44 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v4

TheGreatBahamut
post Jul 31 2013, 11:47 AM

86 posts

What I will do is, and the most important step is when you cut the piece from runner. Don't ever ever stress it, if it get bend it will leave white mark on the plastic piece which sanding couldn't remove it.

After I cut it, and no white mark on the piece, I will sand the excessive plastic with files, then use 400->600->800->1000->1200 or above then compound coarse. But be careful with files and P400 sand paper, if you use a lot of force you will sand off the original shape as well.

Well I don't use marker to cover up those nub mark because I don't have much marker and they are not compatible with the plastic colour. If you want to do that, make sure the marker is close to the original colour.
Cheers... smile.gif
ayonan
post Jul 31 2013, 01:53 PM

141 posts

I used magic pen to cover up the nub mark. Well, can't cover it completely. But it's damn cheap. Only RM7 for 12 magic pen biggrin.gif
TheGreatBahamut
post Jul 31 2013, 03:10 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(ayonan @ Jul 31 2013, 01:53 PM)
I used magic pen to cover up the nub mark. Well, can't cover it completely. But it's damn cheap. Only RM7 for 12 magic pen  biggrin.gif
As long as it close to the original colour and also water proof then it do the job well. smile.gif
jjaacckk2000
post Jul 31 2013, 05:35 PM

28 posts

I had my old (and bad) days with the nub mark as well. I normally use OLFA crafting knife to slowly cut away the nub area, because the knife is sharp enough to "slice" the plastic, the white nub mark can rub away with finger nails.

But sadly this will not work on titanium finish's part. ><
9881eric
post Jul 31 2013, 11:55 PM

QUOTE(TheGreatBahamut @ Jul 31 2013, 10:35 AM)
Don't be surprise, I'm doing aircraft engineering and we always use these terms...
Yes, you can use Anchor paint or other industrial spray cans for plastic although not really recommended because it might make your plastic brittle. But it would be a good alternative for Tamiya spray cans because Tamiya was damn expensive, buy a beginner airbrush set obviously cheaper. My advice is stay away from Tamiya spray cans if you want to save cost. If you don't know how to utilize your money then you can buy it, because with that money I will buy airbrush set.

But then, spray cans and airbrush were just tools, it depends on your need. If you just started painting, you may use spray cans to see whether you like to custom colour or not, if you really like and will do it frequently or you will get into this hobby seriously then I would recommend you to buy an Airbrush set because you can do various type of painting effect with it which spray can can't do or can't achieve same level result.

There are so many hobby paint beside Tamiya, and a lot of modelers using them as well, do it seem weird? Obviously no...  If someone laugh at you if you use spray cans, then you may ask them to show you better paint job that they have did or trying to use spray cans to achieve same effect as yours. But ignore them would be better although this is not my style. If they laugh at your brand, you may ask them to sponsor you Hobby brand spray cans or maybe a high end airbrush set with spare tank. tongue.gif Those modeler who like laugh at other people usually don't have a very very nice skill, they feel proud with their intermediate level in this hobby, there are more skillful modelers that would like to share the proper information in this hobby and you should learn from them.
Cheers... smile.gif
Wow ....really thx a lot ...I really learn a lot of thing ...,ya the Tamiya paint really a bit expensive ...that y I plan to use other paint ,that may b also can paint out nice color like Tamiya paint ....I am try my best to paint my first gundam ..to paint it nicely ...thx a lot sifu ....hehe
TheGreatBahamut
post Aug 1 2013, 12:24 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(9881eric @ Jul 31 2013, 11:55 PM)
Wow ....really thx a lot ...I really learn a lot of thing ...,ya the Tamiya paint really a bit expensive ...that y I plan to use other paint ,that may b also can paint out nice color like Tamiya paint ....I am try my best to paint my first gundam ..to paint it nicely ...thx a lot sifu ....hehe
You are welcome. I never use Tamiya spray can before but I guess their texture was quite good from what I've seen in some video. But other brand of spray cans can also achieve nice effect. Sometimes I also use cheap spray cans for my model but some colour was high gloss paint, so I have to apply top coat flat if I want the current model have a flat look. smile.gif
Khai62
post Aug 2 2013, 12:39 AM

