Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v4

blueric94
post Dec 8 2013, 01:10 AM

85 posts

Im wondering which process takes so long to complete a kit @@
i took only one day to complete aoshima FC. Mayb Im lacking of professional tools thats why lack of detail and thas why so fast hmm.gif

Khai62
post Dec 8 2013, 01:46 AM

QUOTE(OhNooy @ Dec 8 2013, 01:00 AM)
Anyone using this?
Will the paint dry up very fast in the bottle? As my progress is very slow, 1 kit take me >1 months to build. So I will only use this accent color not so frequently.

After using, can use Zippo to wash the excess? Since this is enamel. Thanks!
I have this a few month already and still watery and yes you can use Zippo to wash it up since it just a ready made enamel wash solution. Remind me getting the black one since that always sold out. sweat.gif
OhNooy
post Dec 8 2013, 10:34 AM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(blueric94 @ Dec 8 2013, 01:10 AM)
Im wondering which process takes so long to complete a kit @@
i took only one day to complete aoshima FC. Mayb Im lacking of professional tools thats why lack of detail and thas why so fast  hmm.gif
No la, I take slow time to build so that I won't finish up backlog too fast and keep buying. A way to save money. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Khai62 @ Dec 8 2013, 01:46 AM)
I have this a few month already and still watery and yes you can use Zippo to wash it up since it just a ready made enamel wash solution. Remind me getting the black one since that always sold out. sweat.gif
Nice. If the paint can keep for few months and still watery, this is a good news! rclxms.gif Thanks master Khai62
blueric94
post Dec 8 2013, 01:02 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(OhNooy @ Dec 8 2013, 10:34 AM)
No la, I take slow time to build so that I won't finish up backlog too fast and keep buying. A way to save money. tongue.gif
Nice. If the paint can keep for few months and still watery, this is a good news! rclxms.gif  Thanks master Khai62
Looking forward to your kit, rmb to share here rclxms.gif
nazrul90
post Dec 8 2013, 02:38 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Dec 8 2013, 02:33 PM)
nazrul90 btw, my senior in gunpla told me to buy some industrial thinner for cleaning purpose since that is less costly compared to use mr. leveling thinner. May i ask, where do you get ur cheap thinner and what thinner to get for cleaning lacquer? Nearby my area only ace hardware, and mr.diy sweat.gif
gundamsp01
err.. I dont sure about that, because there is rubber inside the airbrush
so I scare it will eat the rubber if use industrial thinner

try buy the 1000ml hobby thinner only for cleaning airbrush
yes, it is pricey but it long lasting too

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Dec 8 2013, 02:38 PM
gundamsp01
post Dec 8 2013, 02:41 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

nazrul90 thank you! wish to meet you in person to learn a few tricks or 2 for airbrush techniques laugh.gif
nazrul90
post Dec 8 2013, 02:45 PM

302 posts

lol nope
myself also noob about airbrush
only take a bit long time to master with it tongue.gif
OhNooy
post Dec 8 2013, 04:21 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(blueric94 @ Dec 8 2013, 01:02 PM)
Looking forward to your kit, rmb to share here  rclxms.gif
Nah la, my model kits are for SS purpose only. There are many sifus here having much greater jobs.
gundamsp01
post Dec 9 2013, 07:24 AM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

hi guys! got a question, if i going to paint metallic paint on my kit (inner frame) what kind of topcoat should i be using?

and by referring to this website on method 1, it mentioned that semi-gloss is needed but i only have gloss coat, can that be used as alternative?
http://gunplacore.blogspot.com/2013/04/tut...paints-and.html
nazrul90
post Dec 9 2013, 03:18 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Dec 9 2013, 07:24 AM)
hi guys! got a question, if i going to paint metallic paint on my kit (inner frame) what kind of topcoat should i be using?

and by referring to this website on method 1, it mentioned that semi-gloss is needed but i only have gloss coat, can that be used as alternative?
http://gunplacore.blogspot.com/2013/04/tut...paints-and.html
if you want gloss finish
use either semi or full gloss

gundamsp01
post Dec 9 2013, 03:25 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Dec 9 2013, 03:18 PM)
if you want gloss finish
use either semi or full gloss
thx, gloss coat will make the metal shines less? that's what i found out from google search though, so nazrul, u tried metallic paint be4? what advise can you provide to newbie like me laugh.gif
nazrul90
post Dec 9 2013, 04:03 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Dec 9 2013, 03:25 PM)
thx, gloss coat will make the metal shines less? that's what i found out from google search though, so nazrul, u tried metallic paint be4? what advise can you provide to newbie like me  laugh.gif
spray silver base before put metallic coat on it
and also seal with gloss coat if you like more glossy finish

test on use-throw(is this correct term?) plastic spoon you get on shop
once you satisfy with results can use on real gunpla
deeplyheartbroken
post Dec 9 2013, 04:09 PM

774 posts

Can you guys recommend a good hobby shop selling paints, airbrush, models & etc at fair price in Klang Valley?
IMBeta305
post Dec 9 2013, 04:51 PM

432 posts

if paint, can paint joints also? cause the inner frames like damn alot of joints
nazrul90
post Dec 9 2013, 05:05 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(IMBeta305 @ Dec 9 2013, 04:51 PM)
if paint, can paint joints also? cause the inner frames like damn alot of joints
not advisable to paint the joint because sometimes you paint it thick and make it harder to move
gundamsp01
post Dec 10 2013, 02:46 AM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Dec 9 2013, 05:05 PM)
not advisable to paint the joint because sometimes you paint it thick and make it harder to move
may i know if not going to paint the joint (ie: the knee joint, elbow joint), how to make it look metallic? (as i planning to prime->lacquer metallic paint the inner frame, would it be fine if i paint the PS parts (the material which the inner frame is made of)?)

This post has been edited by gundamsp01: Dec 10 2013, 07:49 AM
SUSNismoConcept
post Dec 10 2013, 04:23 PM

63 posts

Hi guys, new in this hobby.
I painted the joint part with Sharpie permanent metallic marker.
May I know is it gonna be ok if I top coat matte it?
I mean top coat matte on top of Sharpie permanent metallic.
Please adv, thx!
nazrul90
post Dec 10 2013, 07:25 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Dec 10 2013, 02:46 AM)
may i know if not going to paint the joint (ie: the knee joint, elbow joint), how to make it look metallic? (as i planning to prime->lacquer metallic paint the inner frame, would it be fine if i paint the PS parts (the material which the inner frame is made of)?)
most inner frame made from ABS plastic,which is weaker against lacquer paint
you can paint on it but need to be careful when painting especially on fragile part, maybe a thin layer on it instead of usual layer

want safe use Enamel paint which not harmful for plastic

This post has been edited by nazrul90: Dec 10 2013, 07:27 PM
gundamsp01
post Dec 10 2013, 10:16 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Dec 10 2013, 07:25 PM)
most inner frame made from ABS plastic,which is weaker against lacquer paint
you can paint on it but need to be careful when painting especially on fragile part, maybe a thin layer on it instead of usual layer

want safe use Enamel paint which not harmful for plastic
IC, but when i check my proto zero parts, all of them are made from PS even the inner frame. So, i think thin layer will do, right?
IMBeta305
post Dec 10 2013, 10:22 PM

432 posts

Is it okay if i spray to inner frame and armour using Anchor brand sprays?

44 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:15 AM