, 09:23 PM)
Haha.. I help you open a can of worms. laugh.gif that custom minifig is nice...

Chief big bear is which one? The old cmf series one?

I came across one set of Chief Indian before. Quite nice.. Let me go dig the info.. hmm.gif
the cheif big bear is the one in the latest lone ranger sets, the set with the tepee

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0430sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:50 AM