Have try the Tamiya spray cans once, it was nice finish but not worth the cost. It barely last to spray on MG unicorn innerframe.
TheGreatBahamut
post Aug 2 2013, 12:48 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(Khai62 @ Aug 2 2013, 12:39 AM)
Have try the Tamiya spray cans once, it was nice finish but not worth the cost. It barely last to spray on MG unicorn innerframe.
Yea obviously not worth, if spray cans just use cheapo will be enough. But still airbrush set will last longer and save cost, so I planning to get one as well but not able to buy a high end set now.
Khai62
post Aug 2 2013, 12:59 AM

QUOTE(TheGreatBahamut @ Aug 2 2013, 12:48 AM)
Yea obviously not worth, if spray cans just use cheapo will be enough. But still airbrush set will last longer and save cost, so I planning to get one as well but not able to buy a high end set now.
By high end set you mean the compressor with tank set ?
TheGreatBahamut
post Aug 2 2013, 01:08 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(Khai62 @ Aug 2 2013, 12:59 AM)
By high end set you mean the compressor with tank set ?
Ya... but without spare tank also quite expensive.
wookp
post Aug 2 2013, 08:15 AM

497 posts

QUOTE(Khai62 @ Aug 2 2013, 12:39 AM)
Tamiya sprays are very nice! But it costs around 20 ringgit for each can. The finish is very decent. One MG, I will probably use about 2 cans... Pretty expensive. Just borrowed an AB from a friend and bought some paints. Hopefully it turns out to be better than the spray cans.
TheGreatBahamut
post Aug 2 2013, 11:24 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(wookp @ Aug 2 2013, 08:15 AM)
Tamiya sprays are very nice! But it costs around 20 ringgit for each can. The finish is very decent. One MG, I will probably use about 2 cans... Pretty expensive. Just borrowed an AB from a friend and bought some paints. Hopefully it turns out to be better than the spray cans.
Borrowed AB from friend was far more better than using spray cans and you also save a lot of money which you no need to buy an AB for yourself.
Khai62
post Aug 2 2013, 12:55 PM

QUOTE(TheGreatBahamut @ Aug 2 2013, 01:08 AM)
Ya... but without spare tank also quite expensive.
You talking about the branded stuff right because china made turtle compressor set just around rm 200.

Just one thing to note even with the tank, it will broke down if under constant heavy use. Like mine broke down a few months ago sweat.gif, now i put a fan directly on it so it cool down faster.
TheGreatBahamut
post Aug 2 2013, 01:11 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Khai62 @ Aug 2 2013, 12:55 PM)
You talking about the branded stuff right because china made turtle compressor set just around rm 200.

Just one thing to note even with the tank, it will broke down if under constant heavy use. Like mine broke down a few months ago  sweat.gif, now i put a fan directly on it so it cool down faster.
I see... maybe you have to post some pic of your AB on your blog so I can actually see how is it look like. The outcome was quite good from what I've seen from your model. Or maybe even let me know where you get it. smile.gif
Khai62
post Aug 2 2013, 03:24 PM

Probably when i finish my painting on my two Jesta but i get the AB set and hobby stuff from tytroum in the forum sale section

TheGreatBahamut
post Aug 2 2013, 06:36 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Khai62 @ Aug 2 2013, 03:24 PM)
Probably when i finish my painting on my two Jesta but i get the AB set and hobby stuff from tytroum in the forum sale section
Alright, your project first then only show me both your project and also the AB. And thanks for the info. tongue.gif
ayonan
post Aug 4 2013, 06:57 PM

141 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by ayonan: Aug 5 2013, 10:07 PM
ayonan
post Aug 5 2013, 10:08 PM

141 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by ayonan: Aug 5 2013, 10:08 PM
acestoro
post Aug 6 2013, 01:56 PM

Can anyone advice if my understanding is correct.

I paint silver coat first on a plastic surface than I paint over the silver coat with clear dark blue coat on top of it, I will be able to get a metallic like dark blue finish?

I am thinking of doing a metallic dark blue titan finish for my Hi Nu.

This post has been edited by acestoro: Aug 6 2013, 01:57 PM
kerorokatak
post Aug 6 2013, 02:46 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(acestoro @ Aug 6 2013, 01:56 PM)
Can anyone advice if my understanding is correct.

I paint silver coat first on a plastic surface than I paint over the silver coat with clear dark blue coat on top of it, I will be able to get a metallic like dark blue finish?

I am thinking of doing a metallic dark blue titan finish for my Hi Nu.
Correct... but if u want your silver more bling-bling then can apply a layer of black before apply silver color...

44 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:35 AM